Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.554 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (267 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
42
3 stars
22
2 stars
49
1 star
105
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bridgette G
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Highly Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015
I do not recommend this printer. Its a pain to set up, the software is not user friendly and its extremely slow to warm up. Seriously sad I'm stuck with it...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Rog
Location: Reno
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst printer to set up ever!!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2015
To start with the Canon pixma 922 looks very nice. It took 30 minutes to get it to be recognized by my computer, an iMac 24" top of the line computer 2 years old. By now I would figure all wifi printers would be plug and play to speak. Even though the printer shows on my computer the software cd says it does not find a canon printer so I can't print any pictures. There is no manual with the printer just some instructions for setting it up.
I am sure if I spend hours scouring the internet and jumping through hoops I will eventually get this printer to work but ........really.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DANSFLA
Location: Panama City FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

JUNK

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015
This not worth a dollar difficult to install and use the quality is not any better than any other printer I have ever owned buy something else I AM
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: mariannef
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
This is by far one of the worst printer combos I have ever used. I have printed only five times since I have owned the machine, and now I am unable to print at all. I have no indication on the reason for the failed print job. Also feeder is not secure and constantly gives me a 2800 error. I have to hold the feeder down to remove the error, or put something heavy on top. Canon makes great cameras, but horrible printers. Stay away from this one.
And downloading the manual from this site is a cluster. Just give us a PDF, don't make us install an exe.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: AskGenie
Location: Phoenix
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excruciatling Slow

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015
This printer has more than it's fare share of features. From a feature standpoint, It lacks little (except a usb port).
That being said, if the features it has worked it would be a great value. The speed of most functions is painfully slow. As I write this review, I've sat here for 8 minutes now waiting for the printer to start up. When I print a document (with a USB connection mind you) takes about 4 minutes and and scanning well, that feature is an enigma since the printer doesn't have a Flash Drive port and I've not been able to get it to scan to my PC.
Now it's been about 10 min. While I wait, i'll interject a pet peeve. When you select photo as the print quality, it makes you print from the photo tray and not the paper tray. The photo tray doesn't accommodate 8.5x11 paper. It does not give you the option to print 8.5 x 11 photos.
It's been about 12min now and no luck. Did my 6 month old printer die??
I'm a canon fan and this is the first printer that i am unhappy with. I will probably replace it with another canon but this model my friends, is definitely a lemon.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Tracey

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
I have had my printer for several months and it works off and on. It will work for a few days and continues to lose the wifi connection. Spent an hour on it tonight and still not printing. Very disappointed in my purchase. I bought this printer due to the Canon name and expected a better quality printer. I am not alone in this issue as I have found many buyers of this printer are experiencing the same issues as myself.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sis
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
This printer should be taken off the market. It won't print envelopes without taking paper from tray then guessing the envelope is inserted correctly. That is mild compared to trying to keep it connected to wifi. Right now I am unable to print because I can't get connected to WIFI. I've tried everything. I wish I had never purchased this printer, may just junk it and eat the cost.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Disappointing
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014
I have had this printer for a couple of months now. The scanner is of lower quality than the stand alone one I previously used and has fewer options for modifying the file before saving it.
The printer is more problematic. I have been trying to print some cards. The printer worked fine for the letter size cards, but when I tried some half letter size cards it got confused.
I put the paper in the lower cassette and told the software that is where to look. The printer insisted that the upper tray was empty (which it was) and wouldn't print. I put the cardstock into the upper cassette (it wouldn't fit properly as it was too big which I knew) and the printer told me it couldn't print on the paper.
My old Canon i900D would print the cards.
My point it that this printer may be acceptable for basic letter printing but is unacceptable for any special printing.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: fakedad
Location: Lexington, KY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good features, but rarely works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014
Before owning the PIXMA MX922, I had the PIXMA MX882. Sure, the 882 didn't have a few of the features that I was used to with my earlier printers (like CD/DVD printing) weren't there, but the 882 was reliable, and I managed to use it several years without having any trouble.
When the print heads broke on the MX882, I decided to get a new printer. I saw the MX922, which seemed like a reasonable next step.
When I got home and set it up, I was impressed. It worked quickly, and it was just as easy to set up as the earlier models. I was impressed with all the new features.
However, a week later my family members began experiencing trouble. I had to reset the printer a few times, but it eventually works.
It's been 3 weeks now since I got the printer, and the problems have gotten much worse. It rarely works with Wi-fi at all. This is a real problem, since there is no way for anyone in the house to reasonably connect directly to it. If the Wi-Fi weren't so glitchy, it probably could have been a great printer.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: SecondPixma
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not very good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014
I've had this printer for about 4 months - I had a MX892 but wanted to benefits of airprint and the bigger paper tray. This printer has been a major letdown. I use it from a home office, and about ever other print job stops after 1/2 a page. I have to clear the queue, reboot the printer ,and then (sometimes) it will work.
The features of this printer are great, too bad it doesn't print.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TinMass
Location: Agawam MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MX922 - Slowest printer I've owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014
A real disappointment ! I"ve had a Canon MX850 for years.(worked great till the ADF mechanism started to fail. )
This MX922 is so SLOW....................... This is not a small office printer/scanner.
Don't think your going to do quick print before you speed off to a meeting. The 922 will make you
wait for near 5 minute while prepares to print. It also drops from wireless network. Spend more money for your printer.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: corgilover 2
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Nightmare

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
I have a MX 850 that still works and I love it. This "step up" is beyond dismal. It isn't printing correctly. Everything is blue. I have uninstalled and re-installed twice, but no better. It is loud, slow and literally swills ink. I am going to throw this printer in the trash and consider it a lesson well-learned. I will either go back to my old printer or buy another brand. I no longer trust Canon to build a quality product.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated User
Location: Escondido, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Dog to Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
I wish I had never purchased this Canon MX922 all in one printer. It is a dog to set up; this dog won't hunt. I've spent 5 frustrating days with Canon techies to finally, I hope, get this dog set up. I tried downloading the detailed manual from the Canon website and the link just will not work; it won't run, it won't save, it won't save and run. Hooking up the Fax function to Cox Internet Phone has also been a nightmare. I got so angry that I threatened the loss of my marriage because I was so frustrated that I unintentionally directed some of my anger towards my wife. I won't even review the printing of envelopes which has been already covered by others. It's terrible and complex. I most certainly do not recommend this product to anyone.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: pat
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

always ofline

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
great printer, but it is always off line. I must unplug and replug it in to print.
I have it connected wirelessly, so it is a lot of trouble.
Turning it off and on does nothing, I must unplug/replug it to fix
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fotocr8zy
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've had

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
This is the 2nd MX922 I've had, after returning the 1st one for errors, I know get "There is no paper in the cassette" errors and can't print anything. I have to be at an appointment to get signatures in less then an hour and...again...it won't print. This printer is not reliable, drinks ink like coolaid and the wireless won't stay connected ( and it is right next to the wireless box).
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: user
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great all in one printer except life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
It's great all in one printer. The quality and speed are superior but the printer only last just over a year. It seems the scanner broke but the error code rendered the printer into giant paper weight.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pman
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Ever Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
I've never, ever had such a worhless printer. Today, I fed it all the ink it wanted after using the piddly amount of ink supplied with the printer. All I wanted to do was print one simple page. Now it tells me I have a paper jam, which I do not. All it does is do whatever startup process it does to waste more ink! Furthermore, in the 6 months I've had this printer, every time I try to print, it causes me to lose my home network connection. My last printer was a Canon and I never had an ounce of trouble with it. I would not recommend the MX 922 to anyone!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Russ
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't waste your time

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2014
The first thing I noticed was that this printer, promised as the replacement for the MX882, has no rear tray capability. That means that I can no longer print on stiff card stock, and if I want to print a #10 envelope, I need to take the letter-side paper out of the tray, and try to align the envelope. I say, "try" because the one time I tried, the printer declared the envelope jammed. I removed it, but the printer hasn't worked since.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: 1x fan
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Seriously Guys

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2014
Not intuitive, super heavy, software doesn't download at all from the Canon site for my PC but did from my Apple laptop. Really disappointed and I see here in this forum i'm not alone. Sad in 2014 to have these kinds of problems. It's forever changed my perception of the Canon brand.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Oppy
Location: Erin, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not Happy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2014
Over the years I have purchased a great deal of computer equipment. This printer (my personal #5) was chosen for the Canon name. They missed the boat on this model. You must remove the paper supply to print an envelope. It takes forever to copy or print one document.
It does NOT print to the edge of the paper. The trays and their slides are flimsy..
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site