Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.55 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (189 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
31
3 stars
16
2 stars
36
1 star
73
65 out of 189(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Becky
Location: Oklahoma City
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I loved this printer at the beginning and bought one for my home and office. Now I DONT! The drivers have to be reloaded periodically and it sometimes takes minutes to start printing. The scanner drivers go out. It needs a lot of work before the produce another one in this series
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: elaine
Location: NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

More time setting up than using

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
I have spent more time setting this up to print from my computer than using it. I get it set up and it prints fine. It also scans fine. But in the 3 months that I have owned it I have had to set it up 2 times. I am on time number three and cannot gett it to work at all! :( It is slow to print and scan. It is also very large!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Boss
Location: Columbus OHIO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Run from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
30d old and won't feed paper. tried everything. ridiculous. Had major project due and could not get paper to feed. Very slow start up for print so who cares if prints quickly if from time sent to printer take 5+ sec to get started THEN printing is quick....
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Totally pathetic printer - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable, it doesn't actually work!
It takes forever to start printing, when it actually prints. Lots of bloatware software to install and even after downloading it at least once a week, it won't print at least once a week. I'm pretty savvy on tech stuff and this is the worst printer I've ever owned. I only gave it one star because there wasn't a "no star" option.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: KOP

Fatal Error Within 6 Months

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable
I purchased this printer in December 2013 and 6 months later have to return it to the factory due to a 'fatal error' message - nothing wrong physically with the printer but an obvious software malfunction.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Strawbz
Location: Houston
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do not buy this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
My previous Canon printer was great, however I had to replace it as I could not get ink for it any longer and it was time to upgrade.
I am very disappointed in this printer, the wireless connection is totally unreliable. I have now changed the setup to a wired LAN connection and am experiencing the the same unrelaible performance. I have event reinstalled the twice and this has not fixed the issue. I spend more time trying to figure out how to get it working than actually printing. This printer is a total waste of money and I do not recommend it to anyone.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brentwoodfam
Location: Sacramento, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
UG, where to begin...the product itself is cheap plastic; set up difficult; and forget about reliable wireless printing, which is the primary reason I purchased. I have been trying for the last 45 minutes to print a document. The prompts on the printer and directions are not user friendly. I wish I would have done more research before buying. Yes, I do have buyers remorse.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Lilyb
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I'm pretty sure if you look up pain in the butt, piece of dodo or anything along those lines it pulls this printer up! I have to fix it weekly! I fix it more than I use it!!! It frustrates me so much! It was the worst purchase of my life! It sucks ink like nobody's business!! I should have known when I had to exchange the first one after two days of having it! Easy to say I'm investing in a new printer pretty soon! And this one is going to the dump! I wouldn't even recommend that my worst enemy buy it!! I had to give it one star but If I could I would give it negative stars!!!!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Designer21
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer EVER!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, loses wireless connection
I have used Canon printers all my life. My very first printer (Canon Pixma 780) lasted about 8 year until the printer nozzle broke and it was more expensive to replace than to buy a new printer. Was very sad to let go but then I bought a Canon Pixma MX870 with the new wireless technology. I was skeptical at first as the construction quality was a little bad but in general I was pretty satisfied. It printed wirelessly with no issues, I just didn't like that the USB port was built inside a hole so none of my USB sticks would fit. After moving countries, I sold the MX870 and bought this MX922....the worst printer ever. Whoever designed this printer didn't care about what they were designing...if it was even created by a designer. I almost feel like it was designed by an engeneer who likes the color of poo (hence the ugly brown accent at the bottom). The printer is glossy so there are fingerprints and dust particles all over it CONSTANTLY, even though I try to keep it clean and not touch the glossy part. Who in their right mind would design a glossy printer? Not only is glossy not in style anymore but its not practical. The printer is extremely noisy and constantly makes strange sounds at random time. It takes forever to print anything (because its wasting time making noises), makes a load of noise after the print is done as well, this is very annoying (and its set to 'quiet mode printing'....go figure). The wireless connectivity is absolute rubbish! I have been trying to print 1 page and it starts to print and then stops and goes to sleep and Im left with wasted ink, paper & time. Sometimes I try to print and the print queue does not come up, so I press print again...nothing happens...I press again...still nothing. The I manually have to open up settings > printers > click on this printer > open print queue and then all my prints are showing up (so it WAS sent to the printer) but my printer decided to take a break from its only life job and it refused to print my page. When I click resume, and delete all the extra prints, it painfully wakes up, makes more noises...while I sit patiently waiting and then it decided to quit on my again and pushes out a page that is only printed 1/5 of what I'm trying to print. Unbelievable. I have had enough...if this is the quality of printers that Canon is spitting out then I want out...will be trying other brands. I demand a full refund for this bad printer.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: J
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Absolute worst printer I have ever used

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, unreliable, everything
This printer disconnects often from the internet - turns itself off - disconnects from your computer - stalls - slow to start - uses ink quickly - constantly asks for new drivers when you have just installed new drivers. THE WORST PRINTER I HAVE USED IN OVER 25 YEARS. Do not buy - run fast - stay away!!!!! Below the boxes will ask you how long I have been a Canon enthusiast....NOT ANYMORE
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Peter
Location: KY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
lost connection all the time, I often had to turn it off and on again in order for it to print. It takes forever (2-5 min) to start up sometime. I made a poor decision to buy it.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Aaron
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Garbage!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Worst Canon printer ever and I've owned 3! Takes 20-60 seconds for first page to come out, with all kinds of whirring and chugging. Waste of time and money. STAY AWAY from this piece of garbage. I'll seriously consider leaving Canon because of this disaster. I don't care if this thing was free and I had no money for a printer; I'd still want to beat it with a sledge hammer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: garygdb

I find it a headache to try and fax.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
All I can say is it has caused me frustration trying to fax important documents.Hopefully I can get my money back
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chino
Location: Rockville MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Consistently jams in duplex

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
Very unhappy with the duplex printing. Worked great for about 6 months and then began jamming in duplex mode. During the second pass, there is a screeching sound and the paper jams or comes out completely crinkly and wavy. I tried everything in the maintenance software but nothing works. Also, it takes forever to print the first page although the machine is making all sorts of sounds, doing who knows what.
Software is very confusing to use.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Want2Print
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failure To Communicate

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Previous reviews of wireless communication problems are valid with this printer. I previously purchased 2 Canon MX882's, which is very similar and had no wireless setup problems. However, 1 died of a power supply board failure after 4 years. I bought the MX992 to replace it. Bad mistake! This would only connect momentarily. I am a retired electronics failure analysis engineer, with over 20 years experience in the high speed color print industry, so I am no dummy as some suggested of others that reported wireless connectivity problems. I returned it within 3 days for a full refund, bought a different brand printer and had a flawless setup. Do not buy this printer! However, I was very happy with my older MX882's.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: revett
Location: Idaho
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Another one of those gizmos that makes me feel lik

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup, inadequate setup instructionss
like I just lost 20 more IQ points. Includes a CD for installation--on my month old computer--that didn't come with a CD drive; and trying to find out how to install things without CD impossible. No decent explanation for how to connect to WiFi--although web search made it clear that some of us figured out how to do it despite Canon's directions. Would I buy it again? Tell you later if I ever get it working.
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Velo Steve
Location: Groveland, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Could have been great

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
The biggest problem is that it keeps going down. The lights will be on, but it won't respond to the computer, the control buttons, or even the on/off button. I have to unplug it to get it working, and then it complains that I shut it down incorrectly! This happens at least a few times per week.
Second problem - it takes a long time to print the first page. Most of the time when I print, it sits there making internal noises for a long time. If you print documents of 20 or more pages most of the time, this may not be a problem, but for one or two pages the wait is much longer than with older printers I've had.
On the good side, output quality is excellent, speed is good once it starts printing, and paper handling (including duplex mode) is good.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: SAS
Location: LA, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Too complicated to work easily

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
This thing is a challenge to do the basic: simple printing. It's "online", then it's "offline", then it's "not responding"
"Help" is a waste of time, resulting in hours of run around.
I would not buy it again...........
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: BLN
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Do NOT Buy This One!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable, unpredictable, poor print quality
I believe in Canon and have been a faithful customer of their printers and cameras for many years; however, the Canon MX922 printer makes me question my judgment. I purchased the printer in December 2013. Setup was easy. The trouble started within a month of purchase. Sometimes it printed and sometimes it didn't ... no rhyme or reason. I studied the manual, realigned and cleaned print heads, etc. to no avail. I've spent way too much on inkjets (thanks to maintenance) with no result. The printer is noisier and slower than others I've owned. Currently, it prints blue, but no black, yellow, red. Other times all colors. Sometimes blurred black lines and sometimes everything works just right. As a writer, I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to be stuck with this printer. It was purchased brand new, in the box. Maybe mine is a lemon, but why take a chance? DO NOT BUY CANON MX922 PRINTER!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: professor
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
This is a terrible printer, the worst we have ever owned.
3 of 29 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site