Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.478 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
24
3 stars
14
2 stars
25
1 star
54
45 out of 136(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: professor
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
This is a terrible printer, the worst we have ever owned.
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: M
Location: ma
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy this crab

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
It takes for ever to print on black and white paper
it uses a lot of very expensive ink
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jonyen
Location: St Louis, MO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Stay away from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014
Please read the numerous reviews on this printer before making a purchase. All of the negative reviews are 100% accurate. This is by far the worse printer that I have owned. Four months of ownership and it has been one problem after another from phantom paper jammed to lost wifi connection.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Geraldo
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon PIXMA 922 STINKS!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: nice color printing
Cons: doesn't print envelopes, scanner only works intermittently, made of cheap flimsly plastic, very long delay whenever starting to print, not worth the time and aggrivation.
From the time one presses or clicks "print", the Canon PIXMA 922 takes an inordinate amount of time to start printing the first page (30 to 40 seconds). And this is the case even when the printer is already warmed up. Its construction can best be described as cheap and shoddy. Moreover, there has been little forethought in its design. Who ever heard of having to remove all of the paper in order to print one envelope? And of course, that is assuming one is able to get the printer to print the envelope. I didn't pay a lot of money for this printer, but it should at least do the minimal things, like print, with some ease and speed. But evidently that's too much for Canon to try and figure out. It is going to be a long day in h-ll, before I purchase another printer made by Canon. It is annoying, aggravating, and I can't get my work done using it. One minute it will scan a document, the next it won't. Some days it prints envelopes, some days it doesn't. Life is too short to put up with this kind of poor performance from any product.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: PAJ
Location: MN
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Been a big Canon fan for some time, but will no longer be a printer customer. Stick to something you're good at Canon. Printers are not it. This printer can only print on thin stock. Card stock or heavy photo paper doesn't stand a chance in this printer. Speed is also an issue. Often takes minutes (no exaggeration here) to ready itself. Reasonably fast after the very slow start... Look to other brands if you want print media flexibility.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: unhappy owner
Location: Peoria, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst printer I ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
Cons: printer software, reliability, ease of maintenance
This is the worst, least reliable, hardest to use printer I have ever used of owned! Wish I had never bought it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: deepsqleg
Location: Bluffton SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst canon Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: see review for cons
Having bought and happily used MX 860 and MX 892, this product MX 922 is absolute junk. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY !! It is extremely flimsy, makes an incredible noise when printing and not ! Has no stop in the paper tray, so it is impossible to line up with labels/trifold brochures etc. I don't know what Canon was thinking - I have wasted hours, inks and expensive paper to try to make it perform. Goodbye Canon !
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: online school mom
Location: SC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

PITIFUL!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2014
I researched printers extensively before purchasing this one. I chose the MX922 because it had all the features I was looking for and previous reviews for other Canon printers were positive. HOWEVER, this printer is HORRIBLE! If it is not in continuous use, it loses wireless connection. I constantly have to input the passcode. Oh, and if it were being used continuously, be prepared to shell out bucks for the ink. I never understand how the colored ink runs out so fast when I print mostly in black and white??????
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TJ
Location: Albany, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

infuriating!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
I wanted to love this machine. It had all the features I needed and I had no problems with my MP620. This machine does not print wirelessly, does not automatically connect to the router (you have to manually type in all information), and then this printer looses the connection and does not print. Aggravating! I am going to return this printer, but I can't print the return label!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Moe
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014
This is by FAR the worst printer I have ever used. Even when hardwired to the computer, it loses connection constantly- in fact I've come to expect that it won't print on the first try. It's as if it completely disconnects itself when it goes to sleep. I'd only be taken off guard if it printed without malfunctioning somehow (and I don't remember the last time it did). The wireless is worthless. Before printing, it takes forever to warm up. After it prints anything, it continues to make noise for about ten minutes. I am in awe that this printer has not been recalled- I can't believe it made it through testing. It is THAT bad. Canon, I want a new printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Vikingsfan
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Pros: nice features
Cons: constantly loses wireless connection, uses a lot of ink
One word best describes this printer - FRUSTRATING!!! I bought this printer because I needed a printer that could print wirelessly. Unfortunately, the wireless feature is the worse part about this printer because it constantly looses the wireless connection. Huh??? If you look at the reviews this is a common complaint and the Canon "fixes" do not help. Print quality is good and features are nice, but constantly having to reset the WLAN connection is a major pain! The printer also has a appetite for ink.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sir
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Usually I'm a big Canon guy but this printer is very poor.
The scanner chokes on even good originals.
The photos have noticable scan lines.
It eats ink.
It warms up forever.
I use scangear because the supplied software took forever and was hard to use.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Rich
Location: Basehor, KS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst of PIXMAs

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
I have owned the MX850, the MX870, and now this one. The MX850 was the best of all. It had all the features and it worked well. The MX870 was OK, too. But the MX922 has made the Canon printer line sour. 1) It does NOT have a second paper tray - the advertised features were not clear. The second tray only does envelopes and pictures. I needed something for alternate standard size paper and was fooled. 2) The one true paper tray it has does not keep the paper stable. The paper does not even stay seated against the end stop. So, printed pages, especially labels, do not position the same every time. 3) The printer can't seem to print a whole page without at least one line of text being a little skewed - where the tops of letters are shifted from the bottoms of letters. 4) The printer seems to take forever to gyrate itself before being ready to print and again after it prints. NEVER open the lid if you are in a hurry to print.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: tunatofu
Location: Washington DC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Should never be this hard to set up!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Pros: good displays on machine, reasonable sized footprint
Cons: hard to set up, doesnt contain all necessary parts and drivers, poor quality output, expensive ink, long start up time with each use
I got this as a holiday gift so I had no say in reviewing or choosing. I have owned many printers in my life, I am fairly tech savvy, and I have happily used Canon products at the office so I was horrified to find how hard this system was to set up! The full set of drivers wasnt even on the CD and the USB cord was not included (I had to buy one at Radio Shack!) The driver downloads gave me some serious run around back and forth to the same commands I had already done repeatedly and I had to remake the same choices over and over.
I went through all this just to print shipping labels but no - PDFs dont print!! Though this is promoted as a photo scanner and printer the scans were complicated and the output was low resolution.
And yes the ink is expensive. When the original batch runs out I wont be replacing it and will donate the printer.
I expected better of Canon and the price was way too high to be this hard to set up and use.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: doug104
Location: Bel Air, Md
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

the worst

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
By far the poorest performing printer I have ever owned. It seems to decided on its own when it will print and when it won't. I find that the WIFI configuration simply disappears from time to time and has to be reprogrammed. I try to print and nothing... then 15 minutes later it decides that it is ready and prints, or maybe not. I haven't been able to print a thing all night, I've reset everything, doesn't matter. I won't even talk about unsightly this black monolith is sitting on my desk, but I'm going to cut my losses and change to another brand. My last Canon printer ever.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: garg
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer...too many issues

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2014
Have had nothing but issues with this printer. Driver problems, ink cartridge problems. Currently have spent an hour working on it as it has just stopped printing images. Text is fine but will stall when "processing" processing any image and then just stop. Avoid this printer at all costs.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JIgnesh
Location: North Port, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disappointed!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: good feature, good print quality
Cons: inconsistent, expensive, issues with wifi printing, printer spool delays, compatibility issues with apple products
Great marketing and features although when it comes to performance, consistency is a huge issue. Wireless printing may or may not work! Getting so many error codes. Printer delay is horrible on wifi. I have tons of issues if I print from imac/iphone/ipad.
Cannon needs to recall this printer and fix it before reintroducing it~
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: smokey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I paid quite a bit for this printer and have had problems with it from the beginning. The ink cartridges are expensive and don't last long. I have maybe printed 100 pages and the print head is no longer working even after multiple deep cleanings and cartridge replacement. Save your money. The best printer Canon ever made was the Pixma ip3000 and I think they quit manufacturing it because it lasted forever and you could refill the cartridges easily rather than having to buy new ones.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Ruler
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Difficult set-up and compatability

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
First one broke after a few uses and replaced it with a new one because I already had the ink.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: bigdenusc
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible product, impossible to manage settings

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2014
Cons: everything about it
This product is pretty much the worst printer I've ever used. It guzzles ink like crazy and does not allow you to easily set which ink cartridge to use. Keeps using up magenta ink to print straight black documents instead of the black text cartridge. Gone through every printing setting, properties, and set-up options dozens of times and can't resolve this. So basically, terrible value and horrible in terms of user friendliness. Tried scanning documents and it basically took 30 minutes to try getting this to work and even then it doesn't place the scanned file anywhere readily accessible or allow the user to direct where the scanned file will go on the computer. Mucho bloatware installed that is unnecessary and not useful. I will be returning this printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site