Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452

PIXMA MX452

The PIXMA MX452 Wireless Inkjet Office All-In-One delivers superior quality, versatility and ease to your home office. This begins with built-in Wi-Fi® 1 for printing and scanning anywhere in your home from computers and compatible mobile devices. 2
Average Customer Rating:
2.245 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 star
51
28 out of 97(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452
Review 1 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: undisclosed
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

sooo irritated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
At some point it decided it no longer wanted to save docs to my pc as PDF. Then it refused to scan from the machine, had to go through Devises and Printers on Start menu to initiate scans. Spent 2 hours on the phone with Canon support and they put the blame back on my firewall even though I have not made any changes to such. Now it is offline and I am not able to print from either my pc or laptop. I have attempted to change default, reinstall printer and software on both products to no avail. What a cheap piece of plastic! My last Canon for sure.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Can't see the display...need a flashlight every time to read the screen. Error code 5011 common...this time nothing seems to correct it and just bought $50 ink when my other ink was probably fine.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: siservices
Location: Garland, Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

MFC MX452

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: no low ink alarm
This Multi-Function Unit was very easy to set up and begin working. The print quality is much better than other brand MFC units especially the color. It is easy to update. I do wish it had a better alert to print ink being low. As it is, the faxes that are inbound will be saved in memory otherwise providing no audible or other alert to the user. Overall it is a nice unit to have and use.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Bill W
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Printed one document over internet and never again. It is hard to impossible to use. My 7 year old Canon printer is still marvelous. The MX 452 is a complex piece of junk.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Tired
Location: californiia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

never again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Worked great at first, could use my phone, tablet, computer with printer. Somewhere along the line the printer went "offline" it's been a nightmare since. Cannot get it on our home network as it previously was, just not worth the time and energy.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
This printer is good especially for the price. I have had minimal issues that were easily resolved with a quick call to customer service.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: alohaangel
Location: los angeles, ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

don't get it for the wifi connection

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use
we were excited to try out this new feature of wi fi but was very disappointed that it only worked with 1 computer at a time, and in order for the wi fi to work on a different computer it would stop working on the existing one! it is a process to get it setup to work! we've had it for over a year now and the wi fi doesn't work on any computer. so we just gave up. anytime we want to print anything we have to connect to it. lucky some of us have laptops so it is easier to connect, but the PC's don't get to print because we don't want to spend the time unhooking everything to print. we have figured a way for them to print. the pc user just go's onto the laptop and prints it from an email.
the ink runs out pretty fast even though we have the print quality on standard or fast print to preserve it as much as possible
the one good thing about this printer is that is does have a very nice print quality even on the standard or fast print mode.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: FedUp
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Was Hoping 4 Better

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, hard to connect when using wireless.
I was a big fan of another line however, I got to know their tech center on a first name basis and my husband even got involved. This is so frustrating. Somehow my printer got taken off-line and now I'm having the hardest time getting it back. I had it for a while then it disappeared again. Reminds me of I-Spy or Clue for those of you who are old enough to appreciate them.
I will be calling Tech Support later to get.some help before I go bonkers. Wish me luck!!!!!
p.s. I will be contacting the "Online Support Information" as they have requested.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: UNHAPPY
Location: SPOKANE
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

WORST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
THIS PRINTER HAS BEEN THE WORSE I HAVE EVER USED. IT IS SLOW. RECEIVING FAXES ARE THE WORST. I SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. I WONT MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN. I WAS SO COUNTING ON THE CANON NAME TO GIVE ME A QUALITY PRODUCT. I LOVE YOUR CAMERA EQ, SO I NATURALLY FIGURED YOUR OTHER PRODUCTS WOULD FOLLOW SUIT, BOY WAS I WRONG.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Angry
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, terrrible
The worst printer I've ever purchased! Slow, spits out paper when you print and I cannot print coupons. it prints them very tiny. I wished I had look at the reviews before I purchased it!
Review 11 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Lam
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Worse printer I have owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
Worse product ever. Would not purchase another Canon. The ink always says it needs to be replaced even when new.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Useless product. Prints part of a page or nothing at all and won't even display an error code. No help on the canon website or elsewhere to fix it myself and I'm not paying to have this piece of junk fixed.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Darkcloud
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Fax Problems Develop Right Away

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: very cheap
Cons: very cheap
The old adage "You get what you pay for." applies to this inexpensive (cheap) all-in-one printer. The fax stops working after only a few outgoing faxes. Printer drinks ink like it is tap water. Don't use off-brand cartridges or you will awaken the fatal error demons.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: CantPrint
Location: New Orleans, LA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Use 2 B Fully Functional Now Just A Copy Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Cons: unreliable
I bought a new Macbook Pro and needed a printer that was capable of printer wirelessly from my Macbook Pro and iPhone. Saw this printer and instantly fell in love with its features and style. Setup was a bit confusing but not really hard. I just think Canon, perhaps, should've included a more descriptive manual on setup then the goofy pictures that really didn't seem to "match" what my printer was showing on its display. After a mild setup hiccup, I've got it up and running. Of which all worked fine - I'd be a in the other room on my computer or phone and decide to print something; I hit print, then from the other room I'd hear the printer go "BEEP" and volia - it begun to do its job! Pleasingly enough, the only gripe I had was it would spit the paper out on the floor when it was done. But no biggie, it wasn't like it was a deal breaker or anything like of the sorts. Then fast forward several months later; ten months to be exact of only occasional use - the printer wouldn't respond. On my Macbook Pro it would say "printer not connected properly", and on my iPhone it wasn't detected anymore. No more AirPrint jobs for me. :( I had even tried scanning once - nope the printer is completely ignoring my Macbook and iPhone. At one point I attempted to hook them up to the printer via usb and the provided ethernet cable; only to have the printer say "it's not a compatible device detected." Done a bunch of rests, re-setups, etc. Nothing got it working agin. Gee, thanks Canon - y'all clearly sold me an apparently bi-polar printer! So now all this puppy is good for is just making copies of the things. No longer printing out documents and etc. from my computer and phone. The scanner - yeah it works fine as I said; for copying but for other means it's completely useless. And the fax machine; I can't really say anything about it, whether if it's good or bad. I got fed up with it halfway through the setup process so therefore I've never used the fax feature.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Mo
Location: Norfolk, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
This is one of the best printers I have ever purchased. I read the earlier reviews and I don't know what these consumers are complaining about. I had my printer for over a year now and it still continues to give me the best print quality. Wow....just discovered it has a quiet mode. As far as the ink consumption....I was low on ink and did not have to change the cartridge until a few months later and meanwhile printer still delivered good quality prints. I would definitely recommend this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: student
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

A wireless printer should not be this difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I should not have to jump thru hoops to set up a wireless printer. It should find the modem automatically........ This printer is very poor quality also and is very slow
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: El Jefe
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

This printer is awful!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
The WiFi connection is horrible and CONSTANTLY failing. I have to reset the printer connection every time I print! Just got a new router and, of course, there is a connection problem.
And, to make it worse, every time the printer is slow (which is every time I use it) the following message comes up: "Please wait a while" A while? Why should I have to wait at all?
Review 18 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: PhotoMatt
Location: Fresno, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Drinks ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014
Pros: durable
Cons: ink usage
This printer guzzles ink! I use it for 2 computers, one Mac, one PC. It constantly looses wireless contact with last computer not used for printing a job. Most distressing is the ink situation. "Low on ink" seems to be the mantra of this multifunctional unit.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Jay32588
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disapointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
Not what I expected. I'm still trying to set this printer up
Wireless to my Laptop! Very confusing I don't know half the things this printer ask for and the "Getting Started guide" was NO HELP. And now reading other people reviews I starting to think this printer wasn't worth buying... I watched a video on YouTube of a kid warning NOT TO BUY this printer I only wished I watched the video before I bought this printer. Thinking about taking the printer back to the store and getting my money back.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: jimmy

Poor quality

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Printer stopped working after 2 months. Print heads will not align. Alignment fails while print head bangs into side of printer repeatedly. Get something else.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site