Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452

PIXMA MX452

The PIXMA MX452 Wireless Inkjet Office All-In-One delivers superior quality, versatility and ease to your home office. This begins with built-in Wi-Fi® 1 for printing and scanning anywhere in your home from computers and compatible mobile devices. 2
Average Customer Rating:
2.187 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
15
1 star
58
28 out of 97(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452
Review 1 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: california
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

worst purchase ever. waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
It keeps saying my computer is offline or that another computer is hooked up with the printer which is impossible since my laptop is the only thing connected to the printer.
It's loud, takes forever to start, turn off, turn on, EVERYTHING. And now, nothing prints, it keeps saying there's a paper jam. I tried loading one sheet of paper in at a time and still nothing. It refuses to print.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Grandma1
Location: Brantford Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

customer service

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015
I had bought a new computer and I couldn't connect to my Canon Printer. I had tried for two weeks and decided to call the customer service number. I had waited about 15 minutes and then I got this amazing man who took the time and made me feel smart about connecting these two electronics together. I am so grateful for this service.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: GCM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nosey and User Friendly NOT!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014
My daughter purchased this printer in 2013 for college. It won't feed paper correctly it insists on being "offline" when my computer tries to use it wirelessly. It is noisey when it is printing and always seem to jam. Not good if you are printing from another room and have to get up ever few sheets to unjam the printer....
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Griffin
Location: Griffin, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Short lived

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2014
Purchased this printer in 2014 for my son's last semester in college. It won't feed paper correctly it insists on being "offline" when my computer tries to use it wirelessly. When I plug it into the USB, my entire stack of unused paper feeds through and causes a paper jam. I am frustrated with it.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: sam
Location: ID
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2014
I will never buy another Cannon printer. This is the most unreliable printer I have ever used. It is so slow it takes a couple of minutes to print out one sheet, if it will print at all. Do not buy one! You will wish you had spent your money somewhere else.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Captain Caffeine
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

My 3rd Canon printer - letdown

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2014
Print quality is good, it's quick and easy to use. However, I don't like the scanning software. "My Image Garden" is horrible. All I want to do is scan a variety of documents and pictures, and the interface on MIG is clumsy at best and impossible to deal with at worst. I would think twice before buying Canon printer #4 if the scanning utilities are as bad as MIG. I wish I had MP Navigator on this printer. That was a breeze to use. Get rid of the photoshop wannabe and bring back a good reliable scan/save utility!
Review 7 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: mad printer
Location: Indianapolis
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Dont buy this Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
This is a garage job. That is the only way I can be civil. JUNK.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: mome
Location: Eastern Sierras, California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

no apparent scan capability

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Well. Here I am with a severe need to scan a large number of documents. When I was done with setup, there apparently is no scan capability. What a chump I am. The local shop where I bought it was no help.
The machine screen is not backlit so it is flashlight time. Paper jams are constant. This machine just does not want to be here, and I feel the same.
Buy something else if you want an all in one. This one baffles me.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not for me

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2014
I have had my MX452 for a year now. The biggest frustration I have with it is that there is no way to clear the memory. It insists on doing what you did last. Scanning is a problem. One time you press the buttons and it gives you the option to scan to a flash drive, other times, not at all. Only once it gave me the option to scan as a picture, but now only give me the option to scan as a document. And even when it gives you an option, you can select it, but it acts as if you never did, just reverts back to what it had on it's mind. It is a nice concept, but just doesn't work well. Not user friendly. Canon provides some instruction on their website, but it doesn't always seem to match what I am seeing on the printer. I will say that printing is good though, but I didn't buy it just for printing.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: undisclosed
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

sooo irritated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014
At some point it decided it no longer wanted to save docs to my pc as PDF. Then it refused to scan from the machine, had to go through Devises and Printers on Start menu to initiate scans. Spent 2 hours on the phone with Canon support and they put the blame back on my firewall even though I have not made any changes to such. Now it is offline and I am not able to print from either my pc or laptop. I have attempted to change default, reinstall printer and software on both products to no avail. What a cheap piece of plastic! My last Canon for sure.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Can't see the display...need a flashlight every time to read the screen. Error code 5011 common...this time nothing seems to correct it and just bought $50 ink when my other ink was probably fine.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: siservices
Location: Garland, Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

MFC MX452

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: no low ink alarm
This Multi-Function Unit was very easy to set up and begin working. The print quality is much better than other brand MFC units especially the color. It is easy to update. I do wish it had a better alert to print ink being low. As it is, the faxes that are inbound will be saved in memory otherwise providing no audible or other alert to the user. Overall it is a nice unit to have and use.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Bill W
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Printed one document over internet and never again. It is hard to impossible to use. My 7 year old Canon printer is still marvelous. The MX 452 is a complex piece of junk.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Tired
Location: californiia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

never again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Worked great at first, could use my phone, tablet, computer with printer. Somewhere along the line the printer went "offline" it's been a nightmare since. Cannot get it on our home network as it previously was, just not worth the time and energy.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
This printer is good especially for the price. I have had minimal issues that were easily resolved with a quick call to customer service.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: alohaangel
Location: los angeles, ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

don't get it for the wifi connection

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use
we were excited to try out this new feature of wi fi but was very disappointed that it only worked with 1 computer at a time, and in order for the wi fi to work on a different computer it would stop working on the existing one! it is a process to get it setup to work! we've had it for over a year now and the wi fi doesn't work on any computer. so we just gave up. anytime we want to print anything we have to connect to it. lucky some of us have laptops so it is easier to connect, but the PC's don't get to print because we don't want to spend the time unhooking everything to print. we have figured a way for them to print. the pc user just go's onto the laptop and prints it from an email.
the ink runs out pretty fast even though we have the print quality on standard or fast print to preserve it as much as possible
the one good thing about this printer is that is does have a very nice print quality even on the standard or fast print mode.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: FedUp
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Was Hoping 4 Better

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, hard to connect when using wireless.
I was a big fan of another line however, I got to know their tech center on a first name basis and my husband even got involved. This is so frustrating. Somehow my printer got taken off-line and now I'm having the hardest time getting it back. I had it for a while then it disappeared again. Reminds me of I-Spy or Clue for those of you who are old enough to appreciate them.
I will be calling Tech Support later to get.some help before I go bonkers. Wish me luck!!!!!
p.s. I will be contacting the "Online Support Information" as they have requested.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: UNHAPPY
Location: SPOKANE
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

WORST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
THIS PRINTER HAS BEEN THE WORSE I HAVE EVER USED. IT IS SLOW. RECEIVING FAXES ARE THE WORST. I SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. I WONT MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN. I WAS SO COUNTING ON THE CANON NAME TO GIVE ME A QUALITY PRODUCT. I LOVE YOUR CAMERA EQ, SO I NATURALLY FIGURED YOUR OTHER PRODUCTS WOULD FOLLOW SUIT, BOY WAS I WRONG.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Angry
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, terrrible
The worst printer I've ever purchased! Slow, spits out paper when you print and I cannot print coupons. it prints them very tiny. I wished I had look at the reviews before I purchased it!
Review 20 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Lam
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Worse printer I have owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
Worse product ever. Would not purchase another Canon. The ink always says it needs to be replaced even when new.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site