Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452

PIXMA MX452

The PIXMA MX452 Wireless Inkjet Office All-In-One delivers superior quality, versatility and ease to your home office. This begins with built-in Wi-Fi® 1 for printing and scanning anywhere in your home from computers and compatible mobile devices. 2
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
38
25 out of 78(32%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452
Review 1 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: JIMBO
Location: West Chester Pa.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

LIKE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
It works much better than my old .. brand , little harder to set up but results are great .
Review 2 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Al
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

An OK printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Have the printer a couple of weeks now and have no major complains. It took a little longer to set up the WiFi, had to use the USB cable for that but it does connect as designed. The display needs a back light but isn't a major problem using a small flash light. The speed and quality is OK, as expected. Like the idea of designing a printer with print heads as part of the ink cartridge. My last Cannon print head got damaged because it ran out of ink and I waited to long to replace the cartridge. Now with this new printer if it happens again all you do is buy another ink cartridge. Replacement for those print heads cost almost the same price as a new printer.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Lynne
Location: Watsontown, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Would NOT recommend!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: the price
This is the worst printer ever!! It printed 2 times and now no matter what I do it will not print!! Not wireless or otherwise. It's going back to the store asap!! This is my last Canon purchase!! This is the second Canon I've purchased in a year!! Both are junk!!!
Review 4 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: walt
Location: Poughkeepsie NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Canon MX452 multi printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: excellent print quality
Cons: ink consumption is terrible, web site is poorly designed
I had a Canon ipx4300 printer that was the BEST printer I have ever owned. After about 8000 pages the print head clogged so I decided to get a replacement Canon. I purchase the MX452…it has two cartridges as compare to the 5 the 4300 had.
I am EXTREMELY DIS-SATISFIED with its ink consumption. To be kind it is an INK PIG !
This will be my last Canon !
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: CF
Location: Mo
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

This Printer is more troble than its worth

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014
WiFi was working fine for a month. Now we can't get it to work at all. I hook it up to USB. It Work good. Today it decides not to scan. I turn the Printer off. Still didn't work. I turn the PC off and it still didn't work. I reloaded the soft ware and it still doesn't work. This printer is like new and hasn't printed or scan over 100 copys in it life..
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Pally
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

decent printer good cartridge system

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
nice system we don't print a lot so the cartridge with printer head is ideal. photos have printed out great and the network and wireless printing allow easy access from all the PCs and tablets in house
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: James
Location: Cincinnati,OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
I have nothing bad to say about it. I like the wifi. The copy part is good. It takes awhile for the ink to run out. It prints fast.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: FRED
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

COMPLICATED SETUP

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: it looks good
Cons: it needs an online program you can access, to replace needing a dvd so, people can set up the printer on any computer?
WE SET THE PRINTER UP, SET UP WIRELESS CONNECTION WITH OUR DESKTOP UPSTAIRS . IT HAS THE DVD ACCESS UP THERE. THE PRINTER WORKS ONLY FOR THAT COMPUTER . BUT-TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO CONNECT IT TO OUR LAPTOP DWNSTAIRS .I MEAN THATS WHY WE BOUGHT IT WIRELESS RT? TO USE IT WITH BOTH COMPUTERS IN OUR HOUSE BK AND FORTH ETC ETC..WITHOUT WIRES..BUT THE LAPTOP DWNSTRS DOESNT HAVE DVD ACCESS . SO USING THE CANNON WITH THE NON-DVD ACCESS ISNT AN OPTION, WE TRIED OTHER OPTIONS TECHNICALLY. NOTHING WORKED.SIGNAL WONT TRANSMIT TO DWNSTRS LAPTOP TO PRINT.WE ARE PACKING THE PRINTER UP AND RETURNING IT ,GETTING OTHER BRAND AS A REPLACEMENT . I SPENT 3 HRS TRYING TO ESTABLISH CONNECTION FROM THE PRINTER UPSTAIRS TO THE LAPTOP DWNSTRS. WITHOUT USEING DVD . IT AINT HAPPINEN.......ALSO, I CANT SEE WHAT IT SAYS ON TOP WINDOW OF PRINTER. IT NEEDS A LIGHT! AND THE WORDS ARE TINY??
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: b
Location: amherst, ma

solid printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
If you know how to set up a wifi system properly this is a great printer for the price took me about five min to set up and im running a pc a mac and two androids on it no problems the only complaint I have is the app is made for phones not tablets dosent work right on them but what ever it prints smoth an eficently havent had one jam or error and I print alot of docs and pics
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: swamimama
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014
Pros: price & light weight
Cons: hardly works at all
I bought this printer for light use. I should have known better. I stopped buying Canon printers 10 years ago because of their poor performance, but thought this 452 fit my needs and I would try it. It eats all the paper in the tray at once. Then I have to unplug it, turn it upside down, open the bottom and pull out the paper. It MIGHT print if I put in one sheet at a time. DUH!!!! After only 3 months of minimal use, the printer is misaligned and I can't even do an alignment check. The printer stops halfway through the alignment check and I get an error message. Deep cleaning, checking the roller, etc-made no difference. Well, I am going out today to replace it--it is a piece of junk.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Rbert
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Poorest Purchase Ever!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: where do i start
This has to be one of the sadest excuses for a all-in-one printer that I have ever had. I have an ipad, and your are supposed to print from it, hasn't worked. I really liked the fax part of the printer until I wanted to used it, I have had the printer for about a year and a half, and still not able to fax from it.
I would have to say that Canon really let me down. My first camera was a Canon loved it. I have had a Canon i99900 printer, for about 8-9 years, still works great, and I would buy another, but I would not buy another Canon MX452.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: kate
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: jams, wifi connectivity doesn't work, slow printing, awful
My dad bought me this printer (I'm a student, so I'm in constant need of essays. outlines. and notes printed), and I feel bad that he spent the money on this piece of garbage. It jams like No one's business, WiFi connectivity doesn't work, and when you finally do get it to work, your prints have overlapping text and it's just awful. Save yourself, and don't buy this product, unless you intend on giving it to your mortal enemy.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: GL
Location: rural area
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

WORST BUY EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014
Cons: not good
MX452 VERY DIFFICULT TO SETUP AND PROGRAM.COPY PHOTOS TO COMPUTER IS VERY DIFFICULT.ALL OPERATIONS ,COPY,PRINT FAX.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: flemgail
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

best for the pricing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: customer service, good product for the price, reliable, quality
Cons: installation instructions, print delay
overall the printer instructions were a little hard to follow, but, once we connected with Carlos of Canon Customer Care...............we were smooth sailing. He made the whole process very easy to follow and his demeanor was outstanding. He was a customer advocate. he made us feel good about our purchase.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Adam
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

Do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: everything
I'm no noobie to computers. This printer is really hard to use. I cant print wireless even though it advertises it can. That is the reason I bought this printer, I have to hard wire it to print anything. Please choose another printer besides this one.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: bean

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014
Worst printer. If you want to waste time trying to get a printer to work, this is the one for you.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Rick
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult to set up, settings disappear

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: tests your resolve
Cons: difficult to setup wireless
Would return this unit except box went out with the trash.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: shamrocker05
Location: scranton pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

BAD

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: everything that can go wrong will
This is the worst printer I have ever owned!!!!
nothing works right fax is always messed up. to scan is next to impossible but if you take an hour to fiqure out you can scan something. the air print (the only reason I bought this} does not work. it did sometimes in when I first got it but that has long left. DO NOT BUY. I will never buy another cannon product ever
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Hawk
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2014
Cons: very unreliable
Long time Canon customer. Purchased MX450 about 9 months ago, worst performing printer I've owned to date. Never really functioned properly using wireless, so connected via usb. Still prints only intermittently, often getting printer not responding error. Works again after unplugging, but often only for a short period of time. Airprint capability rarely works. Scanning functionality just as bad and not user friendly. Big believer in user reviews, but rarely write one myself. So dissatisfied with this product I couldn't resist.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Joey
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Worse printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
This printer is the very unreliable and NOT user friendly. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't whether it's printing a document or scanning a document. I don't think I am doing anything wrong because at times it works. Now I am having problems with the scanner, should it not be as simple as pressing the scan button and it should automatically scan. And yes, it worked one time but now it's no longer working. I've never had such a bad experience before this printer.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site