Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452

PIXMA MX452

The PIXMA MX452 Wireless Inkjet Office All-In-One delivers superior quality, versatility and ease to your home office. This begins with built-in Wi-Fi® 1 for printing and scanning anywhere in your home from computers and compatible mobile devices. 2
Average Customer Rating:
2.244 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 star
46
26 out of 90(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX452
Review 1 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: UNHAPPY
Location: SPOKANE
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

WORST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
THIS PRINTER HAS BEEN THE WORSE I HAVE EVER USED. IT IS SLOW. RECEIVING FAXES ARE THE WORST. I SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I MADE THIS PURCHASE. I WONT MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN. I WAS SO COUNTING ON THE CANON NAME TO GIVE ME A QUALITY PRODUCT. I LOVE YOUR CAMERA EQ, SO I NATURALLY FIGURED YOUR OTHER PRODUCTS WOULD FOLLOW SUIT, BOY WAS I WRONG.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Angry
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, terrrible
The worst printer I've ever purchased! Slow, spits out paper when you print and I cannot print coupons. it prints them very tiny. I wished I had look at the reviews before I purchased it!
Review 3 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Lam
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Worse printer I have owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
Worse product ever. Would not purchase another Canon. The ink always says it needs to be replaced even when new.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Useless product. Prints part of a page or nothing at all and won't even display an error code. No help on the canon website or elsewhere to fix it myself and I'm not paying to have this piece of junk fixed.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Darkcloud
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Fax Problems Develop Right Away

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Pros: very cheap
Cons: very cheap
The old adage "You get what you pay for." applies to this inexpensive (cheap) all-in-one printer. The fax stops working after only a few outgoing faxes. Printer drinks ink like it is tap water. Don't use off-brand cartridges or you will awaken the fatal error demons.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: CantPrint
Location: New Orleans, LA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Use 2 B Fully Functional Now Just A Copy Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Cons: unreliable
I bought a new Macbook Pro and needed a printer that was capable of printer wirelessly from my Macbook Pro and iPhone. Saw this printer and instantly fell in love with its features and style. Setup was a bit confusing but not really hard. I just think Canon, perhaps, should've included a more descriptive manual on setup then the goofy pictures that really didn't seem to "match" what my printer was showing on its display. After a mild setup hiccup, I've got it up and running. Of which all worked fine - I'd be a in the other room on my computer or phone and decide to print something; I hit print, then from the other room I'd hear the printer go "BEEP" and volia - it begun to do its job! Pleasingly enough, the only gripe I had was it would spit the paper out on the floor when it was done. But no biggie, it wasn't like it was a deal breaker or anything like of the sorts. Then fast forward several months later; ten months to be exact of only occasional use - the printer wouldn't respond. On my Macbook Pro it would say "printer not connected properly", and on my iPhone it wasn't detected anymore. No more AirPrint jobs for me. :( I had even tried scanning once - nope the printer is completely ignoring my Macbook and iPhone. At one point I attempted to hook them up to the printer via usb and the provided ethernet cable; only to have the printer say "it's not a compatible device detected." Done a bunch of rests, re-setups, etc. Nothing got it working agin. Gee, thanks Canon - y'all clearly sold me an apparently bi-polar printer! So now all this puppy is good for is just making copies of the things. No longer printing out documents and etc. from my computer and phone. The scanner - yeah it works fine as I said; for copying but for other means it's completely useless. And the fax machine; I can't really say anything about it, whether if it's good or bad. I got fed up with it halfway through the setup process so therefore I've never used the fax feature.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Mo
Location: Norfolk, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
This is one of the best printers I have ever purchased. I read the earlier reviews and I don't know what these consumers are complaining about. I had my printer for over a year now and it still continues to give me the best print quality. Wow....just discovered it has a quiet mode. As far as the ink consumption....I was low on ink and did not have to change the cartridge until a few months later and meanwhile printer still delivered good quality prints. I would definitely recommend this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: student
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

A wireless printer should not be this difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I should not have to jump thru hoops to set up a wireless printer. It should find the modem automatically........ This printer is very poor quality also and is very slow
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: El Jefe
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

This printer is awful!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
The WiFi connection is horrible and CONSTANTLY failing. I have to reset the printer connection every time I print! Just got a new router and, of course, there is a connection problem.
And, to make it worse, every time the printer is slow (which is every time I use it) the following message comes up: "Please wait a while" A while? Why should I have to wait at all?
Review 10 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: PhotoMatt
Location: Fresno, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Drinks ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014
Pros: durable
Cons: ink usage
This printer guzzles ink! I use it for 2 computers, one Mac, one PC. It constantly looses wireless contact with last computer not used for printing a job. Most distressing is the ink situation. "Low on ink" seems to be the mantra of this multifunctional unit.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Jay32588
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disapointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
Not what I expected. I'm still trying to set this printer up
Wireless to my Laptop! Very confusing I don't know half the things this printer ask for and the "Getting Started guide" was NO HELP. And now reading other people reviews I starting to think this printer wasn't worth buying... I watched a video on YouTube of a kid warning NOT TO BUY this printer I only wished I watched the video before I bought this printer. Thinking about taking the printer back to the store and getting my money back.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: jimmy

Poor quality

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Printer stopped working after 2 months. Print heads will not align. Alignment fails while print head bangs into side of printer repeatedly. Get something else.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: JIMBO
Location: West Chester Pa.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

LIKE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
It works much better than my old .. brand , little harder to set up but results are great .
Review 14 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Al
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

An OK printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Have the printer a couple of weeks now and have no major complains. It took a little longer to set up the WiFi, had to use the USB cable for that but it does connect as designed. The display needs a back light but isn't a major problem using a small flash light. The speed and quality is OK, as expected. Like the idea of designing a printer with print heads as part of the ink cartridge. My last Cannon print head got damaged because it ran out of ink and I waited to long to replace the cartridge. Now with this new printer if it happens again all you do is buy another ink cartridge. Replacement for those print heads cost almost the same price as a new printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Lynne
Location: Watsontown, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Would NOT recommend!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
Pros: the price
This is the worst printer ever!! It printed 2 times and now no matter what I do it will not print!! Not wireless or otherwise. It's going back to the store asap!! This is my last Canon purchase!! This is the second Canon I've purchased in a year!! Both are junk!!!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: walt
Location: Poughkeepsie NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Canon MX452 multi printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2014
Pros: excellent print quality
Cons: ink consumption is terrible, web site is poorly designed
I had a Canon ipx4300 printer that was the BEST printer I have ever owned. After about 8000 pages the print head clogged so I decided to get a replacement Canon. I purchase the MX452…it has two cartridges as compare to the 5 the 4300 had.
I am EXTREMELY DIS-SATISFIED with its ink consumption. To be kind it is an INK PIG !
This will be my last Canon !
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: CF
Location: Mo
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

This Printer is more troble than its worth

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014
WiFi was working fine for a month. Now we can't get it to work at all. I hook it up to USB. It Work good. Today it decides not to scan. I turn the Printer off. Still didn't work. I turn the PC off and it still didn't work. I reloaded the soft ware and it still doesn't work. This printer is like new and hasn't printed or scan over 100 copys in it life..
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: Pally
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

decent printer good cartridge system

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
nice system we don't print a lot so the cartridge with printer head is ideal. photos have printed out great and the network and wireless printing allow easy access from all the PCs and tablets in house
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: James
Location: Cincinnati,OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014
I have nothing bad to say about it. I like the wifi. The copy part is good. It takes awhile for the ink to run out. It prints fast.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX452
Nickname: FRED
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

COMPLICATED SETUP

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: it looks good
Cons: it needs an online program you can access, to replace needing a dvd so, people can set up the printer on any computer?
WE SET THE PRINTER UP, SET UP WIRELESS CONNECTION WITH OUR DESKTOP UPSTAIRS . IT HAS THE DVD ACCESS UP THERE. THE PRINTER WORKS ONLY FOR THAT COMPUTER . BUT-TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO CONNECT IT TO OUR LAPTOP DWNSTAIRS .I MEAN THATS WHY WE BOUGHT IT WIRELESS RT? TO USE IT WITH BOTH COMPUTERS IN OUR HOUSE BK AND FORTH ETC ETC..WITHOUT WIRES..BUT THE LAPTOP DWNSTRS DOESNT HAVE DVD ACCESS . SO USING THE CANNON WITH THE NON-DVD ACCESS ISNT AN OPTION, WE TRIED OTHER OPTIONS TECHNICALLY. NOTHING WORKED.SIGNAL WONT TRANSMIT TO DWNSTRS LAPTOP TO PRINT.WE ARE PACKING THE PRINTER UP AND RETURNING IT ,GETTING OTHER BRAND AS A REPLACEMENT . I SPENT 3 HRS TRYING TO ESTABLISH CONNECTION FROM THE PRINTER UPSTAIRS TO THE LAPTOP DWNSTRS. WITHOUT USEING DVD . IT AINT HAPPINEN.......ALSO, I CANT SEE WHAT IT SAYS ON TOP WINDOW OF PRINTER. IT NEEDS A LIGHT! AND THE WORDS ARE TINY??
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site