Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.782 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
14
2 stars
20
1 star
34
39 out of 99(39%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 21 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Markus
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Pleasant Surprise

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Although I am accustomed to manual controls, deliberated shooting, MUCH larger sensors, and faster lenses, I picked up one of these cameras because my son has been sending excellent pictures home from Germany, shot on the mostly similar SX-260HS. These little cameras easily surpass my expectations for image quality and convenience. The take-home percentage is very high. Compared to a DSLR, these little cameras will come up a bit short in low light, but in a very large percentage of the well-lit out-of-doors, you are going to be glad to have this camera in your pocket.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: tmn
Location: Torrance, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Big Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life
I am very disappointed. I had read reviews about the battery life but I guess I thought it wouldn't be that bad. With a fully charged battery, I was able to record barely 10 minutes. I would never have purchased this camera had I known that the battery charge would last only 10 minutes.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Raybot
Location: Manhattan, New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, balance
This camera is really a work of design, functionality, rugged form and has a noticeable nice weight to it, that is quite balanced for a medium sized point and shoot. First: The battery problem: Resolved, if you purchase a newer Canon Powershot SX280 HS. The Canon Website will allow to identify by serial # if your camera needs the firmware update for the battery or not. Mine did not. So, I was reluctant about filming video until I checked. I’m still taking test shots to learn this camera and so far the image quality, light and balance are outstanding. I did not want a larger camera, I choose Canon again after having a pleasant experience with Canon Powershot ELPH 330. I was looking to replace that excellent camera and started seeing this new Powershot. The choices were many, but after deciding on this brand, I choose the high zoom 20X – and good image quality – 12.1 MP. The decision came very close after looking at another Canon Powershot for $30.00 more, but the difference was 18X zoom and 18.1 MP sensor quality for the other Canon, but I decided on this. The Canon Powershot SX280 HS is a very nice camera, it has the advanced DIGIC 6 image processor, improving low light ability. It has many more functions than my previous Canon, with much more flexibility and this will allow you learn how to take better pictures. I feel for the money, this camera is, well if not, best in class.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good, but the lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: issue with lens scratches
I have not had three of these cameras. Overall, it is a great camera. Because of what I do I need a good optical zoom ability and I am very thrilled with this camera in that regard. I have read the other complaints about battery life and found that if you use original Canon batteries, they will last a lot longer. The after market ones don't last as long and die almost instantly once the charge begins to wear out. My issue is with the lens. I am now on my 3rd camera of this model and have found that a vertical scratch develops in the lens in the top half just off center. At first I thought it was me... but the same EXACT issue with all 3 cameras? Canon has been great at working with me on the issue, but is this a design flaw?
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: rue

Battery dies in Video Mode after few mins of use !

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, battery dies taking videos !
I bought this camera New charged the battery overnight and took it to my son's 45 minute Tae Kwon Do class. I took about 30 pictures and 5 minutes of video. Suddenly taking another Video the battery indicator flashes red and the camera turns off !
Now researching other reviews this camera has many BAD reviews of batteries dieing while taking videos. My 8 year old Canon ELPH works better than this new Canon piece of junk!!
Returning it back to the store tomorrow thank goodness have 15 day trial !!!! Canon you will get this piece of junk back shortly !!!!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SeeUlater
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great pocket size camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, fantastic zoom lens
Cons: Short battery life, low battery indicator
I'm married to a travel agent and lucky enough to take several trips a year. I recently purchased as SX280 HS to replace a 5 year old SX110 IS. I was looking for a pocket size camera with a good optical zoom. The optical zoom on the SX280 HS is fantastic for a camera this small. The 80 power digital zoom produces good photos if you steady the camera. (My wife is 5'2" so I often use her as a bipod) The sport mode burst of photos comes in handy at times when there are actions shots but you don't want to bother taking a movie. There is still a problem with this camera showing a blinking red battery icon when you switch to movie mode and the firmware download did NOT correct this issue. I occassionaly take movies, for example on whale watch trips or visiting with the grandkids but I learned to ignore this problem. I don't think I will be using the GPS feature because if I take a photo of the Statue of Liberty I know where it is and if I take a photo of a sunrise in the middle of the ocean I don't need to know the exact location. If I want to post a photo on the internet, I'll either use my Iphone or laptop so I doubt if I'll ever use the WIFI. I prefer a camera with the flash centered over the lense rather than off to the side where I usually place a finger but I'll learn to adjust my grip. With the exception of the battery issue, I think that this is good camera that will meet my travel needs. I think that Canon should stick to producing cameras that take great photos rather than chasing the latest trends like GPS and WIFI.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: SLR Joe
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Video Battery Life Great Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wi-fi capable
Cons: Short battery life
Used the camera on a recent trip to Peru, took over 2500 photos and some movies. Camera is a Cannon, known for their world class cameras, enough said.
Only disappointment was the battery life on video. Purchaised three batteries because I did not want to be without power on the trail. From my experiance, I would agree, need to modify firmware to change voltage monitoring under hi load situations like video. Is it hi-def processing power that is causing the problem ?
Competitive market, people using phones instead of cameras. Nice to have a response to the customers here.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Katydid33
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: easy to use, excellent auto function, great zoom, fantasticquality for the price
Cons: no easy "delete" function, couldn't figure out how to turn off flash
I got this camera as a gift just before leaving on a trip to India, and didn't even have time to read the manual. But I found it very easy to use, loved the zoom, and found the "Auto" setting worked really well for almost everything. The only time it didn't give me excellent shots was when the view was moving too fast for Auto to figure out what settings to use. When I had a moving target, I switched to Sports mode and always got a good shot. The only downside was that I couldn't figure out how to turn off the flash when photographing in an area where no flash was allowed. I had to use my iPhone for those photos.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: xonna

love this canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
this is a great camera !! the zoom is wild , I took pic of the moon and it zoomed so clear everyone love the . pic ..
Review 30 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Firdo
Location: Longmont , Co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad purchase

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014
Just bought thsi camera and then read the reviews, they all say bad battery life. I decided to try the video and sure enough the camera went dead in less than 5 min. So I took it back to the store. Not impresssed.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: vc
Location: Rochester NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love This Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
The SX280HS does everything i want it to do very well. It is feature rich and very flexible. It's a lot smarter than I thought. It knows when to switch to macro mode for close up pictures and when to switch back. Although I have seen reviews that battery life isn't what it should be... well, that can't be helped. It takes a lot of power to drive this camera and I bought several batteries so when one drains, I just pop another in and i'm good to go. To every issue there is a solution. I look forward to many years of taking wonderful pictures. I still have my T-70 that I bought in 1985... it still works, but for the lack of 100 speed film, i would probably still be using it.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Marietta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014
I am extremely disappointed with this camera. Very poor battery life. Pop-up flash jams with the slightest interference requiring a reset by turning camera off/on causing many missed photo opportunities. After less than one year, the camera will not operate at all.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: BriCo
Location: Chicago area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: zoom is great., clarity of pictures is wonderful.
Cons: battery drains as soon as you start taking a video, pictures come out pink sometimes., videos won't play on windows. not compatible.
My husband brought me this camera for Christmas a few months ago and I just recently started using it and downloading pictures. I use my camera's a lot for taking short videos and as soon as I hit the button to start video taping the battery gets drained, even after having just charged it.
Additionally, now that I have started downloading the pictures to my computer, many of the pictures are half, or all pink. I have had several Canon camera's prior to this and none of them had these types of issues. It's VERY DISAPPOINTING.
I have just sent an e-mail to the company to see what they can do, but having started to read all of the reviews, I am not too optimistic.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: T

Much potential

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
- The short battery life and type are serious problems.
- The long lens and lack of view finder is a serious problem.
Battery issues. For the next of this generation camera, add an accessory that holds multiple AA batteries, functions as a handhold, that mounts to the bottom of the camera.
View finder: Add a mount and electronic information interface for the DC1 electronic view finder built for the G-1 X Mk II.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Sasi
Location: Davie, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon out of 4 owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: good pictures
Cons: horrible battery life makes the camera useless.
Takes beautiful pictures if you can use it. On my China trip my iPhone outperformed this camera. I sent it back to canon to see if they can do something about the totally unacceptable battery life. If problem is not solved, good bye. Forget about using Video.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Kenz

Not usable because of battery issue

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Cons: unreliable camera due to super short battery life
Brought this for my father. He has been using only Canon camera for many year because of its great quality. This camera made him so disappointed. Have the same battery issue like everyone else but couldn't find a solution. Very disappointed with Canon.
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kellyos
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: lots of usable settings, small, great zoom, quality photos
Cons: low battery life for video
The PowerShot SX280 HS is a great little camera. I own a DSLR but wanted something smaller that I can put into a purse. The Handheld Nightscene function is by far my favorite setting, allowing me to take great pictures in low-light settings. It took a while for me to figure out what settings were located under each dial setting, but after a bit of practice, it is easy to master. Also, this camera has a great zoom.
Another function I didn't think I'd use, but LOVE, is the WiFi capability. When connected to WiFi, I can instantly send photos to my cell phone so I can post to social media applications.
The only issue I have had with this camera is, while in movie mode, the low-battery indicator comes on after a few seconds, and the camera shuts off. I decided that I would use this camera only for pictures, not for video UNTIL.....I ordered a replacement battery. The battery that comes with the camera is 1000mAh. The replacement battery I purchased is 1450mAh. I swapped out the batteries a few times...each time with the Canon 1000mAh battery, the low battery indicator came on while shooting video. However, when I used the 1450 mAh battery, I could shoot without this problem. I don't know enough about batteries and I hope this won't cause damage to my camera, but so far so good!
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Smed

Short battery ife

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
Pros: solid camera
Cons: Short battery life, pop-up flash in bad location
Good quality camera with many technically advanced featured. I bought the camera because of the advertised long battery life. My previous Power Shot A570 IS had terrible battery life. Well, this one isn't much better but at least they are rechargeable. Also, the pop-up flash is under my left index finger and pushes it off when activated so I turhed off the flash.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Vintage1
Location: Racine,WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best One Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
After having used about 5 different cameras over the last 40 years, this is the best one I have had the pleasure to own, there is no problem with focus, low light, motion low battery life,or any of the drawbacks I had with other models. I will surely recommend this to family and friends.
Vintage1
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kendp
Location: Sosua, Dominican Republic
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Product replacement: No

Excellent Walk-Around & Travel Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I am very pleased with this camera. Both the photos and video are surprisingly high quality. I have a Canon SLR, but I wanted this for walking around and for travel.
In the early days of my use I had a couple of problems, but both were quickly solved by Canon when I reported them to Customer Service. The more serious of the 2 was the failure of the firmware update to solve the video problem. Customer Service advised sending camera back for service, which I did and soon received a message saying the camera could not be repaired with the parts available and that they were sending a replacement. I received it a few days later. Because the date and time were already set I knew the camera had been checked by the technicians before being sent to me. The camera works flawlessly.
I also have a camcorder, but I find that the SX280 takes at least as good video, plus I have the option of also taking excellent photos, which is not possible with the camcorder.
At this price, you aren't going to find a better dual purpose camera.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site