Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.837 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
18
1 star
29
39 out of 98(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 21 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Marietta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014
I am extremely disappointed with this camera. Very poor battery life. Pop-up flash jams with the slightest interference requiring a reset by turning camera off/on causing many missed photo opportunities. After less than one year, the camera will not operate at all.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: BriCo
Location: Chicago area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: zoom is great., clarity of pictures is wonderful.
Cons: battery drains as soon as you start taking a video, pictures come out pink sometimes., videos won't play on windows. not compatible.
My husband brought me this camera for Christmas a few months ago and I just recently started using it and downloading pictures. I use my camera's a lot for taking short videos and as soon as I hit the button to start video taping the battery gets drained, even after having just charged it.
Additionally, now that I have started downloading the pictures to my computer, many of the pictures are half, or all pink. I have had several Canon camera's prior to this and none of them had these types of issues. It's VERY DISAPPOINTING.
I have just sent an e-mail to the company to see what they can do, but having started to read all of the reviews, I am not too optimistic.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: T

Much potential

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
- The short battery life and type are serious problems.
- The long lens and lack of view finder is a serious problem.
Battery issues. For the next of this generation camera, add an accessory that holds multiple AA batteries, functions as a handhold, that mounts to the bottom of the camera.
View finder: Add a mount and electronic information interface for the DC1 electronic view finder built for the G-1 X Mk II.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Sasi
Location: Davie, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon out of 4 owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2014
Pros: good pictures
Cons: horrible battery life makes the camera useless.
Takes beautiful pictures if you can use it. On my China trip my iPhone outperformed this camera. I sent it back to canon to see if they can do something about the totally unacceptable battery life. If problem is not solved, good bye. Forget about using Video.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Kenz

Not usable because of battery issue

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014
Cons: unreliable camera due to super short battery life
Brought this for my father. He has been using only Canon camera for many year because of its great quality. This camera made him so disappointed. Have the same battery issue like everyone else but couldn't find a solution. Very disappointed with Canon.
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kellyos
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: lots of usable settings, small, great zoom, quality photos
Cons: low battery life for video
The PowerShot SX280 HS is a great little camera. I own a DSLR but wanted something smaller that I can put into a purse. The Handheld Nightscene function is by far my favorite setting, allowing me to take great pictures in low-light settings. It took a while for me to figure out what settings were located under each dial setting, but after a bit of practice, it is easy to master. Also, this camera has a great zoom.
Another function I didn't think I'd use, but LOVE, is the WiFi capability. When connected to WiFi, I can instantly send photos to my cell phone so I can post to social media applications.
The only issue I have had with this camera is, while in movie mode, the low-battery indicator comes on after a few seconds, and the camera shuts off. I decided that I would use this camera only for pictures, not for video UNTIL.....I ordered a replacement battery. The battery that comes with the camera is 1000mAh. The replacement battery I purchased is 1450mAh. I swapped out the batteries a few times...each time with the Canon 1000mAh battery, the low battery indicator came on while shooting video. However, when I used the 1450 mAh battery, I could shoot without this problem. I don't know enough about batteries and I hope this won't cause damage to my camera, but so far so good!
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Smed

Short battery ife

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2014
Pros: solid camera
Cons: Short battery life, pop-up flash in bad location
Good quality camera with many technically advanced featured. I bought the camera because of the advertised long battery life. My previous Power Shot A570 IS had terrible battery life. Well, this one isn't much better but at least they are rechargeable. Also, the pop-up flash is under my left index finger and pushes it off when activated so I turhed off the flash.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Vintage1
Location: Racine,WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best One Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
After having used about 5 different cameras over the last 40 years, this is the best one I have had the pleasure to own, there is no problem with focus, low light, motion low battery life,or any of the drawbacks I had with other models. I will surely recommend this to family and friends.
Vintage1
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kendp
Location: Sosua, Dominican Republic
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Product replacement: No

Excellent Walk-Around & Travel Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I am very pleased with this camera. Both the photos and video are surprisingly high quality. I have a Canon SLR, but I wanted this for walking around and for travel.
In the early days of my use I had a couple of problems, but both were quickly solved by Canon when I reported them to Customer Service. The more serious of the 2 was the failure of the firmware update to solve the video problem. Customer Service advised sending camera back for service, which I did and soon received a message saying the camera could not be repaired with the parts available and that they were sending a replacement. I received it a few days later. Because the date and time were already set I knew the camera had been checked by the technicians before being sent to me. The camera works flawlessly.
I also have a camcorder, but I find that the SX280 takes at least as good video, plus I have the option of also taking excellent photos, which is not possible with the camcorder.
At this price, you aren't going to find a better dual purpose camera.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: GON
Location: Nrew Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

sc280 power failure?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice design
Cons: Short battery life, powera failure
The camera has great capabilities. I use Canon products but this camera with its power failure has disappointed me. I won't repeat the many comments I have seen. Simply, the battery indicator signals low and the camera shuts down when using video, especially with zoom.
My pictures are great with zoom and in low light. I carry 4 batteries with me. The 1200mAh seems to last longer than the standard battery. I wrote to Consumers Reports since they rate this camera as #1.
I hope the problem can be resolved!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Pako044
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: none
Purchased camera to replace a old Powershot. Used it for daughters Christmas show and the movies and photos where outstanding. Best yet was able to transfer photos to relatives phones with the downloadable app. Big wow factor with grandma and grandpa. Overall very happy with another great Canon product
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: JMig
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wifi is terribly implemented

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
I've worked for over an hour to set up wifi and still have not been able to, though I work as I technology product manager. This implementation is horrible. Not worthy of Canon.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: canon enthusiast
Location: MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

canon sx280

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have been using canon cameras for the past twenty years without a problem. I own several of the more expensive Canon digital SLR cameras but wanted something easy to carry for impromptu shots. I should have heeded the advice regarding the performance of the sx280 but decided to go ahead and purchase the camera anyway. I agree with other reviews; the overall performance of the camera is great but the battery drains too quickly. I do not use the video and I am only using the camera for stills with no gps or wifi on and the battery light is indicating the battery needs charging even though the battery is fully charged. Canon should either replace the product with a similar one of equal or greater value or at least give each person who purchased this camera one or two replacement batteries that work properly ( if the software is not able to fix the problem). I bought the the camera for Christmas and will be returning it to the store tomorrow. With so many choices on the market today I am sure I will be able to find a comparable product with a longer battery life that suits my needs.
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Asaf HCMOS
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

One of the best cameras yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical zoom, automatic gps location, very sohrt delay between shots
Cons: Short battery life, must wait for shut down before you can shoot again
Buy a second battery pack. Except that, this is the best camera yet. Amazing performance, amazing quality, Full HD video 60 frames per second, amazing optical zoom, very low weight, very thin - especially with this zoom.
We are really happy with it. Very good low-light performance.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Twitchy92
Location: Lewiston, ID
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I got this as my first camera back in May. I use mine more for while I'm out hiking, camping, or just spending time with friends and family, capturing the fun moments together. I've been pretty busy ever since I got this camera, so I've not had a whole lot of time to just sit down and get to know it very well, but what I'm learning of it, I enjoy immensely and am quite happy with it.
The controls do take some getting used to and some figuring out, but it's not too hard once you know what you're doing.
One of my favorite features on this camera is that it will record bits of video before capturing your photo and compile all of the clips into one video on one of the auto settings. This setting is one I use a lot.
The zoom is pretty amazing on this camera as well. It does get a bit fuzzy and it's kind of hard to keep it steady when it's zoomed out completely and there's even the slightest breeze, but that's to be expected.
One of the downfalls about this camera is that video does run down the battery life considerably, as does the auto setting that records video with your photos, but otherwise it's great.
I would recommend this camera for someone who is wanting just a simple point and shoot that takes great quality photos, is lightweight and on the smaller side to capture memories from trips, scenery, time spent with loved ones, etc.
I'm not disappointed with my purchase in the least.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: maaake
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't do it...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
Do not buy this camera. As all of the other users have said, the battery problem is a deal breaker. Taking photos only is ok, but video recording stops and the camera shuts down after taking less than 30sec. of video. I now realize why I got such a good deal on the camera. Will be taking it back tomorrow. Not impressed Canon, you just lost a loyal customer.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous

Great Camera But Battery Probelm Persists

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, wifi no longer connects to iphone
Despite the firmware upgrade the battery problem on my camera persists. I wonder if repeated recharging on the battery, done mistakenly when I thought the battery WAS low, and the camera wasn't malfunctioning - makes the camera think the battery is low.
This is very frustrating because this is a great pocket camera, good long lens, easy to use controls. I bought it for the HD function to supplement stills, especially while traveling, and this battery problem has been a real bummer.
Also, the wifi stopped working to my iPhone with the new OS7. The programmers at Canon seem asleep at the wheel.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: FRUSTRATED BUYER
Location: COLORADO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Lousy battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
We read the reviews of battery problems, but was told they were fixed with a firmware upgrade. Bought the camera and the low battery light kicks in immediately upon recording video. Tried to update the firmware, but found out we have the most up to date version already installed.
Battery life is terrible, will be returning it.
21 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Photo Fan
Location: Orange County, Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy with my Camera SX280

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera in July 2013 and I could not be happier with my camera. It takes great picture, super clear and sharp, perform pretty good interiors/Exteriors/Day and Night. Love the feature of the flash output and I mostly use the program mode and auto mode. I am so happy with the wifi feature because I can transfer easily the pics from the camera to my smart phone using the app provides in the app store, connect the camera with the phone in the matter of secs the pics are ready to be texted, uploaded to social networks or email them.
It has a lot of features and controls, but if you like to take photos, take the time to read the manual and practice, you'll learn what all this amazing camera can do for a compact size and lower price. So there is a learning curve, but once you learn is easy to use. I agree with others that battery life is not the longest, so is good to have an extra one ready and when you want to record a video battery will die in a few minutes, and I did the software update, but i did not see any improvement but since I don't take a lot of videos it doesn't bother me. Overall its a great camera, for people who wants to buy a compact, light weight and now at a lower prize and of curse enjoy to take photos like me. I use it in every social event and my trips like San Diego, Los Cabos and Cancun. Got super crisp photos. Love the case that came with the kit because i can have it in my belt
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: sailprog
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad replacement for sx210

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, nice optical zoom
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Low resolution
I bought the SX280 after my old SX210 was damaged, thinking that it would be at least as good. It was quite a disappointment. To start, it has 12MP instead of the old 16MP.
It doesn't have options like panorama shoot. The battery life is non-existent: if you use video, it will ran out in about 2 minutes.
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site