Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS

PowerShot SX280 HS

The PowerShot SX280 HS is a super-charged SX-series model featuring Canon's very latest proprietary processor, the DIGIC 6 Image Processor, for improved performance and exceptional clarity in low-light scenarios.
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
27
35 out of 85(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX280 HS
Review 21 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Asaf HCMOS
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

One of the best cameras yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical zoom, automatic gps location, very sohrt delay between shots
Cons: Short battery life, must wait for shut down before you can shoot again
Buy a second battery pack. Except that, this is the best camera yet. Amazing performance, amazing quality, Full HD video 60 frames per second, amazing optical zoom, very low weight, very thin - especially with this zoom.
We are really happy with it. Very good low-light performance.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Twitchy92
Location: Lewiston, ID
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I got this as my first camera back in May. I use mine more for while I'm out hiking, camping, or just spending time with friends and family, capturing the fun moments together. I've been pretty busy ever since I got this camera, so I've not had a whole lot of time to just sit down and get to know it very well, but what I'm learning of it, I enjoy immensely and am quite happy with it.
The controls do take some getting used to and some figuring out, but it's not too hard once you know what you're doing.
One of my favorite features on this camera is that it will record bits of video before capturing your photo and compile all of the clips into one video on one of the auto settings. This setting is one I use a lot.
The zoom is pretty amazing on this camera as well. It does get a bit fuzzy and it's kind of hard to keep it steady when it's zoomed out completely and there's even the slightest breeze, but that's to be expected.
One of the downfalls about this camera is that video does run down the battery life considerably, as does the auto setting that records video with your photos, but otherwise it's great.
I would recommend this camera for someone who is wanting just a simple point and shoot that takes great quality photos, is lightweight and on the smaller side to capture memories from trips, scenery, time spent with loved ones, etc.
I'm not disappointed with my purchase in the least.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: maaake
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't do it...

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
Do not buy this camera. As all of the other users have said, the battery problem is a deal breaker. Taking photos only is ok, but video recording stops and the camera shuts down after taking less than 30sec. of video. I now realize why I got such a good deal on the camera. Will be taking it back tomorrow. Not impressed Canon, you just lost a loyal customer.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Anonymous

Great Camera But Battery Probelm Persists

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, wifi no longer connects to iphone
Despite the firmware upgrade the battery problem on my camera persists. I wonder if repeated recharging on the battery, done mistakenly when I thought the battery WAS low, and the camera wasn't malfunctioning - makes the camera think the battery is low.
This is very frustrating because this is a great pocket camera, good long lens, easy to use controls. I bought it for the HD function to supplement stills, especially while traveling, and this battery problem has been a real bummer.
Also, the wifi stopped working to my iPhone with the new OS7. The programmers at Canon seem asleep at the wheel.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: FRUSTRATED BUYER
Location: COLORADO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Lousy battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
We read the reviews of battery problems, but was told they were fixed with a firmware upgrade. Bought the camera and the low battery light kicks in immediately upon recording video. Tried to update the firmware, but found out we have the most up to date version already installed.
Battery life is terrible, will be returning it.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Photo Fan
Location: Orange County, Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy with my Camera SX280

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera in July 2013 and I could not be happier with my camera. It takes great picture, super clear and sharp, perform pretty good interiors/Exteriors/Day and Night. Love the feature of the flash output and I mostly use the program mode and auto mode. I am so happy with the wifi feature because I can transfer easily the pics from the camera to my smart phone using the app provides in the app store, connect the camera with the phone in the matter of secs the pics are ready to be texted, uploaded to social networks or email them.
It has a lot of features and controls, but if you like to take photos, take the time to read the manual and practice, you'll learn what all this amazing camera can do for a compact size and lower price. So there is a learning curve, but once you learn is easy to use. I agree with others that battery life is not the longest, so is good to have an extra one ready and when you want to record a video battery will die in a few minutes, and I did the software update, but i did not see any improvement but since I don't take a lot of videos it doesn't bother me. Overall its a great camera, for people who wants to buy a compact, light weight and now at a lower prize and of curse enjoy to take photos like me. I use it in every social event and my trips like San Diego, Los Cabos and Cancun. Got super crisp photos. Love the case that came with the kit because i can have it in my belt
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: sailprog
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad replacement for sx210

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, nice optical zoom
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Low resolution
I bought the SX280 after my old SX210 was damaged, thinking that it would be at least as good. It was quite a disappointment. To start, it has 12MP instead of the old 16MP.
It doesn't have options like panorama shoot. The battery life is non-existent: if you use video, it will ran out in about 2 minutes.
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: The Dish
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Issue Not a Problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: flash location., not being able to have flash work in auto mode.
Read about the battery issues and was not sure about buying this camera. I do not shoot much video at all so can not address those complaints. But I find that the battery life is about the same as my previous Canon camera which used AA recharge. I take over 100 pictures a day. It is quick and takes good pictures. Is nice and compact. My only complaint is where they put the flash. Most of the times it is not an issue but at times it presents a minor problem. Overall I am pleased with this camera and would recommend it.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: hatchboss
Location: LA area or on the road
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

sx280 HS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, reliable
I love this camera. I got back from a trip all around Europe that lasted 21 days.I used it as a back up to my 5d Mark II. The GPS was the main reason that I chose it to take with me. It worked great as long as I wasn't in a tunnel or a hotel room made of concrete. The pictures that I took with it were perfect for what I put it through. They are on fb. FAST start up and very active for active shooting. The internet is very sketchy over there but when when there was actually a connection that feature helped me alot. I did buy a model where the battery indicator was malfunctioning. Sometimes I worked around this by opening the battery door and closing it and pushing play again. But Like I said it was a back-up and I expected this issue. I alternated between the sx280 and my s100. For all of my low light never fail shots I always used my 5d Mark II which never failed one pixel. But listen up. When I return to the good old USA I promply returned the sx280 to canon repair shop and with out a question they were to mail me another rather 'NEW' sx280. I am over joyed now that my Canon family of cameras are all in great mechanical shape.Time to plan my next trip to the Keys.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: US280
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great pictures, but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, great telephoto
Cons: case doesn't hold an extra battery, pop up flash hits fingers, on button triggered taking camera from case, wi-fi set up not clear
I am a new user for the SX280HS. I had another brand of camera previously but lost it. I like the camera a lot, particularly for picture quality and telephoto. I gave it four stars rather than five because:
-When using the flash, I find that the pop up hits my fingers and disturbs my shot. It is awkward to hold the camera when the flash is in operation.
-While I haven't had a problem with battery life, I do carry an extra fully charged battery with me. However, the case only holds the camera and has no place for an extra battery.
-The case is compact and attractive. It fits comfortably on my belt. Sometimes I accidentally turn the camera on taking it out of the case. This is because the on/off button is too close to the end of the camera that sticks out from the case when you open it. Pulling from the flat sides works, but I find myself fighting the tight case.
-Canon is a longtime camera company. I am disappointed that quality control in design is too weak to avert the simple problems I have mentioned. Do prototype cameras and cases ever get tested by customers before being released for sale?
Do the camera people ever talk to the case people? Doesn't seem likely.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Mctundra
Location: Bethel, Alaska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Flash and Power Issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
I really like my new camera. It has accompanied me on several trips. I like the size and light weight that gives me so many options for unique photographing and easy carrying. I use the close up focus frequently in the program mode and appreciate the auto stabilizer so the picture isn't blurry. I often forget my tripod! It works wonders in low lighting as well.
I bought three extra batteries because I like to go out and really work the camera. Usually, I only go through 2 batteries on any outing, but have the extras which have come in handy last minute.
What I don't like is the placement of both the power button and the flash. The power button is right next to the shutter button. I have turned off the camera several times instead of taking the picture that I wanted. And although I am careful, it is still a problem that I will probably struggle with the life of this camera. I also find that the pop-up flash is really in the way. I hold the camera in such a way that the pop-up often can't pop up. I wish it were just on the face of the camera and not on top where I keep my hand. The GPS function is nice, but takes more energy and sometimes I have to wait for it to update before I can take my picture. I have it off most of the time.
I like the dial on the back of the camera. It is like my first Canon. I didn't want a touch screen camera. But, I haven't found the stitch assist which was easy access on my last camera.
I thoroughly enjoy all the control I have over the pictures without the bulk of a big SLR with several lenses.
The play back for each shot is either too long or too short for my personal preference, but I am slowly getting used to it. I use the shorter time and just anticipate reviewing the pictures on the computer. I don't edit as much out in the field as I used to. But with the larger memory cards, it makes it easier to take several pictures of each subject.
Overall, I really like the SX280 camera and plan on having it for at least 5 years. It was a bit more expensive than I originally budgeted, but I am glad that I went for the upgrade.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: nervswrek
Location: Upstate New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

good quality, difficult to use

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Wish I had read other reviews before shopping. Would never have purched this camera. All the negative remarks by others have, unfortunately , been accurate.
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: nh
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Not in love

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
My husband and I travel on a motorcycle and I shoot pictures while we travel. With my old camera, I had it on standby most of the time and could capture pictures as the opportunity flew by, but I have to keep the Cannon off most of the time due to the fast battery charge drain. I have only had the camera for a month so I am still learning the ins and outs, but so far I am impressed with the quality of the photos. It is not as easy to program as my old compact camera but perhaps that is the new technology and my learning curve. However, I need easy programing as I am doing it on the fly. What I am sorely disappointed in is the battery situation. I read the reviews that stated that battery time was a drawback to this camera, but since my old compact had old batteries, I assumed that the Cannon battery drain would be about the same. I was wrong and the Cannon drains its battery charge like water through sand. Even standby drains the battery quickly, and if you have the camera set on anything other than auto, you have about an hour of standby and shooting. I would NOT buy this camera again because it just doesn't suit how I use it. BTW I have the GPS and the wifi turned off.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: onlyinohio
Location: cleveland, oh
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible Battery Life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
The battery life of this camera renders it useless. It worked perfectly when brand new for 2 full weeks on our European vacation when we first got it. Came home, the charge would only be good for ONE shot. ONE. Canon needs to step up and figure a solution to this problem because when the camera takes photos - it takes excellent photos.
We even bought replacement batteries recommended by a couple of reviewers - those didn't make a difference either. So is the problem in the camera itself? Canon, please help as this is ridiculous. I have a camera 5 months old that I could only use for 2 weeks.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: kenrow
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Small Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I carried this camera rather than my 40D all over Washington, DC this summer for 14 days. Took 800+ pictures of sites, grandkids, and indoors in museums. The results were much better than I had hoped. One problem - battery life is to short. I had to turn the camera off and on between locations to save power. Started carrying a second battery to make it through the day. If you want a dependable, good quality small camera, the SX280 HS is the best choice.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: JimBo
Location: Timnath, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Problem Kills This Camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I love this series of cameras, but the flashing battery light after only a couple of minutes of video make it unusable for me. Check that, it is just plain defective since HD video is one of it's main touted features.
The SX260HS is awesome and does not have this issue, so what gives Canon ?
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: UPset

Best camera ever that doesn't work

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dim LCD, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
Until the battery issue is fixed it is a defective camera. Stay away. Canon please respond.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Johnny11758
Location: Massapequa, New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Problem-Free SX280 HS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I am happy to report that my SX280 HS has never exhbited the premature flashing of the low-battery icon that so many SX280 HS owners have complained about. I have an early model (serial no. xxxxx0xxxxxx). The other day, I recorded video for 20 uniterrupted minutes with no low-battery signal and no shutoff.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Rich
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible experience, 2nd time

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Short battery life, firmware defective
This is the second time I purchased this camera because I really wanted to like it, but sadly it is still a defective product.
The battery problems while shooting video are well documented so I won't relate the same details. I returned the first camara after performing the update, because it didn't fix the problem. Got another camera from a major retailer and used it for only two days. The 6th digit of the s/n was a "3". The firmware version still hasn't addressed the issue. The battery light still blinks and shuts down in the video mode after 30 seconds. This product should be recalled. fyi, 662033024781 on its way back.
After 2 times, you lost a loyal customer.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PowerShot SX280 HS
Nickname: Fun in the Sun
Location: Irvine, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I read the reviews of this camera and the SX260 so I bought both. I put them both through the same tests. 126 pictures (some with the flash) with little battery usage, 3/4 battery left to use. Then I charged the battery to full and ran the video for 6 minutes (as I didn't have the patience to run longer) with no battery (or flashing light) issues, still had 3/4 battery left to use. The SX280 did great! No flashing battery issues, no firmware update. I just bought this camera from Canon and the serial number is good so they have fixed this issue. If you have an Sx280 serial number where the sixth digit from the left is “2” or less those are the people needing the firmware update. I spoke with Canon today to get a little help setting up the Wifi (which works great) with my iPhone and he said if there is a problem the camera needs to be sent into Canon for the update, FYI. For a point and shoot camera of this size you can not beat the zoom (80x)! I have a hot air balloon that goes up in my area every night at dusk about 12 miles from me and I can almost see the people in the basket this zoom is so terrific! The Sx 260 is slower when taking pictures (but there both great) and I really wanted the wifi feature so I'm keeping the Sx280. The response time is great. I really can't say anything bad about this camera. Buy it!
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site