Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS

PowerShot SX510 HS

Built-in Wi-Fi lets you wirelessly transfer and share images and video. 30x Optical Zoom and a 24mm Wide-Angle lens. Canon's HS SYSTEM with 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor for improved speed and low light performance. 1080p Full HD Video.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 out of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX510 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: 2SMOOVE
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

THIS CAMERA IS A SWEET BUNCH OF POWERFUL OPTIONS!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, convienence, powerpacked, reliable, technology intellegence at your fingertips
THIS PRODUCT IS JUST AWESOME SO FAR. EASY TO USE AND CONTROLS ARE SIMPLE LIKE THE MENU! NICE FEATURES LIKE BRIGHT LCD AND AWESOME IMAGE QUALITY.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Anonymous

Very good purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014
I would recommend this product to future buyers. It is a great size and is very light weight. The wifi connection is really not a problem. I am a thirteen year old girl and I found that it took less than ten minutes. The manual follows through the process very well. And I'm not too sure why it was harder for the other buyers to follow the SIMPLE manual to connect the wifi. The wifi works very well and it is a great feature.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Banjo77
Location: College Station, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: excellent pictures night /day zoom effects, ease of use, battery life adequate, button layout good, so for..pretty tough camera
Cons: weird hand size
I waited till my annual canoe trip in South Texas in February before reviewing my new camera. It’s my acid test for product durability with the rain and the cold and the beer. I’ve greatly enjoyed this camera the 3 months I’ve used it. In addition to canoeing/kayaking, I enjoy shooting vacation shots, landscapes, vacation dogs, bands, whatever. I have had 3 Canon cameras since 1984: the AE-1, the Powershot A530, and now the Powershot SX510 HS. (I’m product loyal in my cars, musical instruments and electronics too, but aren’t we all?)
What do I like? Great pictures, closeups, zoom lens, action shots, night shots with or without flash, fish eye effect, ease of button commands, and after a gritty 27 mile canoe trip down the central Texas river, very durable and trouble –free. Battery life was adequate for an all day event. I did not, and may or may not use the WIFI function, I just prefer to plug camera to computer by cord. If you need that to work, can’t help you there. I don’t take videos yet either… maybe later thought?? My phone is a phone and my camera is this Canon…but I digress.
The con qualities, not too many… weird size is …weird, but embrace the new. I think that’s it...weird size in the hand..did I say that? Not much for the complaint department. It’ll be a workhorse camera like the old Canons I had were.
However, it is so very, very much better a camera than my other two Canons, and they went around the world and back with me. I know there’s a mess of great cameras out there. You could do a heck of a lot worse owning this camera…that sounds confusing doesn’t it…not meant to be. I’m very fine with the fact that the Canon SX510 HS Powershot will be my camera for the next 10 years.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: happyone
Location: Washington
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

love my canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
some cameras are just so hard to use and they don't take good pics. this camera is easy and awesome pics.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Garias
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

Good fast family camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: wifi drains battery
Bought this camera from Costco a couple of months ago. Good camera to take pictures and videos of the kids. Very easy to use; good zoom. Would recommend to anybody who wants/needs a family camera.
20 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Thai
Location: Bronx, ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Not much to say but good first time user camera to have, it is very easy to use and the picture quality is very good.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Bitsy
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Huge waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2014
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu, terrible sports/action pics
Worst purchase I made all year! I bought this camera at Best Buy at the suggestion of the salesman. I told him I wanted a camera specifically to take sports photos. A football season & halfway through a basketball season & I've yet to get a pic that's not a complete blur. Went back to Best Buy, salesman #2 couldn't believe this was the camera suggested for my specific needs, but told me of a few "tricks" that might help....nothing helped! Oh & don't get me started on the wi-fi.....complete waste of money.
10 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Midspoint
Location: Goshen, Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing~Easy to Use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have a DSLR camera, but I've not been happy about lugging equipment around and having to quickly change lenses in order to capture close-ups or distance photos. This camera is small, easy to handle, and the zoom is amazing! My pictures are clear and crisp, and the details with the zoom are excellent. I am more than satisfied. Since I like to edit my pictures before sharing, or processing, I didn't buy for the wi-fi... (it's not an important feature for me), so I have no opinion on it.
I've only had it a couple of weeks, but I am excited about the results so far. Nice job, Canon!
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: jsgirdwood
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor operating functions

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
The quality of the camera is overall not bad for the price, but the option to upload the photos via wifi is at best not user friendly, and at worse, a complete waste of time.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Maddog
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Nice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I don't understand why people are having issues with the wi- fi. This is my first real camera and had it set up to my iPad and iPhone. With a secure wi-fi network in less than 30 minutes. I will agree the instruction book does jump around with the wi-fi instructions. But other than that it's a great buy. Great photos and zoom.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Smithy
Location: Tetons
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great camera after painful setup!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: wifi setup is a pain, poorly written start up manual
I have had this camera for a few days now, and as for the camera itself, it really is great! Very light, compact, big lens with remarkable zoom. The device is very easy to navigate and has lots of options to chose from depending on what you are shooting. I absolutely love the WIFI features (now that I figured out the painful installation). I can send pictures to my smartphone or computer with very little effort.
The initial WIFI setup to my computer was very painful, I had to call customer service a few times to figure it out. Turns out the problem was in my Internet Security settings. AS SOON AS I TURNED OFF MY FIREWALL IT CONNECTED NO PROBLEM, then I just fixed the settings in the Internet Security program and it works fine.
I have noticed that many of these bad reviews are due to the hassle of the WIFI setup, but that really has nothing to do with the camera itself. Yes, the manual is poorly written, and I really did want to pull my hair out for a day or two, however, now that the setup is done I could't be happier with this camera!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Bri
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Not the best..

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu, difficult website, hard to understand manual
Overall, this camera can take some very nice shots when you are careful with it but navigating this website and trying to download the software to allow wifi is a hassle. It has been taking me hours and I still haven't been able to set it up. In addition, the controls and menu are difficult to use most of the time and it takes some practice to figure most of it features out. Basically, this camera takes nice pictures but rates low on being easy to use since setting up the wifi, my main reason for this purchase, is so difficult.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Canon Pro
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Beautiful

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is awesome in everything. Don't listen to the other reviews the wifi is soooo easy to set up. It literally took 5 minutes to set up. I definetly recommend this. :)
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: jer
Location: il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor instructions

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu
I have tried 2 computers in the house and after severals hours I got the driver installed and got the camera to connect with a usb cable from an old canon camera. Wifi still has not connected. Feeling very frustrated right now with this product. You should not have to spend a lot of time trying to make connections it should be VERY SIMPLE.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: FL_NY

Great Photos But Mac Users Beware

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality
Cons: wifi set up on mac difficult, documentation limited
The camera takes great photos but after trying to set up the Wifi connection for hours this camera is going to be returned. The instructions are poor as is the website. I was able to set up with my Windows 8 PC easy, but Mac has been difficult. I am very technical, my router is fine all setting are fine, it seems fickle. Should be easier than it is.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: TLC
Location: Illinois
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Instruction Manuals

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013
Cons: instruction manuals are poorly written
I bought this camera for the Wi-Fi feature. After 2 days I gave up on trying to configure the Wi-Fi. I am taking it back to Wal-Mart. I have never seen an instruction manual that jumped around to so many different pages to achieve one step. I felt like I was playing mental Twister.
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: ET3202
Location: TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

The Cannon Tradition

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wi-fi
Cons: none
I love the look and feel but mostly the advanced and superior photography technology and functionality. The PowerShot SX510HS is compact, easy to operate, fun and a great recorder of my photo-genius self. Did mention the sharp auto focus feature makes for no bad shots, just wrong subjects in the wrong light.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Candid Camera
Location: Bay Area California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Patience

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, complicated manual, complicated web site
Let's keep this simple: The SX510 HS is a cool, point-and-shoot camera. Just be sure to be very calm and in a happy place when you read the manual to figure out how it all works or you're going to break the cam as you slam it on the floor in frustration. Oh...be sure to have the phone number handy of a good tech geek friend. The greatest frustration I had was with the Wi-fi feature, which is the feature I wanted most in a camera. Good luck in connecting to the Internet or other devices easily! The Canon website is not the most user-friendly either. Patience, grasshoppers! Can't say it's worth it, but you can finally actually muddle your way through the website and setting up the camera. The Wi-fi feature is NOT easy to use; the camera buttons are NOT clearly marked as they are referred to in the manual; the manual is NOT easy to follow (i.e. instructions on page xx refers you to page xxx before you can proceed with instructions on page xx). If you're new to this level of camera technology, consider taking anti-anxiety medication before learning to use it...or dump the whole devices inter-connectability idea. It was a special gift so I'm reluctant to return it.
88 of 110 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: James
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Impressive Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, incredible
I love this camera! It is great for everything I need in a camera. From the vibrant, impressive image quality to the bright LCD display, everything about this camera is perfection. I love the full HD recording and the built in HDMI output. It's great for recording movies and home videos. The 12.1 megapixel images look great, with large and vibrant quality. The images I capture look absolutely stunning. Overall, I think this is an amazing camera, and there is nothing bad about it.
59 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX510 HS
Nickname: Indalu
Location: Temecula, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great features....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, wifi
Cons: small profile
I bought this to replace an old lower MP camera and specifically to take on a trip. I wanted a camera that would allow me to shoot a variety of subjects without having to change lenses and cart around a bunch of equipment. The zoom on this camera cannot be beat. Absolutely fabulous....and the picture quality with the zoom at max is awesome. We have a fancy-smancy DSL camera also but I suspect this one will be used much more. Great value for the features. My only slight negative is that it is a little small in my hands. Good size for sticking in a purse, but a little difficult for me to get a good grip. Overall very pleased with the purchase.
124 of 129 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site