Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG2520

If you want to print both quality photos as well as crisp documents, the PIXMA MG2520 Inkjet All-In-One is the printer for you.
Average Customer Rating:
2.713 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
33
31 out of 72(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2520
Review 1 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: steph747
Location: McKinney, tx
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
I am very happy with the purchase of my new printer. The price was right and it does everything i need it to do.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

stopped printing things

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014
It stopped printing anything my computer sent to it.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Me
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014
Product broke within a month of setting it up and now I do not have a working printer. Would not buy again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2014
I have been trying for a week to get the driver installed and all I get is error 0001 and 0002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Debbie
Location: Carrollton, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Perfect Product For My Friend

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
I was looking for a machine that could function without a computer. My friend is 81 plus and loves to copy quips, quotes, and recipes, as well as important documents before mailing them. That person is NOT technically influenced in any way. They do not want to be. This product was the closest to a black and white copier that was at a reasonable price for a fixed income retiree. She simply loves this machine, and when I see her twice a week, she delights in the performance of this machine. Thank You
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Kitty
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Think Twice!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014
Well I am disappointed in the product in that the ink cartridges are hard to find and they get used up quickly. Even the XL are not expedient for the price. I am thinking about giving it AWAY!
Think twice before you purchase this one.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Kylie
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

You have to be kidding me.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2014
Printers aren't renowned for their "easy setup". I bought this printer because it's cheap and came with a scanner; perfect for school and uploading documents to EverNote. A lot of the reviewers below state that there was no instruction manual? That's because it's online. It saves money. And yeah, it's no fun to set up, but it's a printer. It's not going to be like downloading a game onto your computer. It requires for you to pay attention to make sure you don't mess it up.
Personally, I think that if you're looking to get a cheap printer to get you through the occasional document, go for this one. It's cheap, it does it's job, and it even comes with ink! I'm not complaining.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Annoyed
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Is this real life?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
WHAT!? What is happening. I bought this printer because I run a business online and wanted to print shipping labels at home. Nothing crazy. So I went with the cheap version. Well the startup cd that came with it is only good on windows and I have a Mac so...there was no instruction on what to do. I tried following the picture manual and it just keeps flashing an error light. Now I'm no technology dimwit. I used to hire IT professionals for a living a year ago. There is no instruction for Mac users. I've spend 2 hours setting up a printer and still got nowhere. How pathetic is that.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: JLF
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2014
This printer is the worst printer I have ever owned. I am about in tears over how horrible it is. I cannot for the life of me get it to print on anything other than paper. It sometimes prints crooked for no reason. It was a waste of money and I am going to have to buy a different printer. I usually have good luck with cheap Canon printers but this one is so lousy.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Bev in TX

Paper Jam

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2014
Cons: paper jams
My DH purchased one of these and it got a paper jam shortly after the warranty period expired. There was no sign of paper anywhere and the only solution would be to contact support. Since it is out of warranty that was not an option. This is the first time we EVER had to purchase a new printer because of a paper jam!!!
We will not be purchasing any more Canon printers.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: rkreg
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
extremely noisy, wont load paper(crumples every sheet) tried different paper with same result. The paper hangs up on the leftt side every time. This is my first Canon printer, I don't think I will buy another.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: brendathegray
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So sad

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality, poor mechanical performance
While I was growing up Canon was a name to be respected. The lack of quality in this printer shows how much today's cheap philosophy rules businesses. It sounds like a thrashing machine and prints half the time but not without a fight. All of my printers have been Canon but this will be my last one.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: pam
Location: Beaverton MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awful x 2

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
I bought the second one thinking i broke the first, it goes into paper jam error when there is no paper jam and freezes up, it has cost me time and money on doing my shipping labels.. Never will I buy a Cannon printer again.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Emily
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

not the worst, but pretty close

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014
This printer has no standardization in print quality. It will print the same document, without adjusting the settings, 5 different ways, if printed 5 times.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Lesteet
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality
Paper will not feed. Cleaned rollers, It is so cheap it is not worth the postage to send it back for repair.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Evie
Location: Atlanta area
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Loud and doesn't print all of the document

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2014
Bought this product for my mom. Needed to be simple as she is 83. She's not a knothead and can use a computer but this printer is not user friendly. She was so excited to get an all-in-one. But it will not print the entire document. All she needs to do is print her bank statement. Little enough task but this printer only prints every other line. I have set up all kinds of printers in my lifetime but this one is not working correctly. Taking it back.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Opensezme
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

product replacement

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images, difficult to navigate
Product worked well the first few weeks. Then all of a sudden it stopped. The printer connection stopped working. I kept receiving a error message that my computer could not detect the printer, although the diagnostic report said that the printer was working properly. I am worried that I have to pack it all up and return it. That's a headache I don't need!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: Merilerole
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent, Affordable

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: affordable and good print for letters, decent photo imaging
Cons: doesn't connect right away when you plug it in
The initial cost was reasonable, the replacement ink costs are comparatively low. I didn't plan on printing much, an occasional letter or report for my 8th grader. The printer does go through more ink than I expected though. If we unplug the device from the laptop to change the computer it never loads up right away. We have to keep unplugging and replugging, restarting and once I had to completely reinstall the software (takes a long time). This printer would have gotten much higher ratings from me if it just worked when we plugged it in. It's not a great printer but it's good enough. That extra time and effort to get it to print is just a pain.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: nothappy
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wasted my time and money

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014
Cons: printing from pc too difficult
OK, I know it is inexpensive. That aside, the install was easy enough, the pictures I scan are good.
To print from my pictures on my pc has been the most frustrating experience I have ever experienced.
I have not been able to find instructions on how to delete the 1st document in the print queue. I can delete any and all documents/photos in the queue but not the 1st. This thus indicates the printer is busy and will not procede.
I managed once to print a picture from my pictures by accident and have not been able to replicate.
Too much work to simply print a picture
Review 20 for PIXMA MG2520
Nickname: clickabic
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent product for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2014
This Canon printer replaced a larger and heavier Canon printer. The MG2520 is much lighter and has a smaller footprint.
I've used the printer, scanner, copier functions with no complaints—except one.
The software that came with it seems to be geared too much to "fun" things like collages, greeting cards, etc. When scanning, windows appear on top of each other without my asking. The file name after scanning is always followed by unwanted numbers, which I have to delete before saving with the file name I use to identify the document.
Other than the software, which is sometimes irritating, the machine itself works very well, and I am pleased with it. The price I paid for the printer was more than worth the product's value.
One last thing: I always check the outside of the box to see what things are NOT included so I don't go home wishing I had read it before leaving the store. It only takes a minute to read and saves a trip back to the store with frustration.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site