Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 3.5" Touchscreen LCD and Intelligent Touch System buttons only illuminate and appear when you need them. 9600 x 2400 dpi photo resolution and gray ink for amazing detail in your color and black & white photos. Advanced Media Handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper right into the front of the printer at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
2.949 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
11
17 out of 39(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Pat
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Gets jammed often!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, quality photo images
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
The quality of the photos from this printer are good. I use it as a dedicated photo printer only. I have a 2nd printer to do everything else. This printer costs way, way, way to much in ink to use as an everyday printer.
Turning the printer on takes several minutes. Then most times I print it gets jammed. I waste a ton of expensive photo paper. At this stage when I use the printer I know that it is going to be a very long, trying process.
I am researching other printers and can't wait to replace it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: east greenbush, ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better than expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, it's red!
I was hesitant after I read the reviews to buy this printer. But I set it up in a flash, enabled the wireless feature and started using it within a short time right out of the box. Granted I have only had it for one day but if it can do all it promises I am thrilled with it. I have already used the scanning feature with great success and printed both in b&w and color. I only give four stars for value because of the crazy expensive ink prices. This printer is replacing my relic pixma MP760 which I hated to give up but it would no longer function with my upgraded software (still using it on an older computer). It is sleek and pretty, easy to use, easy to set up and has a lot of great features. I have all Canon printers, this is my fourth. I also have two Canon cameras and lenses. I am a Canon fan and the best part is if you do need help a real live person is there on the other end of the phone.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Nick
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Best-designed hardware

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
I just got the printer and I've used it a bit. However, I've found it to be one of the best-designed printers I've ever used. The way the thing is designed is just nice--the way the trays slide in and are arranged, the auto-open tray mechanism, the way the top panel kind of rotates out of the way, the context/touch-sensitive buttons which are invisible when they aren't relevant (because they aren't lit up). It's great that it has an auto-shutdown and auto-wake feature too. Wireless setup was simple.
Documentation of the settings on the printer are a bit lackluster, and there's some notable (though minor) obvious translation issues in the interface and documentation.
The one failing physically is that some of the plastic bits on the tray and such are somewhat flexible and cheap-feeling.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Fiestaman
Location: Leesburg, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

OK, but not thrilled

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, quality of output, wireless and device support
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, terrible scan interface
Love the wireless and phone/device interface. Satisfied with quality and speed. Wish had larger paper capacity.
Biggest complaint is horrible scanning interface. Not a novice but not intuitive at all. My wife is ready to throw it out the window for that reason.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: brotherbox
Location: Dallas Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

wish it had better intergration

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use
I bought this printer to replace the office printer I had had for several years. My old one an mp550 was a work horsed did everything I could think of except high quality photos. main reason I selected this one. it works well in office products, but have a bit of an issue with other software. Some issues with labels with printing tried old software and new, it works better with the new but not as well as the old printer. Same with greeting cards and thank you cards, my staple of work. I have not found a program this works well with. I design and print in 2 different formats since programs do not integrate. End product looks good enough just not as I would have liked. pictures printed look great, just not on a card. there's no way to tweak on a card. but for other work it prints fine.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: racen23
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The pictures printed are true to its color. I love it.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: chef
Location: Venice, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Service Makes the difference

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, 1 yr free exchange, like color choices
Have had for 5 months. Use on quiet mode & find it is quick and w/ quality as good as you're willing to "spend" ink on.
Photo quality on high res is amazing.
Service? Out of the blue this week after changing 3 almost empty cartridges at the same time got an error message. Followed instructions but it wouldn't clear. Went to website and e-mailed cust serv. In less than an hour had a reply that it would need service and they would exchange at no charge. This was a Wed afternoon and new printer was on my door step by mid afternoon Thursday!
I think it's a great printer for the money but the service is what keeps me going back to Canon!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: artist
Location: New York NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

HUGE disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I can't describe how much I dislike this printer. I had an MP970 for 7 years and loved it. so I thought my next printer should be the newest improved Canon. The first printer froze in a non-functioning position after 2 months. i now have a replacement that doesn't pick up paper of any size other than 8.5"x11".Canon even gave me a gift of 4"x 8" paper to use and there isn't a way to use it with their printer. The help desk and instructions on setting the printer head are wrong so I had to spend half a day on the phone getting instructions. the scanner sucks big time. Had to buy a separate scanner. Buy something else!
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: vmguy
Location: Davis, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Eats Ink

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption
I should have paid closer attention to the reviews.
This printer produces nice output, but it is very costly (ink).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: BC
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lots of features

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed
Nice looking piece of equipment. Seems reasonably fast at printing and scanning. Be sure to follow the instructions for setup--there are lots of pieces of packing materials. After only a few days of use, the printer seems very slow to start up when it is turned on. Cannot print files from Google Chrome browser, but OK from Internet Explorer. I look forward to experimenting with photo printing.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Geno
Location: Round Rock, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK but some disappointments

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, duplex printing, more compact then the mp980
Cons: Large Footprint, lacks slide scanning, lacks usb cable
I bought the 7120 directly from Canon as a replacement for my MP980 (which failed to print after 3 years and was uneconomical to repair). Unfortunately the new printer lacks a feature of the old one (viz.-Scanning slides). The 7120 moved the slot for the camera memory card to the left side which is more convenient for me. I made it through tax season, printing the pdf tax forms. The 7120 requires some care in stocking up the plain paper cassette making sure the paper lies below the guides on both sides, else the printer grabs multiple sheets. This requires removing the cassette from the printer. The MP980 allowed me to just slip new paper into the cassette and print. After printing a fair number of tax forms, I still have not had to replace an ink reservoir; after printing the first few sheets, the ink status on the printer screen seemed to show I had used 50%. Fortunately, this was not the case. The new menu icons are far too complicated for me and confusing to simply set routine printer functions. I chose to use the USB wire connection (cable not included) rather than fool around with wi-fi. Overall, the new printer works well, but not as satisfactorially as the MP980.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Continous connection problems with my Mac

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
Ever since I started using this printer it's been extremely fussy with the connection to my Mac Pro (2013).
Wireless printing stopped working altogether so I connected it with USB to my Airport and even then it very often cannot find the printer and the much-touted Auto Start-up does not work at all. A huge disappointment!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Viridel
Location: Havre, MT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Downgrade in every way

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: solid job on cd/dvds
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction, terrible software
Replacing a 6120 that had a faulty red jet, and let's just say I'm glad the store has a 14 day satisfaction guarantee:
a) Moving the scanner opening from the front of the device to the middle is a TERRIBLE idea
b) I use the scanner for batch jobs, which MP Navigator handled quite adequately. MPNav doesn't work on this model, and you're stuck with the 2/3 Gb My Image Garden disaster of a bloatware program. I cannot understate how terrible this software is.
- b2) MPNav had a feature that would auto-detect multiple images and crop accordingly, great for batch-scanning large quantities of photos. This feature in My Image Garden - gone. Tech support says it's there. Well, it don't work.
c) Additional CD/DVD print trays, each cost 20% of the purchase price of the entire printer... Really?
d) Touch screen is lousy, have to apply way too much pressure (compared with devices we are all used to already), and its accuracy is terrible.
e) What's with that little paper tray thing that flips out automatically? Comically foolish.
Took a good base product (6120), and completely destroyed it with unneeded tweaks and gimmicks, while wrecking the actual usability of the product. There is no functional reason behind any of these decisions, except to create an over-engineered piece of trash with horrendous software.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: mark
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
I am very happy with this printer. The print quality is great and have had no problems with it. I am using it as a wifi printer and have done copying with it as well.
I like the 2 drawers with different paper types for photo or regular printing.
The only wish I have is that they have a driver for Linux as well, but the driver on WIndows 8.1 works well.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: nothappy
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Printer that can't print

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: wireless
Cons: doesn't print, can't fix most issues through settings
I bought this model and it worked great for about a week then it consistently messed up and couldn't print because it said "the size of the printer paper is different from the settings" so I took it back and got a new one. The second day of using it same problem would NOT print my papers for work.
Taking it back and won't go with a CANNON again, not going to pay a premium price for a generic printer.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Sandy
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not the best!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
I keep having problems with the color cartridges. I have replaced all, but it keeps saying that the grey is empty, when it's brand new. It won't print and it's very frustrating!!! It uses a lot of ink, very quickly, so the cost is high.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: wtg
Location: Springfield, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it. Really!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Super easy to use. The quality is crazy good. Love the interface all around.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: BadCanon
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

PIXMA MG7120 broke after 3 uses

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014
Cons: broke after 3 uses
Printer broke after the 3rd use and needs to be serviced. No way to fix it myself. Not the quality I expect for the money. Can't comment on the features because I can't use any of them.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Pegith
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty Much a Disappointment

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014
Cons: inflexible printing capability
Not happy with this printer at all. I can no longer print address labels from my templates and I haven't been able to print other than 8.5 x 11 paper or envelopes in spite of printer directions; apparently printing various paper sizes is not possible. Since I use my printer to create cards, invitations, and other craft projects and this printer doesn't accommodate multiple sizing for paper, it's pretty much useless. I'll be looking for something else ASAP.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Tesla07
Location: Orlando, Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Impressed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: user friendly, excellent printing, many features, well made
Cons: none
I am very impressed with the features and print output. I found this printer very user friendly. I also own a Canon Pixma 6520 but without hesitations; will use this printer for my primary use. Very well made and impressed with the large digital screen which guides you as to how to use different areas. 5 stars for this machine!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site