Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA MG7120

PIXMA Printing Solutions (PPS) app easily lets you print and scan photos or documents from your mobile device. With the cloud print function you can print directly from online cloud services either at the printer itself or with your mobile device using the free PPS app. 3.5" Touchscreen LCD and Intelligent Touch System buttons only illuminate and appear when you need them. 9600 x 2400 dpi photo resolution and gray ink for amazing detail in your color and black & white photos. Advanced Media Handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper right into the front of the printer at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
3.034 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
16
20 out of 47(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG7120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: kyle
Location: florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
The wifi simply doesn't work on this. Tried everything, even brought someone else out, and was told to just get a better printer. The wifi is the only reason i bought this. The instructional "manual" has no relevance whatsoever to the product and may as well be in Chinese. There is literally no useful information about the wifi in it, or even the Canon boards. Searching on the internet, i found a lot of people with my problem and very few of them seemed to have at any success. When it does work, it's incredibly slow, takes minutes to process every job, and shakes like it's going to fall apart during the actual print.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: OLEMISSrebel
Location: East Aurora , N.Y.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
Very easy to setup and great prints both documents and photos !
Review 3 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Ski girl
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
I wanted a wireless printer and always believed Canon would be a great brand. Love the wireless option and all documents and pictures print perfect. You can't miss with this printer.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: u2_720
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Photo Scans are Terrible

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014
I have tried various settings and can't get it to scan a simple 4x6 photo to any level of satisfaction.
The scanned colors are blotchy.
I could get a better scan by taking a photo of it with my 15 year old camera.
I wish there was a solution to the terrible scanning issues because I like the printer otherwise. . . aside from the terrible clicking sound it makes when printing starts. . . sounds like something is breaking every time but prints always look good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: texsun
Location: arkansas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

great !!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2014
This is a very good printer. setup was fast and easy . it only took me 5 mins to set up wireless printing. prints are very nice, you can never go wrong with a canon.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Sparky6220
Location: Bowie, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

good

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
I purchased a new MG-7120 and it would not work straight out of the box. I called customer service and they had me try some other fixes, but nothing worked. So they replaced my new 7120 with a used, "re-furbished" one.
This one works, but to replace a new machine with a used one is not good business practices. I really feel cheated, but will use this used machine until it crashes, then buy another brand.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Mac User
Location: TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love Canon Printers

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014
Had to replace my Pixma 620 due to the Mac Yosemite Upgrade. Decided to go back with Canon. Once again I am very impressed with the product and the service.
Only reason this was not a 5, was I had to call and get support to get the printer and scanner driver for Yosemite software. But after a few minutes the awesome customer support had us fixed up and printing from the iMac and iPad. Love the double side print option and scanning software. so far this printer seems to have everything!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Monrovia, Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2014
Terrible photographs printed.. Boxing it up and taking it back to Bestbuy..
2 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: thomas
Location: tampa, fl
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2014
Fantastic printer. It makes my photos on my cellphone look amazing in print! I am buying another one for my In-Laws for Christmas!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: J TX
Location: DFW, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Finally a dependable full feature printer!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Easy to setup when following directions, lower ink price, GREAT CRISP PRINTS, no matter what you print, great wireless function, lots of features...what else could one desire in an 8.5 x 11 all-in-one? Simple. Gift yourself (Or someone you know) with this one, in a color you will enjoy.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: ajax
Location: sf
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

terrible software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
Great print quality, but worst software ever. The scanning and CD software is really bad. Documentation is equally bad.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Syrsa
Location: Davie, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Will not buy this again.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014
Problems from the first. All of a sudden cannot change the files to print to photo paper. Colors turn out with a brown tinge, in spite of the PhotoShop preferences.. The printer keeps saying I have to upgrade. but cannot due to the directions given.
Sorry Canon, something is wrong, and it is not me.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: MarineWife
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
What a waste of money! It won't connect and when I finally get it to connect, it will print one picture and then go "offline."
Don't waste your money on this printer.
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Closer
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Great printer. Looks even better when you actually see it. Set up is easy if you just follow the enclosed guide. Just do everything on the enclosed guide and then install the software CD. It doesn't prompt you to do this in the guide. Copy's print out in approximately 10 seconds. Photo's on best quality setting print in 45-50 seconds. Great product from a great company.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: CAR
Location: IOWA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

PICTURE PRINTER

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, nice color pictures after you find the right setti
Cons: Difficult Setup, Flimsy Construction
COLOR SYNC IS OFF A LITTLE FOR MY MAC. THE 4X6 CARDS AND PICTURES ARE OUT OF ALIGNMENT. COULDN'T FIND THE SECOND DRAWER. NICE PICTURES IF YOU CAN GET THE COLOR RIGHT.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Mac
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good Harware - Weak Software

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: limited label software
I was impressed to find what appears to be a nice quality printer and low price that provides 'on-CD' label capabilities. For normal printing it seems fine. Unfortunately, the software provided with the printer to allow you to print labels directly on CDs and DVDs is lacking in features and I can't find an upgrade at Canon for a better package. I will be returning the printer.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Craig
Location: New Bern NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Love this printer so far! We use it for general day to day printing. Had a problem to start with when we got it. note to anyone who does purchase this printer, DO NOT USE A LINKSYS VALET ROUTER it might work for a day then you will have nothing but problems. We upgraded our router and it has been the best printer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: irate
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2014
Pros: pretty
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
after 2 months, this things is unbelievably slow. It is a pain to set up. It is hard to use. The paper feed is unreliable and the trays are inconvenient. Printing an envelope is a crapshoot. it drinks ink. Photos are too expensive to risk trying. copying is a labyrinthine process. Manual is not usable. This is just and awful printer. But it looks cool sitting on my desk.
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Joshua
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

So Happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Just bought this printer earlier today, and at first I was a little worried due to the bad reviews. I got it home and literally had it set up in about 5 minutes. It was so much easier than I thought to get it connected wirelessly to my wifi and get it printing straight from my iPhone. So pleased that I actually went back and bought my dad the same one.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG7120
Nickname: Fuzzwicket
Location: Bloomington, IN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

My Granny was slow but she was old

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
Using this printer for about a month and am still disappointed in the time it takes to get a copy. It scans then prints and it is unbelievable how slowly it goes through the scan/print process especially when getting two sided copies. And it frequently goes through some internal click, clack, buzz and whir routine that seems to take forever when I'm waiting for a copy. I had an MG6120 that did the same thing and - silly me - I thought Canon may have improved on that internal process but this printer is actually worse.
And it makes excellent photo prints and the print quality is good. I haven't decided yet about ink consumption but I'd suggest you shop around before buying this printer.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site