Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 30

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

CanoScan LiDE 30

Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
12 out of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 30
Review 1 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: DoggyMom
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Lousy Software = Lousy Scan

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010
Don't get this scanner if you want to scan color photos. All my scans come out with a pinkish cast. Manual says I can fix this in ScanGear CS but to use this plug-in you have to have PhotoShop. No way to correct color problems. Lousy product.
15 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Sheepherder
Location: Washington state
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Windows 7 Compatibility

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: win7 support
I have used the LIDE 30 for 4 years. It worked great with Windows XP and Vista 32 bit. Unfortunately, it DOES NOT WORK with Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. Canon or Microsoft HAS NOT developed drivers to make it work. It also DOES NOT WORK with WINDOWS VIRTUAL PC (32 bit mode).
I am very unhappy with Canon's support of this product!
My replacement will likely not be a Canon.
301 of 305 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: DaleK
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Works Great with Ubuntu!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
I ended up with this scanner through a trade because it didn't work with Microsoft. When I plugged it into Ubuntu it just worked great! Having the power and everything connect through the USB port is really handy.
I had steered myself and others away from Cannon thinking they went out of their way to build things non-standard so they didn't play well with Linux but this scanner is changing my mind.
I have another scanner I use for fast scans of photos but unless I have a lot to do this scanner is probably going to get most of the work.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: babylove
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Really Good Value for the Money!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: can't think of one
Bought this CanonLIDE30 scanner in 2005, love it! Would recommend it to anyone except Canon does not make it anymore : (
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: iv76erson03
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Scanner for the Money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, easy to use, quality
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
Works flawlessly in Ubuntu with great results. Scan speeds were slow, but the output was the best I've seen in this price range. Very happy with purchase.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: twlight
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

A+

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010
I have had this scanner a long time. It's the first and only one I ever bought. It works great! I would defintly recommend it to others.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Leo
Location: New York City
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good Buy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
enjoyed the easy installation. recommend for casual use and efficiency.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: mom
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

lifesaver

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, High resolution, easy to use, emails documents and photos
I'm very pleased with my Canoscan LiDE 30 scanner. I use it to copy documents for government paperwork, so I don't have to go all the way to a grocery store, etc., I scan the papers and then print them out on my printer. It helps save time and hassle to get things done, and the copies are free.
I also use it to scan photos and then repair the photos on a photo program.
I very glad I bought it because I'll never again have to use another copier in a store and I can have fun fixing my photos to look better.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: jimmy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: Slow Connectivity
I got it from a friendly recently as he clean out his computer stuff. This scanner is easy to work with.
Mind u, this is only usb 1.1 and it's a 2004 product so a bit slower, but it get the job done and I am not complaining.
Thumbs up for canon for finding the driver easily on the internet.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Mike the BassPlayer
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Value - Great Utility Player

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High resolution
I've used this scanner for everything from scanning old family photos for retouching to expense report receipt scans. Always gets the job done. I expect it to last another 6 years
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Jetwrnch
Location: TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year

tough stuff

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use
I've had this Canoscan LiDe 30 for years without issue. It's beat up and looks pretty bad from traveling but still works fine. Not the fastest or the most featured but it's not the most expensive either.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Rex
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Works in vista 32 and x64

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, works in vista 32&x64
Cons: none
There are 32 bit Vista drivers here on the web site.People like me who are useing Vista x64 this scanner can still be used.There is a program called Vuescan that has the drivers needed for Vista x64.Just google vuescan to find the web site.This scanner works great in Vista x64 no problems at all.Paying a couple bucks for a program is cheaper than buying a new scanner.
34 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Mikee
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

No Vista 64 driver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: no 64-bit support
No driver for 64-bit Vista.
**In order to use this scanner on 64-bit Vista, you must use the scanner in a virtualized OS through the usage of VirtualBox or VMware. This is NOT a good solution.**
This is not an old scanner, so the lack of support from Canon will certainly raise a red flag with future purchases.
If it weren't for the lack of 64-bit support, I would give this scanner 5's across the board.
64 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Once stung
Location: Idaho
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

cheap enough, but satisfactory

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use
Cons: Slow-speed scanning, Slow Connectivity, Low resolution
No driver for Vista 32 either..Is Canon going to fix this?
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: June
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Wonderful WOnderful WOnderful!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
I've had my scanner for 6 or 7 years now!! I like it so well I've bought a couple as gifts in past years. Never had any problems. It's easy to use & maintenance free. Used it on win 98se & xp. You just don't see this kind of longevity with products anymore. The reviewers concerned about vista drivers have me a little concerned, though. perhaps there will be vista drivers in the future?? if something befell my LiDE 30 i would go for the nearest LiDe product available.
3 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Keshab
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

No Vista 64 driver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2008
Cons: useless with vista 64
It was working good with windows XP. Now I have a new laptop with Vista 64. I found drivers for my printer, camcorder, external drive etc, except this scanner. So its useless now.
33 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Ben
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

No Vista 64 driver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: no vista 64 driver
I've been using this product for several years and just recently upgraded to Vista x64 and found that that there isn't Vista 64-bit driver support! This product is not very old which brings into question any future purchases of Canon hardware if it is going to be end-of-lifed so quickly. Such a shame...
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: pat

expensive paper weight for vista

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: no vista 64 driver
Title says it all. No vista 64 driver so its useless.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CanoScan LiDE 30
Nickname: Lisa
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Great Scanner, easy to carry with Laptop. Wonderful for research or school
10 of 20 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site