Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

CanoScan LiDE 20

Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE 20
Review 1 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: djphil20
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best scanner I've ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010
Pros: reliable, easy to setup, easy to use, can't beat the price
I've had this scanner for over 7 years and it has got to be the best I've ever owned. It has been working flawlessy since day 1. This is also was the cheapest I ever paid for a scanner as well. I was used to the idea of having to buy a new scanner every year because they always seem to die after a few hundred scans. I have scanned tens of thousands of photos with this thing and they always turn out perfect.
21 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: w0bud
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Scanner I've ever used

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: single copy scanning only
I've had this scanner for years. I've purchased other larger scanners with more features, but I always come back to using this one. It is portable, provides high quality scans and copies, and ALWAYS works. I've used it for documents and for high quality photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: D
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, starts instantly
Great scanner. Much better that the more expensive other brand I had been using. Starts scanning right away and produces outstanding scanned images. I highly recommend this scanner.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Denny
Location: Chicago area
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great value, does the job well!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
I've had this scanner for a number of years and it still works great!
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Tara
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
Has never let me down. Easy to operate and simple to locate scanned images and use in different programs.
Review 6 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Tony
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

ME TOO!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2010
I've had this scanner for years as well and I couldn't be happier. Also bought one for my Mom and sister who aren't the most adept at technology but they love it also. Easy to use, great quality and reliable over serveral OS.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: janscott
Location: Ontario, Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

AWESOME SCANNER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, High resolution, longevity
I believe I have owned this scanner for about 8+ years. It has never let me down. It has been connected to many a system....from Windows 98se to Windows Vista HP and never a problem. All I have to do is update the drivers...and I'm away! Would definitly buy another when this dear old thing gives up the ghost!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: NicG
Location: Dallas TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Stunning at any price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
This scanner has been around like forever, and does it all: Photos, OCR in several languages, copies, and juts keeps going.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: NIMROD
Location: Pinner, West London
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

EXCELLENT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
This scanner is unflappable, although I've had it a number of years, it performs sterling work, every time - thoroughly recommended
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: deedee
Location: lakeland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

the joint

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
i have not really had a scenner till recently. My friend gave it to me. Took me a minute but I got the hang of it and i love it.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Snowball
Location: Baltimore Md
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

easy for people with disabilitys

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Had to buy new Desk top PC my Canon LiDe 20/ Lide 30 will not work on Window Vista.
I am disabled since birth. My flat bed scaner was so easy for me to use on top of my desk ware i could reach it. The 3 in one will have to sit under my desk not enough room to sit on top of my desk.Like many others i can not slid out of my wheel chair to get under my desk to work the 3-in 1 scaner copier printer. I can not aford to buy a new scaner that will work with Window Vista
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: wizard of tinkering
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Small Form Big Results

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: slow scanning at max res
I put off getting a scanner because I didn't want to give up 2 square feet of desk space to an ugly gray box. Then Canon figured out how to use LEDs instead of fluorescent tubes and created a scanner that's only 1 1/4" thick that you can store in your bookshelf. It comes with easy to use software and has cool little buttons on the front that you can program to scan & print, scan & save etc.. Its a bit slow when scanning at 600 DPI full color but the price is right so I don't mind waiting a few seconds. This is a very cool gadget.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Windows7ROCKS
Product replacement: No

Great Purchase...No Difficulties

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
Its not that slow when you need to only scan a few photos its great, but if you have a whole ablum, then its a pain. But i guess thats why i need to purchase an industry scanner...lol, its a great buy :)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: trudi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

good buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
I use the scaner for year and like it very muchbut I can not instal it on my new computer window vista
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: Thom
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Gadget

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
This has proven to be a great little addtion to my arsenal of gadgets. The purchase was minimal considering it was a sale item.
My first choice was another name brand. After growing impatient with the competitors failure to offer a better deal on sales points, I decided to go with this model. Not having great expectations for this model, because of its sleek and slender composition, I had resigned my choice to something "practical" versus a deluxe super spend.
I am able to be highly mobile, it's sturdy as it takes my stacking bundles of paperwork on it, folding it open and close often, I can tuck it under my arm and carry it, it has a lock-in-place platen button which protects it from being jolted around.
This scanner is about the same thickness, length, and width of my laptop, making it easy to fit in my computer carrier on wheels. It's durable, with a non-trendy look (no wild colors or covers), so it's classic, I can place it directly in my business meetings, in front of the bosses, confident of its functionality; to maintain my spotless professional reputation.
Being that I am in real estate, I can immediately use the USB connection then scan documents such as contracts; with deletions and alterations, licenses, schematics and diagrams, and photos for identifying "name-to-face clients, directly to my computer when I am on site and away from the office. It's packed with features; some of which I haven't even mastered.
Could be a great addition to a student workstation, for homework, research, and a number of creative school projects. The colors are true, and the document positioning feature works well with photo manipulation softwares.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan LiDE 20
Nickname: fryguy
Location: cincinnati, ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
I love it. It scans pictures and documents very well. I have had this scanner since 2003. Very easy to use.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site