Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

One of the finest telephoto zoom lenses in the EF line, comparable to a single focal length lens 4 UD-glass elements to correct chromatic aberrations Constant f/2.8 maximum aperture Compatible with Extender EF 1.4x II and 2x II
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Review 1 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: A
Location: Adelaide
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

First L lens - fell in love

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images
I am writing this partly in response to the previous reviewer (October 2013), who didn't like it, and couldn't use it to take sports shots - claiming it doesn't autofocus well, and he'd rather get a longer lens or one with IS. The latter comment is telling - IS has no effect on fast moving action! The shots I have of humpback whales breaching off Tasmania would suggest a 10% keeper rate is due to "operator error" - one shot doesn't work so well on horses.
This was my first L lens, and I used it a lot on my 60D, and still use it on my 5Dii. It is still my favourite lens. I would have loved the f2.8 ISii version, but am glad I went with this rather than the similarly priced f4 IS - image quality is just fantastic (razor sharp, great contrast), and the extra stop is invaluable when freezing action. Shallow depth of field and decent bokeh - useful for portraits as well as really isolating your subject. I used it to a fault, before I acquired more L glass. It focuses quickly, even in low light - noticeably better than the 100-400L for instance - although better on the 5 rather than the 60 in low light.
I know that some prefer the lighter weight of the f4 70-200s, but I'm a big strong lad, and prefer to have the dof and shutter speed advantages over IS and low weight. I can't see myself replacing/upgrading this soon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: equestrian13
Location: palm beach, Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

sorry I even bought it

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2013
Pros: good at night, works in sun
Cons: Semi-sharp images, heavy, not sharp photos
From the time I have upgraded to this lens, There have been many instances where pictures will come out either fantastic or heavily flawed by being blurry and not focused at all. It took me a while to upgrade because it was a large jump from the rebel t3i and its corresponding lens to a 7d and this lens. i use this lens for action photography involving horses and I am having a serious problem with the auto focus. While all this time it is focused to the jump, the second I take the photo it becomes blurry and a waste of a good timed photo. One out of every 10 photos or so are a good quality and I am thinking about getting a new lens with a longer zoom and IMAGE STABILIZER. Not having the stabilizer kills me sometimes. But I do not want to buy the expensive lens that has it because I cannot afford it. I am stuck in a bad spot but am overall very unhappy with the lens and do not look forward to using it at shows.
7 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Canonfan
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My first L lens!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy, attracts unwanted attention
So this is my first L lens and I'm extremely satisfied with it. The quality of my shots blew me away. Perfect focus. Extremely crisp. The only complaint I have is that it is HEAVY! My wrist hurts from supporting the lens. Another thing is that people stare at it. A lot
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Scott
Location: Lapland Finland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Nice lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: wish i bought it earlier
Doesn't feel at all heavy, I thought this might be a problem. I debated over the 70-200 4L IS model and this one, decided on the 2.8 L. My wife didn't understand why I wanted to spend so much money on a lens, after she has seen the pictures it takes ..... well she didn't talk about that anymore. :)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Evaniezer
Location: Huntsville, AL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

EXCELLENT lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: price, heavy
I had a 70-300 tele before purchasing this lens. In every single way it is better. No chromatic aberrations have been noticed. I normally use this telephoto lens for sports and auto racing. It's got very fast auto focus which is a must when shooting sports. The colors are much richer. So far I haven't had any complaints with it, other than the heaviness of the lens. Some days I will be out for 6-10 hours shooting sports with this lens and after a while my back starts to hurt from lugging around this lens. The price is another issue, but honestly you get what you pay for and this lens is completely worth the money.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Jon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Images are just stunning!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy
I wish that I had made this investment much sooner.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Sheckwel
Location: new york NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2011
Pros: fast, built like a tank, quiet, smart
Cons: heavy, pricey
This lens is Fantastic,has a fast autofocus because of the f2.8, i had the 70-200mm f4, which was super fast but this one performs much better.
The built quality is fantastic, i would recommend this lens to all canon eos users who want to put Telefoto on their bags, wow!
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Thunderbird
Location: Surabaya
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
the lens had a fast auto-focus, because of the f2,8 surely it won't need flash for indoor use. But i think it is to heavy.
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: news&sportsphotog
Location: Little Rock, AR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall a great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, sharp images
Cons: lens hood design
This is the second of this lens I've owned. Personally I find while the IS version may be sharper in places, the non-IS is sharper overall throughout the zoom range. I sold my original to upgrade to the IS and wasn't pleased with sharpness, so sold it and purchased another non-IS and am much more happy with it. Typical L build quality, solid feel, fast and quiet AF and quite durable. My only complaint is the design of the lens hood attachment, a problem I have with most of my L glass - after a while they get loose and won't stay put, but I know I'm tougher on equipment than the average or casual shooter.
51 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: sy
Location: colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Over Priced

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, sharp images, excellent image quality with nice bokeh
Cons: expensive, heavy
I sold mine and bought EF 200mm f2.8 prime. It was too heavy for me to carry around. Normally needs a tripod when you shoot at 200mm. That's the same as the prime but the prime is much lighter. IQ is excellent. As far as sharpness you might get almost same result with 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS, but this one has very nice bokeh. AF is fast and quiet. L quality built. But if you can find a good used IS version for a similar price, you might want that instead of this.
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: ccpix
Location: Central City,Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: tripod or flash a "must"
I have had and used this lens for around a year now.I am disappointed in the sharpness of the images it produces.And from other reviews,it seems like other photographers have the same problem.You HAVE to use a tripod or flash to get a decent sharp image.I guess the good reviews come from the lucky ones who did not get stuck with a lemon or they do not care about the quality of the images.I regret purchasing this lens.Could have gotten 2-3 comparable quality lens for same.Might as well spend the extra for the IS and have something that works than spend less for a lens that may not work the way that you would expect.
11 of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: RocCityPhoto
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2010
Pros: f2.8, durable (i think), it focuses fast
Cons: lack of sharp image
Considering the amount of money this lens cost, I was surprisingly disappointed with the quality of image it produces. When you expand your image to 100%, details are blurry.
There are exceptions. Shooting portraits at a distance of 15-25 feet produces great results. Shoot a bird 50 feet away, it's blurry every time. I've tried using a tripod, different camera body, same results.
Other than that, I think it's a super lens. But if you can't get a quality image from it, what good is it. I also have used a 70-300mm f4.5 - 5.6 canon lens. The inexpensive version and the quality isn't far off from that.
I'm really really hoping it may just need an adjustment.In fact, I'm praying an adjustment corrects the problem, otherwise the purchase was a total bust.
I wish I had taken it back right after I purchased it, but I wanted to believe.
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Seattle Slew
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Go to lens..

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
The 70-200mm lens can hold its own on pretty much any film/FF/crop frame digtal. The versatility, image quality, speed, color, contrast make it my go to lens for all my non-studio work..
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Johan
Location: USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Worst lens I've ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: terrible sharpness, falls apart
The images at f/2.8-f/8.0 are not sharp at all. In fact at f/2.8 you can not even see wrinkles in someones face in a portrait. Also, my lens is falling apart, from the focus ring forward is going to break off soon.
11 of 148 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: lancelot
Location: minneapolis, mn
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A Real Gem

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, vivid colors
Cons: weight
This is 1 0f 4 L seriies lenses that I own, with more to follow. I love the versatality of this lense, and recomend using a tripod when you can. Great colors, super fast focus, and quiet. I had a Tamron, 70-200 2.8, much less money, but I can see why. The focus on this lens is second to none, Very sharp, and is so fast. Great all around lens. If you can only afforde 1 lens, invest in this one, you won't regret it.
35 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Gelderland
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Awesome and crisp!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Built like a tank. This lens is my main shooter. I am an entertainment photographer for a number of publications. I have never been disappointed with the quality, the accuracy or the reliability of this incredible lens.
80 of 80 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: mko
Location: hobbs, nm
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
I just got the lense like 3 days ago.. and the first picture helped me realized that this lense will take me in a great direction. If people write reviews its because they are satisfied,, i am glad i make this purchase, whooohh
27 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: someone
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
This lens is an amazing lens from canon. The build quality is superb and so is the mage quality. It is also 600 dollars cheaper than the IS version. While it is heavy the pictures you take will definitely justify the weight. If you buy an L you will not be let down. This lens is just great.
30 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Tate
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Just got back into SLR game since everything went digital. This lens is a wonderful all around lens. Cant say enough good things about it. All my lens will be "L" from now on.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Canon's Best Zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
This thing does it all, sports portraits, travel. Blazing fast focus, super sharp, great color rendition. If you don't need IS, this lens is it. I use it for action sports and fashion and it is a wonderful performer.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site