Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A80

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A80

Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A80
Review 1 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Bob McCallum
Location: Tulsa, OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2012
This camera was a gift to my son years ago. After he purchased another camera he returned it to me. I have received compliments on some close-up pictures I have made although it is difficult to use that way. I enjoy the camera immensely as an old retired person - 87 years.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Nats
Location: southern California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Like a good 'ol friend. . .always there and ready

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2010
The Canon PowerShot A80 has been by my side for travel, business and special events for almost 5 years now and has always been there like a good 'ol friend you can rely on. Videos are terrific. Never had any issues with this camera. It is very 'ImageBrowser' software friendly to Mac users such as myself as well. Never any issues. The PhotoStitch feature is unbelievable. I will continue to use this camera year after year despite bigger ( and smaller ) cameras being marketed and available. I rely on this camera and it has never let me down. . . period.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Jen
Location: Weirton, WV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I *miss* my A80 so much...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great options for manual control: lots of settings
Cons: viewfinder became unreliable in time
After much research, I purchased this little camera in 2004. I LOVE my A80: it allows a great deal of control, the swivel-LCD is a fabulous feature, and best of all, the pictures were absolutely gorgeous: crisp, noise-free, just a delight. Many pictures I took with this nifty digicam have been purchased by others, including one by a magazine. It has become the standard by which I judge all other point-and-shoots, though this delightful A-series model is too good to be put into that category.
Unfortunately, the viewfinder (a must have even for carry-along camera) became unreliable about a year and a half ago. An image I'd framed perfectly would look totally different on the LCD. Heartbroken, I purchased an A630, but it can't hold a candle to my little A80, which I held onto in honour of its marvellous service for many years. I'm in the market for a new small cam to supplement my beloved Rebel and am so at wits' end I'm going to be calling Canon to see what they can do to fix my darling little A80. I lent it to my father when he realized he'd forgotten his camera at home when he stopped here on the way to a longer vaca, and of course, the photo quality was heartbreakingly lovely; Dad is an LCD aficionado and wasn't worried about there being no viewfinder.
If you can find one of these new in box somewhere, snap it up: 4MP or not, you won't regret it once you see the fantastic images it produces. Canon, please give us at least ONE little camera like this in the $200 range with all the A80 bells & whistles!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: outlaw222
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2010
I like this camera very much cause of it s manual exposure controls and i don't need more than 4Mp.
The problem is: i've purchased this camera used , and i found out about the CCD problems after buying it, and i wonder if the CCD didn't fail by now ,how much chances are to fail in the foreseeable future?And can i find out if the CCD had been replaced for that particular cam by entering somewhere the serial number?
Review 5 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Anonymous

Fantastic digital camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This has been an excellent camera that produces great quality pictures. It is a little heavy but very durable. I have dropped it several times but it keeps working- owned and used alot for 5 years. My only complaint is Cannon does not offer 3:2 aspect ratio therefore your pictures always get cropped when developed. I consider this a pretty big negative, but I have learned to account for that.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Noe
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

The Perfect Camera for me

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, swivel lcd
I got this camera several years ago for christmas. For me this has been the perfect camera. I've looked at new ones and sure they have more mega pixel and some more zoom but they tend to me more gimmicky and my A80 has more features on it that you can't find on the new ones without buying a big bulky expensize SLR type camera which I don't want. This is small enough to fit in my purse and has similar performace compared to an SLR. I am short and have taken it to several concerts and I LOVE the swivel screen, why more cameras don't have this beats me.
Just recently I started having problems with the sensor and sent it in to canon to be replaced, I just had to pay the cost of shipping thanks to advisory notice. Hopefully that is all that is wrong with it and I can use it for another 6 years.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Well-made quality camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable
Cons: small lcd
First of all, I wish there was a way to comment on other reviews - several of them describe symptoms of CCD failure that are covered by the Canon service advisory irrespective of camera age. So if the image on your screen is purple, hazy, distorted - send the camera in, it will be fixed for free. I did and now can I look forward to more years with my camera.
I think like many technology products, the true quality of this camera can only be appreciated with time. This has been my main camera since 2004, and hopefully will continue to be.
The features that set this camera apart in my opinion, in order of importance, are: articulated LCD (inexplicably virtually non-existent on current cameras), manual modes, metal body, AA batteries as the power source. Remote capture option, while rarely used, is very nice to have. Just on these features alone, even today it favorably compares to most of the current PowerShot A-line models.
Really every camera from this retired line of Powershot A models (A 80 - 95 - 6XX) seems like an excellent product
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Rue
Location: Oak Ridge, Tn.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Loved my camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used this camera constantly since 2004. It popped off my car seat and on to the floor. Now I can't use my LCD monitor and I'm so LOST!
That "swinging" monitor was so wonderful. Most of my pictures are of flowers or dogs and that made those so easy.
I can't find another monitor that does that swing motion---maybe they were troublesome---NOT MINE, it worked perfectly.
Review 9 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: GoodGuy
Location: Pittsburgh, Penna.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera but went bad too soon.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance
I really liked this camera until I started to have problems like others on here. The LCD screen as well as the pics started to blur as well as the pics it took. I guess it started with the colors being off, ie: pink sky instead of blue sky.
For a 4 meg cam, I thought it took excellent pics. I wish there was a fix for it that didn't cost an arm and a leg. I've only had this camera for 6 yrs. before it started to go goofy on me.
Before I had this camera I had another brand 2 meg camera and It's still going strong and taking very good pics for a 2 meg camera and I've owned it for over 10 years.
If the Canon people read this, please tell me if this A80 can be fixed at a reasonable price.
I guess my overall rating for this camera would be excellent but for this problem.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: misty
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

bombproof

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I bought a Powershot A80 years ago and I have taken some amazing photos with it. I am a climber, and recently my friend was up on a wall taking photos of another climber when she dropped it accidentally. It survived a 30 foot fall!
Review 11 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: greencobra
Location: Boston
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Distortion across top & color balance way off!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
We have had our PowerShot A80 for roughly 5 years as well, and over the past +/- 3 months, we're having the exact same problems as the previous reviewers, Ace & Powerless w/PS A80.
We paid top dollar for this camera 5 years ago, and have taken great care of it. We have NEVER lent it out for someone else to use. It has remained with us.
It is very frustrating because we have been extremely satisfied with this camera, and now it's failing us.
To the people at CANON, what do you suggest we do??
Review 12 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: Ace
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Had mine 5 yrs as well

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009
But just in the last couple days, there is image distortion across the top of the image, and color balance is off. I have a wide angle adaptor and use this all the time at work - for those who've gotten them repaired - whats the cost? I love the camera, but dont want to spend $$ for a 4 MP cam.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: BEAR
Location: Sunset Hills, MO.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

"A" GRAND PICTURE TAKER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
If you want too have control of want you take "THIS IS IT".
Review 14 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: DAD
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

This has been my "go to" camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have several good cameras. But, this is the one I carry with me most of the time. I use it in my work applications, because it fits nicely in my brief case. The photos taken can be quickly downloaded and added to an e-mail to my Superiors for the "picture is worth a thousand words" explanation. Thank you Canon!
Review 15 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: PowerlessWithPowerShotA80
Location: Los angeles, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love the Camera NOT the Quality!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2009
Cons: Flimsy Construction, lcd monitor poorly made!
Please do not be misled by the 5 star Rating. I didn't have the heart to give anything less when so many have had experiences that are completely contrary to mine. I bought my A80 in Jan of 2004. It seems so grossly unfair to have it give me problems after only five years. I always look after my cameras extremely well. So there is no carelessness on my part. The LCD monitor started to distort the pictures I was taking, gradually at first to what I can only term now as a full-blown blur. I have mastered most of the features of this camera for which I paid top price and was beginning to love it. I know Canon will have a viable explanation and a solution. I hope it will.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: janetc
Location: north carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

5 years strong

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Dim LCD
I have had my A80 for 5 years now and it is still going strong and takes amazing pictures. The colors are very vibrant, the images are sharp, the macro setting works like a champ, it's held up being dropped many many times, I love the flip around screen, I probably get about 500 pictures on one set of batteries... Only complaints are the screen is a little hard to see in bright daylight and sometimes there is a lag (caused by the autofocus) when taking pictures. But it is an amazing camera, even after 5 years of consistent use I still get requests from friends and coworkers for some of my landscape prints.
Review 17 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: DirectorGirl
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
This camera is amazing for its time. I have a few other newer cameras and always come back to this one. The picture quality is outstanding. The zoom on mine just broke . . . which is why I'm here. :0( But I will get it fixed, this camera is worth the repair. The Macro focus is phenominal!! I take a lot of close-up shots of flowers for calenders and such. This camera is great for all lighting too. Rather impressive!! I highly recommend this camera!
Review 18 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: DaisyDog
Location: far east, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

For its time a marvel

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: video quality poor
Picture quality is outstanding. I am ready to replace, mostly due to having a difficult time downloading into iPhoto & to get bigger file sizes. I have had spectacular resolution on photos underwater day and night / the low light of the rainforest, the desert, tundra mountain tops, birds, many types of sports events and tons of family photos. Macro is also astounding. I look forward to new technology but would recommend this to anyone. I have seen many a picture from far newer cameras that do not compare to the crispness of this machine.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A80
Nickname: A80 Lover
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

I love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
I can't believe i'm the first to review this awesome camera! This is the best camera ever! The flip screen makes it so much fun. The camera is super easy to use and has some great features. Takes great night pictures. Just broke mine unfortunately what brings me here...but will pay to keep this awsome camera working! I've had the camera about 5 years and wouldn't want to replace it with another!
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site