Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Thermal & Laser Fax Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Thermal & Laser Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for FAXPHONE L170

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FAXPHONE L170

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FAXPHONE L170
Review 1 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: Bartdog
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Unbelievable Machine!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2012
Pros: excellent workhorse for 15 yrs!
OMG, I purchased my Canon Faxphone L170 in 1997! for my home transcription business in Calif. ! Here we are 15 years later and it finally gave out! I wouldn't have gotten 15 years out of any other printer and have had to replace my little ink color printer 4 times until I got smart and bought a Canon for that too! What can I say.......this printer is amazing. I'm going to buy another one. It's cheap at triple the price!!! Kudos to YOU CANON!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: doc
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid performer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011
Pros: reliable fast good print quality
I have used this product for 3-4 years now after I got a smoking deal on it. Initially was a backup for my office then became the primary fax machine for a while and now functions as the printer that sits next to my bed. (We swapped it out for a flatbed which was more versatile for us as a copier). Has probably over ten thousand prints on it thus far. Just a very solid performer. Toner is a little expensive yet toner cartridge has a long life. Print quality is excellent. Time to print is relatively fast. Noise level about average to slightly louder for a laser printer. As a fax machine it is good. An incredibly reliable machine. Isn't a bad phone either.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: Drake
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011
Pros: excellent product
Cons: non thus far except the ink is a bit expensive
I am very happy with this fax machine. I have had it for some time now and have only replaced the ink cartridge once. The machine is very reliable. Presently, it is used for small office application and will say that it is the only one we have ever owned.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: JLR
Location: Port Richey, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Really Good Fax Machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2010
We are very please with this fax. Easy to set up and program.
Only con is the trays on the front of the unit stick out and get in the way for reading the display window. The window needs to be angled for easier reading.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: beetle
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

good deal for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010
I've had this fax for a couple years, and it seems to be holding up fine. The toner is expensive but if you shop around you can find generic toner which works fine. I use it mostly for faxing and it's fast.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: WINGIT
Location: CALIFORNIA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

BEST FAX I'VE HAD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: not to big, fast, ability to accept long pieces of paper, clear faxes
Cons: not the best to learn to program, cartridges is somewhat expensive
THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST FAX I'VE HAD. IT CAN ACCEPT LARGE DOCUMENTS AND SCANS SUPER FAST. I USE IT IN A COMMERCIAL SETTING AND HAD IT FOR THREE YEARS. I AM GOING TO REPLACE IT SOON BECAUSE IT IS STARTING TO FAIL. I RUN ABOUT 1000 FAXES A WEEK AND IT HAS DEFINETLY PAID FOR IT'S SELF.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: Chuck
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

L170 good value fax machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2009
i have had my unit for 3 years now. It still performs quite well and is economical on toner use. Fast feeding. Built in memory lets you start additional jobs while the previous one is still transmitting. For the price it will meet the needs of most small businesses. Maybe if you send a hundred faxes a day this unit is not for you. The only thing that is a bit irritating is the paper cover tray does not have a snug fit and gets knocked out of position easily. Side by side to a Brother machine this wins hands down.
33 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FAXPHONE L170
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Kennewick, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Fax

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008
50 page input is wonderful. Last fax would double up on pages. This is quick and wonderful. Would highly recommend it.
38 of 52 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site