Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP1500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP1500

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP1500
Review 1 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: bitz
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Printer Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2010
Pros: light weight durable cheap ink
Cons: can't replace ink collector myself
I've owned one of these printers since 2004/2005 and not once did i have any problems with it. As of one week ago my excess ink collector is reading full and oh how i wish i could replace it myself. I recently bought a new printer but i could never discard my faithful Canon Pixma iP1500 because once the ink collector is replace it will work as good as gold.
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: suzy326
Location: Parlin, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality product, lasts for long time

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, overall outstanding
I just bought my third one of this type printer. Outstanding quality prints on everything, and that includes pictures. They last for at least 2 years. If you know how to, to fix once ink absorbency is full. It can even work for a longer amount of time.I consider canon printers to be the best quality printers you can buy. I would recommend to anyone I know. I bought on May 5, 2011.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Jenny
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Price for new ink cartridges is wonderful

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
It's been the best but alas, my Pixma finally died, & I have to shop for a new one......
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Cookie
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Durable & Reliable

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: can't change ink waste tank myself
PRO-I have had my IP1500 since they came out more years than I can remember. I owned a bubble jet 2000 by Canon & it lasted much longer. It has traveled & indurered. It even prints heavy index cards without a problem. I know it uses alot of ink cleaning the head before every print job. I would purchase another if they were available now that my ink waste tank is full and I can't get information on purchasing a replacement to change it myself.
Con-forced to send it to a repair shop to change ink waste tank whch is more expensivem than the original purchase price or purchasing a new printer, which means more land fill what a shame.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: gahome25
Location: Athens, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Easy, Reliable, Quality Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use, inexpensive ink
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I've had this printer for the past 4 yrs of college, and I have no plans for replacing it anytime soon. I can print everything from low-ink powerpoint slides for class to high-quality pictures for my room, and it's VERY easy to use. I even bring it with me whenever I go home, at my parents' request.
The ink is cheap, and I've discovered that when it "runs out", if I swap the cartridge out and let the old one sit for a few days, it is ready to use again. This way, I can go weeks longer without buying ink.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: fast_track
Location: los angeles, ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

lifesaver

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
This is a great printer. Prints fast, its dependable. and portable. I have bigger more expensive printer but this one is my old faithful for printing out good quality documents quick and on the go.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Tony
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Does the job

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors
I've had mine for over 3 years and it's still working fine.
It's good for letters, documents, and some color pictures.
I don't think it's very good for printing photographs, as the colors (on mine) come out a shade wrong.
It's good to test mock-ups of printing projects, as the ink is a lot cheaper than the newer printers.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Jacqueli
Location: Dallas, TX.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Exceptional Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
PROS:
My Pixma printer was a gift from an IT expert. He told me this printer was used for all employees in the large office where he worked, with virtually no problems.
It's so easy to use, I would recommend it for one's aging mom and dad, who've never used a computer or printed photos. They will be pleasantly surprised!
It takes little room. Will do just about anything you need; from fast-print text to beautiful color photos, making your own gift cards, works great for crafts as well.
CON:
There's only one con I can think of after owning this for over 2 years and using it for everything: I wish the ink cartridges would last longer. The convenience of not having to replace a cartridge so frequently, IMO, would make this the perfect printer for anyone, not even considering the price, which is a great value.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Jim
Location: Claremont, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Pixma iP1500

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: Flimsy Construction, High Ink Consumption
Purchased used (eBay) one year ago. Used sparingly, but really appreciate the low cost ink cartridges which I hope will continue to be available. Unfortunately the cartridge ink capacity is on the low side so need to replace often if more than casual printing is attempted.
Printer was inexpensive, but the cartridges are the moneymaker for Canon (and all other companies). Performance has been reliable, good quality output and compact footprint.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Pablo
Location: Houston,TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
I owned an ip1500 since 2004.Man this printer is amazing. Almost 5 years no problem till last week. I'm actually looking for another ip1500 but hard to find.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: Andy
Location: Cary, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: inexpensive ink
If you mostly print text, this is a great printer. After our Canon 200 or 300 died (after many years of use), we found this replacement. Single criterion: low cost ink. It may also print great in color, just never tried. Companies like Lexmark should have gone out of business years ago, with ink over 30 per cartridge.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: wopen
Location: las vegas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Try and get some info on the printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, Dull Tones & Colors
Pictures are very light, dull, not natural at all, tried to get a updated driver for this printer, drivers, manuals or any other info you click on give you a 404 error
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP1500
Nickname: wlkrp
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

iP1500

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, ink cartriges are very cheap
The best thing about this printer is the ink cartridges, you can get them as low as $2.00 ea,.
Never had a problem with this printer, And I am going to purchase one for my laptop as well. It is small enough to carry with me.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site