Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4000

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4000
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Regi
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Workhorse Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2011
Pros: dependable
Cons: none
I have 2 iP4000 printers and have found them very dependable. They have had a lot of paper through each of them and a few hundred 4x6 photos.
Duplex printing is important to me. It reduces paper waste.
I print much of the articles of information that comes over the internet in the interest of time, for reading later when convenient.
I stated with Canon printers about 10 years ago on the i550 that printed both sides BUT the stack had to be turned over to print the back side. i550 worked 3 ranges of Microsoft sotware without any changes. Not many printer owners can say that.
Finally this month the color inks no longer work and they refuse to clear so I thought it time to move into a newer Canon printer to join the two iP4000 team.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: benfocused
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

It went the distance and beyond

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010
Pros: afforable high quality printing, fast performance
Cons: none
I never write reviews but felt it necessary in this case. I bought my ip4000 printer in December 2004. Since then I have used this printer hard for both simple black and white documents to probably thousands of photos for my small business related workload. This printer has never failed, never been a problem and always worked without fail.
Within the last week though the printer started messing up and was no longer able to feed paper without spinning out of control and having the error light come on. Troubleshooting seemed to show it was time for greener pastures.
The point to this review is that I got nearly six solid years of heavy work from a printer that cost less than $200 in 2004. In my humble opinion that is the best recommendation I can give to how much I believe in Canon printers. My ip4000 has now been replaced by a new ip4820 and hopefully it will be another six years before I have to shop again.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Dave
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great output, but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010
Pros: great images and photos.
Have used this unit from 2003 to present with only a few minor problems, all resolved. But...this time the print head failed (somehow) and estimated rrepairs by a factory service shop came to more than the price of a new printer, and then some. OUCH!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Roger
Location: Nipomo, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Problems down the road

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010
Pros: prints two types of paper with the flick of switch
Cons: ink runs out fairly quickly.
The ink overflow tank, whatever that is, stops the printer immediately and no one can economically fix the printer. It's a shame because this would otherwise be a wonderful printer. The Geek Squad doesn't even know what the heck an ink overflow tank is, much less is able to repair it.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Suncat2000
Location: Akron, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good, Solid Performer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2010
Pros: speed, inks separately replaceable, good quality prints, alternate paper path for heavy stock, duplex printing
Cons: can clog when unused for more than a week or two, no docs for installing windows vista 7
I've had this printer over 4 years and it's generated a lot of good prints for me. The separate cartridge system saves a lot of ink purchases from not having to replace a 3-color cartridge when one color runs out. There are some good, less expensive replacement color inks available, but I stick with the Canon 3eBK because it works very well and is the only one that works right in this printer.
Printer works so well I bought one for someone else so I would have less support to do :-).
To get this printer to work on Windows 7, I had to install the Windows XP driver. I expect a few more years great service from my Pixma iP4000.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: OrangeDeb
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2010
I love everything about this printer except that I have not yet been able to print from my new Windows 7 laptop. Maybe today is the day for that.
I have had this printer for over 4 years and will keep using this printer as long as possible and as long as I can repair it rather than replace.
Thank you Canon for making a product that is not disposable. Please continue to support this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: REB
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

The Golden Goose

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, cartridges are refillable, very flexible driver, prints 10x12 photos you can frame, easy page back-ground printing, does a great job of duplex printing
Cons: wish it had a port for a light
What a fantastic product! I've used computers and printers of various kinds/types/sorts since 1972. We've finally found out (at least Canon has!) how to make I/T products that function very well, for long periods of time, without problems of any sort. They just don't wear out!
I paid the vendor a modest sum, which I thought was very reasonable for this printer, and I've used it until nearly its shoe-soles have worn out. I've never had to replace a Printhead or anything. The iP4200 was easy on its first installation, and is easy enough to setup in all manner of softwares. The driver package is nearly flawless, flexible enough to be supported in all manner of software, and the only thing I ever did for it was to install new printer drivers as they were tweaked. This probably wasn't actually necessary, but made me feel good.
The iP4200 is easy on the ink cartridges, the cartridges are easy to re-fill (although I know you say it can't and shouldn't be done, and all that, but I'm here to tell you it most definitely CAN be done, easily and successfully and over the years I've had no problems with the re-fills. I don't refill them many times much, perhaps 4 or 5 times and under those restrictions the cartridges have served yoeman duty. I'll admit I'm a tightwad in this matter, but I've made sure I get quality ink and I don't overfill them.
The iP4200 has a relatively small footprint, and fits on a card-table with and a Laptop and a Scanner, with enough leftover room for a work area and doesn't weigh much in the bargain. Easy to carry around, prints exceptional photographs on high-quality matte photo paper.
It's even compatible with USB 1.1 (which I've had to do a couple of times when I took it to someone else's office to print some photos for them.
It's showing some external signs of wear, but not inordinately so. Cleans up well with a damp sponge and a weak warm-water solution of hand soap and a modest amount of scrubbing.
Would I do it again? Absolutely! I wouldn't try to use it to print Books. but I have used it to print Duplex and it doesn't (or, rather, hasn't) spat up over the amount of black ink substance its required to deposit.
It's Hail fellow, well met! as far as I'm concerned. It's my favorite and deservedly so.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Titewad
Location: West central Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great machine.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, drivers can be updated
Cons: low ink warning appears too early.
My Canon is only the second printer I have owned since buying my first computer in 1998.
I am very well satisfied with its quality and performance. I especially appreciate the ability to update drivers and this machine will run on the Windows 7 professional 64 bit system that I intend to buy next. My only complaint is that is starts yelling about ink running low long before I have to replace the cartridges.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Doug

Best printer ever, seriously

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
photos cards front back grayscale,glossy matt stickers cartrage feed, top feed, 4x5 photo feed. 6 inks. cheap and reliable
best printer ever
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: VT Macky

Best printer for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed
My PIXMA iP4000 was purchased 4 yrs ago. I find it to be reliable, cost effective and it gives me beautiful picture copies. For no particular reason I was looking to upgrade but I hesitate because Canon no longer makes the 5 cartridge printer any longer. I expect I'll keep ole faithful until she it wears out or when Canon comes back with the 5 cartridges.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Calif.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, takes 3rd party carts
Cons: High Ink Consumption
A pity Canon no longer makes this printer, as it does everything, and well. If you can find one new, grab it. One of the last printers made by Canon that uses third-party carts, this thing goes and goes.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4000
Nickname: PhotoLover
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Terrific Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Of the four photo printers I have owned, my ipPixma4000 by far produces the best photo prints. For other printing tasks, Its duplex print feature saves lots of paper. The individual ink cartridge for each color results in saving lots of money because cyan always empties first. The software warns when ink is running low, but does not force change of cartridge until it is actually empty.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PIXMA iP4000
Based on 1 ratings-only review
OverallAverage Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site