Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for XL2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

XL2

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XL2
Review 1 for XL2
Nickname: Skuzz
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Hands down, one of the best cams!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, durable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Uncomfortable to hold
I purchased this camera a little over 3 years ago and I must say it has kept up with the abuse I've given it.
Although, a bit pricey by today's standards, you still can't beat the plethora of features this camcorder has. Interchangeable lens? 24p, 60i, and 30p recording modes? Full XLR mic support? It definitely gives you your money's worth.
The quality of the images captured by this camera are hands down some of the most true to life a camcorder in its price range can get. Adding to that, Canon has enabled 3 user presets so if you don't like the stock look, you can adjust your knees, highs, reds, greens, etc all independently for that look you want!
The low-light performance isn't as good as other cam's out there, but it's not the worst either. The XL2 performs best with a well lit scenario, but if you have a tripod, you can get creative with the shutter speeds and gain. It's all about the user I think.
The camera's feel is a bit on the bulky side, but not too bad. After a while of handheld use, the user can get easily fatigued (especially if you're just starting to use this camera), but as times goes on, you learn holding and breathing techniques to help. The camera is indeed front heavy due to the large size of lens, but if you want quality, this is a small price to pay.
A counterbalance weight to the rear would've been a nice feature to add, but not entirely necessary.
Overall, I highly recommend this cam, but even more so, I'd go with the hi-def version if at all possible!
65 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XL2
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: san francisco ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life
we use the xl2 to film multiple events and it has shown supereor to all of the other cameras of its kind.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XL2
Nickname: Videoguy25
Location: Akron, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best peice of film equipment i have purchased yet!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life, Uncomfortable to hold
When i first got it, i was like "wow this is a big camera"! when i started to play around with it, i was very impressed at its versatility and overall look.
I started to shoot a few weddings and was very pleased with its remarkable picture and ease to plug it into my macbook.
I am greatly please with this camera. I plan on getting a second one soon!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XL2
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Birmingham, Al
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio
i bought this camera to produce corporate videos for our web site as well as in house training videos. so for it has worked great for us.
18 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XL2
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Superb

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Bulky Design, slightly expensive
I bought this in 2005 to film high school sports games. i used it to replace an aging 8mm camera from the 1990s. Ever since, it has been performing great. It still worked after I accidentally dropped it. Although the price is a little high, it is great for all of my needs.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XL2
Nickname: HJ
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
I originally purchased the XL1 and I still use it today. I have upgraded to the XL2 for all of the obvious great options. I have been in the A/V and TV production business for over 30 years. I am now retired but still use the cameras for special events. The XL2 is our main camera in the video studio. Both of the cameras have performed flawlessly. HD may be the "buzz" word and wave of the future, but SD is still alive and going well. Thanks Canon!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XL2
Nickname: Randall
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
I've been shooting with the XL2 for a few months now, after shooting with the XL1s. There is a world of difference between the two cameras. The added pixel count of the XL2 provides the best 16x9 picture of any SD camera. I do a lot of flash video encoding for the web and the progressive 24 frames per second ability of this camera provides me with gorgeous web videos at smaller file sizes - that's critical for my work.
The camera also features balanced, phantom powered audio ports - a must have for a pro-shooter.
Bottom-line: a great camera for the serious shooter.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XL2
Nickname: Lojimek
Location: Longview, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Bulky Design
I was impressed with the image quality for a SD Cam.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XL2
Nickname: Skyline223
Location: Memphis, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Superb Quality from Canon.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Bulky Design
This camera has an incredible amount of features. Its picture quality is clear and crisp and with variable frame rate, film look can be easily achieved. The audio quality is simply amazing. The stereo mic picks up everything just as you would hear it. The built in XLR inputs make external mic attachment easy and with the built in phantom power you can use your favorite condenser mics. The viewfinder is clear and easy to read and with it's convertible top, it can be used to view from a short distance. The included lens cannot be matched by any other company. Canon is the standard, so you can't go wrong. The choice between 4:3 and 16:9 aspect ratio is yours with a flick of a switch. The customizable preset buttons on the top of the camera allow you do quickly change to a different setting. The only downside of the camera is it's weight, but I can manage. The Canon XL2 is one of the greatest cameras on the market today. You will not be dissapointed.
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XL2
Nickname: filmmakerluis
Location: Ciales, Puerto Rico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

grat camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Pros: Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Bulky Design
I use this camera since a year ago and never never failed to me grat picture quality
16 of 27 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site