Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A85

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A85

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A85
Review 1 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: Duck man
Location: up state New york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
For the outdoor person this is a great camera to carry fishing, hunting, kayaking etc. Used for loads of miles on horse back trail riding. I have used this camera through the 4 seasons of upstate NY in a wide variety of conditions from the heat of baling hay in the summer to snow shoeing in the dead of winter and it never has failed to perform. It has been dropped, wet, dirty from mud, left in glove compartment of car on hot days to laying in a wet rucksackin the cold and still took great photos. The only draw back that comes to mind is the slooooow shutter speed, or is that from my misuse?
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: LAM
Location: Riverside, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Only now do I realize how good it is

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Heavy/Bulky
I bought this camera in 2004, with a 256 MB Compact Flash memory. It was good for good light, but took horrible pictures at night, even with flash, and even with the slightest motion, was blurred. Then the CCD unit went out, and the camera useless. But Canon fixed it for free even though it was 5 years old because of a defect. Meanwhile, I purchased another Canon 10mp, and gave this 4mp Canon to my daughter, who soon complained the memory was too small for her videos. We bought a new compact flash memory card. VOILA! The problem was the memory, and not the camera. I was given a 12x (speed) in 2004 - which was probably the best there was for a reasonable price - and now all they had were 100x. Now, the camera takes very good pictures in most light - almost as good as my 10MP in clarity.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: Bob
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera For It's Time

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings
Cons: Dim LCD, Heavy/Bulky
When this camera came out it was the best buy. The camera is really built for hard use. After all the years I have owned it never had to repair anything. Now I use it as my backup camera to my Canon A570 IS & A1000 IS.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: Bigdog
Location: Cookeville, TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I'm Happy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life, tooo many repairs
I own two of them. They will do everything my old Canon SLR's could do in a very compact unit. Plus I added 2 gb cards and can take thousands of photos on vacation. I even take junk photos now instead of trying to compose each photo to conserve film. Plus no extra lenses to lug around, worry about fuzzy film through airport x-ray. Plus I use Lithium batteries and can get almost 1000 photos before I need to change them.
Only problem is both have been in for repair in the couple of years I've had them. Now, another problem has come up. I have to send it in for repair now.
Review 5 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: GreatA85
Location: new york, ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
I have had this A85 for over 4 years and am now replacing with a A590 IS. This camera has been great, easy to use, reliable and durable. We have dropped this camera five times by accident and two of the times on cement. NO problems except camera body is no longer in line with it self and scratches on the case. I have have noticed slow use with all the auto features on and will experience some photo issues (lines) with low batteries other than that flawless. It was great for its time but now is a dinosaur with small lcd, and 4 megapixil.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: Frown

Puzzled

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009
Cons: Poor image quality
I bought it in 2004. Now, it is no good. Video is working perfectly.. I couldn't use it for any picture taken. If I take a picture, the picture will be full of lines. I am disappointed about it..
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: Whiplash
Location: Upstate, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Very happy with this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I've had this camera for three years now and it's been excellent. It's very easy to use and it takes excellent pictures.
I've never had a single problem with the camera (only the batteries - apparently NiMH batteries don't like to work in below freezing conditions) and the picture quality is excellent!!!
I've dropped it a couple times and aside from a dent in the corner of the chassis, it's been fine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A85
Nickname: m[3]
Location: Detroit
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Greatness

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2008
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
I Had this Camera for over 4 years. And until this day it still works and takes great pictures. Im happy to have this camera. it has been through every thing from falling in water to falling in on a cement ground. Im proud to be buying another Cannon Powershot.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site