Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A95

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A95

Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A95
Review 1 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Windy
Location: Somerset, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Very happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010
Pros: fabulous photos, customer service
Cons: size/weight
I've had this camera for several years and have always been satisfied with the photos. Last year we went on a cruise and most of the pictures/images and color were all runny and distorted and frankly they were creepy (no, we're not that bad looking. lol!). When we got home, I began looking for a new camera and learned about the CCD issue. I contacted Canon Customer support and after a few questions, the fellow said he thought that might be the problem. He immediately set me up with all the necessary labels and postage needed to ship my camera to them for inspection.
Within a few days, I had email confirmation of camera received; inspection proved faulty CCD; camera was being repaired at no cost to me. In less than 2 weeks, I had my camera back restored to factory condition.
Unparalleled customer service.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: chanson
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Excellent & still satisfied!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, auto mode adjusts very well to lighting
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I love this camera! Aside from its bulk, I have no complaints about the camera. Compared with today's lcd screens, the screen is small but I still really like the swivel screen.
I have tried other cameras, including recent A-series Canons and I find the A95 adjusts very well (better) in auto-mode to the lighting and ambience so that I don't have to use the special modes if I choose not to.
I will keep using this camera until it gives on me! I feel like this camera can be a simple point & shoot and gives performance one would expect of higher end cameras.
I hope to find a replacement from Canon that would be just as good from a picture quality standpoint as well as adjusting to lighting. I have had pretty good luck with this camera in low-lighting as well, as well as can be expected for a point & shoot.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: sweetie pie
Location: NYC, New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Excellent Picture Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Important things I look for in a camera are:
Picture quality, Camera quality(Durable ), and Features (Functions).
You need a camera that can take clear and beautiful pictures every time. ( not like some other camera that I used and I got to take 2 or 3 pictures hoping that 1 will come out nice.) The pictures I took with A95 came out nice and clear 100% of the time. Excellent Image Quality.
The A95 that I got for almost 5 years now is still working fine. I never have any problem with it at all. It is very durable. All these years I only have a little dent on the camera frame which is make of good strong material that protect the camera , (not like some camera now that have a plastic feel to it and it feels like it can easily breaks apart).
Last but not least, I like the camera because it is easy to use and full of many features/settings. I can take pictures and then switch to movie just by turning the knob with my thumb in a second. This is an excellent design by Canon because you will not miss any precious moment that you need to record in video too. The design of the camera making it easy to grip on and I can take pictures with one hand.
Finally, A95 has exceed my expectation from a camera. This is an excellent camera. I am sure 10 years from now I'm still using it.
I am very happy with my Canon Camera that I also brought 3 other Power Shots: SD950IS, SX110IS, and A590IS. I use different one for different occasion and I am very satisfy with all the Canon Cameras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Bosley
Location: Commack, New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

They don't make them like this anymore

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu, shutter lag
I have had the A95 for about 4 years. The quality and features that this camera came with were unparalleled at the price at the time. The photos are vibrant and clear and the ability to shoot in shutter, aperture priority as well as full manual is excellent. Sure....you can get a 12MP camera now for half what this camera sold for but the quality is just not the same.
I am also giving Canon compliments for its outstanding customer service. I have the CCD issue noted in the service bulletin that was published. I contacted Canon and they immediately processed my repair and my camera is being repaired free of charge as we speak. Excellent customer service!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Chris330
Location: Tampa, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Still the best.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, durable, exceptional crisp detail in photos
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
I've had my A95 about 5 years now and am just beginning to experience problems with a purplish tint showing up on the top of the LCD screen. (has anyone else experienced this too btw?)
But I plan to have this sent in for repair as I am so in love with this camera that I truly want to keep it forever rather than replace it with something mediocre.
That's how much I really do love this camera.
The pictures it takes are nothing short of astounding with such detail and color....and it most definitely blows todays cameras away.
I honestly think Canon put so much more care and thought into this A95 camera 5 years ago than they do with most recent models of today that seem so much more disposable.
And the A95 is anything but disposable....I can't stress enough how bright, crisp, clear and so full of detail the pics it takes come out...that it's really the next best thing to "being there".
I'm in love with this camera and am crossing my fingers that once I replace the LCD screen everything will be as good as new once again.
Sure it's a bit bulky, and takes 4 AA batteries...but for the quality of the spectacular pics it takes...it's totally worth it to lug around!
Also, in low light and WITHOUT flash, this camera takes extraordinary detailed pics....and even better...in a pitch black room...no light whatsoever....snap a pic (I did) with the flash and you'll swear the pic was taken in broad daylight....from a pitch black darkened room!
That's how GOOD this camera is!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Bill
Location: Athens, Ga.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Still Great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Bought A95 about 5 years ago and have been happy with all the features and performance. Had a problem with it on a trip to the Bahamas, returned home, sent it to Canon for repair, returned a few weeks later, good as new. Reading some of the other reviews, I have not had any issues with battery life. I bought the Canon rechargeable set w/camera, worked great (charge lasted as long as other rechargeable batteries, in other apps) had to replace them last year, as 4 years life for rechargables is typical. Will be purchasing another camera this holiday season, and will give Canon priority on my want list. Both because of the good quality of the A95 and the way Canon addressed the repair, last year.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Jeannie807
Location: Sequim, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Love This Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, other lenses available
I've had my A95 for about 4 years now. I can't figure out what the people who say the battery life is short are doing. Mine is excellent - I've started using Lithium and one set has lasted through 2,400 pics. I sell some photos, publish too, and use the setting for finest pics. The features are great - I love the ability to change parameters easily. The ability to take water (ribbon effect) pics is very handy. I've used Canon forever, starting with the AE1 and the A1, the lens quality is unmatched and the cameras are sturdy workhorses.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

picture quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality
I use the A95 for scenic, garden, and flower photographs. The quality of the photographs is excellent - better than with my Rebel SLR. It does not block out intense flower colors the way other cameras do.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: N
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Love It

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
I LOVE this camera. I got it about 5 years ago. My sister got a different model, but I prefer this one because the shooting modes are on a dial and I can quickly switch to "sport" mode and take great action shots. I was given another camera as a gift this year and I returned it because it didn't compare to this one.
I highly recommend Canon!
Review 10 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: candyman
Location: Gainesville Fl.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Thank You

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Just got back from my dive trip,canona95 worked so well
took alot of pictures using under water housing.
Really helped traking a camera course and learned how to shoot in ambient light,only with no flash.
Wish I could send some of my pictures to Factory Service Center,they did a great job of fixing my camera ,before I left for my trip!!!!!
My next purchase will be a canon G-10 will be nice to shoot under water with a bigger screen.
Thanks again Canon
Review 11 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: scidude
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

The perfect camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
This is my first digital camera, and I have never once regretted getting it. I have had it for a lottle over 4 years. The image quality is outstanding, the shooting modes work great, and it is very simple to use. I t is bulky, but the battery life is excellent, which makes up for it. The flexi-view screen is very useful for taking pictures that face the user. All in all, this is one great camera, and after 4 years, it still works great.
Review 12 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Camera Buff
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for 4 yrs then....

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality
Cons: Short battery life
Great Camera for 4 yrs then, like the previous user, the batteries would die after 5 pictures. This is too bad because I really loved this camera! I got great shots and could always depend on it. I talked with Tech Spt and there's no point in getting it repaired because I can get a new camera for just a little bit more.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Jane
Location: ann arbor mi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Second thoughts on this purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life
Camera worked well when brand new. After time in service the battery life was significantly reduced. The bateries run down very fast and require replacement or recharing at every use. Very disappointing.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Porrig
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Sill going strong!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: none
After over 5 years of ownership my A95 is still going strong and producing wonderful images. I've purchased a DSLR system since then (40D) and a couple of other point and shoots, but STILL the A95 goes everywhere with us. The kids are now beginning to take an interest in photography and the A95 is perfect for them whilst I don't have to worry about it getting damaged as it's built like a tank.
Probably the best investment I ever made in photo gear - I still love it!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Pep
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

A First Digital Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This was my first digital camera purchase. I have used it for everything from birthday pictures to wildlife. I have used this camera for over three years now with no problems. As long as it is understood that this is a point and shoot camera and not a professional DSLR the consumer will enjoy years of trouble free service and quality photographs. The point and shoot aspect does not negate the fact that this is still a sophisticated piece of electronic equipment that does not like being dropped, kicked, immersed in water or frozen. So, take care of it and have fun!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Gin

Almost 4 years now

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008
I have loved this camera! After putting it's thru it's paces for about 15000+ images over the past 4 years...it's starting to show signs of wear. Although Canon doesn't offer all the features of other cameras...they do excel in photo quality and that's what matters to me.
Now it's time to replace my trusty companion.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: tom
Location: Bemidji, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, durable
I have owned the Cannon A95 for over 4 years now. You can just pick it up and shoot , or it has enough manual settings that you can take night shots of christmas lights, etc. The zoom works great for getting closer in most settings. I am currently looking at the Cannon SX 10 IS with the 20 power optical for outdoor/wildlife pictures while hunting or hiking.
Review 18 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Xiggy
Location: Kent Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Wonderful investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
This is my first and only camera at the moment, and it has been a real trooper. I've dragged it on road trips, up trees, through thunderstorms and blizzards, to birthday parties, my high school graduation, and everything in between. I got it about three years ago, and it works just as perfectly as the day I got it. It has a few dings, dents and scratches, but I definitely consider those battle scars. My only disappointment is that it seems to be missing something. It's also a little awkward to carry around sometimes, because it is so big and bulky. I definitely love this camera, though. It launched me into the amazing world of photography, and hasn't failed me yet. I'm an amateur photographer, and intend to go professional. I wouldn't use any other brand.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A95
Nickname: Diver
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: lacks underwater housing
This is a great camera, full of features it only lacks an underwater housing. When do you expect to start making the waterproof housing for the PowerShot A95 again?
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site