Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Excellent optical quality and wide-angle coverage Superior AF performance and speed, full-time manual focus by turning ring Close-focusing to 9.5 inches: fill the frame with subjects as small as 3.6 x 5.4 inches Compact size and lightweight
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 out of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Review 1 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Fotosdenada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing lens, amazing photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is one of the best lenses I've owned. It's indcredibly sharp and the color quality is first-rate. Even the lens flare is well handled, which is rare in an ultra-wide lens.
As it is so wide, the photographer has to be prepared for the distortion. For landscapes and architecture on a cropped sensor, this lens is perfect.
The only complaint I have is that it didn't come with a hood. Well, it was a tad pricey, too.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Steve
Location: South Eastern US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wonderful ultra wide angle EF-S lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014
Pros: sharp images, nice contrast
Cons: not wide aperture, some chromatic aberration
I use the 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM mainly for waterfalls and small cascades in the mountains of the south east US. With a APS-C camera sensor this focal length is superb. While there is some distortion at the 10mm end for my purposes it is not objectionable. However, there is a fair amount of chromatic aberration. The lens produces fairly sharp images. The corners are less sharp. However, at this scale of image size details are small and it is not objectionable. The lens is not overly heavy, but it does have a nice quality feel and weight to it. The focus ring is nicely balanced, not too stiff nor too loose.
I would have rated the lens higher for Features, but it does not come with a lens hood, and should.
I would like to rate the quality higher, but the lens is not weather sealed. For my shooting near water spray, this would be great.
However, the quality of the images, the size of the lens, and the price make this lens an excellent product.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Galena, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014
O.K., I was already blown away with the quality of the lens itself and with the pictures I took with it, but nothing compares to what happened to the lens over the winter. I was out shooting some nature shots here in Central Ohio where there was quite a bit of snow on the ground; somehow the lens fell out of my bag and I didn't realize it until I got back to my car. I retraced my steps all to no avail. I notified the park ranger that I had lost the lens and, still having the lens booklet in my bag, was able to give him the lens information. Well, 3 months later I get a call from the ranger. Yes, they had found my lens! Although I was happy to get it back I knew it couldn't possibly be functional after 3 months buried in the snow. I was wrong. Not only was it functional, but the picture quality was diminished in no way! No fogging, no condensation, nothing; it just works. This is just one of the reasons why I have never owned any camera or camera accessory other than a Canon!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Len
Location: WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible Chromatic Abberration

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, range
Cons: Semi-sharp images, chromatic abberration
I really do love the range of this lens and sharpness is pretty nice. I just cannot get over how horrible the chromatic aberration is. Even with advanced post-production it is still evident.
13 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Mr. sharp
Location: Licoln Ne
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

L type glass

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, close focus
I got this lens to capture lightning, and landscapes. And wow, it has done all of this and more, it is the sharpest lens I own, and I love the wide angle. It is a little exspensive for a non L lens, but is makes up for it in performance. The wide angle comes in handy when taking photos of unpredictable lightning. The close focus is also good for photos of flowers. All in all I am super happy with this lens.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Russ
Location: Santa Fe. NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Very nice lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2013
If you are shooting on a crop body in RAW, this is your wide angle lens. Not just for the obvious reason that it's the only EF-S, non-L series lens in the ultra-wide line up, but it is specifically designed to match the performance of a full frame with the 16-35mm L or 17-40mm L lenses. It's true! Compared to a full frame with an ultra-wide you get a similarly wide shot on a crop body, minimal distortion (warping), and a very compact and sturdy build for a dang good price. I know that for EF-S it seems expensive, but you'll feel differently after your first National Park tour with it.
There are, of course, some adjustments needed in processing. I typically set the chromatic aberration correction at -33 red/cyan in camera raw when I shoot at 10mm. The glow is obvious, especially in high contrast scenes but you can tone it down as you zoom in.
The quality of the shots and the build alone are worth the high price for this EF-S lens. The only reasons Canon isn't calling this an L series lens is the glass (obviously) and that it has "s" in the title. If Canon made an "EF-S L" lens, this would be it... again, with the L glass. The build quality, sharpness, focus speed, inner focusing system (that means "polarizer-friendly"), and the USM motor and focus depth window make this a steal!
For outdoor/landscape shots (mainly my thing) I rarely take this lens off my 7D and almost always shoot with it wide at 10mm. If you're going to use it with a flash you're internal will cast a shadow. You must, if you use a flash at all, use an external flash with this lens.
The optional hood seems silly when you first see it, but it's useful. If you go with the ball-cap-sun-shield you will almost always get a little sweatband/tattered brim in the shot... it's wicked-wide. The hood helps a great deal in most situations. The added bonus is that you won't bang your front element on all kids of stuff with the hood attached (which, if you're outside where you should be, then you'll probably do a great deal).
If you spend ANY time outside, can't stand changing lenses all the time, value... value, use a polarizer, and are at all savvy with shooting and editing RAW files... this, again, is your lens.
Buy it and enjoy.
67 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Truly astonishing lens!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
My every-day digital imaging requirements are better suited to APS-C format sensors ... but that doesn't mean I want to get locked out of the "normal" 17-28mm wide angle shooting opportunities ... Tried a Tokina 12-24mm AT-X several years ago and it was worthless, marshmallow-soft and chromatic edge-discoloured beyond correction. Enter a truly astonishing lens, the amazing EF-S 10-22mm!!! Not enough "w's" and "o's" in the alphabet to spell the number of "WOW's!" this incredble lens deserves! Yes, at 10mm, there's no mistaking this is anything short of an ultra-wide but the actual distortion is well-corrected and I can find absolutely minimal purple-fringe chromatic aberration - even when I pixel-peep. Thought it was a wee bit expensive for a lens w/o a red stripe on the front ... but it most certainly performs every bit like one!!! No questions here: TWO THUMBS UP!!! This lens is a treat to use and to a 1.6x factor body, a real "game changer"!!!
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: FanboyC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wow a EF-S worth having

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images
When I took it oct of the box I was taken back by the appearance. The front is so large compared to the body of the lens and it felt light and out of place compared to my Lens. The lens hood (optional) only adds to the awkwardness. Then I took some images with both my 7d and 20d, they were amazingly sharp. This lens is a joy to use and has replaced my 24-70 L as my short lens of choice when walking around.
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: daytripper
Location: durango, co
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

qaulity short lived

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: very light weight
Cons: Poor build quality
This is the 4th Canon lens I have owned. I never had any trouble with my previous Canon products. After 7 months of normal use the len became very loose in the mid section. This problem is not coverd by the warranty. I don't know how often this happens or what caused problem. I was always very careful with this lens as with all my lenses.
27 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: PVL
Location: Bangor, ME
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

The standard for crop-sensor Canon Cameras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: a little slow
The standard for crop-sensor cameras. I've had this lens for 3 years now. It's a little slow, but since it's used mostly outside, that doesn't really matter. And since you're likely to use it with slow shutter speeds and high ISO, also not a factor . it's sharp, internal focusing and internal zooming. No more to say. If you have 60D, 7D, Rebel xxx and want a wide angle lens, this is it. no need to get anything else. If you want anything bigger or faster, you need to get a full frame Canon and some primes or 16-35 zoom. mucho dinero. If you're a pro, this ain't your lens. If you're a shmo, this is your wide-angle zoom, baby!!!
35 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Donnie G
Location: Chicago, IL.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

L series optics in EF-S dress

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, all purpose workhorse
I absolutely love this lens. I've owned this lens for three years now and I use it to shoot over ninety percent of my photos. With its 16-35mm equivalent coverage on APS-C Canon bodies, versatile doesn't even begin to describe how useful this lens is. I shoot lots of christenings, baptisms, birthday parties, small weddings, etc., in homes and churches where often the reception or family gathering is held in a small and crowded room with lots of activity going on. The long end of this wide angle zoom is perfect for natural looking portraits and the wide end allows me to capture practically any size group that my customers might spring on me. With its 77mm front and the lens shade attached, it gives the camera a proper professional look that makes my subjects perk up when they see it pointed their way. Even kids and pets are impressed, and that certainly makes my job easier. Additionally, the lens is tack sharp, lightweight, durable and compact for its focal length and worth every penny of its asking price.
22 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Canonfodder
Location: Coconut Creek FL (SE FL)
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Value is not based on price!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2012
Pros: great value, excellent close ups, fantastic coverage, very low distortion
Cons: lens hood overpriced
I purchased this lens in 2006 (for 20D) to take photos in Alaska as my 20mm 2.8 would yeild 32mm eqiv this would produce 16mm eqiv. Purchased slightly used, had to purchase lens hood which was overpriced. This lens is tack sharp very little barrel distortion. Low lighting does not seem to bother it especially for landscape. Like the 20mm 2.8 you can stick it in someones face and not make them look like a clown with great depth of field. The coverage is so wide you can set it near 10mm and not even look into the view finder if the subjects are close enough. Purchased a 5DMKll and wondering if I could use it? Removed the back guard (finger will do) and shot away, Don't go beyond 12mm or use live view. Remember: do this only at your wallet's or camera's own risk Sure vignetting occured however with a full frame and 21mp you can crop your heart out. This is one of the most useful lenses in Canon's massive array of glass. I do not believe this lens is pricey considering what it can do and the quality of the results.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: fotopro
Location: alabama
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very Creative Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012
Pros: image quality
Cons: not weather sealed, expensive
I was on the fence with this lens because so many people said its just good for landscapes. After getting the lens, I have to say the up close shots are amazing. The perspective your able to get with this lens makes it one of the more versatile lenses you can buy. I only regret not buying it sooner. The only thing I have a problem with is the maximum aperture of 3.5, so low light is a little tough. Aside from that, its built tough, has very fast and quiet focus and is great for video.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: NinjaPlease
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Non-L lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: price, size
After reading numerous positive reviews about this lens I managed to pick one up used for a great price. To date, I've only been using noob lenses (kit lens, 55-250, 50mm 1.8) so this was my first major lens purchase and I couldn't be more pleased with it.
I shot lots of landscapes so my kit lens wasn't quite wide enough for that but this thing is perfect as it captures more and it has great quality. Even for use indoors this thing is superb as you're able to get wider angle shots within relatively tight quarters...no more having to scrunch everyone together for a group pic using this lens. In low light, this thing isn't too bad however the AF could be a smidge faster. While not being an L lens, this lens nonetheless does a great job capturing crystal clear pics in ample lit situations. With a flash, this thing works pretty well indoors as well.
The price is a bit steep for a non L lens however my used price for this made it too hard to pass up. Overall, this is a great lens for landscape/indoor use and I'm really digging this lens.
19 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Dinosaur Jr.

Love It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great range
Short and Sweet - this is one of my favorite lenses. i use this lens to shoot landscapes and the results are breathtaking. one of my best investments. my only gripe is that is a white dot. i shoot with an xti right now, but when i move up (and that would be only when my xti totally bites the dust) i'm hoping i can get an adapter for use with a full frame camera body. it will be a sad day otherwise!
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: canonfan
Location: Dayton, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very good lens but use with care

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, good contrast, good central sharpness
Cons: Semi-sharp images, poor sharpness at edges, restricted useable aperture range
This is a very nice lens, capable of delivering spectacular images. The contrast and color saturation are excellent. However, the lens needs to be used with some care, if you want to get the best quality images. The image quality tends to be rather soft at wider apertures, especially at the edges but also in the middle of the frame. Images become sharp across the whole frame at f/8 and f/11. The general sharpness and contrast begin to decrease at f/16 and smaller aperture sizes (f/22, etc.) due to increased diffraction. These issues are accentuated at the widest focal lengths of 10-12mm, and become less pronounced at 14-22mm. The ideal aperture setting, almost universally, is f/11, which will give edge-to-edge sharpness at all focal lengths. Restricting use to f/11 can be a bit cumbersome, especially in low light, but the short focal lengths mean that sharp images can be obtained hand-held at quite low shutter speeds (for me, down to 1/15 sec). The depth of field is exceptional with this lens, but this does mean that the front lens element has to be kept scrupulously clean; at f/11 ANY dust will become visible as soft low contrast spots on the image. Adding a lens protection filter actually makes this problem worse as dust spots are brought closer into focus. I don't recommend any filters for this lens for this reason, and because vignetting can be a real problem at 10mm focal length, regardless of how thin your filter mount is. But overall, I really like this lens. If you can accept soft edges at wider apertures, or be willing to use f/11 for ultimate edge-to-edge sharpness, you'll love this lens. It adds a dramatic feel to landscape photography, giving a tremendous feeling of presence.
68 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: BL
Location: Princeton, NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best all around UW lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I purchased this lens for my 60D and it is one of my best performer for Video. It is sharp and versatile in many situation for a crop body.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: Lilyn
Location: New york, ny
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

LOVE IT !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Awesome camera, but too expensive for someone poor !
3 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: chopinlover49
Location: upstate New York state
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

fantastic super wide angle for APS cameras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lightweight
If you have a non-full frame Canon camera body, this lense is a must! I have taken it on historical tours inside and it provides the widest, clearest shot possible. It will not work on a full-frame camera, however! I have been so impressed with the image quality and ease of use, that I would have compared it with Canon's L lenses, but none of the APS lenses are L's. There are technical test sites that can give you the pluses and minuses, but all of the sites I have checked give this lense a high rating, too. You can get non-Canon lenses with similar range, but I have stuck to Canon only and have never been sorry. They really put out a quality lense if you go for the L's. But to get to 10-22 for APS, you have only one lense outside of fisheyes, and this is it.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Nickname: RXTravel
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Landscape Lense!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011
This lense is fantastic for landscape shots! I am very satisfied with this lense in built and image. I am not sure why people complain about the price, personally I think it is a great value for a ultra wide angle lense with sharp images.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site