Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

EF-S lens designed for professional use on EOS 60D, EOS 7D and Digital Rebel cameras Close focus to 1.15 ft. Fast ring-type USM for superior AF performance Optical Image Stabilization for excellent low light ability
Average Customer Rating:
3.37 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
15 out of 27(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Review 1 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: central city, co.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

good kit lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014
Pros: good lens if you dodge a lemon.
Cons: Poor build quality, zoom creep
There seems to be a lot of quality control issues with this lens. The main problen i have with this lens is "zoom creep". Its also hard to focus manually.
Other than that, the lens is good. I traded the kit lens that came with the camera for this lens, and i'm glad i did.
Going by the reviews, it seems like there are a lot of lemons that get by quality control, so its a hit or miss with this lens.
I would look elsewhere if i needed a reliable lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: ski
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

When it works, it's great, but...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2014
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Poor build quality, sometimes great sometimes a zero
Excellent lens, when it works. The problem is I can't tell when it's going to work, and when it's not. It's almost moody. I stuck with Canon, and got 2 new lenses to replace it. Keeping it as a possible backup. I would not recommend it, especially at that price.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Err01
Location: Honolulu
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Err01 - Defect in design - BAD NEWS

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: good range
Cons: defective design
Hardly used this lens but it died because of a defect with the ribbon cable in the lens. Error message - Err01
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: jov
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

communications failure

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: good results for price
Cons: Poor build quality, defective after use
Took 11, 000 pictures with this lens, then suddenly it had a communications failure with t3i. this is a known defect with this lens -- i.e., the flexible cable inside the lens that does the electronic communication wears out and fails. The lens then stops working completely. The lens was bought in 2012 and failed after 18 months (out of warranty of course).
That it failed on a trip to an african country was very disconcerting. Fortunately I had an EF 35mm 4L, an EFS 10-22mm, and an EF 70-200 mm 4L with me.
Will probably either get it fixed (have Canon replace the cable) or buy an EF 24-70mm 4L for a more dependable lens...having a lens fail on a trip is untenable. Such a product with a known defect-- particularly given the fact this lens was bought 4 years after it was introduced by Canon just shouldn't happen!! The defect should have been corrected within 2 years of its introduction.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Miguel
Location: Miami, Fl.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Poor quality and poor performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Poor build quality
The autofocus failed during a trip at the Everglades, I had to work on manual mode all the time. The repair is a very difficult task and costly. I has the lens for over two years, Canon should stop advertising this lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: CCW

Defective design - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2013
Cons: Poor build quality, fails due to design flaw
This lens failed when I went to the galapagos. Good thing I had a backup, since having no wide angle would have been a big problem. Came home to find out these lenses are simply bad and wear out. Unreliable autofocus past 18mm means the lens isn't worth much. Buy something else.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Burt H
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I have had this lens for 5 years and before I bought it I was hesitant because of some bad reviews. My copy of the lens has been great. I have never had a problem and the pictures are razor sharp. I use it on a Canon 50D and T2i. It also focuses fast.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Thomas
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible lens! Don't buy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2013
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
Lens stopped working during an important photo shoot. The quality is very bad for a Canon lens. Canon needs to recall these lenses and discontinue them. The 15-85mm USM IS is a better option/replacement.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Greg
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Happy Camper

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2012
I bought this lens in 2005 when I bought my 20D. I use it as my everyday walk around lens and it has traveled with me around the world. Never a problem. Never a hiccup. The only reason I would change this lens is if they made the same lens in an "L" series. If I can tear myself away from it I am going to send it in to be cleaned so I can use it with my new 7D.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Thom218
Location: St. Louis, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I expected better

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012
Cons: Poor build quality, intermittent auto focus fails
This should be a great lens the 17-85mm range makes it great as a primary lens and while the 4-5.6 aperture is at times a bit slow, overall I was extremely happy with it for the first year. Since then auto focus fails intermittently and it doesn't take much of an Internet search to realize that this model has that problem and Canon should be addressing it.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: ilya
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
A lot of defects, h.aberration, bad aperture, vignetting, bad colors reflecting.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good working lens until ERR 99 started

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2012
Lens came as bundle with 30D (just before the 40D came out. Have had some good service for several years. A month or so it started giving intermittent "ERR 99 -- turn off/reset battery" I finally isolated it to be the Lens, not the 30D body or batteries. Now I'm without a standard zoom lens. Looking for a replacement while I see about getting this repaired or trade.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Jim F
Location: Middleton, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great all around lens - 4+ years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2011
Pros: great image quality excellent is. primary lens, stays on my camera except when tele needed.
Cons: none so far - 4+ yrs
I bought the lens with a Canon 40D purchase and more recently have used it on a Canon 7D purchased early last year. This has been a sensational all-around lens for outdoor and occasional indoor shooting. My greatest interest is for outdoor scenic capture, as a serious amateur. Functions well in all light ranges I deal with. Have had no electronic or mechanical issue mentioned elsewhere after 4 years of shooting. I took the lens without any backup lens or tripod (to cut weight) on a 100 mile trek in Nepal last year and it worked out great at over 17,000' elev. Image quality was sensational, with images as big as 16 X 20 shot hand-held with IS and no tripod. I'm very happy I purchased this gem, and at a good value. Kudos to Canon.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: draknor
Location: Madison, WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great lens... while it works

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2011
Cons: Poor build quality
I picked up this lens used a few months ago; it was in great condition & I got hundreds of great photos out of it. It's my default lens that I leave on the camera.
Until the aperture started getting stuck :-( Researched on the web & yep, this is a common issue -- a flex cable inside was poorly engineered so after a few years it breaks the wires. Manual focus still works fine, but that's not what I'm looking for in my go-to lens. Will have to see what the repair quote ends up being; not sure I want to keep using a lens that will die again in a couple of years & need another repair.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: CA

lens suddenly stuck at 17mm

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011
The lens suddenly locked near 17mm after shooting.
When I checked the web, I found that I'm not the only person to encounter this problem. Lot of people have this issue.
I wonder if the product itself has defect.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Kurtis
Location: California, USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Nice lens, but problematic

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
I've had this lens since my 20D and have used it a lot for everyday photography. I have been very happy with the lens performance and the resulting photos I have taken. However, the lens started to malfunction recently - unable to achieve auto focus. The problem occurs in various lighting conditions and aperture settings.
After searching a few forums for information, it seems that this is not an uncommon problem. I've read about several users having to have Canon replace the servo motor as the fix.
So, great lens, but disappointing in what we have come to expect from Canon quality.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: DonB
Location: Memphis
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

My most used lense

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
This has quickly become my most used lens. Goes from close ups (portraits) to landscape easily. Focus is very fast, and pictures are very sharp for a non-L. IS works like a charm. Good overall feel. I haven't (knock on wood) had any of the reported problems. I agree with the remark about cap replacement. Be careful. I, too, wish it was faster, but I guess that's why they make L lenses. For the money, this is one great piece of equipment.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Barry from Orange
Location: Orange, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

17-85mm IS - Great Lens for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2010
Pros: good focus from edge to edge, good metering, good color, quick response
You need to hear this as Canon makes a great product. I have been using Canon Cameras, Lenses, All-in-one printers for years and have been very happy with their products. NOTE: Like any large company, they make a mistake once in a while but they always resolve and back their products. I have been using the 17-85mm IS Lens for about 3 years and the auto-focus started giving me problems. I sent the Lens into Canon, they quoted 7 to 10 days, but turned it around in 1 day for a very fair price. The Lens focus's like it is brand new again. I am extremely happy with the quality of service Canon has provided me and with having my Work-Horse primay Lens back on my camera. I use the 30d and 2Ti Bodies, the 18-55mm, 17-85mm IS (primary lens) & 70-300mm IS Lenses. I am extremely happy with all of my Canon equipment.
24 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Joe
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Comfortable to work with

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
Pros: fast and accurate, ideal range for most regular needs
Cons: aperture failure
Quite a convenient and versatile lens producing sharp pictures; however, I too have had an aperture-failure in a relatively short time. I learnt this has to do with the electronic circuitry. I am prepared to try a second one but not a third.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Dolly

problems with dark photos

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: images are too dark
I have used this lens as a primary for a few years now and I constantly have a difficult time with very dark photos under most/ many circumstances. Photos taken inside church, inside sports, outdoor sports, etc. etc. are all too dark. The only time I get good lighted photos is when the sun is bright and I am shooting in the right direction. I have to lighten every photo...even when I have had my ISO at 1600. It makes me wonder if something is wrong with my lens or my 40D. Let's see if someone from Canon has some good feedback.
Thank you!
10 of 22 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site