Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8170c

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

Color imageCLASS MF8170c

Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Review 1 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: broka
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A real work horse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: extremely reliable
Cons: very heavy
I have owned this machine since it came out in 2005. It is big. It is heavy. And by todays standards it is slow at printing in color. It also takes a while to warm up from the energy saver mode. But it has never failed me no matter how big or small the print job is. It simply just does it. Scanning and faxing also work perfectly. When using the document feeder for scanning, its speed rivals a stand alone.. No it does not do great photos but it is not a photo printer. It is an office printer and the quality of its documents for presentations is top notch. I have used this with XP and I am now using it with 7, all without a problem. I have also analyzed the operating cost and compared it to new all in ones and stand alones. I have found that advertised yield on the toner cartridges to be fairly accurate but the drum lasts approx 1/2 as long. Using those figures, the actual cost per page is about .04 and the best figures that i saw using the advertised numbers of a new printer is .35 which is not a significant difference assuming the advertised numbers are in fact accurate. The only additional feature that some of the newer "better" machines is the ability to print both sides at one time which could save money by saving paper but that would also mean that you would want to do that. All in all, the machine is of excellent quality and value.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Bill
Location: San diego
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Industrial Strength Hardware

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010
Cons: difficult to understand use with legal paper legal
This is only an amazing printer, but also an outstanding piece of equipment!!! Four years of trouble free ownership-xlnt support from Canon.
Forget the other guys; I bought another model to open a second office.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Expensive

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, expensive toner
Black text and basic color is good but pictures are terrible. The toner is way to expensive!!!!! Once you get the replace cartridge message it won't go into energy save mode, which is a huge waste of electricity.
The tech support has been great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Upstate NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible disappintment

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010
Cons: Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, noisy, costly replacement catridges, poor quality and value
I bought this machine with high hopes it would serve my small business well. What a disappintment! It has been the worst investment ever. It has proven very unrealiable, I have replaced cartridges constantly, it is loud, slow, and totally a waste of my money. I have bought Canon products in the past and expected a good outcome. Never again. This is a piece of junk.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Canon8170cNotsogood
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Glad I got it as a display model

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2009
Pros: reliable
Cons: Low Quality Output, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Large Footprint, drivers
I have had a 8170C for 3 years now. Even though it is a solid printer and has not failed to do its job. It's has a ton of issues, warm up takes forever, the driver support is TERRIBLE, yeah it works fine in XP, but support for VISTA took forever, and I highly doubt we will see a WIN 7 driver. Also as far as Color quality, as long as you dont want to print any pictures your fine, but you would be better off printing black and white if you needed to impress someone. Dont get me wrong I do like Canon and the products they produce, but this printer if FAIL.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: small business owner
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Just what I needed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: not very high defintiion color output
The color function left something to be desired, buit as an invoice printer and fax it never gave me any trouble. Good machine.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Program Manager
Location: Central NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

big,noisy, slow but good output

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, durable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Large Footprint
fax unreliable, no energy saver, noisy, and heavy.
But it was the first AIO color laser.
Review 8 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Mipeco
Location: Chicago.IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Color imageCLASS MF8170c

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009
Not cheap but good. High Quality Output, Small Footprint but not so Easy to use. Big and heavy.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Kebo
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable
Cons: Difficult Setup, the software disk, downloads
Great value!! I've owned an MF8170 for years and have no real problems. The only problem is the driver disk does not function any more.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

expensive and lousy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009
Pros: great color copies
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Large Footprint
incredibly slow, prints one envelope and has to be reset
faxing is hit & miss. sometimes it works, others not at all.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Color imageCLASS MF8170c
Nickname: TheEvaluator
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Canon 8170c Multifunction

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008
Pros: scanning printing and faxing perform decently
Cons: long warm-up time out of energy saving mode
Although this is an older model I wanted to at least note some observations on it as I've used it for a few years now. It prints decent laser color. Scans well. Faxes well. However, it takes a long time (about 3 minutes) to warm up out of its energy saving mode. So if you want to use it as a main machine then you essentially can't use its energy saving mode. Scanning and copying also require the warm-up.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site