Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A520

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A520

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A520
Review 1 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Alexandria
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

The best Camera I've ever touched

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, it took a while for the flash to charge
Ok, so I bought this camera on December 2005 and had it for 3 and a half years until it was stolen from me. I have to tell you, I loved it since the first moment I touched it, It is a great camera! Despite it's old features compared to the new ones, 4 megapixels, it took great, I mean incredible pictures. I loved the flash, especially because you could control its power, and it had many shooting features, I think it was the model with more features.
I now own an SD 1200, and it's cool, nice and has a good performance, but A520 was better. One problem with it, was the lenght of time for shooting and that it took a while for the flas to charge.
Overall, from my experience Canon highly surpasses its competitors.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Sunny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good while it lasted

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, durable
Cons: long delay when taking pictures
I have had this camera for 5 or 6 years now. Overall, I liked the crisp pictures it took and really enjoyed using all the options for different settings. I only have 2 complaints. After a few years my camera lens cover would routinely open only half way when turned on. I got in the habit of flicking it open the rest of the way with my fingernail. Also, the delay from the time the shutter button was pressed to the time the actual picture was taken was just long enough for me to have lost that precious moment. It was disappointing when trying to capture those quick moments of my children. After so many years my camera just bit the dust; the lens has apparently broken inside. But I enjoyed it while it lasted (quite a while for a camera).
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Perry Will
Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

BATTERY LIFE LIMITED IN COLD WHILE HUNTING BIGHORN

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality
Cons: Short battery life
pp
" I didn’t get too many pictures of my Bighorn Ram while hunting on Oct. 1, 2009, as my camera batteries kept giving out, too cold. I could only take about two pics and then my Canon wouldn’t shoot anymore, I took all the batteries out of my headlamps etc. and finally gave up".
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Ziggy
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Hard to Kill

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: should have an instant infinty button
Took my A520 to Alaska twice. Dropped it in a wet raft 3 years ago.(Flick the lens barrel to open the cover) This time I tripped over a curb and smashed the viewfinder. It still takes pictures !
Almost no compacts with a viewfinder available anymore (Lcd's are useless in sunlight). I'm getting one or two A520's on eBay.
Don't worry Canon, I'll buy a new SLR some day.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Okkar
Location: Singapore
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

A Godsend Point-and-Shoot

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I used this camera for almost four years and learnt many things about photography with it. Despite being a point-and-shoot, it helped me take some of the shots I really loved.
Battery life was a problem at first but since the switch to Sanyo Eneloop, a fresh pair lasts for hundreds of shots!
Performance under low-light is expected for a camera of this category.
I wish Canon will still produce something in the footsteps of A520. The current PnS cameras lack some of the features of A520!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Jenni

Amazing Photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
This camera is a winner! Easy to use(but read the manual) and settings easy once you know how to use it. I always thought I was a mediocre photographer but with this camera, I take great pictures whether action shots of soccer games or kayaking trips in Lake Huron. Thank you for making our precious family memories so easy to capture!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Photomom
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

A Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I have had this camera for about 4 years and have thoroughly enjoyed it! A great basic digital camera - it's user-friendly, takes good quality pics, and durable. I have enjoyed using it to record my daughters' first years. The video feature is also handy, and uploading is a breeze, too. All in all this is a perfect little camera for anyone to have on hand!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: DJ
Location: Steamboat Springs, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Durable and Easy to Use!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, shutter gets stuck
This camera has been great for me!! I got this camera because my husband won't let me use his- apparently I'm too rough with it. I have LOVED this camera since day one. I think my children have outgrown it though. It has been GREAT capturing all the moments when they were babies and I could be closer to the action and they moved slower. I do get to shoot movies with sound and that is fun too. But now that my kids are playing sports and having recitals I am looking to upgrade. I can't zoom enough, capture enough light to get the picture in low light, and get reliably clear pictures fast enough.
With that said I would recommend this camera to anyone because it has truly lasted and has been a great value. We take this camera everywhere- skiing, rafting, mountain biking, vacationing, camping, etc.. We have driven off with it on top of the car (in a camera bag), dropped it lots, let the yorgurt covered kids take pictures with it, and it still functions perfectly. We have our name, address, and number on the camera and awesome people have returned it to us. This past Christmas I dropped it without the case in 4 feet of powder while cutting down a tree. I didn't realize it until I had walked about 15 feet. We were there for a long time digging and searching until we found it. There was a little condensation and fog on the lens, but other than that- it was just fine. Seriously durable to survive me as an owner!!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Radio Guy
Location: Los Angeles CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best bang for the buck.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great carry case
I've had this camera a couple years and carry it around almost every day. Its been dropped and banged around but still works great. Have had a few digital camers before and this is the 1st that only required 2 AA batteries. In the past I'd have to take a dozen batteries with me to shoot a couple hundred photos. With the A520 I bring an extra set "just in case". The case I got with it is great, too. Has a pocket for extra memory card and a pouch for battery or whatever. The velcro belt strap is comfortable and works great. For the size and price it can't be beat. A+
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: bud

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2008
Its a little hard to upload photos onto computer but over all its an outstanding camera!
i've had it for several years now and i have never once had problems with it! it is well worth the money.
Review 11 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Horsebitz!
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

GREAT CAM!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This camera was my Christmas gift in '06. Love it!! Have used it, and played with it for two years now. I just bought the A590, but have no intent of parting with the A520 anytime soon! Thank you Canon!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Hannah
Location: Bellingham, Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

A great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2008
Pros: easy to use, small
Cons: bad zoom, sticky lense cover
I love my canon powershot!
A great first camera.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A520
Nickname: Hannah

Work's Great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2008
I got this camera not having a digital camera before. It works fantastic. The pictures comes out perfect.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site