Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF5770

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS MF5770

Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF5770
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: Ed S
Location: Baltimore, MD
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Mixed bag

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2010
Pros: price, feature set, quality of scanned and printed ducuments, network ability, native ability to create pdf documents
Cons: frequent automatic document feeder & printer jams, counter intuitive configuration, frequent need for user intervention, higher than average maintenance requirements, extremely confusing documentation
While the Canon ImageClass 5770 has a great feature set (multifunction network printer/scanner/fax device) I found the unit had a very steep learning curve and a lot of options that might be configurable through software on other such devices which had to be manually configured on the console of the 5770. In addition, since I have 3 of these machines and have used them in small business, my employees have found them to be counter intuitive to use and were not able to take advantage of a lot of the features because procedures to use them were buried in fairly technical manuals that were difficult for them to understand. In addition, the paper tray is small (at 250 sheets) for a small business device and the manual input feeder can only accept one page at a time. Furthermore, the automatic document feeder frequently pulled through multiple sheets at the same time thereby missing pages in copied and collated documents and faxed documents so the device required a lot of user intervention to make sure that all pages were scanned for either copying or faxing. On the positive side the quality of scanned documents and the native ability of the device to convert scanned documents to PDF documents is a feature that would cost considerably more than the device itself if one were to purchase software to accomplish the same. So, in concept the device is terrific but in execution it does leave something to be desired. In addition, even when using branded high quality printer/copier paper, jams and other problems that require user intervention (such as skewed printing or partial printing of a page due to multiple sheets being picked up at once) detracts tremendously from the device and stands in the way of being able to "trust" the unit to do its job without intervention. The internal feedpath mechanism is not robust and requires more frequent replacement and maintenance than any other such device I have used. If these issues were resolved I would give this device an unequivocal recommendation for the home or small business user but since these issues required a lot of administration on my part I sadly cannot recommend it unless they are resolved. Thanks for the forum to allow users to express their opinions. Regards, Ed S.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: mrtexasfreedom
Location: Austin, Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Product not supported by Canon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
Cons: no windows 7 64-bit driver available
Canon does not provide a Windows 7 64-bit driver for this product. The read-me files included in the driver download read, "NEITHER CANON, CANON'S SUBSIDIARIES OR AFFILIATES, THEIR
DISTRIBUTORS, OR DEALERS NOR CANON'S LICENSORS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR
MAINTAINING OR HELPING YOU TO USE THE SOFTWARE. NO UPDATES, FIXES OR
SUPPORTS WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR THE SOFTWARE."
31 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: Sam
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

No regrets, excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: output tray too short
The MF5770 has done all I have asked of it and more, and it was extremely cost-effective. I use it as a medium-duty home office copier/printer and have never used the fax and scan modes. Paper jams are rare, and as long as I keep a decent amount of paper in the supply tray it usually works great. Ink cartridges last a long time and are available from many sources. I can think of only a couple of functionality hiccups along the way. The output tray does not extend far enough out from the machine, so printouts occasionally fall over the end. Unfortunately the printer has trouble with IP address conflicts on my LAN, because I haven't figured out how to give it a static IP address while using DHCP addressing for my other devices. I am quite sure the problem is owner error, and not the printer itself. I may need to get a smarter router to solve this issue. I wish the printer had a wireless LAN adapter, but that is a minor inconvenience. Overall, this printer is a winner!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: PrinterAdmin
Location: OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Solid multifunction with a few disappointments

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: no scanning over network
We've had this MFC-5770 in use for about a year. It is an economical workgroup printer and copier and works well for that purpose. We have not used the fax, but I was disappointed to find that you can only scan via a USB connection, unlike every other network multifuction we have here. It also has an issue where it must be reset to clear the print queue after a document with the wrong paper size is sent to print. Most other printers allow you to clear it from Windows, but I've been unable to do so with this model.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: willl
Location: COVINA, CALIFORNIA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

mf5770 printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Small Footprint
The mf5770 printer is reliable and fast, as long as the correct drivers are installed. The Mf5770 printer is great.
The printing quality, I would rated as one of the best in its category. If economizing is in your budget, you can turn on the cart. econo and still get great printing quality with everything else. I could say more good things about this product, but got to get back to work.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: bogie
Location: St. Louis
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, easy to use
Love the thing - Bought it a couple of years ago for business support. It's quiet, consumables are inexpensive, and I've never had a problem with the fax/document feeder, or with papers falling onto the floor - of course, I pulled out the little paper-holder thingy... I use it via USB and network, with no problems. Still haven't figured if I can use it as a scanner via the network, but that is more my fault than anything.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: chaz1102
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, reliable
Cons: copies pushed to floor
Bought this machine on sale and with rebate. Excellent value. Also when I got it home the machine was making a strange noise when printing. On the phone with support and they tried to put it off on the toner. After I confirmed it was not toner they agreed to replace unit. WOW was I surprised. They had a new unit to me within 24 hours. That was great. No problems since and has been a great machine...., but the paper tray is very bad. When printing more than a few pages they begin to get pushed onto the floor. If they would have just designed the tray to curve up and extend one more inch this machine would be 5 stars all the way.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: qzjake

Use cardboard to catch your doc

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, reliable
Cons: Flimsy Construction, Difficult to use
three main complaints: 1. we have to place a peice of cardboard under the lip to keep the papers from falling to the floor. 2. it always puts itself into energy saver mode which doesn't automatically end when you try to use it. 3. in power saver mode the auto-scanner light remains on! So much for saving power!
Favorite feature: I love the speed of any laser printer
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: scooped68
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer, 1 Drawback

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Small Footprint
Cons: exit tray
I bought this printer basically for network support. I absolutely love the printer. I have one problem with it. While printing rather large documents, say 10 or more pages, the paper does not sit in the exit tray correctly and you end up having pages all over the floor if you don't stand by it and watch it. For some reason, the pages do not stop where they should and they continue the travel to the floor. I do have the exit tray fully extended, but it doesn't seem to be long enough. Other than that. The machine is a workhorse and I have no other complaints!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: jblack
Location: Austin, Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2008
I am very happy with this printer. I use it at home and it out preforms more expensive printers and fax machines.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS MF5770
Nickname: CJ
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good only for windows

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2008
Pros: easy
Cons: no apple support
Does not work with my Macs on office network
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site