Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Flat-field macro focuses to full life-size (1:1) magnification Optimized performance for APS-C sensor cameras Internal focusing so the overall lens length never changes Wonderful multi-purpose lens for macro, portraits, and low available light
Average Customer Rating:
4.962 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Review 1 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Terry
Location: St. Louis , MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Simply Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images
Thought I'd test this as a walk around lens for a car event I had to shoot. My main camera was set up with a tripod so I had this on my 2nd camera which is a 30D. I am completely surprised at the images I was able to capture with only using available light in the showroom. Sharp, fast, great bokeh when I wanted it and light weight. I've never used this lens before other than shooting macro shots so this was a great opportunity to try it in a walk around shooting fashion. I will definitely be using this more, just wish it was compatible with my 5D Mark II.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: daultoninw
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

High quality, cheaper price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, extremely fast on non closeup subjects
Cons: af can be slow at times
I bought this lens yesterday for my t5i and I was skeptical at first. I have never bought a macro lens before and I wasn't really sure what to expect. After playing around with it for a while and taking multiple test shots, I started to get a hang of it. The 1:1 shots are incredibly crisp and sharp and I was genuinely surprised at how detailed they were. Normally to get a shot like that I would have had to do some cropping in post, but now I don't have to. The lens also functions well as a regular prime lens too. The autofocus is exceptionally fast, probably the fastest that I own. My only complaint is that sometimes the AF is a little slow if you are up close. What I mean by that, is that the lens zooms in then out, and then steps into focus.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: UberBunsen
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

My most used lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, macro capabilities, wide aperture
Cons: fixed zoom, no image stabilisation
I am an novice photographer, but I really wanted to get into macro photography, as well as candid snapshots, so I chose this lens.
Being fixed lens, it has better image quality than most zoom lenses. The downfall to this, being the lack a zooming abilities!
I've heard all over that a 50mm lens offers the best 1:1 ratio, but I find that a 60mm fits a 1:1 ration even better.
The f-stop can be opened up to f/2.8 which isn't the widest aperture on the market, but it certainly is nice. Such an aperture also produces gorgeous, smooth bokeh.
This lens has an ultra-sonic motor, and this gives it exceptionally fast auto-focus. After using a USM lens, I probably wouldn't be able to use any slow motor lenses ever again.
This lens obviously provides a great lens for street photography, or even portraits, but it also allows macro photography. All you need it decent lighting and a tripod, and this lens will give you professionally sharp, incredibly detailed images.
This lens is an EF-S mount, so it won't fit on a full frame body, but that's fine for me, since I shoot a 550D.
My only complaint with this lens is the lack of image stabilisation. When I'm moving in super close to a tiny bug, or trying to take detailed shots of someone's eye, etc. It's very easy to shake, and with no IS, I've lost many pictures that turned out blurry. But of course, with IS, this lens would be much more expensive, and out of my price range.
Overall, this lense is superb, and for sure my favorite of 3 lenses. This lens is almost always on my camera.
35 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Rip
Location: West Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

second best purchase ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I'm 83 & not able to hunt with a rifle anymore, therefore I hunt insects & flowers close to home. This little lens on my Canon T3i meets ALL my needs, & takes a great portrait picture too! If your in the market for a true macro lens give this 1 a try. I guarantee you won't regret it.
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: sleepy
Location: Ocala, Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great starter lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I am new to DSLRs and this lens has done very well for me. The images are sharp and just what I wanted. Some look like micrographs. I would highly recommend this lens.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: css.msp
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Portrait Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I really love this lens for portraits. The pictures are super sharp with good contrast. Good build. The AF is silent, quick and sharp. Performs really well in low light situations.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: youtubetodd
Location: tn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images, extrem close ups
I love this lens.It gives great pics with great broken.The only draw back is a little slow to auto focus in some situations,but I'm taking pics not running a race and usually it is when I'm trying something extreme.The best lens I've bought .I highly reccomend,you will love it.
29 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Richard8971
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Amazing lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010
Pros: super sharp photos, brings out detail that you didn't know was poss., lightweight easy to carry and use., amazing photos for a great price. hidden lens gem!
Cons: no is
My wife and I own 2. We have been using
them for about 6 months and it is quickly becoming our favorite lens to use.
For an EF-S lens, this thing is amazingly sharp. I have used it on my XTi, T1i and 40D and it makes use of each and every pixel your camera can squeeze out! I shoot mainly wildlife but macro photography is quickly replacing that. I would have to say it is near "L" quality, if not "L" class quality. Truly a hidden gem in the Canon lens lineup. If you get this lens you will not be disappointed!!!
My only regret is that it does not have IS, but for the quality of images you get, you can overlook that very quickly. It is fast and very easy to use. I like how you can adjust the focus even when it is in AF mode.
This lens brings home the belief that glass is better than camera body. My 40D and Xti both have 10.1 megapixel sensors and let me tell you, this lens is AMAZING!!! You just cannot believe the detail and sharpness that it gives your photos. You will soon forget about upgrading your camera body because you think you need more detail in your photos. Try this lens first!!! A must have for any photographer!
94 of 95 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Redbeard
Location: Tyler, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

My favorite lens I own

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2010
Pros: super sharp images, outstanding detail
Cons: ef-s lens
I was amazed at how beautiful the macro shots with this lens could be. I love the 2.8 aperature. I can really create some dramatic images with blurring the background of certain shots. The images are extremely crisp. This is an ideal lens for portraits with the 60mm fixed focal length. I was blown away to see the detail in bee's wings when I got a shot of one gathering pollen from a flower. This lens is a must have.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Gunzorro
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Awesome lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010
Pros: super sharp, excellent color repro, great value, amazing close-up portrait lens = 96mm
I bought this lens on ebay for my new T2i camera. The lens was in great shape and came with a B+W metal hood and Schneider slip on cover. I have to say this is the best Canon lens I've ever bought. It continues to amaze me on its sharpness and resolution. I do a lot of oil painting paint tests, so the absolute color fidelity of the close ups and sharpness is easy to check.
Not a con, but the only thing I wish it had was IS because I do a lot of handheld and notice some unsharpness problems of lens shake even at 1/160th sec -- and I'm pretty steady. So I take multiples and select the sharpest.
I can't recommned this lens highly enough.
Other fine Canon lenses I have: 24-70L, 17-35L, 70-210L IS, 24L TS, 10-22.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Richard8971
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Awesome lens!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010
Pros: superior images, great close-ups, very fast af
I have owned this lens for a few months now and let me tell you, it was worth the investment. The optics are fantastic and the details you get are amazing! If you are even slightly interested in macro photography, then you need this lens.
For the quality of images you get, the price is right. It's a great walk-around prime lens. You will not regret getting this lens!
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Masmel2
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Fantastic lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens is Fantastic. I always admired the little strands of baby's breath which are added to roses but never thought much about. I always thought they were for decorating purposes until I began taking pictures of a rose I received. I couldn't believe my eyes, the baby's breath actually has petals, stamen and pollen. I also began taking pictures of a spring lily I bought, just for taking shots and the inside view is fantastic, a nature lover's dream. This lens is worth the cost and more.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Naturalist
Location: SW Missouri, USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: hood should be standard
This lens is a 3-in-1 Grand Slam value!
I have owned and used this lens for approximately 2 years. This excellent prime lens is my work horse providing a near normal field of view for work as a normal lens, while also having a nearly perfect focal length for portraits; and (of course) it is an excellent performer as a macro lens having true 1:1 reproduction capability.
Build quality is very nice, with a solid feel. The auto-focusing is fast and spot on while having full-time manual focusing available makes tweaking the final shot a breeze.
The fast f/2.8 glass is super sharp allowing me to create impressive images whether enlarged and printed or posted on-line.
33 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: mdsteve
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

close

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, consistant, ease of use
I needed a macro lens for nature photography and had to make a choice on size lens and of course price and had to have professional outcome. The Canon EF-S 60mm f2/.8 Macro I purchased has far surpassed any of my expectations. Thank you Canon
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: ek64
Location: San Pablo, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Excellent for close up photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010
Pros: Super-sharp images
I bought this lense to take close up pictures of flowers and nature. This lense provides excellent pictures of flowers that are clear with a blurred background thus making flowers stand out. However, there is one issue everyone needs to know about this lense and the optional close up 250D or 500D screw on lense. When you are attaching the optional 250D or 500D lense, you have to be extremely careful. The optional close up lense is made of metal, and the camera lense threads are plastic. If you are not careful when screwing on the optional lense, you can strip the plastic threads on the camera lense.
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Photo_Wannabe

Very good portrait lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: decent auto-focus
We bought this lens to use as macro lens and the lens performs really well as far as sharp images are concerned. Auto focus is decent. I wouldn't use this lens on moving objects since AF isn't as fast.
Aside from the AF not being very fast, the picture quality is excellent.
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Phototakinmama
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Product replacement: No

Really like it.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images
This is my first macro lens. It's my first experience with macro. I'm teaching myself to use it. I really like the lens. I've gotten some great pictures. I use it with my Canon Digital Rebel XTi. It definitely has taken some getting used to as it does not zoom like the standard lens that came with the camera. What you would normally use as the zoom is actually the focusing ring. Once I got used to that, it was pretty easy to use. It takes amazing detail shot, as long as you get the subect to hold still long enough.
32 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: john77
Location: Richmond, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice macro lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
I use this lens on Canon XSi. I had to decide between this lens and 100mm macro. Decided to go with this lens based on reviews (recommended this for cropped body cameras). I did not have any macro shooting experience when I got and was a little disappointed when first used it. The reason for my disappointment was slow autofocus. Now when I have some experience I love it. Here are the reasons I find it an excellent lens:
1) When you get used to it autofocus is not a problem.
It works very well even when you shoot 1x1.
2) It is very very sharp.
3) Solid build.
4) Not heavy.
5) Nice bokeh.
6) Not cheap but not overpriced.
After using it for a while I fall in love with macro photography.
46 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: TJ
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Very Nice!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
This is the best lens canon offers, FOR the money. Works very nice on ANY close up situation. Close up portraits are a breeze and the depth of field is easy to control. This lense is perfect for a 1.6 crop camera. You would have to spend 4 times the amount to match the portrait capabilities of this lens. I use this lense many times for special wedding photos. The blur is as nice as my 70-200 2.8 IS and can be used in tight quarters. Little slow on the focus but does it really matter for still shots? It is not a L lense quality, but seems fine. For the money it is a must have. If money is no object then opt for the 85mm f/1.2.
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Nickname: Verdect
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I LOVE this lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2008
Purchased mainly for indoor portraits and secondarily for macro use, this lens has far exceeded expectations and become my favorite and most use lens. Fast enough for most uses, good focal length on a 1.6 crop camera, wonderful background blur, and incredible macro abilities.
The only thing less than ideal for me is how close you need to get when shooting 1:1 macro. More space would be nice, and other lenses allow that, if that is your primary use.
I cannot imagine a more versitile prime lens. My zooms stay in the bag.
35 of 40 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site