Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD400

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD400
Review 1 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: KDS
Location: West Virignia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Fantastic - Miss Mine Terribly

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010
I received this camera as a gift one month before my son was born. He's almost 5 years old now and this camera traveled with me EVERYWHERE. My family teased me that this camera was an extension of my arm, but I never missed a moment. I never had to replace the battery and was able to take several hundred pictures before having to charge. I feel better having read reviews of everyone else dropping theirs too and it survived. Mine suffered a few "drops" too and I could not have asked for better from it. Picture quality is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I never once considered trading it for a newer model. A few days ago, my beloved camera suffered an unbelievable fall from my vehicle going 70 mph (imagine leaving a cup on your roof -- well, my cup sadly was my camera) and it didn't make it. It was my most prized material possession and I am still so sad. Currently looking for a comparable new model from Canon, but it's not going to be the same. If this model is still available and you are considering it, do it without hesitation. You won't be sorry!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: Creasy
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Miracle Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, has 9 lives
I got this camera for Christmas 5 years ago. It has been dropped countless times and still works like the day I took it out of the box. I once dropped it in a toilet and it even survived that. It is one of the best gifts I have gotten because it has lasted and continues to capture great moments. If a picture is worth a thousand words, than this camera is worth over 7,000,000 words. :) I highly recommend it. I've replaced so many cell phones in these 5 years, but have never thought about replacing this camera. You will not be disappointed with this or any other Canon camera. QUALITY!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: TMBPhotog
Location: Binghamton, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best Point and Shoot Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Great camera for the money. This camera has lasted me 5 years and is still running like the day I got it. I have multilpe batteries and cards as back up, but the camera itself is just great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: andthefunkybunch
Location: oklahoma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

great little camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
this camera is what it is. It does not have a high powered flash and is for the most part meant for snapshooting. I have taken some exceptional prints that i blew up to 11x14 with this camera. If your complaint is that every picture comes out blurry it would probably be the result of shooting on a manual setting or your particular camera is defective but in my case so long as i focus to the center then shoot i get perfectly sharp focus providing the lighting is not dark. It does seem to lag in the low light conditions but as i said the camera is truley designed for snapshooting.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: Ema
Location: Denver, Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult to use, all images will come out blurry
I don't know why everybody is giving this five stars. The battery life is good, and the menus are simple and make sense, but every single picture I take is blurry unless the flash is on - even in broad daylight. Sometimes, the camera acts as if it's "overworked" itself during photoshoots if I've taken five-seven pictures in a row and will suddenly refuse to take any more pictures until it's "cooled off" (not literally). I have almost never taken a picture I'm satisfied with with this camera. I hate using flash unless absolutely necessary, but unless I do, everything is blurry, blurry, blurry - even if I'm photographing things that are perfectly still. And no, my hands don't shake.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: Tony
Location: All over the US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Everything I asked for

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought this camera when it first came out about 5 or 6 years ago. It lasted me, without fail or any problems and with the same battery until a couple of months ago when I dropped it off a 12 ft ledge. I probably took over 2,000+ pictures with this camera and am extremely sorry to see it go, one of those few items that proved its worth time and time again
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: erg
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Best camera I ever bought

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had this camera for four years now and have taken it everywhere (I keep it in my purse). I have taken many thousand pictures with it and it just keeps going! The pictures print beautifully and even look great when blown up to large sizes. I haven't had any malfunctions yet with this camera. It's been dropped a few times and it still works like new. As much as I'd like an updated version of this camera I can't seem to part with this one because it works so good!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: Antzrus
Location: Wenatchee, Washington USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

No, I have no connection w/Canon!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Small, light, fits easily in your pocket, durable,and takes really fine pictures-video too. I've had it for about 3-4 years I believe w/out any problem. I really like the newest technology, but w/this camera why would I need anything better.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: Meggo
Location: OKC,OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best camera ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I purchased this camera back in early 2005 and it is still working like new. I am buying my first new battery for it also. It has been dropped and lost numerous times and has the dents and dings to prove it but it still works like new! Better picture quality than my friends brand new $500 camera! The video option is also great. A must buy for anyone!
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD400
Nickname: dude
Location: lantana, fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

awesome point and shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
great camera, never fails picture after picture. Haven't changed the battery yet, knock wood. Low light video is great, functions are easy to use, overall a great little yet powerful camera.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site