Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Review 1 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: PhotoByMonica
Location: Picayune, MS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Start Up

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
My Canon Rebel XT was purchased for me as a gift from my parents back in 2008. I used it for my Crime Scene Visuals courses for my Forensic Science degree. I recieved compliants from my professors, and fellow class mates on how clear the photos were when veiwing on the LCD. After College I got pregnant with my Daughter and thats when I found my true calling Photography. I used my Rebel XT for my first camera, til I saved enough money to purchase the Canon 7D this year. I still use my Rebel XT as a backup camera and also as a second camera at weddings and big events.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: waggeywoo
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good Birthday Present

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010
Pretty GREAT job Canon! I got this camera as a birthday present, and I'm pretty satisfied except for one HUGE thing: sometimes the camera takes pictures, and sometimes not. It's annoying, and I went to canon.com to find it's manual, and am having a difficult time. Even if this review isn't published, at least someone will have read it.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: tabco
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

mine died

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: average build quality
I bought this camera about 5 years ago. it worked great for 5 years & then all of a sudden it goes blank. nothing! it would probably cost me $150-200 to repair it. I took very good care of this camera. never dropped it or anything like that.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: doodlebug
Location: Conyers, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Vacation Prize

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
We bought this camera in 2005 for our vacation across country. It was absolutely easy to use. We love it. I now use it every Thursday and Friday night for high school football games. Awesome pictures every time!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: cjay
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I used to love my xt but

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, uses rebel lens from slr 35 mm film cameras
Cons: Poor build quality, Dim LCD, did not last long for price
I have had my camera for 3 yrs. I used to love it but for the last year it has been acting up with the auto focus. The focus goes in and out, never focusing or taking a picture. It would do this for a shot or two and then work again. Last month my 1'st grandchild was born and it would not focus or shoot no matter what I did. I placed it on manual focus and was able to get a few good shots, most blurry. Everything happens so fast, I just didn't have time. For the last several weeks I have been searching on the internet to find a solution. I have come to learn that it is a know fault of the xt. Had I know this to start with I would have bought a extened warranty or a different camera. For the price that I paid for this camera and the Canon name, I really expected it to last a lot longer. I did love the fact that my old canon slr film camera and the rebel digital cameras can use the same lenes. And before it broke I took some awesome photos.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Houston, Taxes
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

The Perfect Rebel

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: less mega pixels
The camera gives an unbelievable performance
and is the smallest and lightest up to date in the EOS series
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: PRDCLOU
Location: PASADENA, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE THE REBEL

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I'M NO PRO BUT I DO SHOOT A GREAT MANY PHOTOS. I SHOT OVER 6,OOO ON A RECENT 30 DAY ROAD TRIP. THE REBEL DID WHAT I WANTED IT TO DO -WHEN I WANTED IT DONE.AND GAVE ME THE PHOTOS I WANTED. I'VE OWNED MY REBEL SINCE 2005 AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS SO FAR.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: granny
Location: Hampden, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great camera-no pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008
I love this camera and I wouldn't change a thing about it; however, it is useless to me as my new computer has Windows Vista 64 bit and Canon has so far failed to provide a driver for it.
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Ben
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent for it’s price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, portable, good battery life
I got this camera in 2006 and it’s the best camera for the price so far. Excellent image quality is just one of the many benefits of getting this camera.
Note: Go to page 106 in your camera booklet for setting the LCD Brightness.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: scrivyscriv
Location: Memphis
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very good for its price!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Quick Start-up time
Cons: Dim LCD
I don't regret buying this camera. It gives very satisfying images and allows me enough control to reliably reproduce good images. The PIC modes are super basic and I haven't used them. E-TTL II flash is very, very nice - it does a very good job as fill flash, and if you are stepping up from an older camera system, you will be nicely surprised, although I admit on-camera flash isn't pro-oriented.
The LCD is dim, but not a big issue as I'm not an LCD peeper when I shoot. Also I notice a consistently *slightly* soft image quality straight from the camera in both RAW and JPG - not lens related by any means. Apparently it's normal, but hey.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Johns
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best SLR Camera for the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, portable, good battery life
I’ve hade many cameras before and so far this is the best digital slr for the price. The image quality is great and the camera works great and is very high quality.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Digital Rebel XT EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENSERSON, NEVADA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON DOES IT BETTER THAN OTHERS.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2008
Pros: fast, responsive, lightweight, inexpensive
Cons: none
VERY RESPONSIVE
VERY LIGHTWEIGHT
VERY INEXPENSIVE CANON DSLR
8 MP RESOLUTION
DIGIT II CANON PROCESSOR
CANON CMOS SENSOR CHIP
3 FPS SHOOTING SPEED
7 PT AUTO-FOCUS
COMPATIBILITY WITH OVER 60 CANON EF/EF-S LENSES
LOTS OF CANON ACCESSORIES AVAILABLE.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site