Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S2 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S2 IS

Average Customer Rating:
3.382 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
17 out of 34(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S2 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: JC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011
Pros: good photos many options
Cons: digital zoom does reveal fuzzy photos -
Excellent camera. Only wish is the pixels were higher. Photos fuzzy on digital zoom. Otherwise great camera with many options.
Review 2 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Dee
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Battery burner

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010
I like everything about the camera except the weight and the fact that you get only 2 or three pictures on each battery charge. I use nothing except batteries sold by Cannon and I use only batteries that are less than a year old.
1 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Birder
Location: Midwest US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for me

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I've owned this camera since June of 2006 and have shot about 4100 pictures with it. It's been perfectly reliable the entire time. Picture quality has been exceptional except when I have failed to expose the shot correctly. But that's my fault, not the camera's.
One of the main reasons I bought the S2 was the 12x optical zoom with image stabilization. I often take pictures of wildlife. With this zoom and the IS I can usually bring in them in pretty close and still take a hand held shot without a lot of image blurring. I also really like the fact that it has a viewfinder, which I use almost all the time instead of the LCD screen.
I have always used rechargeable AA batteries. As another reviewer mentioned, they usually last at least a day so I haven't been particularly concerned about battery life. I also keep a spare set of them ready to swap in. The only problem I've noticed is that the flash is slow to recharge with these batteries so there is often a maddening wait between successive flash pictures.
On trips to places where I couldn't recharge batteries, I used the lithium batteries that others mentioned. These were expensive, but really performed well. The flash recharges much more quickly with these than with the AA rechargables. I took over 700 pictures with one set of the lithiums and they were still going strong.
Though I love the camera, there are a few things about it that really bug me. The first is the lens cap. As others have mentioned, it won't stay on. Put the camera in a bag, it falls off. Brush the camera with your arm while hiking, it falls off. Add this to the fact that there are no threads on the lens for a protective filter and you have a recipe for a scratched and dusty lens. My simple but ugly solution: I threaded a thick rubber band onto the carrying strap. After I put the lens cap on I stretch the rubber band around the camera body, over the center of the lens cap and viewfinder. This works so well that I even carry a spare rubber band in case the one in use breaks!
Another annoyance is the manual focusing system. Many times when I'm shooting wildlife in fairly dense cover the autofocus system just can't zero in on the target. It focuses on leaves and branches between me and the target. But the manual focus system is extremely awkward to use and imprecise. It might be okay for a target that sits still, but it sure doesn't work for birds! I wish there was a spot focus mode for the autofocus. That might solve most of the problems I've seen.
The final problem has to do with the way the viewfinder image changes while tracking a moving subject. The image doesn't follow smoothly, but updates in sort of a jerky fashion, making it really difficult to track a small target that's moving, like a bird. The viewfinder also flares to bright white for a couple of seconds when moving from a dark scene to a bright one. Maybe that can't be avoided, but it sure is distracting.
Despite these annoyances it is easily the best and most capable camera I've ever owned. If I were back in 2006 with the choices I had then, I'd buy it again.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: calsgrama
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Don't buy if you're not a professional

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
After reviewing many cameras, my son bought this camera for me for Christmas three years ago. For the fist six months I rarely got a clear picture. Then on a website found that if I adjusted a setting, not explained in the owner's manual, I could get clear pictures some of the time. I have really tried to get good pictures but too many are blurry and have lost many, many shots that would have been wonderful. I have had others use the camera so I know it is not just me.
This camera is a terrible disappointment. The only clear pictures I get is when it's a still shot. Everyone posing or scenery. With all of it's adjustments and settings, I just can't get it right! If this camera wasn't such an expensive gift I would have gotten rid of it long ago!
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Enachi
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Heartbreaker

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This was the camera that helped me finally let go of my Rebel SLR, which is still working after 9 years.
Unfortunately, as much as technology gives us more features, much faster, it also doesn't have the life. My CCD Image Sensor only lasted three years. Seems way too short for the price and the fact that it was kept in near perfect conditions it's entire life.
Low light was just OK and it used up battery life as fast as an iPhone, but it took fantastic pictures, even at max zoom and fast action.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Simdude
Location: CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Camera and Mac compatible

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Dim LCD, Short battery life
I've had this camera since it first came out around 2005 and I love it. One reviewer said it wasn't compatible with the Mac but I've used it with the Mac and iPhoto since it came out and it works great. You don't need any drivers, it just plugs in and works.
Outdoor pictures are great as are pictures inside with the flash. Low light photos are noisy but that is expected with a camera that only has an ISO of 50-400.
The manual options are nice, but using the manual focus is a challenge. The little zoom window only helps a little. You are better off relying on the autofocus when possible. Aperture and shutter speeds are easy to adjust if you want too.
Movie quality is close to a standard video recorder when used at the highest setting but there is no compression so movies are huge.
The lens cap is also very loose and falls off easily. Perhaps this was on purpose so when you turn on the camera and the lens comes out it can pop off the lens cap without damaging the lens.
The camera doesn't have a wide angle option, but the Photostitch option is one alternative to get a nice wide shot.
Overall, this had been a great camera. I'm waiting for a Powershot S series with 1080 video for my upgrade.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Does Not Last

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
It lasted beyond the warranty, but not as long as it should have. The CCD Image Sensor went bad. Not able to take pictures any more. For what I paid for this camera it should last 20 years or more.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Dan
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

No online manual

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2010
Pros: good battery life, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, no online manual
The biggest problem, when you are in pinch there is no easy online manual.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: dkchef
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera short of an SLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, big lens lets in lots of light and color
Cons: Short battery life
Fantastic shots in or outside. Fantastic features. Picture taken in large superfine setting at the Zoo of in the wild produce photos good enough for National Geographic. Shutter button once mastered acts a lot like an SLR. Best camera for the money forget the 8 pixel slim teenie bopper camera. Perfect fit for iphoto on Macs.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: sipppp
Location: UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
So happy with this camera. Got it on a good deal and it has been very solid. Great pictures.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: madmom
Location: kimberly, wi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this about 3 years ago and have had several issues with it. I had purchased a maintence plan with the store I purchased it from, but it was never resolved. The processor has gone bad and this isn't the first in the series to have a recall, but this one doesn't have one.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Mike
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

3 years and 3000 pictures later

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2009
I've been delighted with this camera. I read some comments below. Indeed, get youself the Lithium batteries. They work awesomely, and the extra cost is justified. I have a 1 gig card, and I've never filled it even though I choose settings that take up more space; though I am fairly diligent in downloading them. I thought my LED went one time. There's a little button DISP just to the right of the display. I must have toggled it off.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Fast E
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, it is 4 to 5 years old and still going strong!
I bought this camera in 2004 or 2005. I have put this camera thru twelve yards of you know where. I have banged it around in my boat, submerged it in water, and I am not talking about a quick in and out either. I use the heck out of this camera and it continues to perform beautifuly. I see alot of comments about battery life. Has anybody heard about lithioum batteries they work great in this camera. I get about 3 months use before I have to replace the batteries. I shoot a couple of 1 gig cards full of duck hunting videos,switch cards and shoot 50 to 100 pictures all in one trip. This camera is the greatest camera I have ever owned. About the only thing I don't like is the the LED light on the front of the camera. It tends to spook the game that I film as it is walking or flying in, but that is nothing that some tape can't fix.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Honyonker
Location: Rural South Dakota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great "user friendly" Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life, lcd hard to see in bright sunlight
This is a great camera for my work (home Appraiser) and personal use. The only thing that I wished it had was a wider angle lens and the buttons not near my fat thumb that can sometimes cause deleating of the last picture. The Cannon Company is outstanding in repairing the camera when there is a rare problem and under warranty.
Review 15 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Nani KK
Location: Sarasota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Poor Quality, overshadow features

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Flimsy Construction, card reader issues do not buy!, "memory card error"
The PowerShot S2 IS is ready for action and shortly start with the "Memory Card Error" messages!!!
I recievied this item as a wedding gift. It has great features and is easy to use. However, Canon does not want to admit it. This model has a strong and constant issues with the memory card reader!!!!! This Canon Model fails completely on this part, I have purchased numerous cards, that work on other Canons and other cameras. However, just search/query on the internet!!! numerous complaints about this model and its constant "Memory Card Error" messages, Canon does not want people to know this is a LEMON camera.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Photo Nut
Location: Greensboro, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not pleased - LCD/ Viewfinder dead

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Missing features/settings, Dim LCD, Short battery life, Flimsy Construction, no portrait setting, poor sports image capture
I have taken excellent care of my camera, so I am less than pleased about the LCD/Viewfinder being dead on my camera. The camera failed me at a very important event involving one of my children that I can never get back. This was my first "higher-end" digital camera. My other camera was a point-and-shoot version by another manufacturer and lasted for 5 years with absolutely no problems before my husband dropped and broke it in a fall. For the amount of money I spent on this camera and the special care I took of it, I am SO disappointed in it's mechanical quality. I will purchase another brand next time.
18 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I bought this camera moving from the G series to the S series. I carry a DSLR and like to carry a point/shoot. The macro feature on this camera was weak compared to my G series. This camera has quite a bit of noise. Having to deal with AA batteries was a bit of pain. Once I'm in the market again I'll go back to G series. This camera is easy to use & has a great zoom. Not recommended for heavy users.
Review 18 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Dover
Location: Dover, DE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not Mac Compatible

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life, lens cover, not mac compatible
I bought this camera in 06. It took great quality pics. I upgraded my computer to a mac ('09) & found I wouldn't be able to use the camera because there are no drivers to support mac os for this model. I had to get a new camera.. I would have to agree with the short battery life. It was killing my batteries so I wasn't that upset to have to purchase a new camera. The cover for the lens doesn't stay on well- it just keeps falling off. I did, however, buy another newer model Cannon Powershot and it works beautifully with Mac OS.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: valley girl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

disapointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life
I really liked the camera for the first year. I can now only take about 10 pictures before the batteries run down. I am very disapointed with the camera now. If the issue with the battery life can be fixed it would be a wonderful camera.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot S2 IS
Nickname: Maine girl
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

I Love This Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
I have had this camera since Christmas 2005 and have been very happy with the quality of the photos and the ease of use. I take lots of action shots, and the outdoor action shots come out great. I still haven't found a good setting for taking good indoor action shots. Anyhow, I got the black screen problem a few months ago and after reading about it on the internet I thought my camera was done :( Just for the heck of it I contacted Canon support to see if they would fix it.....and they did!! They had me send my camera in with a prepaid label that they sent me and when they checked it out, they offered to fix it for free and they sent it back to me in less than 1 week. I will be a Canon customer for life. Thanks Canon for the great customer service!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site