Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Covers a wide zoom range from 24mm wide-angle to 105mm portrait-length telephoto Image Stabilizer technology steadies camera shake up to 3 stops 1 Super-UD glass element and 3 aspherical lenses Ring-type USM for quick AF and manual focus
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
1
79 out of 94(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: KC
Location: Portland, Or
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: No

Best walk around lens I've had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, very sharp images
This lens is why I am shooting full frame (5DII) as well as crop (7D0. Very good performance, with filter on, is nearly waterproof. Great for shooting coast scenics in the winter, snow in winter, Portland gardens in the rain, etc Mt Hood, St. Helens. For backpacking, much lighter than f2.8 24-70 and more reach. I pair it with f.4 70-200L is. Also good for portraits because of f4.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: sabre95521
Location: Arcata, Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My favorite walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
My second purchase of this lens as the first one was stolen from me. That sentence should tell you how I feel about this lens.
I bought this one with the 5DmkIII kit but would have bought the lens separately if it was not available as a kit lens. Make NO bones about it, people have a bad preconception of most kit lenses, that is not the case with this lens, it is after all an "L" lens for a reason
The 24-105f4L is USM is my all time favorite walk around lens.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Dajoker
Location: Boston NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Sharp fast lens only problem is my wife liked it so much I had to buy her one too! We have both had great success capturing superb images with this lens its a must have. Tack sharp even in low light.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Bojo
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: quick focus, good build quality, excellent image stabilization
Cons: less sharp than hoped, heavy
This is my first L lens and I have a slightly mixed opinion so far. The build quality, focus speed/accuracy and general image quality seem fantastic. However, I have not found the sharpness to be quite what I hoped for; on center it's similar to my previous non-L tele, and not as good as my inexpensive 50mm f1.8 II. It is a versatile lens, but with a fairly significant weight & cost.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: 5d3-Shooter
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great All Purpose lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I love this lens...I use it often...even over my 24-70mm...with the IS this lens is as good as the 24-70mm. It is very light and on the 5D3 and 1DX it is very sharp at 70mm...it does have some vignetting at 24mm...but nothing that cannot be corrected in post processing...A great all purpose lens!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: yraunaj4102
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Amazing all around

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: aperture not fast enough
This lens is great if you are just starting to purchase L lenses. This is amazing all around and great for video, basically an all purpose L lens. It allows you to experiment with many focal lengths to let you know what lens to buy next. My only improvement would be a hybrid IS system (like in the 100mm macro L) and a faster aperture like f/2.8.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: garlec
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Always a winner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have carried this lens literally all over the world. Shot so many photos with it that the barrel had to be refurbed at Canon. Never lets me down. very sharp. Durable (has been dropped in safari trucks) and reliable. My walk around lens on my 5d MkIII
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: exceptionaleye
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

A wonderful walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013
I purchased this in a "kit" with my 5D "classic" when the price dropped (prior to the release of the 5D marl ii). I have found that when using it carefully it produces stellar images, especially in the mid range of focal length and f .
Last year I purchased a 5D Mark iii body (trouble with that body, but finally fixed by Canon in warranty). This November I photographed a wedding and paired the 24~105 with the Mark iii and the results were outstanding.
This lens continues to produce tack sharp images, but when I need true saturation and sharpness and pin sharp images I use Zxxxs 21 and 35 EF primes.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Santhosh
Location: Dubai
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quick focus, good overall pictures, but

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
Lens is faster auto focus, overall good photo results. But went to faulty in less than 2 years - power diaphragm issue. While search the issue on website, found this is common issue with this lens for many years. Why canon you didn't take an action - looks like only this lens is faulty for many in the L series.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: xzoup
Location: Little Rock, AR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Kit Lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This lens produces soft images, I would be hard pressed to label it an L lens. I would think it would work well for taking photos of your kids while at the park, the IS and zoom lens will come ln handy, and even though the images will not be that sharp, they will be acceptable photos that the family will enjoy viewing.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Jeff in Tucson
Location: Tucson
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent lens choice, but why no lens lock?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images, bright colorful images
Cons: no zoom extension lock.
I have to agree with those reviews that recommend this lens as a good choice for the traveler or backpacker that really only wants to take one lens. I have this lens, the 70-300 and a 300 fixed-all L series and this lens is on my camera 80% of the time. I find picture quality very good with generally bright, clear pics. I really came to appreciate this lens when I finally upgraded to the 5D body. The reviews that call this lens heavy must come from people that only use fish-eye lenses as it is not big or heavy at all. My only real complaint is that I cannot imagine why this lens does not have a zoom extension lock like other zooms to keep the camera lens from extending as one waks about. Though when fully extended it only extends 4-6 inches, after just a few minutes of walking/hiking, the lens will be fully extended which could cause damage. Why is there no lock to keep this from happening? Seems such a simple thing to incorporate...
35 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: AGO
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Traveling light without sacrificing quality.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, handling, comfortable to use, balance with the camera
Sharp. Built quality is good. Quite silent. Good IS performance. Easy to use. Constant f/4 throughout the focal length is great. AF performance is good (even in low light).
I have used this lens in different locations under different conditions (mostly architectural and landscape, also portraits, low light and night shots without flash, shots from a boat where IS was a life saver, etc). My experience shows that this is a good lens for travelers who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light. There is distortion at the wide angle but this is acceptable with this focal length. It is easy to correct it with the provided software DPP if needed (I use distortion correction for architectural wide angle shots mostly. Landscape or other photographs usually do not need any correction).
24 mm covers most of the wide angle and 105 mm covers reasonable amount zoom for a traveler. When used as the only lens on the camera, there is some sacrifice below 24 mm and above 105 mm but, carrying many lenses when traveling means a very heavy backpack. Besides, there is always a higher risk of dust accumulation on the sensor when changing lenses especially during traveling. This simple problem may become a major headache if sensor cleaning is not possible during traveling.
Recommended for those (especially full frame sensor users), who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light without sacrificing quality. Final word; best kit lens I have ever bought!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Ivan
Location: Lilburn, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Chromatic aberrations

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2013
Cons: chromatic aberrations
This lens is built relatively well, and performs relatively well, although I am very much surprised with chromatic aberrations which are too high compared even with EF-S 17-55/2.8, which is not L, and has worse build quality. Was taking images side-by sude with these two lenses (as well as with 70-200/4L IS USM and 100-400/4.5-5.6 L IS USM, and this lens was the significant outperformer.
8 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Lurcus
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very good general purpose lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2013
That's probably the best all-purpose lens I've ever used. Obviously, you can't compare it with a prime or with the 24-70/2,8, but if you're looking for a single lens to do everything, from landscapes to portraits, that's "the lens".
Built quality is just excellent. Image stabilizer is quiet and works very well even in video mode. AF is fast, accurate and nearly silent.
On the "cons" side, distortion is a big issue at shortest focals, it starts to be quite well controlled only from 35mm. What's more, the corners of the frame are a little bit too soft, if you use the lens wide open. You just need to close down one stop to get a much better image quality, but an f/5,6 lens is not so attractive...
Anyway, all in all, I consider this lens one of the best general purpose zoom lenses ever produced for the full frame. So far...
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Dan
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

IS problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
I purchased this lens with the 5D mark iii late November of last year. Recently though I have found to realize the IS doesnt work on anything past f4. I have found this to be a problem on their newer secletion of 24-105 lenses. I love this lens, but buy an older version if possible. I'm sending mine in soon, I will edit this after I get it back.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Teva
Location: Singapore
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Review 24-105mm

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Semi-sharp images, wide angle so so.
Overall performance, nothing to ask for, as it covers almost every require range for a single All-in-One. At 24, image seems a little light and soft, mid range fm 35 -100, pretty good, especially indoors when light are sufficient, example, seminars, conference, image quality remain sharp throughout.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Stonewall
Location: Dallas, Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love, love, love this lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I've had this lens for about five months now, and absolutely love it. It takes amazing pictures, with great color representation and contrast. At f/4 the background is a very pleasant blur. The build quality is great and it feels perfect on my T4i with battery grip. After purchasing my first body (T3i) with the EF-S 18-55 kit lens, I reluctantly refrained from buying a middle grade zoom such as the 18-200 or 28-135, knowing this was ultimately the lens I wanted. I am very glad I waited, it's worth every penny. Once you step up to an "L" lens you will not want to go back. I can't wait to use this in a full-frame body.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Brax
Location: Ohio and North Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Canon ALL THE WAY

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, feels solid and operates smoothly, weather resistance is far superior, ease of use is great, great all around lens
Cons: price is kind of steep
I haven't had this spectacular lens for very long and i am using it with my new 5D Mark iii but i must say i am beyond impressed now the price well all i can say is save up to get this lens because although it is somewhat steep "it is a canon and you get what you pay for" says my friend and he has made a believer out of me it focuses great it handles great and the images taken are beautiful i would give it three thumbs up if i could so canon keep up the great work!
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: CanonMan
Location: Hurricane, WV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens! 5 out of 5!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I purchased the Canon EF 24-105mm F/4 L from a third-party retailer. I am very satisfied with the lens! I shoot outside, so the f/4 is no big issue at all.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Einstein
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Only multi-use lens you will EVER need

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, reasonable price for a l lens
This is an amazing lens, specially when paired with a full frame DSLR. On a full frame body, 24mm is very wide. On a 1.6x body, 24mm is only moderately wide (equivalent of 38.4mm).
The lens' color and contrast are excellent. Chromatic Aberration is well controlled with some CA visible in area harsh contrast primarily at full-frame edges at both ends of the focal length range.
It features a reasonably fast widest aperture setting of f/4 which remains constant throughout the zoom range. When combined with a Canon 5D Mk iii it really gives great exposures in low light.
Eight circular aperture blades provide excellent quality defocused image quality (bokeh - foreground/background blur). While f/4 in this focal length range is not the best at creating diffusely blurred backgrounds, close subjects at 105mm can have pleasingly blurred backgrounds.
Canon's latest generation Image Stabilizer (IS) provides an additional 3-stops of handholdability in the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens. This is definitely one of my favorite features of the 24-105 L. IS does not stop subject motion blur, but it is excellent for stopping camera shake.
The previous reviewer gave it one star for distortion. All lenses in this focal length range will show some distortion. Also common with lenses in this focal length range is distortion. The Canon EF 24-105mm shows some barrel distortion from 24mm until disappearing near 40mm. Pincushion distortion begins at 80mm and becomes mild at 105mm. As usual, this distortion is most noticeable in a full-frame body only under specific circumstances and is a function of the breed.
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site