Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Covers a wide zoom range from 24mm wide-angle to 105mm portrait-length telephoto Image Stabilizer technology steadies camera shake up to 3 stops 1 Super-UD glass element and 3 aspherical lenses Ring-type USM for quick AF and manual focus
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
1
79 out of 94(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Jacob Amos
Location: st Louis Missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

best entry level L lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
I bought this lens cheap from Abe's of Maine and its amazing. My new favorite lens
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Dimitrus
Location: New York City.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great ever.!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2015
Of my test,morning,noon,night,with or without my flash the pictures were superb. indep, shadows, shade, sharpness softness or hard beautiful simply beautiful. I am mostly manual sometimes Auto beautifully taken and done. I can not say no more,what can I say. I leave the rest to the others.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: imboobookitty
Location: Tucson, Az.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years

If you are starting with just one!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2015
I LOVE this glass! If you are only able to start with one lens.. this is it!! It's universally great for so many situations. It can handle macro to telephoto.. great for videos and photographs, action and still. THIS IS HOW YOU START!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Quickm4
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good wide range kit lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015
This lens came with the 5diii I purchased right before a trip to Puerto Rico. I also brought the 50mm1.2 and 70-200mm2.8 ii and out of the three for that particular trip the 24-105 spent the most time on the camera as being the most versatile. So far I have no complaints about the lens and will be definitely bringing it with me on future trips as an all around travel lens. The size and weight are not bad. it took a little punishment in the rain forest(rain) and some more at the beaches in the form of sand completely unharmed. Overall I beleive it will be a good lens.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Ben
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good affordable all-purpose lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2015
If you are looking for an affordable lens that will give you very acceptable results, don't think about it!
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Pasta
Location: Long Island New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

just getting started with this lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
I have only shot with this lens a couple of times so far, the pictures come out crisp clean and lens is very quiet fast and overall very nice piece.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Voodooman
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sweet lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015
I am very happy with this sweet lens. Very versatile and smooth!
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Xphile
Location: Kentucky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost the perfect general purpose lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
The build quality and zoom range are excellent and the focusing is spot-on. My only real complaint, other than wishing it was a 2.8, is that the images are not quite as sharp as I would like. Don't get me wrong, the images it produces are very good to great, but I would not rate them as excellent. That being said, unless you are a professional photographer who demands the absolute sharpest images, this lens will do nicely.
For this zoom range I have not found a better lens.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: KC
Location: Portland, Or
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: No

Best walk around lens I've had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, very sharp images
This lens is why I am shooting full frame (5DII) as well as crop (7D0. Very good performance, with filter on, is nearly waterproof. Great for shooting coast scenics in the winter, snow in winter, Portland gardens in the rain, etc Mt Hood, St. Helens. For backpacking, much lighter than f2.8 24-70 and more reach. I pair it with f.4 70-200L is. Also good for portraits because of f4.
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: sabre95521
Location: Arcata, Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My favorite walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
My second purchase of this lens as the first one was stolen from me. That sentence should tell you how I feel about this lens.
I bought this one with the 5DmkIII kit but would have bought the lens separately if it was not available as a kit lens. Make NO bones about it, people have a bad preconception of most kit lenses, that is not the case with this lens, it is after all an "L" lens for a reason
The 24-105f4L is USM is my all time favorite walk around lens.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Dajoker
Location: Boston NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Sharp fast lens only problem is my wife liked it so much I had to buy her one too! We have both had great success capturing superb images with this lens its a must have. Tack sharp even in low light.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Bojo
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: quick focus, good build quality, excellent image stabilization
Cons: less sharp than hoped, heavy
This is my first L lens and I have a slightly mixed opinion so far. The build quality, focus speed/accuracy and general image quality seem fantastic. However, I have not found the sharpness to be quite what I hoped for; on center it's similar to my previous non-L tele, and not as good as my inexpensive 50mm f1.8 II. It is a versatile lens, but with a fairly significant weight & cost.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: 5d3-Shooter
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great All Purpose lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I love this lens...I use it often...even over my 24-70mm...with the IS this lens is as good as the 24-70mm. It is very light and on the 5D3 and 1DX it is very sharp at 70mm...it does have some vignetting at 24mm...but nothing that cannot be corrected in post processing...A great all purpose lens!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: yraunaj4102
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Amazing all around

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: aperture not fast enough
This lens is great if you are just starting to purchase L lenses. This is amazing all around and great for video, basically an all purpose L lens. It allows you to experiment with many focal lengths to let you know what lens to buy next. My only improvement would be a hybrid IS system (like in the 100mm macro L) and a faster aperture like f/2.8.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: garlec
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Always a winner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have carried this lens literally all over the world. Shot so many photos with it that the barrel had to be refurbed at Canon. Never lets me down. very sharp. Durable (has been dropped in safari trucks) and reliable. My walk around lens on my 5d MkIII
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: exceptionaleye
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

A wonderful walk around lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2013
I purchased this in a "kit" with my 5D "classic" when the price dropped (prior to the release of the 5D marl ii). I have found that when using it carefully it produces stellar images, especially in the mid range of focal length and f .
Last year I purchased a 5D Mark iii body (trouble with that body, but finally fixed by Canon in warranty). This November I photographed a wedding and paired the 24~105 with the Mark iii and the results were outstanding.
This lens continues to produce tack sharp images, but when I need true saturation and sharpness and pin sharp images I use Zxxxs 21 and 35 EF primes.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Santhosh
Location: Dubai
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quick focus, good overall pictures, but

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
Lens is faster auto focus, overall good photo results. But went to faulty in less than 2 years - power diaphragm issue. While search the issue on website, found this is common issue with this lens for many years. Why canon you didn't take an action - looks like only this lens is faulty for many in the L series.
22 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: xzoup
Location: Little Rock, AR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Kit Lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This lens produces soft images, I would be hard pressed to label it an L lens. I would think it would work well for taking photos of your kids while at the park, the IS and zoom lens will come ln handy, and even though the images will not be that sharp, they will be acceptable photos that the family will enjoy viewing.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Jeff in Tucson
Location: Tucson
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent lens choice, but why no lens lock?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images, bright colorful images
Cons: no zoom extension lock.
I have to agree with those reviews that recommend this lens as a good choice for the traveler or backpacker that really only wants to take one lens. I have this lens, the 70-300 and a 300 fixed-all L series and this lens is on my camera 80% of the time. I find picture quality very good with generally bright, clear pics. I really came to appreciate this lens when I finally upgraded to the 5D body. The reviews that call this lens heavy must come from people that only use fish-eye lenses as it is not big or heavy at all. My only real complaint is that I cannot imagine why this lens does not have a zoom extension lock like other zooms to keep the camera lens from extending as one waks about. Though when fully extended it only extends 4-6 inches, after just a few minutes of walking/hiking, the lens will be fully extended which could cause damage. Why is there no lock to keep this from happening? Seems such a simple thing to incorporate...
36 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: AGO
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Traveling light without sacrificing quality.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, handling, comfortable to use, balance with the camera
Sharp. Built quality is good. Quite silent. Good IS performance. Easy to use. Constant f/4 throughout the focal length is great. AF performance is good (even in low light).
I have used this lens in different locations under different conditions (mostly architectural and landscape, also portraits, low light and night shots without flash, shots from a boat where IS was a life saver, etc). My experience shows that this is a good lens for travelers who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light. There is distortion at the wide angle but this is acceptable with this focal length. It is easy to correct it with the provided software DPP if needed (I use distortion correction for architectural wide angle shots mostly. Landscape or other photographs usually do not need any correction).
24 mm covers most of the wide angle and 105 mm covers reasonable amount zoom for a traveler. When used as the only lens on the camera, there is some sacrifice below 24 mm and above 105 mm but, carrying many lenses when traveling means a very heavy backpack. Besides, there is always a higher risk of dust accumulation on the sensor when changing lenses especially during traveling. This simple problem may become a major headache if sensor cleaning is not possible during traveling.
Recommended for those (especially full frame sensor users), who wants to carry one lens only and prefer to travel light without sacrificing quality. Final word; best kit lens I have ever bought!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site