Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 5D

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS 5D

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 5D
Review 1 for EOS 5D
Nickname: samspoint
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2011
Though it lacks the megapixels of the 5D or other more pro cameras, this is a great camera all in all. Fast, reliable, great clarity and focus. I've had a ton of fun with this camera, lightweight and easy to carry around. Has so many lens choices as well. Can't go wrong with this camera.
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Lene
Location: MIami, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Picture quality is good but too heavy camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
I found it is great for portraits and landscape and its one of best combo with 24-105 lens. I agreed with some one said:
The only problem is dust, look like that this camera is made to attract dusts:)
And also it's too heavy when adding flash grip oh no.
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 5D
Nickname: BB
Location: Raleigh
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Bought Used - Great Camera!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, simple controls, Superior build quality, good battery life, start up time
Cons: weather sealing, missing features, Dim LCD
I bought my 5D used after it had been to Canon for the mirror fix. For the money I don't think you could find a better full frame camera.
3/5 Features: The 5D has very basic features in the 2010 set of standard DSLR features. For me, it is the perfect amount, it is a very simple camera to use.
4/5 Performance: While many will say the AF is horrible on these cameras, I have found it to be completely acceptable. It may not be the best sports camera but for light use the center point will yield the best results. The image quality is really the big selling point for me. For the price of a used 5D you will not find better image quality cheaper. The camera does seem to attract dust and that might be linked to build quality. It's a magnesium body which feels very sturdy to hold, but lacks the weather sealing of a higher end 1 series or even 7D.
5/5 Price/Value: Like I have already stated this camera if bought used is a great deal. Full frame, beautiful image quality, and all for a reasonable priced. If you are looking at a new rebel body and could live without the 1.6 crop, video, and some other new features then i would spend the extra cash for the 5D.
4/5 Quality: Image quality is great on this camera. It almost has a film like quality that you don't see on any of the other higher end cameras. As for build quality the camera feels nice to hold. The battery door and card door feel cheap. The body itself is solid but lacks weather sealing.
5/5 Satisfaction: Not much more to say other then I love this camera!!
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Matt
Location: Destin, Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great camera for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Dim LCD, Missing features/settings, Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky
With tons of these floating around internet after the release of the mrk II, it's by far the best camera I think you could purchase for the money.
Would love the extra features of my xsi, but the image quality is bar none better than any camera under 2,500. Great for portrait and landscape photographers. I would not take this on the sports field as my first choice though. I'd leave that up to my xsi.
39 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 5D
Nickname: RawDogg
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One Word - EXCELLENT!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: Dim LCD
I've used the 30D $ 40d for the last 3 years. the first time I used the 5D and viewed the images...I was blown away by the image quality.
Can't wait to get my hands on a Mark II.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

The Do It All Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: noisy
I have purchased the Canon 5D recently and I haven't used it all that much as of yet. But in the short time that I have used it I have come to realize that this is the do it all camera. I could have purchased the 5d mark II but after reading review after review I went with the original 5d. This camera is easy to handle, out performs anything I have had in the past, and keeps me coming back for more. Just recently I used the monochrome feature and the pictures came out great. I don't have to adjust them in photoshop to make them great b&w's they are just fine as they were shot. The more I use the camera the easier it becomes to use. A great camera!!!!!
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Mil
Location: EU
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

after 3 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
Im still satisfied! Yes, I will not change it for the 5D2.
I found it is great for portraits and landsacep and its one of best combo with 24-105 lens.
The only problem is dust, look like that this camera is made to attract dusts:)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Producciones MGS
Location: Oakland, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for Wedding Folks

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, quiet, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
This particular camera its fits well right out of the box, in order to get awesome indoor and outdoor Portrait you need to spend a serious money on lenses and good travel light.
Its fast, excellent for ambient or available light condition no flash need it at high ISO "WoW" where is the NOISE... anyway I do recommend this 5D for Event photographer if you are not a Sports shooter.
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 5D
Nickname: allen
Location: LA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

GREAT CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life, others will recognize you
Cons: no problem here
I just got my 5D over the Xmass. I have 20D and its was time to up grade to full frame camra. from the look on line or the picture you cant really tell how nice it is till you hold it in your hand. I think canon did a nice job on this one, it's solid and not heavy at all with the 24-70mmL2.8 the wight is what you like it to be. regarding the shutter noise moving up from 20D there might be some but I like it and don't mind it not an issue at all.The battery door is nice and similar to the rest of canon EOS that are out there.
I do not get or see any black spots on the LDC and those who do accoring to canon manule its normal and not a malfunction. Over all I like the camera does take a grate shots fells good and I have not tried the HD yet. Been an underwater shoter can't waite to take the 5D underwter with it's housing.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Mogu
Location: Brokkyn., NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I Love This Camera!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, quiet, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings, no wireless remote option unless you pay $350
The 5D is a great camera. Before I purchased this camera as a upgrade from my Rebel Xti I was worried that I would miss some features that are available now on newer cameras however the 5D is a basic camera without all the bells and whistles however taken pictures is not really about all the technology the camera has. With the 5D it's simply about taken a great shot. I have seen many sample photos before I decided to buy the 5D and I really don't think any camera in it's price range can take better photos especially in low light. I am extremely happy with this camera. I can not imagine how the Mark II be.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 5D
Nickname: JONM
Location: Earth
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings, no support for software
The software specification is missing several functions
2 of 92 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 5D
Nickname: klmmicro
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

One of the greats!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
Simply put, I love this camera. I am an amateur photographer with varying likes as to subjects. This camera allows me to photograph a very wide range of subject matter with superb results. The image quality is superb even if the feature set is somewhat Spartan.
The pictures produced with the 13 MP 35mm sensor are sharp and warm. They produce great prints, even when oversized. All in all, I would rate this camera as one of the best on the market for image quality.
The only real downside of this camera is the limited feature set. What you need, you get. There are a couple of bells and whistles though that were not included that would have been nice. The lack of custom programmable modes is my main gripe. I have another Canon DSLR that has it and I am using them almost always. I am not referring to “creative modes”, but to fully customizable modes under the control of the user.
Another area that I would love to have seen is true “Auto” ISO. The competition has it, this body should have as well. That it did not is not a deal breaker at all. You just have to be mindful of where you have your ISO set as conditions change.
Performance is great considering the camera’s age. 3 frames a second is enough for sports photography if you learn how to work within this limitation. I have shot local events with bodies that shoot 10+ frames a second. While those higher rates may lend to more chances of landing the perfect shot, they lead to a lot of deleting as well. I have been able to manage quite well with the 5D’s limitation. I just shoot more carefully.
The price of this body was fairly high (I am writing this review post Mark II release), though good for the quality of the body. The one expense that is oft overlooked is the cost of good glass. This camera’s sensor has a way of pronouncing a lenses weakness. It works best when coupled with the higher tier and that means expense. For that, the lenses will travel with you as you traverse the Canon DSLR world, so it is not a lost investment.
The quality of this camera is great. Very robust, I have not had a single issue with my copy. I am hiking a lot is some fairly rough terrain and it gets jostled a lot. It always goes click when I hit the button, so no complaints at all. Also, while it is not a weather sealed camera, I have not had issue when shooting in moist conditions.
I am completely satisfied with this camera body. It is my primary body and I do not plan to replace it any time soon. While the Mark II body looks intriguing, I have not found a photographic situation where the original falls short.
I would certainly recommend this body to a friend if they were in the market for an economical FFS DSLR.
71 of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 5D
Nickname: Miki-725
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2008
Pros: great features, reliable, lightweight
Cons: dust
The Canon 5D DSLR camera in my opinion is a great camera to use for most uses. I had it for more than a year and it works great for landscape, wedding, photo journalistic work. The quality of pictures is amazing. The camera is also very reliable - works every time you want it to. The only thing is that sometimes some dust gets on the sensor, but simple cleaning kits solve the issue. Also Canon proposed the Integrated Cleaning System for Mark II, but other than that, the camera is great and is amazing for the value you pay in comparison to something like 1Ds (no offense to 1Ds).
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site