Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A620

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A620

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A620
Review 1 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: DeeDee
Location: Magnolia, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Bad experience

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Cons: add a con
Not so good experience, some screws that keep the picture screen together came off, so now the screen opens and sometimes I can not see the pictures. The worse part is that I dont use the camera often and I didnt even notice the screws were missing (2 screws).
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Derek
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
Got this over 3 years ago with the intent to use on my Honeymoon. It took pictures that were nearly perfect. Night shots, time laps, and motion photos are great with this camera. Took a 15 second time laps of the street below our Hotel and got the light effect I was going for perfectly. I could not be more happy with the camera. Just purchased the Canon A1100 I hope it can live up to the A620. I will never purchase anything but Canon.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: gvan

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: no low battery icon
I've had this camera for about three years and have not had a problem. Been to Europe several times and it takes fantastic pictures from people to majestic peaks.
I use the max 2GB sd card and low discharge 2100mh batteries. The low discharge variety is a great improvement over the standard NIMH as they will last for months not rapidly discharging when the camera is not in use.
Can't justify anything new over my 620.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Alibehrends
Location: Farmington MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: doesn't show when battery is low.
Nice, I've had for over 2 years now and use it a lot. I wish it were a little faster and it would be nice to see the battery life on the screen but other than that BUY IT. 7.1 mega pixels is good enough and the photos look great printed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Pa
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Got a good deal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings
Just bought this camera slightly used - for a song.
Think I got a real bargain - seems to produce very nice images - some say "heavy" - I say quality.
So far I really like it - wish I had known sooner.
Wish it had image stabilization.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: DRich
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

It couldn't be any better!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had mine for over three years now and have taken thousands of pictures and not had one problem. I believe I got the very best possible camera without paying thousands for a pro Canon like my son has.
The pictures are brilliant. I LOVE the swing-out LCD viewing screen--don't know how I could do without it.
Some complain about the weight of the four AA batteries, but I find that this weight helps me keep the camera steady--furthermore, we are only talking about a few ounces!
As far as what some call the "flimsy" lid to the SD card slot--I have taken my card out and put it back in hundreds of times, and have had NO problem--it's still as secure and good as the day I got the camera.
I have only one complaint, though it has not hindered my photo taking, and that's the difficulty of viewing the swing-out LCD screen in bright outdoor light. In these situations, which are not often, I just look through the small viewfinder, like most have to do anyway, on their cameras..
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: big man paul
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

uhhhh its ok

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Dim LCD, Heavy/Bulky
well it is an ok camera i was basically searching for a much smaller camera with those features.The price on the camera is a ok but it wasnt what i was lookin but in all actuality it did get the job done.
1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: doughboy
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life
Have had mine for many years and had to get one for my wife because I liked it so much.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Still a solid photographic tool

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, wide angle could be wider
I've owned my A620 now for about 5 years. Every so often I'm tempted to purchase something a little more pocketable, a little more up-to-date w/ new image processors, face detection, etc. But I compare the reviews of the new products to the reviews of the A620, along with my personal experience and the A620 is still a benchmark for me in the compact digital camera arena.
Sure, it may only have ISO up to 400, but beyond ISO 400 in newer digicams reviews always claim that noise is unbearable, so what good is having the higher ISOs? The noise on the A620 at ISO 400 is nicely controlled.
Image quality is outstanding. Sure it may only be 7.1MP when everything today is pushing double digits but it's the *quality* of the pixels that matter. I've printed 16x20 and SOLD prints from this camera.
Vari-Angle screen. Shooting overhead, down low, an arms length self portrait, or around a corner...it's invaluable.
Yes, four AA batteries are heavy and bulky. However the battery housing provides a nice grip AND when you're out and about on tour and your Lithium Ion rechargeable dies...what are you gonna do? AAs...just stop in to ANY corner store and you're back shooting.
It would be nice if the wide angle went out to 28mm. But it does have a wide aperture of 2.8 which is a rare find on a compact digicam.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: hayhay
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

It was good till...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, deleted my pictures
I loved this camera when i first got it. It had everything I needed. I love the flip out screen. It helps it stay protected and It also comes in handy when trying to take a picture of yourself and a friend. although recently I was at an important event with my boyfriend on his birthday, and it started not to work. Every time I tried to turn the button to change modes, the camera would shut off and the lens would stay stuck out. I had brand new battries in so, that was not the problem. Later when i went to look at the pictures I had taken, it had deleted all of my pictures from that day and previous days. So all the pictures I took on my boyfriends birthday were gone!! I am now looking for a new camera and I'm most likely not going to buy a cannon.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Machineman
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had this camera for a few years now and it is still a great camera. It has many features for advanced users but can also be used by the novice. Great quality and still works like the day I purchased it.
I highly recommend the Canon line of digital cameras.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: BT
Location: Grand Junction CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have owned this camera for over 2 years and it is awesome. No problems and love the vari-angle LCD. Mostly used the auto function but lately have been playing with color accent and the other features. I need more zoom so I just bought a SX-10IS after alot of research. It has the vari-angle LCD and the zoom rocks!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: Lucky Lady
Location: Ridgefield, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great All purpose camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Dim LCD
I bought this camera as a step up from an A70 which I loved. The pictures this takes are amazing. People can't believe the quality of my shots. The only complaints I have are that the LCD is small but the fact that I can rotate it makes up for its' size. The other concern is the flap that covers the video area is very cheap and gets in the way. While not the smallest camera, it does fit into a cargo pant pocket or I loop the case onto my belt. I even took great shots in Alaska from a moving train!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A620
Nickname: mickibc
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Made me a good photographer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, portable, durable
I have taken the worst pictures for all of my life and now (since May of 2006) I have wonderful photos and am asked to take pictures for my office and special events. I take photos for fun and have my camera with me at all times. This camera did it all for me. My son liked it so much he got the A640. The only con is the little door that covers the USB port is flimsy on both cameras.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site