Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA Pro9500

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9500
Review 1 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Derek
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very good but could be better

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
This unit replaces a Canon i91000 as I like the pigment ink for long-term color stability. It has been very reliable and for the most part produces excellent prints. BUT it is very, very slow even with small prints. Also the paper sizes are limited (No 11x14 or 11x17). In addition finding ink in local stores is almost impossible - even in Denver a city of 2 million there are few places that stock it. So you are forced to buy online and wait for shipments which if you run out of a color is very annoying.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: TBone
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pixma Pro9500

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost, Large Footprint, printer is very large compared to most
This is an excellent printer. If you print a lot of pictures you really can't get much better. The photo quality is insane with 9 inks. However, one big drawback is that the ink runs out faster than any other printer I have owned. I'm lucky I can submit an expense to my company to resupply but sometimes I'll just print a lot of black and not use color, doesn't matter they all dry out the same amount of time. So really if you do not print a lot in color or do not print pictures maybe this isn't the printer for you. However, professional or amateur photographers be prepared to be blown away by the quality.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Basscatcher24LB
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pixma Pro9500

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling
Cons: Difficult Setup
I purchased my Pixma yesterday and I am absolutely thrilled. The print quality is amazing.
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: LBB
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Exceptional Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Low Productivity, Large Footprint
I replaced my Canon i960 with the Pro9500 and am very impressed. I was concerned about comments I had read regarding the set up process; however, it was a piece of cake! The printer is rather slow, but I knew that before I ordered it. The pictures are definitely worth waiting for! I've only had it two days, so I can't comment on running cost, reliability, durability, etc. Based on my previous experience with Canon printers...those areas should be just as satisfactory as the aspects I have used so far!
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: P.H
Location: Allenton,WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Professional results

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
This is the first Canon product that I have purchased and I will have to say that I am very Impressed with the results that I have had with this printer so far. The photos turn out gorgeous and have so far had no problems with it although I have only had it for a short while. Setting up the printer and installation of the software was very easy. I did have a slight problem with skin tones not looking quite right at first but after running it through the print head cleaning cycle and making sure that the printer was set to the rite printer profile setting I have had no problems. Also I would like to add that I had tried a different manufacturers photo paper and the results were quite different from Canons paper I would strongly advise working with Canons paper to achieve the best results after all it is designed to work with their printers.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: RT
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Landscapes are good, skin color bad

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I have used the PIXMA Pro9500 for about 6 months. I find that prints of outdoor landscapes from the 9500 can be georgous, but I have a problem with prints of people, because skin color is not good. Skin color tends to be pale and washed out. I have not been able to get satisfactory skin colors even after many hours of fiddling with color corrections.
38 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Derek in Colorado
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice but very slow

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: sos-so software
This unit replaced a Canon i9100. I like the machine but it is dismally slow at printing just about anything be it plain text or photo prints. Setup was simple and the supplied software was decent BUT you can't view Canon RAW files in Canon Digital Professional software which seems downright silly since this printer is designed to make prints from high quality digital files.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Image Maker
Location: Western New York State
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Professional Results at a Reasonable Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: can't think of any
As one who has tried a number of "pro level printers," I was more than pleasantly surprised to that my new PIXMA 9500 actually lived up to the manufacturers claims. In this regard, it has consistently produced high quality images on a variety of print media, in both color and black and white. It is easy to set-up, use, and syncs perfectly with my favority editing software. Ink consumption is reasonable and the results speak for themselves -- rich colors with exceptional highlights.
A wonderful addition to any digital darkroom....
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: texas1
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

dependable and high quality printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
I have now printed several hundred prints with with this printer. The prints are beautiful and the printer is absolutely dependable and sturdy. So - I calibrated my screen with Spyder 3 and use the preset output profiles provided for this printer in Aperature. Magically - the prints are true to color. Occasionally I have to tweak green or red using this strategy, but this is the easiest output management ever. The inks are expensive, but Canon has lots of specials where you can get free paper, shipping etc. that makes it more reasonable.
Wonderful printer - I highly recommend it.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: W
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, Small Footprint, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Great Fine Art Printer, Low Cos,t Portable Great B&W
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Pixma Pro User
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Pro User

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: unreliable
I replaced my i9900 with the Pixma Pro 9500 to utilize the capability to use the special papers such as the Fine Art Paper "Museum Etching" and other special papers in the large format.
After a year of use my observations are; the unit is very sensitive and requires frequent re setting of the ink cartridges indicated by error messages, high consumption of inks and its inability to process the "Museum Etching" paper using the setting provided in the menu.
The print quality is excellent on all size paper up to the 13 x 19 inch format. I use Cannon papers exclusively.
40 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA Pro9500
Nickname: Sandro
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Printer Great Company

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2008
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Have always purchased Canon products and while they are more costly than others, I believe you get what you pay for. Have had only the most minimal of issues that are to be expected when you use technically intricate products that are computer driven. The difference for me is that Canon customer service is the standard that other companies should strive to achieve. Ease of use, treatment by reps, turnover time and a general caring about solving your issue and keeping you satisfied, are what sets them apart. Thanks, Canon. If you make it, it's for me.
52 of 63 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site