Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD550

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD550

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD550
Review 1 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: tom
Location: midwest
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Needs Larger Memory Capacity

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: needs larger memory
Would like Canon to come out with 4gb memory card firmware upgrade. 1 or 2gb not enough for memory clips. Like my other digital camera for manual mode and image stabilization. This one is for carry, quick point and shoot.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

So Good No Replacement Will Do

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have taken this camera all over the world, run it over with my car, dropped it on rock crags, etc. It's pretty durable, and the best part is, because it was an early model, it has all the features that you can't get without spending a ton of money on a much bulkier camera now! Especially like manual mode, underwater housing, and the night scene features. I've looked at replacing it, but for the money, I can't get the same camera, so I keep repairing this one instead until canon decides to create a true replacement with all the bells and whistles that the SD550 has.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: hthalljr
Location: Provo Canyon, Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good for a few years but died

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I really enjoyed this camera, which I've owned for about 3 years, and I took thousands of photos with it. I even replaced the screen myself with an after-market replacement screen when I dropped the camera and broke the screen.
But it finally died with the dreaded E18 lens extension error (lens locks, won't open.) It was about time to upgrade anyway, so on the whole I am well satisfied.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: elwampaku
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

SD550

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: replacement/2nd battery hard to find
I have used this in the field for some time now, and it has performed flawlessly each and every time. I have used it in tropical areas (Saipan, Samoa, Guam,) in the mountains of Colorado, New Mexico, & Utah backpacking, or here in the southwest desert at 100+, it simply has not failed me.
The SD550 replaced another brand, which also functioned really well, but this had more features I needed.
The only problem I encountered is obtaining a second (or replacement) battery. They are hard to locate here, even from the mega stores.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: taaheatea
Location: N. Idaho
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Niffty for a Novice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, ease of downloading on computer, instant gratification on viewing your photos, ease of locating in retail stores
I bought this camera with no photography knowledge at all. In the past two years of owning this Canon Power Shot SD550, I have told family and friends about it and they went and bought it. Everyone loved it! My sister is a professional photographer and she carries this small one everywhere she goes.
This camera has never failed me, nor has the service.
Great camera for beginners! I have taken the most beautiful floral photos. The macro setting is the best!
I started out as a casual user, now I am an enthusiast for sure!!
Review 6 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: RP
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Poor workmanship

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Compared to the SD100 this camera is a good example of poor design and questionable workmanship. The camera has never been mistreated or dropped, but parts continue to fall off. USB connection is very delicate, and the latch on the battery compartment is poorly designed. Costs to repair these defects are very high and service centers are few and far between.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: Doc
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have owned my SD550 for s few years & have loved
every minute. I have owned other brands of digital
camera and they don't compare. I have purchased
two other newer Canon camera's as gifts and
they have also worked flawlessly. Do yourself a favor though and purchase something to protect the screen
as it can scratch.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: Ducky
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

I love my Powershot!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: can be slow between pictures, won't zoom in/out during video capture
I have had my Canon Powershot SD550 for several years now and I absolutely love it. I own a Digital Rebel and wanted something smaller, something that would fit in my pocket... and being a Canon fanboy I went with the Powershot.
The battery life is great, the screen is still vivid, the video is quality, the pictures are always in focus. I am very pleased with this camera.
I only have two complaints. The first is that in certain situations it can take a while between pictures, I think it is waiting for the flash to charge again. I have missed several great pictures because of this.
The other is that when taking a video you cannot change the zoom. If you start a video zoomed in, you cannot zoom out... and vice versa :|
Overall I am very happy with my camera. It has take some abuse and still goes strong.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD550
Nickname: Chris A.
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
I was looking to replace my Sony 2.1 MP camera. I liked my Sony so much I decided to purchase one to replace my current one. I purchased a Sony camera at the $200 range Just before Christmas. I found my Sony was difficult to adjust in low light. It had a delay before the picture was taken causing me to miss some pictures of my infant son smiling or doing something funny. I decided to return the camera and do some research and found that Sony, though being a very good camera didn't have the same technology as Canon and some other camera manufacturers. Now I get great clear pictures. The camera is easy to use. My wife who is cyberphobic can use it with little instruction. I also love the video feature. It's great when I don't have my video camera available.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site