Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA Pro9000

Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 out of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9000
Review 1 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Yellarue
Location: MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

100& Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Great Product, I use this printer when I have t print small copy's of information for school. I have never had a problem with the printer. It hold up really well, an make beautiful pictures.
Review 2 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Elvis
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

be careful - no Linux support

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: High Running Cost, no linux support, no linux driver
This otherwise excellent printer is utterly useless for Linux users. There is no driver, and support for its use in Linux.
5 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Falcon
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, durable, High Productivity, High Quality Output, easy to use, consistent color
I've been using the Pixma Pro9000 for a little over a year. I bought it used from someone that upgraded to a larger printer. The Pro9000 did have some off brand ink (from OfficeMax) that didn't give the greatest output and the colors faded quickly.
However, once I replaced the ink with a complete set of the Canon inks the color and B&W images have been fantastic. I have used a variety of media and have never had an issue feeding the paper. My current favorite is the Fine Art Premium Matte as the images pop of the pages without the glossy glare. The Photo Paper Pro II is also outstanding for images that come to life. I still need to try out the Platinum Pro Paper and some of the other high end papers.
Others have complained of the operating costs, and I also wish they were a little lower on the ink and paper, but I also believe that you get what you pay for in regards to this printer. Don't use the off brand ink or cheap paper and you will be very happy with the output and longevity of the prints.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: LousyShooter
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excelllent print Quality Plus

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010
Pros: reliable, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, low ink usage
I have had this printer for 18 months now and have kept detailed ink usage records. 13" x19" prints Green 120+,
Red 200+, PM 30+, BK 50+, PC 30+, Cyan 36+, Mag 30+, Y 30+. Ink usage is excellent. Also I only use it once or twice a month and have never had to run a cleaning cycle. Print quality is also excellent.I have never had a paper jam. Highly recommend as a photo quality printer.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Timberman
Location: Northern Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

What can I say-- Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, High Quality Output, easy to use
Wow! I love this printer. I have been useing this new printer for about a month. It is everything I could want. Bright,correct colors, Fast and dependable.
I'm a retired professional photographer, Lately I have been working on 100+ yr. old photos. I scan them, fix if needed then print on my Cannon 9000 pro. The colors and quality are great.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: zap-photo
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Delight to work with this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: High Running Cost
Great performance and color saturation. Great slim profile so that it's not too bulky. Consistent without ever needing a head cleaning, even after not using for a week.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Andy
Location: Abingdon, Md
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It's OK

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, beautiful prints
Cons: Low Productivity, High Running Cost
My previous printer was a Canon i960. It was a heavy duty work horse until I wore out the head (it took about 3 years). As much as I liked the i960 for brilliant colors, the Pro 9000 is that much better! The facial colors are right on! This printer does produce outstanding pictures. But unfortunately, that is where it ends. The ink cartridges run out of ink quickly, so I am doing mostly 4X6 pictures. I will keep this printer for about 3 years and hope that Canon will produce a printer that uses less ink and still maintain the highest quality prints.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Kel
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not worth Price

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost, unreliable
For the price not the best printer ever. I 've owned for several months and I'm constantly having issues with the print. Paper jams are too common and the print quality isn't as crisp as expected. Not to mention ink runs out after only a few short prints. Would not purchase again.
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Printer Dude
Location: Sacramneto, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Premium Prints at a budget price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: Large Footprint
This printer gives you the best quality at a budget investment. Easy to use from your very first print . Setup was a snap, as the printer sets itself up. You just go along and give it, what the instructions ask for. Sorry, I didn't purchase it sooner.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Photoshooter427
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost, Large Footprint
The Pixma Pro9000 provides excellent color prints and I can print directly from my Canon 30D. I have used Canon printers before but this one has excellent drivers and great application software.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: big kahauna
Location: san diego, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Just what I expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: High Running Cost
arrived quickly, easy set up, quality prints, as good or better than the pro labs I've used.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: photogh
Location: Los Angeles,Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

FANTASTIC PRINTS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
I have owned several different photo printer,but nothing compares to the 9000.I now get professional pictures at home.My 1st prints blew me away,my friend can't believe I didn't do them in a studio.Simple to set up,but quite large,very fast.This is a great addition to my CANON 50d and 3 l lenses.Canon rocks -high quality products.
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: dulcimer4
Location: canon city CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost
This is a good solid printer. The directions included are well written so that people not very knowledgeable with computers can set it up. The progams in the printer are easy to use making it a pleasure to use without readind a book . Only fault is small ink cartridges.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: pshop48
Location: chicago il
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

a great photo printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, easy to use
Cons: High Running Cost, Large Footprint
handles everything from 4 X 6 postcards to 13 X 19 canvas. The cartridges are pricey but not way out of line with the competition. i use it exclusively for photos and, as someone else mentioned, if you want to print something outside of what Canon provides use a third-party program
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Davey
Location: Magalia, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Pro 9000 Inkjet printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: High Running Cost, hard to find all color ink cartridges
This printer has produced extremely high quality output from my Raw and JPG files, consistently and as needed. In using it with my Mac system, I found no problems in set up or output to the printer.
My two biggest issues are the small quantity ink cartridges, ultimately driving up the average cost/print, unless I stick with small size prints, less than satisfying for a photographer who prefers medium to large output. All cartridge colors are not easily available in local stores that carry Canon products.
If this system offered larger quantity cartridges at more reasonable prices, this would truly be my ultimate printer.
24 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: whatever
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Produces excellent prints on canon paper. Was not as impressed with other papers but being able to select the type of canon paper seems to make a big difference. Seems to use a lot of ink but have not calculated this yet. Large footprint but well built and solid - something you would expect for a large print size quality printer. Software is easy to work with. Would have liked to have a printed manual. I am getting better prints than when I was using my own color darkroom.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: paper size
I love the printer and used it on all our Wedding needs
Thanks to the Printer our wedding was a hit. We also use the printer for scrap booking and the pages look great.
The only downside is its minimum paper size --- it won't print on post cards or index cards :-( -- I had to get creative to write my vows on such material -- I taped the index card to paper.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Hood River, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Printer Drivers/Software

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, reliable
Cons: need outside software to print sizes not included
I love the printer, doing 13x19 for 20x26 frames and they are awesome. However, when I wanted to print sizes not included in the Canon driver software it was frustrating. I finally tried Lightroom2 and it works perfectly. If you have printing problems, try a demo, you can size the picture exactly the way you want in Lightroom2. Now that I use them together, the work flow is a snap.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Richard B
Location: Sussex, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

A fast, large format printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Good Media Handling, Easy Setup, easy to use
I acquired this unit after my previous printer (a Canon i9900) died and could not be repaired. The company offerred me a super deal on the Pro9000 and even replaced all my spare ink cartridges for the old printer- teo full sets!
The prints are beautiful and the dye based inks that this printer uses have an excellent rating for long life although not quite as long as that for pigment based inks. But unless you are planning to live for 200 years, this probably is not an issue. But dye based inks tend to be more vibrant and are less likely to clog. Another big plus is the speed at which this printer produces its large prints.
In summary, this is a great printer that produces exceptional prints quickly. And, I found Canon to be an excellent company that backs up customers who have purchased its products.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA Pro9000
Nickname: Shorty
Location: Southern Kentucky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It didn't cost me an arm and a leg...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, Small Footprint, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
I found it very easy to install and use. And the quality of my prints are better than the professional photo lab I had been using.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site