Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.588 out of 5
4.739 out of 5
4.447 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS 30D

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS 30D

Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 30D
Review 1 for EOS 30D
Nickname: gonzo 1066
Location: Sumas Washington.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

I have had only ONE problem

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011
I LOVE my 60D, it has been everything I come to expect from Canon.. HOWEVER I have a couple of spots that show up on each photo since the camera was new. I have had the unit professionally cleaned to no avail.
4 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Mezeus
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Should have included live view

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
A fine little camera. Takes great pictures but I will never understand why Canon did not include 'LIVE VIEW'. Also exposure info etc shown at the bottom of the view finder is hard to read and the LCD is extremely hard to see when outside in bright light. (sunshine)
7 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Shaky operation, Poor build quality
my control board needs to be replaced and it only has about 3300 clicks
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Arkphoto
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Starter

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD
Cons: noisy
Started with an EOS Rebel film not knowing much. Graduated to the 30d and could review pictures imediately and learned a lot. Read the instruction book and learn a few simple photography tricks and you will be on your way. My only concern is too much grain above ISO1000. The 30D is my first DSLR and I would recommend it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 30D
Nickname: TheDingo
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, heavy/bulky
Cons: noisy
I love this camera, it shoots great, looks great, and most importantly its a Canon! id very much recommend it to any photographer, intermediate to pro as a back up. GO CANON!
And i think bigger cameras are nicer, theyre easyer to grip and feel alot better in your hands.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Herb
Location: South Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
50 years ago I used my camera to pay for some college extras. Today, I just like to get a good picture when I see it. I have had my EOS 30D for about 4 years, and love it.Once I got all my desired camera features preset -- it has been a dream camera to use. I added an 18-200 mm zoom lens - and I can get just about any shot that comes to me.There are many features that I have not used yet, but it's nice to have them available. It's a great camera !!
Herb
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 30D
Nickname: ski_john
Location: So. California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

8500 Pix

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, good battery life
In over 2 years have taken over 8000 images. Generally satisfied. Not as sharp as desired, even with boost in custom menu. This 30D replaced a 10D. Digic II marginal at low light levels, too much noise.
Manual mode and histogram work quite well to set exposure, I know this because light meter failed while on vacation-goes to Canon shop tomorrow.
Review 8 for EOS 30D
Nickname: happyhappy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

first dslr

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: built in flash
Have had this camera for a couple of years now. Was very easy to learn and the quality is wonderful. After reading reviews for the 40 and 50ds I'm glad I bought my 30d instead.
I don't like the built in flash. It creates a shadow at the bottom of my images, but I don't use it anyway.
It's heavy but I feel like the weight helps keep the camera steady.
My eyes are bad and I have trouble focusing but the camera makes up for my faults even when I use manual focus.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 30D
Nickname: nix
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Color and Flash ability

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Canon is a superior product.
Some of the best color I'ved seen in a digital camera.
Review 10 for EOS 30D
Nickname: ACQU PHOTO
Location: Belleville, Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

a good transitional camera towards prof. level

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Heavy/Bulky
This camera is an excellent camera for those who want to begin the transition towards professional photography.
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 30D
Nickname: MSP
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great second body

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I purchased this camera over 2 years ago to become my main camera and shift my 20D to a second body so that I had 2 lenses mounted at once. The 30D has performed wonderfully and is now my second camera body replaced only by my 1D Mark III. I usually shoot a 10-22 on this body and have never had any complaints about it. Great camera and easy to use.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 30D
Nickname: creative photography
Location: ne pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

solid camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, good battery life, heavy is not a bad thing( feels solid)
solid camera, great photos,I've had photos enlarged to 24"x36" on canvas with great results.
I use the camera for floral, macro,and have had no problems.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Ray
Location: Fort Sill, OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life
Excellent camera. Fast, very good image quality. It has excellent battery life, especially with a grip adaptor added and dual batteries. Controls are simple to use and the menu is easy to follow. Very well built.
Cons: Would like to be able to better control the built-in flash. Kind of heavy.
Overall I would definitely recommend this camera to others. The camera is kind of heavy but this makes it easier for me to stabilize.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 30D
Nickname: hobo
Location: New York,Ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

pretty good camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: not vista compatible
the 30d is a pretty good investment assuming you dont need it for remote capture on Windows Vista.(no driver). !!
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 30D
Nickname: MoKil
Location: Boylston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love my EOS 30D!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life, controls can be as simple or complicated as needed
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
You get what you pay for in this camera! Battery life is very good, image quality is excellent, versatile - settings can be easy or complex, depending on your individual needs.
Have previously owned a Canon AE1 film SLR which still works great! Have owned the digital 30D for about 2 years now and it does not disappoint!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Salem, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Just holding the camera gives a solid feel. It is well balanced, meters are accurate, and easy to use in manual as well as programed modes. Depth of field control is very good. Highly recommend.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 30D
Nickname: P Money
Location: Muncie, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
Excellent camera. Great build quality, and with the ISO expansion it is usable in 99.9% of all situations with the right glass. Only complaint is that I think that Canon should have included the self cleaning sensor, but nothing that a blower can't take care of.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Dave
Location: South Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, quiet, Quick Start-up time, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Difficult to use, Heavy/Bulky
All the features of my film SLR in a digital format. Just beware of some of the cheaper lenses tha are packaged with it. If you are slurging for the body - splurge for a great lense.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 30D
Nickname: Squid
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is the best camera I have ever owned! I use it in a professional capacity, and it performs great! My customers have been very happy with the results. The color and clarity you get are outstanding. It is easy to use and has great options. I recommend to anyone who is serious about getting great pictures! Has a GREAT Battery life!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 30D
Nickname: stickmann
Location: Syracuse, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, portable, good battery life
I've had this camera for almost a year and have been more than satisfied w/the picture quality, ease of use and overall design of the camera. I've had a Canon EOS Elan 2E 35mm for many years and the buttons on the 30D are almost identically placed as it's 35mm predecessor. I'm now looking at the 5D Mk 2, but I will always keep my trusty and trusted 30D!!!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site