Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A540

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A540

Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A540
Review 1 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: trickydick69
Location: STL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible Battery Life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: durable
Cons: Dim LCD, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
We have owned this camera for about 3 years now and the battery life is absolutely horrible. It uses up the batteries even when it is turned off!!! We have 2500mAh rechargeable NiMH batteries and they don't last. The camera will do the job "IF" you have enough backup batteries on hand!
16 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: CindyOdo
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great overall camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I love this camera. I am not much of a photographer but I take beautiful pictures with this camera. It is easy to use. The only drawback is the really short battery life. I am not sure why some reviewers said it had good battery life, it does not at all. I got rechargeables as it was costing a lot of money and wasting batteries.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: PAPA
Location: Simi Valley, Ca.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
I use this camera for work. It is by far one of the best digital cameras I have ever used. I can not belive the quality of the pictures it takes. I am not a professional photographer. This is just a great little camera.
Buy it you won't be sorry.
PAPA
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: April
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

I love the settings

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance
I love this camera. The settings are great. I have found new and interesting ways to take pictures. I've been taking pictures for 20 + years . I am looking to get a new one only becouse I would like a better zoom. And I agree the camera does not do well in low light. I still plan to keep this one due to the great settings. The picture I take people are wowed by. I think this is a great camera for creative people. Also if you want your batteries to last then buy Litheum mine last a long time.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: FAE
Location: GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Its tough & PERfect...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
I purchased this camera around 5 years ago and from the day i bought it; it has taken some of the most CLEAR, crisp shots i have ever seen. I am totally bias because its only my 2nd camera ever. But either way ive dropped SOOOOOOOOOOOOO much and its has never failed me except for my own batteries. its tough and awesome plus PERFECT !
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: CC
Location: New York,NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: it doesn't have any extra features(ie. borders...)
I bought this product and its amazing. It takes really great pictures both far and near. All my pictures came out perfect, and the video quality is great. It wasn't that expensive when I bought it but it was worth the money
Review 7 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: rockkat
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I got this as a christmas present and aside from not being able to take low light images it's been a great camera. I can even get shots of my dogs! The downside is it eats batteries like they are free.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: awesomesocks
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good for the Average Photographer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
There are definitely some very good and very bad things about this camera. If you are the average person, it's a great fit. The quality of the photos is excellent and the camera is very easy to use! It's also quite durable.
The negatives would be that this camera is really only good in the daylight. In a darker environment, you can count on your pictures being blurry. The battery life is a bit shorter than I would like, but is still all right for every day use.
Overall I'd say it's a good camera, but only for basic photos. :)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Unbiased
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Nice in a pinch

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
The camera has a lot of features for a point-and-shoot.
Picture quality is excellent HOWEVER... The lens is really distorted. It's difficult to get a good picture without a tripod in all but the daylight without a flash. Otherwise, you either get noise, dimmer, or blur. The anti-glare correction is pretty nice if you use the flash, but if you use the lens adapter, you can forget about getting the flash on the subject.
What I am most disappointed with is the flimsy mass-production. My other camera is the same brand, but made in the home factory, not elsewhere, and that's a huge difference.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Snapshot
Location: Bellmawr, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Battery Life?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Dim LCD, Short battery life
Alright, I simply love this camera, except for the battery life. I don't understand. I just changed the battery and it says to change the batteries. Now I've had people say "are the batteries in right?" Duh, yes give me some credit. I clean the battery vault, I empty my memory card and it turns on, lasts one picture and shuts off. I have used all batteries suggested by Canon. I have gotten wonderful pics and been able to catch a video or two at the perfect time. The camera failed me in Disney, Hershey Park and now I am about to have another baby.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Care

Indistructo

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This is by far the best camera I've ever had. Not only does it have really cool features but it has lasted through being left out in the rain all night and dropped from a 25- to 30-foot high bridge. It's just a wonderful camera and you'll love it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: m

workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009
I was issued this camera for my job, I take, on average 200 pics a day with this camera, 5 days a week, and have done so for the past 3 years. I have dropped it innumerable times, I take pics with it in the rain, snow, freezing cold, 100f+ days, I leave it in my car on those 100+ days, and it is only just now starting to show some age, the eyelid sometimes sticks and the review switch has popped out. I bought a more expensive camera shortly before receiving this one and it collects dust in my office. The battery life is dependent on your batteries, buy good batteries and you get good life, I will go a full day of work on a fully charged set with my rechargeable batteries.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: SharkB8
Location: Treasure Coast, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Starter

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I just started taking pictures above and beyond the norm and love this camera! I have 2 small kids and this camera has survived a rough life span but continues to shine and take awesome pics! I am looking to upgrade but am torn because the camera still works great after more than 3 dedicated years and more than 5,000 pics!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Satisfied with A540
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Definitely not a let down

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
When i had this camera it went with me everywhere! It took AMAZING pictures; they were clear and detailed. I took it on a cruise and i fell in love with how far it can zoom. It is on the bulky side, but that's because it has so many features!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Nerdygrl
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Wish I would of bought it sooner!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I loved this camera and the only reason I don't have it is because it got stolen.I still miss it :'(
After my sister got the A520 I knew I had to get one,so after lots of research about other brands I finally decided on Cannon and the A540. Make sure you get a large memory card,you are gonna be taking tons of pics.
This was my first digital camera and what a camera it was.
I would buy a cannon again in a heartbeat,the only reason i didn't buy one after mine got stolen is because another company was offering a camera with the features i needed.
You wont regret a cannon!!!
Did i mention customer service was AWESOME!?
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Love it!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is THE BEST camera I've ever owned!!! I am a photographer and this camera does a great job!! Brovo!! You can even add macros onto it!! Very reliable camera. I've dropped it quite a few times and its still kick'n!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, lots of settings that most cameras dont have
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life, you have to be very careful with it cause the somt
This camera is very easy to use. but when you read the manual it becomes an even better camera. it has a setting where you can swith color or accenty a certain color and make all the rest black and white. there are so many options and things to play around with. it does have an increadibly short battery time. (i normally have to change my battiores every two days). i dropped my camera though (it wasnt a hard fall) but it is now unfixable and i have to get a new one, so you should be very very careful with it.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: SURFER DUDE!!!
Location: California, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

First and favorite camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This camera has been the best one I have so far. Its small, easy to use, takes great pictures, and it is very, very inexpensive. I have had this camera for more than 5 years and I just love it. I have took it with me everywere I go. I took it to Washington D.C in 2005 and it took such great photos. When I developed them my family thought that they were postcards. They were shocked when I told them that I took them. I would definetly recommend this to any one. Take my advice.
FANTASTIC CAMERA!!!!!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Picture taking Momma
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I take A LOT of pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable, on-line user manual
I am a picture taking momma. I am a blogging momma. I have carried this camera with me many, many, miles over the last 2 years and it has performed very well! I am on this site today to figure out a couple of random things that all have to do with the settings. The videos were only recording 60 seconds at a time, well, i just figured out how to correct the setting. Also, i couldn't remember how to use the timer. But, I didn't have to hunt for my owners manual. I simply googled the camera and found this site and have the answers!
I consider it a plus that you can use AA batteries. That's my biggest thing. Digital cameras go through non digital batteries quickly, but if you always keep a spare pair you are in good shape!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A540
Nickname: Biged
Location: Fort Wayne IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2008
Pros: ease of use, aa batteries, great photos
Cons: slow flash recycle times
This camera was an upgrade from an A40 and I just love it. It fits in my coat pocket in a small case with spare batteries and a spare memory card. I don't know if it's the gratest camera ever but is is the greatest one I have with me most of the time.
I just bought an A590 for the image stablization but this one is still just great. I have several photos that would have been impossible without the manual controls.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site