Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD630

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD630

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD630
Review 1 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: MG
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Very Good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2010
Great camera, the only thing I do not like is the display, it shows too much pixels and you are not sure if it has a good quality picture or not. When seen on the computer the quality is awesome!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: KodaChrome
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

It Is Truly one of the Best Buys I Have Done

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010
Pros: compact, great view finder size
I love this camera because it's so little that you can stash it in your purse or pocket and it being lite enough that you don't mind. I love my little camera, I would recommend this camera to everyone who likes to have a camera with them at all times just so you won't miss that perfect shot.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: Mega tron
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love my camera!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this digital camera because it's the best. The thin, compact design with the huge LCD screen on the back make this camera a MUST HAVE! All the pictures turn out precise and the video is top notch. A good camera that is reliable means a lot to a consumer. Other cameras lost appeal, but this one stands the test of time. Worth every penny!!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: Angelqq
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I couldn't ask more from this camera! It's easy to use and my pictures area perfect. It has cool stuff that you CAN use, but if you just want to use the auto settings they're awesome too. LOVE THIS CAMERA! I've had it for about 2 years now with no problems.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: nolagirl70118
Location: DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

was great, but now!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
Workked great for a long time, but from one day to the next all outdoor pictures or pitures with lights in them are all white, no definition. Have not been able to get any help. Same as other reviewer, video colors are fine, just not the pictures. Have tried all settings to no avail
Review 6 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: gjo
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

My photographs are all white

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2010
My Canon SD630 use to give great photographs, but something changed. All my outdoor photographs and indoor photographs with a light background come out - all white, with little to no image. My video is perfect. My photographs are the problem, but I can't find any support to get my camera back to the way it was when it was new. I just want simple photos. Point and shoot. Who can help? These "help" websites are useless.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: Duran Duran
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

1st Digital & Love It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
My boyfriend got this camera for me a little over 3 years ago and it is still in the best working condition when he got it for me. I can't imagine getting another camera because this one is so easy to use! I love all of the different settings you can use to change your pictures or take pictures according to conditions. This is my first digital camera I ever got and I don't know if I would want to get another one. When I do, it will definitely be a Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: nuisance
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

LOVE IT!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Have had the camera for 2 years and love everything about it. Easy to use takes great pictures. I am always taking picutes and seldom have a bad one. I would buy this camera again.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: saphira2021
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
best compact camera ever. can't beat the 3" screen. battery lasts forever. camera weights nothing. i carry it in my purse every day and can use whenever i want. better yet, the charger is so small. it is a pleasure to have. pictures are great, the best camera ever!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: andre
Location: D.C.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Works great still after 2 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
What really made the difference for me is the larger 3 inch screen on this camera. I tried others knowing I may need to replace this one someday but I haven't found any that appeal to me or that match this one. The buttons are smaller in the back but there are only 4 and a toggle menu circle. My big hands love this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: Sparky
Location: Detroit Mi
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2008
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: no defaults
This camera is sturdy and easy to use. Has two video settings that enable 15 min to 45 min of recording with a 2 gig card. Alot of settings and high iso make this camera the best I have owned. Pictures are sharp and u will not regret buying this model. Has a cool charger that is smaller than cmaera. Has a widescreen lcd which is sharp and the size of cig. pack...awesome!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: cjlucas
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great for the most part

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This is an overall great camera, has more features/settign than any other camera out there, that is why it has been discontinued and still sells for more than the new cameras with higher resolution. One of the few cameras with a underwater feature as well, I love the option where you can make everything black/white except one color as well. I take this camera everywhere and it can take a beating and keep working perfectly. We actually own two of these camera (wife and I), that way we don't fight over who gets to carry it, lol.
The only thing bad about the camera that I have found is that in low light the images are a little grainy or the flash does not work for anything past 10 feet or so.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: vietchick

Wow

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: nothing
it is a really good camera, I was one of the first people who own this thing. It is very easy to use. I fell in love with it. the LCD is bright and true to color. The only thing that bad about this is red eyes, if you use flash at night then you can't control the red eyes from the camera, but it does have reduce red eyes mode, which is a seperate mode. I dropped it twice on concete and nothing happen to it, still work great. love it.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: smedley
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2008
Pros: takes great photos
Well - built, reliable and handy. Easy to understand and apply controls. Perfect size, goes with me anywhere. Clear display and great photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD630
Nickname: sexycriola
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

cannon sd630

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2008
i go tthe camerafrommy brother it has 17 settings a selftimer with up to 10 pictures good durability!!It takes great photos at night and they come out crispy clear!!Notto mention the video on the 8.0 mp are even better!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Canon:By EPIMNovember 3, 2008
OK per MD
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site