Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S3 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S3 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
39 out of 45(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S3 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: On The Bay!
Location: North East Wisconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011
Pros: 12 x zoom....super for distance and bird photos..., works well in low light situations, loads of settings movies are great;, close ups indoors outdoors flash; all very good, very sturdy....
Cons: the lens cap!! awful..., weight....
Have used this camera for 4 years; just sent it for repair~ was time, the lens finally 'froze'. I am sure it is pretty dirty.
I have never "babied" this camera, used it almost daily; it has been a true 'work horse'. It continues to take terrific pictures under multiple situations and settings. It is a bit larger then the pocket point and shoot cameras, and a little heavy, but the pictures are WOW and worth it.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: dengels
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

verry good camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2010
Pros: great pics
Cons: bulky
I bought this camera in 2006 for a trip to Hawaii. Use the auto and close up features. I have some very beautiful pics of the state and alot of flowers. It is a little bulky but I love it and it was worth buying.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: rock
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2010
Pros: all good for a point and shoot
Cons: night
great camera have had it for 3 years now and have taken it on lots of trips never let me down battery life is great as long as you use good batterys night time is when you have to work with it other no problrms looking to buy a new canon soon
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Iogen
Location: Stroudsburg, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value for the Money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2010
Pros: excellent daylight qualities, nice manual modes, up to 800 iso, image stabilization works, has lasted me 5 years
Cons: grainy images in low light, highest resolution only 180 dpi, focus is less accurate in low light
I purchased my S3 IS when it first came out. It's been a trusty companion whenever I want to get a few shots in. I have even used it semi-professionally for some product shots. The S3 works very well in AE mode and even better when I use the manual settings. I prefer to stay away from the scene presets as I do a fair amount of retouching. The macro and super macro modes are excellent although the lens glass is clearly not up to the task of catching super macro details without some distortion and noise.
The S3 IS absolutely shines when using it outdoors or in moderate to bright lighting situations, but unfortunately suffers from lackluster low-light performance. In low light, photos are often out of focus and the presence of picture noise is almost unbearable. The other downside of the S3 is the image dpi. On Canon's Super Fine mode (highest quality) images are taken at 180dpi rather than at 300dpi. Although the images look good when printed, don't expect to use the images for any detailed print work.
Overall the S3 IS is a great little performer for taking snap shots or working with the manual controls to eek out some creativity. For point and shoot purposes its a WIN, but it certainly cannot compete with a DSLR of any kind. For the age of my particular S3 and all the travels I've taken it on, I'd be hard pressed to even think of buying a new point and shoot.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Alice
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS CAMERA

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2010
I've used this camera about 2x since owning it. After the first use I have to send it for repair because the lens wouldn't close. Now, I just took it out of the case to take a quick picture, and wouldn't you know it. The camera doesn't work. I put new batteries, check the memory card. The camera won't even turn on. Wait, I take that back. It went on for a half a second and the lens was stuck in the open position. I eventually got it to close, but now the camera is not even responding. I take extremely good care of my camera. I still even have my first digital camera that's been knocked around and still works. The only thing I could say is that this camera is a waste of $$$, and worthless.
6 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2010
It's been a rock solid for me since 2007. It's easy to use but still allows for a high level of manual control
Review 7 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Jerry of San Fran
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Trusted Friend

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use, flip-up flash
Cons: Dim LCD
I got this camera as a gift when my buddy upgraded to the Canon 4S. I've had it for about 3 years and have traveled with it many times and taken thousands of pictures. I have found this camera to be easy to us. I particularly like the flash - I flip it up when I want to use it and flip down when not needed. My brother always comments on how great the photo quality is. My experience with battery life has been very good - they last about one week for about 700 photos (I do not use the LCD viewer which conserves power and I can seldom see the images in bright light).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Doug
Location: Richmond, Va
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good Camera for Everyday Uses

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, bad autofocus
I got this camera 3 years ago for christmas. The price was steep when i got it, but well worth it. at the time it had a lot of megapixels for a point and shoot and it had REALLY GOOD ZOOM, it still does.
Throough its lifetime I have taken this camera up mountains, down rivers, to the beach, and many more places. I Have filmed countless videos which have great quality. and taken thousands of photos that people are amazed by.
This Camera is built like a tank. Even though it is made of plastic I have dropped it a TON, and it still works great.
The only reason i don't like this camera is I would like a Few more megapixels, I want faster shutter speed, and i want a better focusing and night shots. basically this was the top of the line point and shoot when i got it, but now it is pretty lowly, so i am going to probly upgrade to a T2i or similar Digital SLR.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: curbmaster
Location: Mt Olive, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Product Travels Well

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
I purchased my PS S3 IS in May 2006 with the intent of taking it on a cross country motorcycle trip. The camera traveled more than 5,000 miles in a tour pack and was used to take great pictures across the western states - more than 1,500 photos. Battery life was great. I use rechargeables and carry two extra sets and recharged at the end of each day. Used a 2 GB card but now upgrading to take advantage of the camera's video feature. This camera is with me anytime I travel and I love the ease of use and quality of the pictures across any light situations - read the manual, it answers your questions... Only knock is the LCD on this version is difficult to use in bright sun..
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: winngrip
Location: Lake Oswego, Or
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I bought this camera when it came out about 3 years ago. It replaced my S1IS, which is a good camera. I have taken many wonderful, published photo's. I have also owned an S2IS. The camera is easy to use and the controls make sense. I especially like the long optical lens. With the optional doubler, a mis-nomern it really reaches out there. It's easy to carry and I have never had any problems with it. 4 AA batteries last long enough even when you use the flash or the zoom. The only feature that I would like is some way to lock the manual focus on. The video feature works very well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: mom of 4treasures
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

camera quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
We have had this camera since 2007 (now early 2010). We have had to send it back once for the flash and again it needs more work as the lens apparatus will no longer go in and out (almost seems stuck) . Battery Life has also been a problem whether rechargeable or disposable they have not lasted long.
Overall, very happy with the camera. the pics have been good. but, since we have already spent so much to have it repaired once, not sure if we are having it repaired again or going with a newer model that will cost just about the same as the repair estimate.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Can
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Bought It From a Friend

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: shutter lag
I absolutely love this camera! I had the language problem as well but my friend fixed it. The only thing I don't like is the shutter lag. I was actually trying to buy the rebel but no one had it for cheap so I got this one instead and I am completely satisfied.
Review 13 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: George
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Product replacement: Yes

Worst digital camera I've ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Cons: Poor image quality
Picture quality with this camera is the worst I have ever seen. I bought a DSLR not long after I bought this camera and I've learned advanced photograhy techniques which have allowed me to have composed some very nice photos in the last 1-1/2 years. I dug out this camera today in the hopes that my novice abilities when i purchased this camera 2 years ago were what contributed to its poor photo qualities. After working with it for several hours I've come to the conclusion that either this specific camera is defective or that this model is overall still the worst camera I've ever owned.
The auto focus does not work very well making it hard to focus in a timely manner which causes me to miss a lot of photo opportunities. Regardless of my efforts to try different settings the pictures appear very grainy.
My recommendation would be to buy a DSLR and learn about aperture, shutter speed, and ISO. Using different lenses with different capabilities make a world of difference in photo opportunities and quality of pictures.
If you are looking for a compact digital camera then my recommendation is to keep shopping.
5 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: lambchops
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

love the camera except for 1 problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings
Cons: Difficult to use, language problem
the only problem with this camera is that its written in japanese and can;t figure out how to get back to english language someone please help
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Hanky
Location: Reno
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: shutter lag
I bought this camera 3 years ago and made thousands of pictures and video clips ! I purchased immedeately an adapter that can hold filters to protect the lens . I have taken some great photo's with this little camera . The lens is of great quality ! You have to be able to spend time an tinker with the settings . With some patience you're able to make wonderful photo's . The shutter lag is the only thing that is open for improvement but other than that....the best camera I ever owned .
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: camera geek
Location: Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Loved it

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
I've had this camera for a couple of years. I'm not a professional photographer but have been able to capture some wonderful shots with this camera. I've had many people tell me that they want my camera. My biggest complaint however is that after having it for aprox. 2 years. I've had to send it back to get fixed once and in less that a year later, it needs work again. I must have received one of the bad apples of the bunch. I'm not sure what is wrong with the camera now. Seems like every time I try to take a pict. The image turns dark. As for taking pictures at night or indoors. It has not worked well. I don't like to use the flash because the picts. always show the "flash" Like I said. I'm not a professional and the lighting problem may be my lack of knowledge on how to use the camera. But.... I've been able to take hundreds of nice picts. before. So this time, I think it's the camera again!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Judy G
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding Camera & Great zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, excellent zoom capabilities
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, lens cap keeps coming off, wish i could add a uv filter to protect the lens, would like to be able to add polarizer filter, should have a bulb setting for extended exposures
This is an excellent camera. I have used mine for about 2 years. I love the zoom feature and and the picture quality. This camera has great low light capabiities. I enjoy taking most of my pictures using existing light conditions and this camera has been great for this type of work. I have known many photographers that have expensive SLR models which require changing lenses for telephoto or macro work. It is nice not to have to carry around 10 pounds of lenses to get the same results as this camera. Great value for the money.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Cheese
Location: Medway Ma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE THIS CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had this product for a few years now, the picture quality is EXCELLENT!!!! I get compliments all the time on the quality of my pictures and i owe it all to this camera! The battery life is amazing!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Boo Boo
Location: Athens, Ga
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have had this camera for over 2 years - have had no problems with it - some reviews have poor battery life - I use rechargeables and have no issues at all. Took the camera overseas for 3 weeks took about 4000 images and changed the batteries out once.
It is easy to use and the images are great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot S3 IS
Nickname: Lady Hazel eyes
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

amazing quality pictures!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
This has a ton of great features and is easy to transfer your images to your computer!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site