Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP6700D

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP6700D

Average Customer Rating:
3.792 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 out of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP6700D
Review 1 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Daddy B
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good Quality Printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2010
Pros: quality printing
Have had this printer for a number of years. It prints photos very clear and bright. In making cards, with printing on both sides, I love it when it turns the paper automatically.
Canon printers are the best. I am now thinking of getting another Canon Pixma printer for my other computer. I like the individual ink tanks, so when you run out of one color you just have to replace one and not waste the other colors as with a multi tank.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Hazzard
Location: Il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

quality prints back paper feed needs more durabili

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: ink cartridge exspensive
For everyone complaining about high ink usuage and speed. go into properties -Print quality- fast. The default settings seem to be almost for photo quality since fast prints good and also fast!
Review 3 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Al
Location: VENICE FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Will not recognize ink (will not print)

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2010
Cons: will not print
I first started with it and it operated OK. Then after about the third time it said that I had two kinds of ink C. Which I did NOT.
So I bought another INK tank of C. Installed it and it did not work. Now it and the PC tank are not recognized. Will somebody (preferably customer care). I have even cleaned the contacts with alcohol. Those tanks are expensive and I am not able to print. PLEASE HELP ME.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: counselor
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Lasted longer than some

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, booklet printing, two paper trays
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, paper jams in main tray
I've had this printer 34 months, and until recently have not had a malfunction of any sort. Now I am experiencing paper jams from the main feed tray, and I am going to have to replace/repair the printer.
This printer is unique in that you can do booklet printing; very few that I have looked at can do this ( at this price level).
Printing has always been slow; seems that the printer hs to reboot itself before every print job. Con: uses six ink tanks, and uses all color just for B&W, so whether you print photos or not, you use a lot of colored ink. If one tank runs dry, THE PRINTER IS DISABLED.
I have printed some photos with this printer, and for the most part, they have been excellent, though not always looking the same as on the PC monitor. Print quality on Standard is below average.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: CJ
Location: Atlanta GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Photo Printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Best color photo printing I've seen in all the printers I have owned(at least 20 by now)!
Only 2 downsides to this printer -
1. Very slow B&W print speed - get a cheap one for that- reserve this printer for your photos!
2. I wish there was a way to refill the cartridges! All we need is the ink ! With 6 cartridges, it get's pretty expensive to keep them up and running.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: jonny
Location: los angeles ca,
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

3 years & going

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors
all this time I move my printer one or two times from my desk I keep it claen at all times clean all it parts by the instructions work's great my fam, love my photos
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: waste
Location: westminster, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

do not bother

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I bought this printer a couple of years ago. It worked great the first year I used it. After that, it would not print. Every time I try to print something the paper jams from both paper trays. Every kind of paper jams. The gloss for pictures and regular paper. I spent a lot of money on this printer. Now I regret it. Do not waste your money unless you buy new printers every year.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Tim

Worked Great Until I Purchased A Canon Laser Print

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I have had this printer for over one year now and have been quite satisfied. Unfortunately, since purchasing a Canon MP 4350d laser printer, it is not recognized by my computer. I need to disconnect the laser printer and reboot the computer in order to print with the ip6700d. Quite frustrating. I guess this is more of an issue with the newer Canon laser printer.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Brian
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Garbage - avoid at all costs

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2009
I paid way too much for this printer less than one year ago for it to not even feed paper. Whether 8x10, postcard or whatever. This thing jams and crumples paper. Absolute trash.
3 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Jade
Location: Naples, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Over 3 yrs and still LOVE it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, moderate print speed
Cons: moderate ink consumption, more print options for non-computer photo edits
Super easy printer to set up and use. I've had this printer over 3 years now and it works like the day I brought it home. We have heavy use between scrapbooking and sending out family photo updates, and it's the first printer to last this long and work so well! I was a novice when I started but have worked my way with time/experience. I wouldn't want to trade this one in unless they created additional features to this existing printer!! I wish there were a few more options for stand alone cropping (not using a computer to edit photo's first) sometimes I don't get exactly what I need. It's the only downfall I can find with this printer. We've never had the ink dry up or the printer jam on us, it's been so easy to use, my whole family loves it!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: BILLYBOB
Location: ARIZONA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

ALWAYS USE CANON THIS ONE IS GREAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
In my opinion, for the novice, you can't do better for the money.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

I was too excited

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, unreliable
I purchased this printer last year and did not open until it was to late to return it. Well, I needed a printer just for my pictures and I guess the printer would have fulfilled my needs if it was not for bad designing of the cartridges: they simply get stuck, especially black one and I have to reposition them a few times to get the printer work and than it gets stuck again. It is so annoying that even the best quality pictures will not make up for this problem.
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Tony
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Never Ceases to Amaze Me

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
This is the best photo printer I've ever owned. The color rendition and image sharpness are excellent. I've never had a printer that printed such high quality prints so consistently. What really amazes me about this printer is what it does for the price I paid for it. I think the Canon inks are excellent and I have not experienced any of the jamming or misfeed problems I've experienced with other printers I've owned. I bought this printer after reading a review of it in MacWorld, and have been happy about my decision since. Until somebody can prove otherwise, Canon is my first choice from now on.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: awillow1
Location: Northern VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Fantastic, mostly

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable
Cons: High Ink Consumption, ink saturates page, color photos fade over time, auto edits & adjusts image color and exposure
I usually stick with Canon products if at all possible - however this printer, as much as I enjoy it, is quite frustrating.
Con: #1) Uses way too much ink. I feel like I'm always buying ink or swapping out empty cartridges.
Con: #2) Getting it to print without the printer "auto editing" the image. GRRRR. Skin tones and clothing always turn out over exposed and color is terribly off.
Con: #3) The color (ink) in photographs fade even when using high end photo paper to help protect from fading. )O:
Pro: #1) Ink dries fast on photo paper
Pro: #2) Great little printer for anyone getting started - graphs and clip art like images turn out great
Pro #3) Nature shots look great!
I would not recommend to a friend - too much tweaking.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: StoneyB
Location: Chicago,Il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Magenta Nightmare

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: durable, fast print speed, reliable
Cons: too much magenta use, will not print 8x10 without computer, to much photo enhancement on images
I am a loyal fan of Canon products. I own the 40d & 5d cameras. I purchased the 6700d because it gave me the ability to print pictures without a computer. I discovered a problem with color on my photos. I get to much Magenta in the flesh tones, I tried to adjust it but it still did not give me the finish I hoped for. I also found that the printer cannot print 8 X 10 prints without a computer. Is this strange or what? I was once told by a canon Rep. that Canon creates these printers to make images stand out more than the average printers and images are really enhance by their technique to change the color scheme. I may have to do more research on Canon's higher quality printers, compare them to lab prints,so I can get a clear understanding before I write Canon off. Stay tuned for my next adventure. Stony B
Review 16 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Pinlander
Location: Pine Island, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer I have had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I love this printer and been using it for a few years now. Never had any problems with it. It was recommended to me by a company in Texas that I buy my greeting card stock from and the quality is excellent. I print landscape scenes from my area that I use on the greeting cards for personal use and sell also.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: dissapointed
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

canon pixma iP6700D

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors
I bought this because it was rated high on consumer reports. It worked well until I need to replace ink cartridges. Now all I get is an error saying more that one of the same color ink is installed, and this isn't correct. The ink is exactly where and what should be. After reading reviews, I see this is a common problem for this printer. It is new and not even used that much.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: jazzlvr007
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

TWO THUMBS UP!! (LITERALLY)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
As an ameteur photographer, I chose to start out with the 6700D as my first photo printer.. This is an outstanding machine. I use the printer straight to the camera, and I get outstanding results. I now own two, and I am loking for a third. The ink comsumption is suprisingly low ( when set for basic print) The editing features may be somewhat limited, but I still get lab quality prints that my customers and I are satisfied with comepletely.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: unreliable, unresolved errors
I have owned Canon printers and I use a Canon 30D as well as other smaller Canon cameras. This printer prints excellent pictures , when it prints. I have had trouble with a U70 error telling me that I have more than one of a specific ink cartridge, basically since I purchased the printer a few years ago. Canon sent me new cartridges once and since then I keep replacing the cartridges to correct the error but that gets expensive.
I am asking for help again but I am beginning to lose faith in the printer and may need to replace it soon.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP6700D
Nickname: bill
Location: Phila, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Page eject

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008
Pros: fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
On a USB connection, there is a problem with other USB devices on the same controller. When printing a large picture, the printer stops mid-page and ejects the paper, then resumes on the next page. Not good if you'rs using expensive photo paper. Canon's solution: Disconnect all other USB devices and restart the computer. It works but it's not very convenient. As I write this (Dec '08)I I'm on the site hoping for a better driver - no luck right now.
OTHER THAN THIS, THE PRINTER IS FANTASTIC.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site