Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP460

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP460

Think of it: With one machine, you can print beautiful, long-lasting photos and laser-quality text. Copy important documents with results that are more faithful to your originals. And scan photos or forms, even thick notebooks. The 1.9" color LCD display lets you enhance images before you print for better pictures. Plus, you can print from your computer, or direct from memory cards 1 , cameras, Bluetooth devices 2 , even camera phones!
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP460
Review 1 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: pazmayim
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

a eulogy to my MP (460)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010
I began the new year 2007 with this printer/scanner/copier and it has been a faithful help to me for almost 4 full years! It still works great, but just started having a problem with consistent paper jams and snagging the paper so it doesn't go in straight and instead ends up with heavy ink stains. I am so going to miss my Canon printer!
The scanner was my favorite component of this multifaceted usb peripheral printer. A friend of mine had her house destroyed in the Nashville flood this past May 1, 2010 and I saved her poetry by pulling her handwritten pages from their plastic protectors and drying them at my place then scanning the legible ones into my computer. I printed them out, and made her a new portfolio, saving over just less than 100 great poetic pages! This scanner could make quality documents! The copy feature was also excellent and I've been doing photography editing for 20 years and am hoping I can find another Canon with the same level of quality to replace a well-made unit that gave me a LOT more than normal use!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: Jenn

Complete Disappointment!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
This is the biggest piece of unbelievable junk I have ever had the displeasure of working with. It's too bad I'm on the first floor because the demolition of this "printer" won't be nearly as entertaining when I throw it out of the window as it would be if I were on a higher floor! Do not buy this mess!!!!! If, however, you are one who enjoys complete and utter aggravation, then, by all means, get this so-called printer.
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: Sacks
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Its just OK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2009
Pros: its not bad
Cons: Flimsy Construction, High Ink Consumption
Takes a while to warm up. Prints ok, runs out of ink fairly frequently.
I now cannot scan since upgrading my OS to Snow Leopard. And yes I have the most recent driver.
Solid performance other than that.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: SUNSHINE
Location: MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

BEST FOR TEACHERS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST PRINTER, SCANNER, AND COPY Mp460 I HAVE OWNED. I REALLY LIKE THE BEING ABLE TO COPY AND SAVE MY PICTURES TO MY PC.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: Opinionator
Location: West Jordan, Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Ink Never runs out!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: hard to use 2 canon mp printers
I have never written an opinion of a product before, but could not let the inaccuracy stand. While it is true that the warning to replace the ink cartridge comes on somewhat soon, I have been running on empty, both cartridges, for over 3 months now and it is still printing! I was just looking for ink when I found the reviews. This was very inexpensive, it scans multiple pics at once and separates them, it has software that makes even poor quality pics look great and is extremely User Friendly for the novice. Highly Recommend this unit. Only problem I have had was my PC not sustaining the Scan functions settings - but it is 98se. :-) Oh-and you can't use two Canon Multipass Printers-they say-at the same time(I managed to make it work:)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: SUZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Good Printer, breaks easily

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: breaks easily
Easy to use, but broke when I went to change the ink cartridge.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: pol2902
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
Very nice printer. Printed many different kinds of papers and many photos since I am a photographer have never experienced a bad picture. Easy to use and can run on color cartige if black runs out. I like all of the features.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: MP460fan
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: long warm-up
The MP460 has everthing I need. It produces great prints in color and B/W. It can scan as a jpg or pdf file. Makes the sharpest copies of any copier I have every owned. The built-in card reader and direct print has also been very useful. I wasn't thrilled with the amount of ink I was going through, but then I lowered the setting to FAST. Great quality for everyday print and uses a fraction of the ink. My only complaint (sort of) is that it does have a longer warm-up time than I expected, but if I turn it on when I start working, it's all ready by the time I need to print. I would definitely recommend this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: grammy
Location: Idaho
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2009
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, lose the use of ink when one runs out
Have had this item for a couple of years, enjoy using it but not the fact that I have to change both cartridges when one runs out, is a waste for the cost of them.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: jasptr
Location: Louisville, Ky
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008
After turning on it takes a lot of time before printing commences. It cycles through a lot of back and forth gyrations before getting the print job started.
It does not copy a full 8-inch by 11-inch paper. It leaves almost a half inch off all sides which can be detrimental if your original has printing or a design or a picture from edge to edge.
If you print almost exclusively in black and your color cartridge runs out of ink or dries up from infrequent use you must immediately buy another color cartridge because the printer won't let you print in black with an empty or absent color cartridge.
Overall. for the price paid, am not impressed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: dexnavigator
Location: St. Louis, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Works great, been in use for years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
My daughters received this printer/scanner/copier from us as a Christmas gift two (? time flies?) years ago and it has performed flawlessly under periodic use (few times a week). Scan only offers jpeg, I wish there was a way to create pdf files (if there is then we have not figured it out). Pictures printed look great, although we do not use this as our primary machine for archival photos. Text is crisp and copies are of a average/high quality. For the price, it cannot be beat and it is a great all around productivity tool for the home. It is a flatbed scanner, so allow that the footprint is larger than a sheet of 8.5x11 paper.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: Mike
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Home Multi-Function

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: maybe too fast shakes table in high speed mode.
I wanted an in-jet multi-function with a large ink capacity. This one fits the bill very well. It is fast, scans well, copies well, kids and spouse have no problems using it and does very nice color pics. Color pics are better than dedicated photo quality printer are work. I got printer after buying a 160 that had a broken paper tray. Canon sent 460 as replacement. Go Canon warranty service.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: Angry
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction, Difficult Setup, Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors, breaks
This printer was the worst i've ever bought. It was so unreliable that it would break after 5 uses. It is also enormous and paper jams easily. I want to burn this thing.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP460
Nickname: shaggy
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

its the best printer I have ever bought

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
This is one of the best printers I have ever bought, and its very reliable.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site