Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP530

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP530

Average Customer Rating:
3.463 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
13
45 out of 80(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP530
Review 1 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: Bob
Location: suburban Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

works for me

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011
Pros: nice photo quality, easy set up, reliable, good quality scans
Cons: takes a while to get going, paper tray a little small
Great bang for the buck. Not too bad on ink. Really nice photo quality & B&W print quality more than satisfactory for resumes, etc. Scans are clear & detailed. OCR for scanning documents works well. I have not used the fax feature. Things I'd change, takes a while to get going (ink cartridges cycle back & forth several times, paper feeds then spits back, then feeds again, then....) Probably seems longer than it really is. Also, input tray could be larger. Not a big deal but it would be nice. This is our 3rd or 4th Canon printer and they have all performed well. I hand them down to get newer technology, I have never had one break or fail on me. I have had the printer being reviewed for 3+ years.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: H. v. BORCKE
Location: Greater L.A.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Absolute satisfaction.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010
Pros: ease of use, quality, quality/cost ratio
Cons: scanning features a bit limited, ink usage and inkometer accuracy
Have used product for over 2 years now and could not be happier. Although we were warned during the research phase not to purchase a multifunction machine, we are glad we did. Functioned great most of the time and the few times it did not, we had not taken the time to carefully read the manual. (on screen tool is most helpful). Recently moved over 700 miles without elaborate packing and transporting efforts; unit worked next day upon arrival. Am in the process of switching from Windows XP to Windows 7 and am impressed by the ease to find the the required drivers and utilities and their installation! To me worth every penny I spent on buying it. Wished to have made more such brilliant IT purchase decisions.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: Fuzzynurse
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Flies through ink

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010
Overall, this printer is great. Prints clearly and reasonably quickly and scans quickly as well. For a home use combo it's pretty good for the price. But it uses tons of colored ink. We print almost entirely in black and white/grayscale, but we have still had to replace the colored inks about once a year. The manual says that it uses a little bit of each color during the cleaning process, although WHY it needs to clean something we don't want to use is beyond me. I would recommend it only if you need to print color a lot. Otherwise, I'd suggest looking elswhere.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: tommmeee
Location: Anaheim CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

A few problems, but OK

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010
Pros: dependable, useful, works great
Cons: ink used too fast, no paper guide on left, print @ angle until i fixed, duplex printing doesn't work
We have owned this product for three years and have only used it as a fax and copier. I am getting ready to set it up as a printer / scaner soon, so cannot write about those yet.
COPIER:
As a copier it is AWESOME. It copies things a little light but this can be adjusted to be 98% correct. My wife is a teacher and we used it for thousands of copies. The only problem is that I had to add a guide to the left side of the paper supply to keep the paper straight. It always kicked the copy paper to an angle. Once I added the (left) guide it worked perfectly. Why one is not there is a mystery to me.
FAX:
It works fine as a fax, it is fast and sends a page in about 20 seconds. HOWEVER, as another wrote, it does not leave a good message when the fax is complete. My biggest problem??? Once I hit send the machine will not stop. If I dialed the number wrong or they are using the phone as a voice line, IT CANNOT BE TURNED OFF. It religiously resends every minute or two. Even if I unplug it and then turn it back on it continues to attempt to send the fax. NO BUTTON WILL STOP IT. Cancel does not work for this function.
INK USE:
Yes, it uses ink faster and will not work when the ink is almost empty. It has electrical connectors that will not let it go below a certain point. I can then put the ink cartridge in my i860 and get many more pages. Yes, it will work in my older machine.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: vibee
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

I miss the one this replaced

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010
I had a previous generation of Cannon's four in one for many years. It was much easier to use than this one and performed better.
- this one forces you to change the ink as soon as it gets low by making your faxes go into memory instead of printing
- there is no alarm or noticeable notice when a fax goes into memory, so you don't know you missed a fax
-the menu process of finding a fax that went into memory is EXTREMELY difficult to use and you often end up wasting tons of paper and ink trying to find it, if you even know it;s there
-the ink cartridge has slightly less ink than the previous
-there used to be an excellent "draft" mode that let you stretch your ink further. This one's draft mode is inferior
- Single checks used to go straight through. On this one they ALWAYS come thru very crooked so you have to tape it to a piece of paper in order to print it straight.
-if you cancel a fax, or you know that a fax you are sending didn't succeed, you can't stop it from wasting paper and ink by printing a notice.
-the old version had a window that popped up on my computer screen to show that a fax was successfully sent. With this one, you have to jump up and look at the little LED screen on the machine and catch the FAX SENT notice before it goes away.
There are probably other annoyances, but that's enough for now.
I bought it because my older one was absolutely great.
I really regret buying this model and I can't wait until it wears out.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: thorsty
Location: Concord, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

best printer I've owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Unquestionably, the Canon MP530 is the best printer I've owned. It has performed flawlessly in all capacities: faxing, copying, and printing. It has produced the finest pictures I've ever printed on a home printer and has printed thousands and thousands of pages for me without paper jams or other problems. It's fairly ink-thirsty, so expect to replace cartridges occasionally, but the replacement and other operations are simple. I've had mine for over two years now and despite the load, there have been no problems. Highly recommended!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: digi girl
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I have had this printer for about 3 years & have loved it. I do a lot of digital projects & the printing on matte photo papers turns out wonderful. People are always impressed with the quality. I feel like the ink lasts quite a bit longer than with previous color printers that I've used. I would highly recommend this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: osteoace
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Paper never feeds properly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010
Cons: High Ink Consumption, faulty paper feeder
I have had this printer for 1.5 years and I have to say that I can count on one hand the number of times I've printed from it in that year and a half. The printer absolutely WILL NOT feed the paper correctly. Part of the problem is that the paper sits almost vertically, yet it only has one wheel to grab the paper and the one wheel is on one side, the right side. So inevitably, it tries to grab a sheet of paper and the page jams on the right corner. it would be nice if the feeder were situated in the middle of the tray, instead of the right side. What a horrible waste of time, money, paper, and SANITY.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: KS

Used to love it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2010
I *loved* this printer. But now, it leaves a very thick black streak on the back of each sheet, and in looking online, it looks like it is not fixable and the printer just needs to be replaced. I hate that.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: Ed_M
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Could be better

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010
Pros: duplex, fax
Cons: Slow Print Speed, reliability, color inkk used with grayscale printing
Printer does have duplex printing and faxing. The printer could be faster. When Print with Grayscale setting is selected, the prints are grayscale. The problem is that the color inks are used anyways. Why is any color used with this setting? The idea is to save color ink to keep costs down and so color ink will be available when needed. The printer died after about two years with fairly easy home use.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: stormycentral

Great performing Printer/Scanner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to download support drivers
I would highly recommend this printer to anyone. I use it for my business at home, as well as photo printing. The colors are sharp and blend well. I recently bought a computer with Win 7 and was able to update to a new driver very quickly on the Canon support website. Coodos to Canon and their well-built printer.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: Greathills
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Mr

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
Product has been good for 3 years, though ink cost is high.
Now looking for replacement as printer has developed an ink leak which causes a big black mark at the foot of the page
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: printerpro
Location: AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

excellent!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Excellent printer quality! Well worth the cost. I have used this printer for day to day printing as well as photography and it's amazing. It was so easy to set up and hasn't missed a beat since!
Thanks Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: master

Good printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
The printer was very good and printed everything very well.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: boweenagirl1
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Love this All-in-One

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
Love everything about this All-In-One. Has been very dependable over the years with my MacBook. Power connection cord comes out when moved even slightly. Low noise function is great. Self-cleaning process easy. Great scanning images. Great picture images. Makes great copies! After owning it for 5 years and using it quite a bit, I need to replace the print head. This is the only problem I've had with the printer.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: IRV
Location: new orleans, la
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

not the best printer i have owned

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
The printer has very high ink comsumption. A fax will not print if any of the ink cartridges is emitting a ink low signal. The upper feeder has a mechanical problem and two dark lines will appeaar vertically whenever i try to make a copy.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: SidVicious
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

good everyday machine for home use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
For the price, pretty reliable and versatile provided you use only letter size (or smaller) paper. A tad noisy, but definitely acceptable. Consumes quite a bit of ink. Very quite quality images.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: Ray
Location: Dallas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

get your ear plugs

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, loud gear grinding noise
Printer works pretty good most of the time. i have had this about 3 years. After the 2nd year it makes a horrible gear grinding noise while standby. still works though. it does love the ink, get out your wallet for that..
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: saccromyces
Location: DAnville, ky
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic home office printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have had this printer for a year now, and I find it to be fabulous in every way. Print speed is super fast, very easy on ink, photos look fantastic, text looks like a laser printer, easy setup. Only downside , it is a little on the heavy side, but I love it! BEst printer I have ever owned in 30 years of computing.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MP530
Nickname: jay
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It was good at one time

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
My MP530 is a couple of years old now. I really liked it initially. However, it developed a very loud grinding noise at the beginning and end printing every page. Sounds like it is slipping gears. It hasn't affected printing, or operation yet. But it is annoying and Cannon doesn't have a fix.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site