Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4300

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4300

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4300
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: Freaky
Location: Berwyn, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Awesome Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use, individual ink tanks
An awesome printer at a very economical price. Fast, great prints, and I love the fact it takes individual ink tanks. I use black alot for text printing, so having the large black tank is very nice. I usually go thru colors at different rates, so being able to only have to replace the tank that is out is a very economical GREEN approach. I have never had a problem with it. I baught this to replace an ALL-IN-ONE from another company I got at a big box store that stopped picking up paper after a month of use. I've been using the iP4300 now for over 2 years with absolutely no problem at all. I am considering getting a wide path Canon cause Canon seems to make a quality product compared to others. I hgihly recommend the iP4300. No, I dont work for Canon or have any skin in the game other than having a dependable printer that does a great job.
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: njkevin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2010
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Brilliant product ... I have owned my iP4300 for 3 years ... it might sit for months without use ... then I will stick in a sheet of photo paper, and out comes a perfect print first time. FANTASTIC! ... then I will print several prints at the same sitting, and this thing is pretty fast too (first print from cold start is slow, but quick thereafter).
I also like the duplex printing --- easy and effective.
Also, it closes up nice and neat, so the innards stay dust-free (and I can put stuff on top of it too) ... if I am printing from the cassette, I don't even have to open the top, just have to open the output tray.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: bellestyle
Location: St. Louis
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, fast print speed
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Hi, I am a small design house owner and I bought this printer when I got my Macbook pro and I just had to tell all of you, it is a GREAT printer. For my printing needs plus photos, I use this printer for everything and it has turned out some nice material. Thank you canon for making me a printer believer. And I hops all of you, enjoy your Canon printers!
xoxo
Heather
bellestyle.com
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: artist
Location: san francisco, ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

never worked

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009
this printer had great reviews from just about everybody. after two of these failing to work - i am wondering why...
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: beez1717

wow!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, has a silent mode
I love this printer so much. It prints my photos and text quite fast, and i love it how I can put the printer into silent mode. While it doesn't print that fast, i can print great photos while my roommate sleeps in the room beside mine. I love how you can use the cartridge and the manual feed for either two different types of paper or to double the amount of paper you can add to the printer. If I had to buy a printer again, I'd get this one for sure. Only issue I have with it is that the door to the ink cartridge head doesn't lock in place, so when I need to open up the front door it pops open very easily. i'd give this a 10 or even an 11
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: jorlores
Location: Valparaiso, Chile
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excelent Chioce

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Great printer. I use it a lot for photo printing and the results are great, even for full page letter size the colors are clean and sharp.
The price for cartridges are reasonable and with separated tanks you can use the ink until very last drop.
I recommend this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Akron, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Works as advertized

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2009
No issues, works as advertized. With long use no problems with printer heads, banding, etc. Have owned another Canon printer with no issues. Became a fan of the company after the way they handled a DOA printer that I got for a friend.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: DGone
Location: Alton, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, great support
Cons: Slow Print Speed
The Cannon iP4300 is a great printer for photo or all around use. The ink colors replace separately so no need to buy a cartridge if only one color is spent.
More importantly, the quality of printer for the price results in an exceptional value.
Finally, I have always received great customer service from Canon. They respond specifically to the questions I ask where other printer makers send canned robot responses that are identical to the trouble screens in the printer box.
I have also purchased a 4500, and will never buy another printer brand as long as Canon keeps up the great work. (I have their scanners too.)
Only complaint is plain page document (Word, etc.) printing seems slow, but I love the duplex printing.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: ND Hank
Location: North Dakota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best feature of all--it works!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
I've owned many different types of inkjet printers (mostly HP) and I always had some type of glitch when I try printing to them after a long period of inactivity (like 30 days). This printer is fantastic because it sits dormant until I say print, then starts right up and prints. Also, I have this printer and a laser printer shared in my home network. After a few weeks of not printing from my laptop, I can't seem to print on my laser for some reason, but I can always print to the Cannon--it starts up like the laptop was connected to it.
Yes, it has great features and the printing is great. I love the multiple ink tanks that allow me to replace only the ones that are low (which I can see through the tanks themselves). Plus, like other reviewers have said, the ink doesn't run dry if I don't use if for a while (like my HP printers did).
I'm kind of sold on Cannon for inkjet printers. I seriously might try one of their laser printer when my old Brother multifunction gives out. If you're on the fence about a Cannon versus another type of printer, I'd recommend trying the Cannon.
I don't really have any cons for this printer--it does what I want it to do.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: webgirl
Location: law school, Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

iP4300 Canon printer - the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
I paid less than $100 for this printer years ago. It has worked consistently all these years and is still going strong in 2009. I printed thousands of flyers in connection with my local grass roots activism. I've printed thousands of post cards on card stock, and they were thread through the printer just fine. I've had other printers through the years and none can compare with the Canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: Poverty-stricken grad student
Location: Wichita, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Versatile, durable, & affordable

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, affordable
Cons: difficult to find setting specs for other media
I've now had my PIXMA iP4300 for 1 1/2 years. In that time, I've had only 1 paper jam (my fault - pulling on the sheet while it was printing) and only 1 incident of imperfect print quality (hair from my long-hair cat got on print-head - easily fixed). My printer has otherwise been an incredibly wonderful investment.
I had a high-quality HP Officejet for a couple of years &, compared to that, this one is light years ahead in print quality & reliability. When I printed my first photo on this printer, I was floored - couldn't believe the sharpness & color quality. Now, 1.5 years later, the photos are still just as perfect. Photos are printed with such accuracy in color that, considering the limitations of putting a 3-D image on paper, they do pretty fair justice to their subjects.
One project I've completed with this printer included printing >20 DVD case inserts with primarily yellow backgrounds. I printed all 20-odd inserts on one cartridge of yellow ink. The fact that I can replace single colors as needed instead of one multiple-color cartridge saves a great deal of money. My ink costs since switching from the HP to the iP4300 have been cut by about 70%. I have had no ink leakage in the time I've owned the printer.
The print quality is best on Canon paper. Glossy (esp. photo paper plus glossy) prints beautifully with vivid colors & excellent sharpness. The color vibrance & sharpness even go up another notch with Canon Matte Photo Paper, though (my preference).
The only downside to my use of this printer doesn't involve the quality or capacity of the printer itself. The only downside I've experienced is difficulty in finding instructions (both in the manual and on the Canon site) for printing labels, etc., (e.g. Avery address labels, business cards). I've found that the printer does handle these products without difficulty, but it does take some guess-work to figure out which settings to use. For Kodak paper products, Kodak has a page on their website giving settings for using their products with most specific printers. Have not seen same with HP paper products. Canon paper is still yields the best results, though. If only Canon made versionsof the various Avery products...
The printer was very easy to connect to my computer & I've had no issues with Vista compatibility. USB cable could be a foot longer, though.
When I bought my new computer in late May 2007, I decided, after much research, to go with a separate printer & scanner since doing so would allow the best results with the least expense. Getting the PIXMA iP4300 and the Canoscan 4400f was much cheaper than an all-in-one & I've had tremendous results with both products. I just wish now I could find a Canon printer similar in its focused function (not all-in-one), excellent photo print quality, & reasonable price so that I could replace my dad's HP for him. This printer just blows the mid-upper range HPs out of the water!
Oh - I LOVE the 2-sided printing as well! It still works perfectly! The self-cleaning abilities of the printer are also much appreciated.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: Jakerock
Location: The Dalles, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: durable, easy to use, ink does't dry up
Cons: High Ink Consumption, ink expensive
This has been a EXCELLENT printer. The ink doesn't dry up if the printer isn't used for awhile. That has been a problem with other ink jet printers I have owned.
For the category it is in the printer performs very well!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP4300
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON IS FASTER THAN THE REST.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008
Pros: very very fast
Cons: no tft lcd screen
VERY VERY VERY FAST PHOTO AND FAST TEXT PRINTING.
1-2 PICOLITER INK DROPLETS.
9600 X 2400 PHOTO PRINT RESOLUTION.
3586 INKJET NOZZLES.
GREAT CANON SOFTWARE BUNDLE.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site