Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP600

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP600

Average Customer Rating:
3.421 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
9
28 out of 57(49%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP600
Review 1 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Anonymous

MP600

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2011
Pros: lots of functionality
Cons: ink expensive
Bought for my wife who is a teacher. Ink is expensive and photo color quality is OK while in calibration.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Tony

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010
Total junk. Didn't last long. One year. Scanner stopped working and printing has lines through it.
11 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: great canon
Location: none
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010
Cons: no network port built in
I've had this printer since it came out. im still only on my second black cartridge and it's still full. The photos were amazin. some of the prints are 3 years old and still look like they was printed yesterday.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: KNT
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

SUPER DUPER MULTIFUNCTION PRINTER!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2010
Pros: everything
Cons: none
I purchased this multifunction printer when it first came out. This is my most favorite printer, scanner ever. Quality output for both documents, photos and scanned items. It also makes the very best photocopies. And I'm glad Canon uses the individual ink tanks which makes it more economical. Really, really love this machine!!!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Howie
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Thought it was good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010
Pros: fast printing
Cons: using ink fast, don't print when ink is low
I bought this Pixma MP600 cause i tried to print a picture at the computer store and it was the best of the printers I tried.
I bought it for my wife and it worked great for 2 1/2 years then it would not scan a document. Then it would print a couple of lines and then skip 10 or so lines and finally it stopped printing altogether. I tried trouble shooting it and nothing would work so I junked it. Oh I had bought the same printer a couple of months after the wife's and it is still working but I am not expecting it to last much longer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Fred

Just stopped working

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2010
After 3 years of light use, the product suddenly stopped working. It won't turn on.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: NowIunderstand
Location: Why does it matter?
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Not for picture printing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010
Pros: multifunction, separate ink cartridges
Cons: poor quality picture printing
If I was reviewing this a couple of years ago, I would have said this was an excellent printer. However, I think it was just that I did not have something to compare against. The scanner is excellent and picks up great details, but the printing has a lot more to be desired. My wife was frustrated about the quality of the printing, but to my eye it was fine. Then she brought over a friends printer, we plugged it in and printed the same photo with both printers. Quite a difference. Resolution and coloring were much better on the lower priced printer with less features. We are now hooking both up, one for photos and the other to keep the use of the scanner on the MP600.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Never Again
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Do Not Buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010
Printer died on me after 1.5 years of light use. Printer eats a lot of ink. Scanner was satisfactory at best. Blue tooth quit working.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Would NEVER buy again!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010
Cons: add a con
This is the second one I've had in 3 years because it just stops working. I press the power button and it won't turn on. I will never buy this again!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: HappyPrinter
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I've had my printer for five years now. I was so happy with it after the first year I bought one for a friend. About a year ago my scanner stopped working when i switched computers. i wasn't using it much at the time so didn't bother with fixing it. yesterday i got another new computer, mac this time, and went online to search for a solution to the scanner problem. i was shocked to see a couple of bad reviews for this printer. this is the best quality printer i have owned, and i've had many. i picked it up on sale and have printed lots and lots of the best pictures and documents. previously i have scanned lots of photos. the scanner runs a little slower than some, but i have found the quality excellent. so don't believe the critics. The Pixma MP600 rocks!
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: MacChick
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Glitchy

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable
I've now had this machine for almost three years, so I feel confident I've tried out every function available.
As a printer, this machine is adequate. It is annoying that when you run out of any one color ink, you can't continue printing until it's been replaced. I'm not sure why they have two black cartridges (large and small) when, if either one is empty, you can't continue printing. The cartridges aren't any more expensive than others I've seen, so that isn't one of my gripes.
I have three main issues:
1. ever since it was new, the machine starts up in Chinese...no matter how many times I reset it, the default menus are always in Chinese. This is quite annoying.
2. the scanner has never worked correctly. About 80% of the time, I get "scan failed" when I try to scan. Then when I do get it to scan a document, 90% of the time it won't save it because it can't find the path...and the path is correct. I have to upload scanned documents to my employer weekly and this has become a 2-3 hour ordeal every week.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Carrots
Location: Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

I have enjoyed it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I've had this printer for four years now. Reading everyone elses reviews, I have NOT had those problems. I don't go through ink like crazy, not to mention the ink price for each cartridge is about half of what other brands are. I use my printer all the time for printing out photos (I'm a photographer and like to check my coloring as well as for announcement design I need to print it off to check size and position) and other papers. I've never had any problems with it. It didn't break after a year, and it certainly hasn't seen light use. I think people just like to complain about EVERYTHING they possibly can. It's a good machine and I'd recommend it to anyone.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Randall
Location: Essex
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Broken after a year and a half

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, complicated construction, faults and errors
Loved this printer combo until one day it wouldn't turn off so I had to turn it off at the mains. Now the machine will not come on at all and is just scrap. Disappointing as machine is or wasmid range, heavy on ink and have to buy new chipped ones which is really annoying. I had another printer from another manufacturer that I bought years ago, brought out from loft to do some emergency printing and still works brill shame the Canon does not.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Robbdog
Location: Greenville, SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Steer Clear

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2010
This printer was used for very light home duty. It lasted less than two years. This is the last Canon printer I will ever buy.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: KCazzie
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

So Sad

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2010
I loved this printer when we first purchased it. It printed fairly well and seemed to operate flawlessly. The biggest problem was found when we ran out of ink. The entire machine completely shuts down when there isnt any ink. Even if there is only one color out, it still doesnt perform well. The replacement cartridges are pretty expensive also! I tried to scan while one ink was empty and it wouldnt work! Very disappointing! I'm sadly looking at just purchasing a new machine but definiteyly will do more research this time! I dont want to get stuck in a similar situation again.
21 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: Lete
Location: New york
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

NOT good on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption
If you don't mind throwing ink money out the window every other minute then this is the machine for you. I use this for basic printing, not photo's and it forces you to use the colors even when it seems color isn't necessary. Despite color settings it drains the ink like crazy!! And if you do choose to pick just the black ink, it first takes it from the smaller cartridge and then the larger and for some reason is still draining ink. On this alone I wish I had sold it before I used it. It also prints some things off the internet in teeny tiny print. Its a frustrating drain!
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: pondwater
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2010
Pros: reliable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: mp navigator interface, out of ink then scanner not available
We have had this unit for over a year. It has performed well -- quick and quiet printer. Copying and scanning have been good. I use the MP Navigator for manual scanning and, though a somewhat klunky use interface, functional.
The MP navigator is awkward in how you save and name scans in your workflow with multiple scans. Perhaps their designer should try to do 29 scans and then go back and name them.
Ink usage seems high, but then again, that is why we have a printer -- to print!
My big beef today is that if you run out of ink, then the whole unit is hijacked and you cannot even scan. This is a software issue and could be fixed.
The reason I gave it 3 stars on performance is that you can get rare ink globs -- they come and go -- I think dust gets inside through the back paper feeder and gets in to the ink flow area. I have switched to using the lower tray for plain paper and only opening up the back feeder when doing photo paper. This seems to have cleared up the globs.
Overall, we like this printer and would buy Canon again.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: rj
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Have owned for quite a while now and it's a great unit. No problems, easy to use, easy on ink, just an all around great unit for printing, scanning, copying.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: BubbaSr
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Scanner never worked

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: unreliable, High Ink Consumption
If you never had to use the scanner part of this printer bit would probably be a very good printer. But mine never worked. I had no use to really use it until I wanted to scan and print some tax documents then it wouldn't work it just made a lot of loud clicking noises and would not scan. So I had to take my papers elsewhere and have copies made of them. Far too much trouble. By the time I realized the scanner didn't worh, the printer eas out of warranty.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MP600
Nickname: blah
Location: Tamaqua
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

bossy printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2009
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption
It should let you print the way you want.
Fast on photo paper because i like that effect sometimes.
to the border even if it is not photo paper.
more then one picture on smaller paper etc.
Also you have to buy canon paper to get the right colors.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site