Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan 8600F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

CanoScan 8600F

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan 8600F
Review 1 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: Pete
Location: Fairfax VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: value, negative strip loader, slide strip loader, 120 format film neg loader, automatic multiple image scan, quick warmup
Cons: condensation under glass sometimes
I have used this scanner for more than three years, scanning hundreds of PDFs and thousands of color photographs in negative, print and slide formats. The supplied fixtures for scanning photographic items are foolproof; the automatic software that seperate multiple photographs works very well when there is sufficient seperation between multiple photographs placed on the same flatbed. We had a scratch develop when my wife's diamond ring scratched the glass when she was handling a document to scan. A basic scanner that is excellent value for the money and works year after year with no trouble. I am experimenting with the 8800 F that is the successor to the 8600F and find a similar set of features though there is increased speed.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: rrbond07
Location: Leavenworth, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Used for medium formate negatives

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
I purchased this scanner a few years ago so I could scan my 70mm, 120 and 220 color/black and white negatives. It's done a great job, but it seems lately not to be sensing the negative in the holder on the flatbed. I wish it would scan faster though.
Review 3 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: JIM
Location: NEW JERSEY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT PRODUCT HAVE USED IT 5YRS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010
Pros: durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
THIS IS A GREAT PIECE OF WORK. HAVE USED IT FOR OVER 4 YRS. SCANNED AND STORED HUNDREDS OF PHOTOS AND DOCUMENTS FLAWLESSLY. IT ACTUALLY IMPROVES QUALITY OF OLD PHOTOS.I USE IT WITH A CANON PRINTER AND GET PROFESSIONAL QUALITY PHOTOS. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS SCANNER AND YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH CANON WHEN IT COME TO PHOTOGRAPHY.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: Marie
Location: MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Love this product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2009
I have scanned 1000's of slides and photos over the past few years. The quality is excellent. I have recommended this scanner to so many people!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: photoguy
Location: Riverside,ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good stuff

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
I enjoy using this scanner because you can scan multiple picture at the same time but they download individualy. The resolution is extremely high.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
Bought this scanner 2 years ago to archive the old family library of 35mm slides, well over 2000 photos. Scanner was very reasonably priced at that time when it came on the market. Full of features, and the scan quality is limited only by how much time you want to take and the amount of memory you have available. Only complaint is I wish it was able to scan more than 4 slides at a time or at least scan a bit faster.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: Biker
Location: Cumming, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Performance

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, High-speed scanning, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
I have scanned color slides, negatives and color and black & white photos with excellent results.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan 8600F
Nickname: PEM
Location: NJ and SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use, Fast Connectivity, High resolution
Cons: Slow-speed scanning
I have had this scanner for several years. I wanted a scanner that could work with very old large format negatives. It is fantastic, transforming useless old negatives into wonderful images that can be archived. It also works great on 35mm negatives and slides. As well, for those of us who don't own Acrobat software, it enables you to scan anything as a pdf file and save it as such. It can also be used as a photocopier, through the computer to a printer. As I say a great product!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site