Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP960

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP960

Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP960
Review 1 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: FilmScanner
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love The Film Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010
I've been using this printer, copier, scanner for almost 2 years and love it. I particularly like the ability to scan 35 mm slides and color negatives to easily add those to my electronic photo library. The scan quality is excellent, the slide and negative holders are ingenious and the editing software and workflow is very easy. I do also love the fact that when one print color is empty I can replace only that color instead of a single multicolor cartridge. Overall very inexpensive to operate and very feature packed. It even does duplex printing...without jamming!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: Jonathon
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Not a practical Printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
Had this for 6 months - Its a good printer but I HATE IT.
It takes 6 ink- if one goes out Printers STOPS WORKING. thats what I hate about this printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: bunchahicks
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Don't waste your money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
This printer has been nothing but trouble since I opened the package. The latest is that it won't feed paper through either feeder. It runs thru ink like gas in a hummer, and if you notice cartidges aren't cheap. The color pictures were never of that good a quality when it did function properly. Canon usually makes a quality product and that is why I chose this after much review. Well this is not their best product.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: Canon68
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Another Winner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I've been using this machine for 2 years now and have been very happy with its printing and copying features and quality. Even in 'Fast' (read: Draft) mode, text prints are very good and miscellaneous images printed in that mode on plain paper are very satisfactory for draft quality - better than those created by machines of several competing brands.
I've put multiple reams of paper through this machine with very few errors and those few were all due to more than one sheet feeding at a time. It even prints addresses onto envelopes reasonably well.
The separate color inks last reasonably well and can be obtained at reasonable prices on the internet.
Menus are clear and easy to follow, especially when viewed on the incorporated lcd screen.
My only real complaint is that the software included for scanning purposes is very limited, so I rarely use the onboard scanner, preferring to use a stand-alone flatbed scanner.
To summarize, it prints reasonably quickly with very good quality whether in Fast, Standard, or Photo mode. Actually high-quality photos printed on high-quality photo paper have excellent resolution and color values. The cons I've listed are minor and are due to the machine being built so well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: nospinzoned
Location: Peoria, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent buy for budget conscious consumers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
It's not new to the market, nor is it flashy, but the MP960 is a great printer for the price. The quality of printing, scanning, and copying of both documents and photos is excellent. I did have an issue with color calibration, but easily solved the problem by changing my print color settings from auto to manual/AdobeRGB. I am extremely satisfied with my Canon MP960. Thanks Canon for a great product!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: macuser32
Location: Sarasota, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon MP960 Review

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, slow scan speed
It's a fast printer but the scanner is extremely, extremely slow. Print quality varies at time and it does consume a lot of ink. Ocassionally it reverts back to another language - think Chinese and hard to get set back to English without book so keep it handy.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: May
Location: KY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, ink tanks are easy to replace when needed
I got the Pixma MP 960 printer in Jan of 2007---. It does a wonderful job printing out my photos. Colors are true to life.-- I'm a wildlife photographer and I take a lot of photos and use my printer several times a week. I have never had any problems with the printer.. --It also does a good job on scanning images.---.The ink tanks are easy to replace when needed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: ServerMan
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Great Multifunction Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I have owned and tried many printers and scanners and this machine continues the Canon excellence in this field. This multifunction machine gives great scans and prints. The only complaint is the machine is big, but for the performance it is easily overlooked.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: Designer
Location: Seattle WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Poor quality vector graphics

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors, pixilated graphics
This machine produces very poor quality results when printing from Adobe Illustrator, InDesign, and Acrobat. I am a designer and I have gotten high quality results using these programs on inkjet photo printers from competing brands. I bought the Canon because it had high reviews and the right mix of features. However, on the programs I use the most, the colors are dull and the diagonal lines are extremely jagged. In order to get acceptable results, I have to export all of my files into Photoshop and manually rasterize them, which adds time and effort that should be unnecessary with a brand-new printer.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP960
Nickname: mattyprints
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

great multi-use printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: Heavy or bulky, High Ink Consumption
Prints great photos and all it's features work very well. It's a big unit - but, it meets all the needs I wanted from it!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site