Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for XH A1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

XH A1

Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XH A1
Review 1 for XH A1
Nickname: TIPCEE
Location: Salt Lake, Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Great Pro cam!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
I plan on getting two more of these cameras, that's how great it is!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XH A1
Nickname: Skyking
Location: Erie, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I was shooting, for years, SD with Canon's XL1s and the GL2. I finally moved up to the XH-A1 to shoot HD. I am one of those guys that still love tape for it archival qualities. While cards can be a bit easier I am concerned about archival.transfers. The camera performed above my expectations. I love that it has two XLR inputs, which work great! The features of this camera rival some cameras that cost far more as far as I can see. There are also pleantly of training DVD's and books to help one make the transfer to a High Def Camera. While it does not shoot 720P, the camera offers plenty of other features in shooting style including 24P if you want that movie look.
I use Final Cut Studio 3 for all my editing and moving from SD to HDV was a piece of cake. This camera is great!! I even purchased a Canon HV40 HDV hand held as a "B" camera since it is also HDV tape.This combination is fantastic. I shoot a lot of corporate training, music videos, etc. I can Highly recommend the XH-A1 camera!!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XH A1
Nickname: micky
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera ive ever had!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: onboard mic is a tiny bit unstable
Only problem is onboard mic isnt up to par with the rest of the camera, but anyone using an onboard mic is an amatuer anyways and doesnt need to own this fine piece of photo technology!
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XH A1
Nickname: TIPCEE
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
This is my first pro-cam so I was worried at first, but when I started using it I knew I made the right choice.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XH A1
Nickname: MSFlorida
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Bulky Design, poor mic construction
I have used this camera for over a year. I use it primarily for HS sports, and family stuff. It is not nearly as portable as the smaller camera but that is what it is.. It has many hi-end features, which take a little while to get used to. I have gotten so used to using XAH1 setiings, I always pick XAH1 if I know I will be wanting to get a great shot and if I have the space. I use the HV30 if I want something very portable, or am going to be at the beach or near water.
Great battery life. I bought the biggest battery and probably haven't needed it. Image quality is excellant. I do a lot of night shooting and have never had a problem with light levels.
ALWAYS TURN CAMERA OFF prior to connecting or disconnecting to PC..
I also have the HV30 which does a great job without all the bells and whistles. It is almost impossible for average person to tell which footage was shot with better camera.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XH A1
Nickname: WSTOTV
Location: Stoughton, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Television use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good Software Compatibility, easy bnc and xlr connectivity
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Poor Color Reproduction, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, Flimsy Construction, Poor Low-Light Performance, microphone breaks easily, recording to dv tapes don't work with old cameras, difficult to explain features
Using 3 XH A1s to cover a large variety of local events from Sporting Events to high school performances in the auditorium I have learned a great deal about the quality of the XH A1
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XH A1
Nickname: Dre
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great camera Horrible communication port

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Great sound/audio
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Flimsy Construction
This camera is great, however it's firewire port is horrible. This is my second time having it repaired within a year and 1/2. They need to retrofit it with a 6 pin firewire
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XH A1
Nickname: Steveo
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

An amazing purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, durable, easy to use
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
This camera is the king of all cameras compared to what i've used in my 20 years of video recording. Its very durable, xlr input is VERY handy, colors are amazing, battery life isn't half bad, very large eye piece, multiple ways to zoom and adjust the camera.
On the flip side, the camera is pretty heavy, although small in shape, it leaves quite a mark on your shoulder if used for long periods.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XH A1
Nickname: slim shady

Awsome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2009
This camera is an all around good camera its light and it will get the job done...I should know i am a skateboarder recorder that shoots for fuel tv and this camera is just awsome!!!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XH A1
Nickname: Immaculata Productions
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

A superb camera for professional videography

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors
Cons: fragile microphone
This camera produces the best quality picture and color for a affordable price and for professional beginners that are starting off in professional cinematography. I have to warn you that the microphone on the camera should have more support on it because it is somewhat fragile. The rest of the camera is great and I would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a camera starting off in professional videography.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XH A1
Nickname: ScubaDo
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

grow ability

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
The XH A1 was purchased for a corporate A/V department producing training and marketing programs. I love being able to dolly around and tell what button I'm touching just by the feel. They all have their own design and are very easy to distinguish between. You can use it straight out of the box, but there are so many features I'm only now beginning to truly understand the many options available. Its' grow ability is one of the reasons it was chosen as it had to be up and running from day one.
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XH A1
Nickname: photojock
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

I am totally frustrated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Uncomfortable to hold
I purchased the Canon XHA 1 and it worked well for about a week (although it communicated with computers only in Standard Definition mode). I went out of town to film a training session that lasted two days and shot 8 hours of video and the camera would not communicate with computer. Returned the camera for an exchange and today right out of the box it will not communicate with any computer (even at the store where I bought it). Returned it today. If the next one does not work I will get a refund.
Technician at the store where I purchased stated that forums report that the camera is very temperamental when it comes to connectivity. I say that is an understatement. We tried it on laptops, Mac's, desktops etc. No luck.
CANON, I am so disappointed.
65 of 100 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XH A1
Nickname: DFCurran
Location: Missoula, MT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camcorder for Independent Movie Makers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Good Software Compatibility, imports to fcp easily, upward compatible with older dv tapes
Cons: mic holder is somewhat fragile
I was looking for a new camera to make independent digital films. My previous camera was a Canon GL-1 and I loved it, still use it and have made very successful videos with it. But the demands for higher quality by distributors made it clear I would have to upgrade to HD. My reasons for choosing the XH-A1 where similar to my choice of the GL-1. When I chose the GL-1, I did not need the added lens features of the XL-1, nor could I afford them. With XH-A1 the 20x zoom is so good that again I do not need the added lens features of the more expensive Canon's nor the added connectivity. What did impress me, is that the video quality of the XH-A1 is the same as that of the higher priced Canons as it has the same advanced CCD chips. My research even discovered that the quality is very similar to the quality of much more expensive, large CCD cameras used by major studios to produce internationally distributed films. This means that anyone can produce a film with this relatively low-priced camera and no one will notice any difference in quality from studio produced digital films.
The learning curve may be a little steep but the features are well worth learning, and there are videos out there to help you. And though the main reason I bought this camera is for video, the still camera features just blow me away. There are far too many to cover here, but just to give an example, you can set up your XH-A1 to take still shots (Saved to an SD card) while taping, and thus have promotional shots for your film. And with the larger SD cards available you can save thousands of the highest quality photos to a single card.
Back to the camcorder, the sound features on this camcorder are just what the movie maker needs with XLR inputs, and in camera adjustments that let you use the high-quality built in mic, an outside camera like a shotgun mic, or soundboard. It even has phantom power if you need it for an external mic on a boom.
The lens does accommodate wide angle and magnification lenses, and the FIZZY arrangement of the lens control dials: FOCUS, ZOOM, IRIS, make controlling your picture easy. You even have a number of options to set how much control you want. From virtually automatic in situations where you don't have time for adjustments, as in a documentary, or very controlled as in a feature film scene where you want only characters in focus. And there is lots more.
In fact, the only con I found was the external mic holder, I use mine for a shotgun mic, is somewhat fragile. I broke mine by catching the XLR cable on a branch.
Take it from me. If you want to make your own digital feature film or documentary, this is the camera for you.
81 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XH A1
Nickname: Sebastian
Location: Anniston, AL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great addition to the team.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, great stable image
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
For any amateur film maker, journalist, or event photographer this is one great value! You have the cine look most filmmakers look for with the 24fps setting as well as stunning HD picture quality. It is fairly light compared to other HD cameras in the market. Most definitely recommend this to anyone looking to get a great camera without dropping a great load of money.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XH A1
Nickname: George
Location: Baton Rouge , La.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best buy i've ever made in a camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Good Low-Light Performance, amature to pro made easy
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold
You can't ask for more in a Pro HD camcorder , for an advanced amateur . There's no turning back now !
30 of 39 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site