Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A640

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A640

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A640
Review 1 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: agentpapp
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have owned this camera for about 4 years and still love it and works great. I did just upgrade to the Rebel T3i because I needed a camera that I could changed the lens on for Real Estate. I needed an Ultra wide lens and LOVE the Rebel but still partial to my old favorite standby.
Review 2 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: MacroMan
Location: Richmond, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Meets my MACRO needs - Good Overall Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, great macro camera
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I picked this camera because it had excellent macro capabilities. I needed a camera that could get really close to the subject and I tested many brands and models. In macro mode, this A640 will focus as close as 1 inch from the subject (i.e. a postage stamp fills the frame). And at 10 MP, I got the detail I wanted. I tested several other point-and-shoot cameras and this one was the best option for the macro shots I needed. I use the camera for a regular shooting, too. I've been happy with it overall. I've had other powershot cameras - so I found the controls easy to use. Battery life is excellent and it is nice and compact (compared to my DSLR). I like the IS and zoom capabilities on the newer cameras and will likely upgrade. But I will keep this camera for its excellent macro capabilities.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: MMK
Location: SL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Do not use this for indoor

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Heavy/Bulky
This is excellent camera.But dont use this for in door. Make sure this camera is very good in out door & can't use this camera before 1 year.
1 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: Vicki
Location: Duluth, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

No RAW format option---what a shame

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable, metal hinges on battery compartment door, american company
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings, no raw format, manual is poorly written
I can't get over the fact that I bought this camera without making sure it supported the RAW format. I guess I assumed that it would. I feel sad that I have friends with much less expensive cameras from WalMart and Target who can shoot in RAW, but I can't. If anyone has an interest in photo editing, this probably wouldn't be the camera since RAW is a preferred photo editing format. I am happy with the metal hinges on the battery compartment but wonder why the battery compartment is shared with the memory card slot. The manual isn't as clear as it could be. I wish that there were an aftermarket fix for this camera to enable it to support RAW.
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: canonball
Location: richmond VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
I had this camera for about 3 years now and I find a new feature about every month since this camera hides most of it and its sorta like an SLR with out the big bulky lens. the camera can not take macro shots when zoomed . so its pretty much a camera for amateur professionals
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: BoatCrew
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Dim LCD
Satisfied w/quality of photos.
Manual not well written; complicated and confusing compared to the other digitals I own. LCD not good in bright sun light.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: Pandora
Location: Bloomington, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

I always come to Canon!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, consistent quality of pictures
When I decided to purchase my second digital camera almost 2 years ago I researched very thoroughly all that was available at that time saving Canon for last.
I've owned a Canon point and shoot 35mm for the past 16 years and it's still going strong and takes beautiful pics. This is what I was looking for--and found--in the Canon A640.
The camera is very easy to use and not only are the pictures sharp and beautiful the video is also very high quality. Last New Year's Eve I shot a short video with this camera in a bar--low light--deep bass--using the zoom from about 15 feet as my boyfriend sang. The sound and picture quality were above and beyond any other videos I have seen that were shot that night--including video from a Sony Handycam. I am still amazed at the quality in video and especially audio recording achieved by this digital CAMERA!!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: TEXAS GAL
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
this camera is easy to use and very dependable. It's Lightweight and fits in my purse without weighing it down. The camera goes everywhere with me. The battery life lasts a very long time .The color quality is excellent.. The pictures are very clear and crisp , excellent image quality, Have owned this camera for 2 years now I have never had a problem except now the camera lens is stuck..Wish it had IS but I dont seem to have a problem with the pictures. as they are excellent quality . This is my second digital Canon .camera and my next one will bea Canon also.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: "B"
Location: Holt,Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have owned this camera for over a year and I am impressed with everything about it.I carry my camera everywhere I go and have never had a problem with it.This 640 has taken every kind of picture in all kinds of weather and has never let me down.The only thing it is missing is IS but I have learned to work around that and still take great pictures.I have been buying Canon cameras for many years and my next camera will be a Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: BPA
Location: Dover, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

2nd Canon A series

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable, durable black color
I gifted my first A series 3MP camera to my brother. The reasons why I preferred A series was use of AA batteries which I can replace or recharge on the fly instead of Lithium IOn battery packs, Excellent picture and color quality for even careless shots. Best value for the buck and very sturdy construction. Can switch from Auto to full manual (ofcourse not to SLR levels) mode to get excellent pictures in various light conditions.
Review 11 for PowerShot A640
Nickname: KBIN
Location: Kenton, Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Sad to see it go

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable, perfect color reproduction, captured light perfect
Cons: no cons at all canon did a awesome job.
Sad to see a awesome camera be discontinued as I own a Rebel XTI and the A640, I have always preferred the A640 over my XTI. The A640 being a point and shoot has super image quality and detail. Easy to operate and a real manual mode. relativity no shutter lag and a long battery life. Digital noise was very low and images produced the best color rendition with out editing.
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site