Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A710 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A710 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A710 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Disgruntled Brit

Impossible to download PhotoStitch 4 PShot A710IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
Having spent over 1 hour of multiple attempts to download Canon Utilities PhotoStitch version 3168 to update the installed version 3156 on my Windows 7 OS, I find the Canon website extremely user unfriendly and have had to abandon the idea of updating your software.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: AmmoChris
Location: Valdosta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Simply the best camera I've ever owned.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I've owned quite a few cameras in my day, but this one is the best. It has great features to it so any type of photo, or any kind of mood I'd like to capture is a click of the button away. I've owned this camera for about two years now, and I don't want to give it up. I also takes great videos as well with great sound. If you have a big enough SD Card, then you can take plenty of photos AND videos. The last vacation I took to Disney World, I took about 500 pics and 3 seven minute long videos and still had about half the space left on my 2GB memory card. And the 6x zoom is UNREAL! I can stand so far away that I can barely see what I'm trying to take a picture of, and the pic comes out like I'm standing a few feet away. About the only real problem I see with this camera is the fact that the batteries run out quicker than I would like. I had to change batteries everyday on that vacation. My final words on this camera is BUY, BUY, BUY. I can promise that you will not be disappointed.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: dthrow
Location: Williamsport, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very good compact

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: viewfinder shows less than total picture area
This model has, I think, been replaced, but my comments should apply to similar, newer models. Most small digital cameras today are made for young people, who can easily focus on a screen on the back of the camera. Canon is one of the few manufacturers that still makes compact a compact camera with a viewfinder--really an essential for an older person who doesn't have good close-up vision.
That said, the viewfinder on this model, though clear and bright, shows less than the actual area of the picture. So you either have to frame the picture appropriately, or plan on cropping it.
I've found picture quality to be very good, and the features are fine for an advanced amateur like me, who wants a small camera to carry around easily. AA batteries as a power source are convenient for travel, especially out of the U.S. I use lithium batteries nearly all the time, and they last for a couple of hundred shots, more if you don't use flash a lot.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: disneygirl
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Good amateur camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, slow photo change on screen
This is a great amateur camera for someone who just wants to use the auto mode. I really like that it has a movie mode. I unfortunately gave mine to my niece when I bought a DSLR. What a mistake! I wanted to upgrade because the camera had a slow photo change on the screen. I do not know the technical term for this. Anyway, I may rebuy this camera again. The DSLR was too difficult for me. While on vacation in Hawaii I was tempted to throw the DSLR into the Pacific Ocean. I am now trying to sell it on Craigslist & EBay. Advise for this camera-get a screen protector to also block sun. By the way, we used my nieces camera (was mine) the A710 for alot of the trip.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Pat
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

About batteries and low-light pics

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have the A710 IS camera and love it for its size and image quality, considering it's a small point and shoot. Some have complained about poor image quality in low light but that is common with almost all small consumer cameras. If you want better image quality in low light, you need to move to a larger sensor camera -- a digital SLR.
About batteries -- Well a set of batteries is only as good as its weakest one. IOW, if you have a pair of rechargeable NIMH batteries, and one is nearly dead and doesn't charge well but the other is fine, then the pair will only last as long as that one nearly dead battery. So how do you know the condition of your batteries? There are only a few consumer battery chargers out there that will tell you this. One I recommend is the La Crosse BC-9009. It is expensive but worth it in the long run. Especially if you use a lot of rechargeable AA and AAA batteries. The BC-9009 will not only let you know what condition your batteries are in so you can match them up properly for optimal power, but there is a REFRESH mode that can bring NIMH batteries you thought were dead back to life. If you want to read more about this charger, go to the Amazon website and look it up. There are plenty of reviews there.
So if you are careful with your batteries and how you charge them, you can get more power out of them to operate your electronics and you shouldn't have a problem using them in the Canon A-series cameras. Above all, do not use those quick chargers (one-hour or less) or dumb (timed) chargers which will shorten the life of your NIMH batteries.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Good but Could've Been Great

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
My family and I have now had three digital point-and-shoot cameras from Canon, including the A710 IS. As with the others, Canon keeps the controls easy to understand and the feature set better than average. The combination of auto and manual features is nice, especially if you like to play around with simple special effects.
Our primary complaints about this camera have been battery life and poor low-light image quality.
We've found that only high performance batteries work (such as Energizer Lithium). Regular alkaline batteries end up only taking 25 shots or so before the low battery icon starts flashing. Rechargeable batteries do the same. This has ended up making the camera a bit more expensive than you'd expect. Our previous PowerShot, the Elph-series SD 330, had a rechargeable "brick"-style battery. It's battery life was terrible, but at least you didn't need to keep buying disposable batteries.
The other issue we've had is with low-light image quality. Our experience has been that anything over ISO 200 produces slightly blurred, very grainy images. We've tried using both auto and manual exposure control with no marked difference. Using a tripod helps with the blurriness, but the graininess is quite distracting. And since much of our photographs are of our six-year-old, indoors, it's a problem.
We continue to love Canon cameras (and scanners, for that matter), but thought potential consumers should be aware of this camera's notable shortcomings.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Bab
Location: Toronto
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Average Camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Short battery life
This camera comes with excellent features and takes very good still images. It also has options of amateur low resolution video recording which works great with ability to zoom while recording. Satisfaction with the camera is however very poor because the very short battery life makes long outings very cumbersome even with high quality freshly charged extra rechageable alkaline batteries.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Batdan
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Solid camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, zoom is great for this size
Cons: Dim LCD
Part metal body saved it from the trash.
Nice photos for a compact.
Image review rotation fails after a few years. It can't decide between landscape and portrait.
Good zoom length!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: 57 chevy
Location: nj
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

easy to use, good pictures

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
My only problem is high contrast on foliage or stone, the contrast bleaches out the details.
Attn b-dog, the lens doesnt close when the battery is weak, that's what I found, no biggie.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: ace
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for the casual user/hobbyist.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This is an easy to use camera with plenty of manual controls for the adventurous. Picture and color quality in good light is above average for consumer cameras. It is not a professional camera, but suitable for the discerning hobbyist taking family and travel pictures. My only real let down is low light performance, but if you are not doing artistic photography, image quality in difficult and low light conditions may not bother you. Also watch out for short battery life.
- Image quality, color accuracy is very good under typical lighting conditions.
- Performs too poorly in low light for satisfying artistic purposes in natural, dark, or dramatic lighting... but probably at least as well as 400 speed 35mm film. It will however /take/ pictures in fairly low light, even though the quality will not be great.
- Battery life is pretty poor. I use 2500 or 2650 mAh niMh batteries. It's ok, as long as you carry spares with a fresh charge with you everywhere.
- Automatic exposure controls make good judgments, and although slightly cumbersome to reach all the manual controls (must be navigated by menus), it has Aperture priority mode, Shutter priority mode, and full Manual mode. Aperture and shutter speed can be easily set without entering further menus in the manual modes. Manual focus available. Exposure from 1/2000/sec. to 15 min. F2.8 to F8. No "bulb" setting. Can correct for different lighting conditions.
- Image stabilization works very well for moderately long/zoomed hand-held exposures with slight shaking.
- Lightweight, fits in a coat pocket, easy to hold in one hand.
- Various in-camera effects are available, although I haven't used them
- There is no connection for a cable release, but there are several shooting modes including ones with a two second delay and a 10 second delay.
- The tripod mount is sufficient for the weight and size of the camera.
- The lens cover is a little flimsy and very close to the lens. It will touch the lens if you put any pressure on the cover...
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Jen
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is a great camera, has all the features you will need to take memorable pictures and still small enough to fit into your pocket. Has everything you will need to take great shots in any situation, best digital I ever owned!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: B-dog
Location: Jersey Shore
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Be warned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
I bought the PowerShot A710 and loved it but a year later the lens stopped closing when it was powered off. I replaced it with the next model the A720 and now after 6 mos this one is starting to do the same. Bad design flaw on an otherwise great camera.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: Lee
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
My first digital camera brought for a vacation to Italy in 2007. I took great pictures and the camera deserves ALL the credit. I have little experience with cameras but this A710 IS did a perfect job on pictures I could not afford to lose as we would never be back to the little villages, etc. The thing that really amazed me was how the A 710 could take pictures in low light areas that could barely be seen with the naked eye - and they ALL came out great! I cannot say enough good things about this camera. The "A" feature is great (to use AA batteries)
Review 14 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: PA Skinny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent picture quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, good battery life
Very easy if you just want to point and shoot but still has all the controls available if you want to get creative. Takes great underwater pictures with the WP-DC6 case. Battery life with alkalines is fair. Battery life with high quality rechargables is excellent.
Review 15 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NV AREA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON'S A-SERIES WITH IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
CANON'S FIRST EVER A-SERIES COMPACT WITH IMAGE STABILISATION BUILT-IN.
7.1 MEGA-PIXEL
GOOD RESOLUTION
LIGHTWEIGHT
DECENT LCD SCREEN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A710 IS
Nickname: big j
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

a very good investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
the product is very nice looking easy to use images
are very clear i like the image stabilizer the zoom is very good the price is not to bad little high but you get what you pay for very very good quality and i would tell a friend
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site