Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD800 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD800 IS

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD800 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Chel
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Purchase Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I didn't know what to expect from a point and shoot since I had many negative experiences prior. However, I have nothing but 5 star ratings + for this camera! I purchased it for my business as I need to take a lot of pictures almost daily. I have been using this camera for at least 4 years and it continues to go strong! It continues to deliver the same quality I received from the very start. The pictures will get blurry if you try and take them too close to the object, but I remedy this by holding a magnifying glass in front of the lens and in this way it provides top quality pictures for closeups! I was also amazed at how great my zoom works and how clear the pictures are 'from far away objects'! Wow! You also do need to hold the camera very still to not get blurry pictures. If you are moving in a car and taking a road side picture etc they turn out fantastic as if you were standing still. Fabulous pictures also from a tripod. LOVE the ZOOM BROWSER photo editor even though it is not the professional program. You cannot copy and past text into the picture. You can only use text for a watermark. Extremely easy camera to use and understand. Very easy to upload pictures. Strong and well built for repetitive use! Great low light quality or you can quickly add more light easily with the Zoom Browser editor. I would always suggest wearing the strap on the wrist because you could easily drop the camera; I decided to never take a chance. Good battery life. The memory charger takes a while but then the memory lasts for quite some time afterwards. I cannot say enough about this camera and like I say I use it just about every day, year after year. Since I also use the magnifying glass in front of the lens for close ups, you could get by not upgrading because you get really nice quality, crisp pictures this way for anything closeup, enjoy the tip! :) It's also a lot cheaper than purchasing lenses for EOS cameras if you are on a strict budget. I would have liked to have known these things before I had made my purchase. It would make a first time point and shoot camera buyer very happy for many years and you would probably never need another camera if you only need a point and shoot camera. I have to say this camera produces quality pictures. I also enjoy the nice wide pictures it takes, and large LCD view from the back, you get to see much more than you can in many other cameras. And if you continue to hold the shutter button down when you take a picture it will keep that photo in the LDC for you to see and show others before you go on to taking another picture. From others that I know and myself in using this camera, we all like this one more than the upgrade Elphs, this seems to be the top of the line Elph year after year. Hope this helps everyone! ENJOY!
Review 2 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: basketball Mom
Location: Brooklyn,New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've had this camera for two years I just lost it today. I am heartbroken...My daughter plays High School Basketball and I usually take all the pics. The images are clear and concise...the video is clear...it's easy use and upload...love the wide screen. I absolutely loved this camera I hope someone turns it in but I doubt it. I feel like I lost my right arm. :(( Also takes exceptionallygood images in dark lighting!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: HATCAMS
Location: Ct.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best little camera for the buck!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, excellent video
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I purchased the SD 800 upon friends reviews, and glad I did.
One of the best features of this is the video. Stick a 4 gig in there and go. The wide angle has better quality than most digital video cameras out there. Upload that to YOUTUBE and your videos will be noticeably better than others ; )
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Jada
Location: Troy, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
The only issue I have is lapse time between photos. Even on continuous it is a bit long. The pictures are outstanding and the camera is so easy to use. If you do want to get adventures there are plenty of additional features to keep you busy. Great Camera!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: tryst
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I wish they'd make more.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
A big part of the reason I love my SD800 is the CHDK project (google it), which enhances the camera with new features while staying within Canon's warranty. But this camera has everything: Image stabilization, very quick operation, killer image quality, a nice wide zoom, perfect form-factor. It's the camera I've wanted since I got my first Canon A50 more than a decade ago.
Canon for some reason has decided that any camera (in its new SD lineups) that has a wide-angle lens doesn't need the optical viewfinder that this one has. Add to that that this camera is actually a fair bit faster than many newer models, and it makes me wonder if this camera will stand for all time as the best compact they've ever made. Also, I note poor low-light performance only in absolute terms, in that any camera with a sensor this small has such a limitation. It's certainly no worse than its peers and far better than some newer models I've tried.
I hope mine never ever dies!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Rodger
Location: Riverside, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, quality build
I have never used a camera as much as i use this one. It is dependable and flexible. These are the best 2 qualities a camera can have. Images are great. Fast accurate auto focus. Face detection works great as well as the image stabilizer. I highly recommend this camera...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Bob
Location: Kingsport, TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Digital Camera--Bar None!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Compact, fits in your pocket, great pictures! Have used this camera all over the world. It never fails. From rain forests in Central America to the dry summer skies of Scandinavia; from dirty construction sites here in the U.S. to underwater shots in the tropics (with the WP-DC9 case), the results are wonderful. Contains automatic and manual features to meet ANY shooting need. This camera performs above and beyond. I haven't been tempted to look further -- recommend this model to anyone, professional and amateur alike. You'll love it, too.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Ted
Location: Arvada, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

BEST CAMERA & SOFTWARE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, well built, excellent software
JUST THE BEST! CANON DOESN"T MENTION IN THEIR ADS BUT NOT ONLY IS THIS THE BEST CAMERA BUT IT ALSO HAS THE BEST SOFTWARE. I HAVE TRIED OTHERS (SONY, OLYMPUS, ETC.) AND THIS BEATS THEM ALL.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: Robindas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is the best and most versatile camera I've ever owned. I love how I can walk and take pictures as the stabilization is so solid. It fits neatly in my hand which is important to me and I can easily carry it in a small bag. I love the LCD - it's clear and nice size without any glare interfering with the picture. A very user friendly camera as the settings are accessible without having to review them every time. I am very much in love with this camera and would recommend it in a heartbeat!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: wanderer
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I love my elph!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had this camera for 2 years. I had another Canon before, but it was only 3.2 megapixel. The resolution of the pictures is great. My favorite thing about it is all the settings. It has a preset for almost every imaginable scenario, and a manual setting for everything else. And the image stabilizer works great. I frequently take pictures while I'm in the car or moving in some way, and the pics almost always come out crisp and clear. One thing I didn't like very much is that on the automatic setting, the flash is always on, even when the pictures would come out so much better if it was off. That's why I rarely use the auto setting, but just stick to manual, which saves my settings with the flash off. I wouldn't say the controls were complicated, but it did take me a little bit to explore and get to know the nooks and crannies of the system.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: rockthered
Location: Falls Church, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Wouldn't trade it for another

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is the greatest camera I've ever owned. I wouldn't trade it for any other. I get great comments on the camera and the pictures that it produces. Lightweight for easy travel, fast-paced action comes out clearly, dropped many a times and still is trucking right along, simple and easy to use. My only half con is it's sensitivity taking pictures. I've taken pictures of friends smoking and you can see smoke all over the place in the pictures. It's actually pretty cool in some pictures but ruins some really great pictures. So it's half a con. GREAT CAMERA!!! I only recommend Canon cameras to anyone who asks.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: 20 Row Kid
Location: Madison, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I've take this little camer in the sweaty back pocket of my cycling jersey all over the world. Riding in hot sun, rain and even some snow. The camera performed flawlessly. Easy to use, great photos, long battery life. Point and shoot right on the bike. The stabilization feature is a must for shooting on the go. Has never failed me.
Don't get hung up on what some call the flimsey side panel. It may look like it will come of but believe me it won't.
One of the best purchases I've ever made.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: hbrown
Location: Dallas, tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

awsome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
There are so many features it's exciting to be able to do so much with a camera. And there is a battery indicator, in my opinion it is the best camera and has the easiest features to use. I've always loved canon products and this just pushes it over the top, my husband loves it so much he bought himself one!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD800 IS
Nickname: JP Jerrier
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

SD 800Is Really Good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings, no battery indicator
Excellent camera, however I would have given it 100% but the camera has no battery indicator. Otherwise excellent.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site