Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.588 out of 5
4.739 out of 5
4.447 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
94 out of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Review 1 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Sarah
Location: Florence, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great deal- wonderful purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010
I bought this camera a few years ago with the 18-55mm kit, and it has served me VERY well. I now have multiple lenses and filters, and feel like this camera has helped me evolve as a photographer. This was my first DSLR and it was really easy to learn all the elements because the interface was so user-friendly. Now even as a somewhat experienced photographer, the XTi gives me great flexibility in the different projects I do. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who's just starting out, and those who are looking to move up from a point and shoot to a DSLR. I honestly didn't experience any cons from this camera. Some have mentioned it's light-weight, but that's been a pro for me. It's durable and has survived a fair share of bumps and knocks, such as falling down a flight of stairs, and swinging into rocks at various parks. Overall, this camera continues to serve me well and proves itself to last in the hands of a clumsy teenager.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: jbsinco
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Okay

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
A okay camera for the money. Personally my best pictures are still from the Rebel G film camera, that cost a lot less. It is really good at close ups and macro shots, but for distance beyond 15 feet I get much better clarity from the Rebel G.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Bob Magic
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

No Manual in PDF format

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2010
This camera is exceptional. The problem is support. Canon does not offer the manual for this model in PDF format so it can be easily read. The print in the included manual is small and hard to read. Other Canon cameras include a manual in PDF format and at this site!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Jav
Location: Greenville, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Heavy/Bulky, uses cf cards most cameras use sd
I love this camera! I use this camera for taking family pictures and portraits of my daughter. When ever I use my smaller, cheaper camera I can definitely tell the difference! This camera has been so great to have over the years.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Jimbo
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Great DSLR Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Excellent DSLR camera for learning how to get started in digital photography. I have found this camera easy to use and the picture quality has been extremely good. The only time the photos did not come out properly can be attributed to operator error. I owned a Nikon prior to purchasing this camera and I must admit that I will only go with Canon from now on. I found this camera to be much more user-friendly and easier to learn than it's competitor. I thought I would never switch brands, but at the urging of some friends of mine, They convinced me to go with the Canon product and I can honestly say it was one of the best decisions I have made. If you are considering purchasing a digital camera, Canon is the best path to go down!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: master roger
Location: minnesota
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

canon picture quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
i went from the 8 mega pixal to this 10 meg and the quality of the color was brighter with the 8meg camera, the poping color is not there, you can get the high color from photoshop touch up, but i would rather have the high color right from the camera, i am going to update the firmware and see if the color is better, i would recomend the new 18 mega pixal right off the bat, thats what im getting next, canon is the only camera to buy though, i have many lenses from canon and the lenses are the highest quality i have ever used, i have ben a canon user for 12 years and will not use anything else, this camera dose take great pics, and maybe i just need to make some personal adjustments on the camera to make the colors jump, i havent tried the personal settings yet, im afraid of messing something up...
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Renee
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, easy to use
This is a great camera for anyone starting out with digital SLR photography. It's easy to use, light and durable. Not to mention since newer models have come out you can get it for a great price from most retailers!
The only thing I would improve has already been done in newer Rebel cameras, and that is make the flash a little more sturdy. Mine has behaved wonderfully, but it sounds a little fragile compared to the flash on newer cameras. But you can take care of that worry by using an external flash.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Chino Hills Calif
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Outstanding picture quality and hi iso, its light, that is what I was looking for, the price was also very reasonable.The lcd is certainly the best that I have used. My lonely suggestion would be to cover lcd with a protective barrier.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: menace
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

UPGRADE TO OLD REBEL

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: internal flash is under exposure but preflash help
All i can say that this camera you have to know how to use it.There's a lot of feature's and technic to learn to get a great pictures.My suggestion is to get the dvd with rick sammon's canon eos digital rebel personal training dvd for eos digital rebel XTi.Once you learn how to use it you will see...
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: jt
Location: groveland, ma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

awesome camera to start with, old faithful.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Difficult to use, often very grainy, kit lens is no good, occationally blury or looks shaken
i got this camera for christmas two years ago at the youngin age of 15 and i loved it. i wasnt big into photography then but this camera sure did make me love it.
at first it was harder to use, but thats obvious seeing it was my first dslr, and i stuck with more auto settings.
but this camera is so user friendly i learned all about it over the years and it has been exciting. i know so much more about cameras and this one has produced great ones in the long run !
the only bad thing is that without knowledge of canon cameras or any slr, this camera can produce less then satisfactory pictures. it takes lots of setting tweaking to get what you want but its so worth it.
i advise you only get this camera if you want to actaully get to know what settings do for you.
12 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Sees
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Best camera I've had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I love this camera. I've had it for three years now and I've worked it hard, and it's still going. I thought I'd have to get another camera after two years cause it would get old. But nope! This camera is still going. It still takes great pictures, and it's the best camera I've had.
I highly recommend it.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: exer
Location: michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is by far the easiest camera i have used compared to any other canon. it is small and light weight compared to the new ones yet fits your hand great. i have used a 50d and it is heavy. the action shooting is just right at 3 fps compared to the rest that take 6 or more. it gets tiring deleting that many pictures after doing some action sports. they are all about the same anyway. i can get as good if not better shots of tubing and other activities with my xti as with the 50d with a cheaper option. never get rid of this camera canon it is a great all around camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Vick
Location: Mamelle, Ar
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for Learning Digital

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Slow Start-up time, no live view in lcd
I purchased this camera to learn digital photography methods and it has been just a thrill. Mine was refurb so I saved hundreds of dollars and it works just like a new one. Very nice and you will not regret the purchase!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: John T
Location: Roswell, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Incredible Improvement!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life
I had an XSi that I loved and used for 18 months. I wanted to have an all in one with video and the XTi fit my needs.
I am so pleased with the enhanced sensor and processor as well as LCD screen, I can't save enough good about the camera.
This was a great move up with wonderful color balance and shooting features.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Stevie
Location: Madison
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very nice..

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I use this for wildlife along with astronomy photos...and am well pleased with the results...Its simplicity to use is a 10, plus it looks cool too..many people are very well pleased with my photos..
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Pushkar

Satisfied

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Quick Start-up time, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is my first DSLR and I am quite satisfied with it. I discarded the 18-55 kit lens and bought the 17-85 IS - this lens is much better than the kit lens and gives a lot of versatility to everyday photography.
The menus layout could be better. Automatic ISO absent in creative modes.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: bronx new york city
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
great camera,easy to lear. great response-great photos
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: K|Love Photography
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

I Love my Rebel XTi

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings
This camera was my first DSLR, and starting out as an amateur photographer, it has been great to learn with. Having been into photography and using this camera for over a year now, I still love the images it produces and how easy it is to use. It's very versatile as far as the subjects it can be used to shoot, and goes everywhere with me in case I find something worth photographing. I would most definitely recommend this for a beginner. And the price is great for a first camera!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Larry
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
I recommend this camera!!!! I've had know problems with it for 2yrs.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: NorCalUser
Location: Antioch, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Quick Start-up time, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings
Camera has many great features. I have had this camera for about 2 years and it's the best camera I've ever owned.
One con is that the firmware has not been in a few years. Since the latest firmware has not been up to date, the newer stuff Canon produces (such as the Speedlite 270ex) is not always 100% compatible.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site