Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

Lightweight, compact L Series telephoto zoom lens with Image Stabilizer Provides up to an incredible four stops of shake correction Fluorite UD lens elements provides excellent optical performance Water- and dust-proof construction
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Flying Scotsman
Location: Lake Norman, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth all the lofty praise?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2014
Pros: everything to do with the image.
Cons: price
Worth all of the lofty praise? ABSOLUTELY! This truly is photography's Platinum Standard - whether using digital or that old-fashioned stuff, film. I reserve the description "perfect" for almost everything; this lens is a rare exception. No questions whatsoever, absolutely tip-top marks for astonishing clarity, sharpness, colour & contrast; lightning-fast USM auto-focus. On an APS-C (1.6X) sensor body, this shoots like a 112-320mm f/4 lens. It is - basically - a "do it all" telephoto zoom. Considered the f/2.8 version but the added price for the one extra stop just wasn't worth it - to me. The added size & weight was also a factor.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: JAdams
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost Unbelievable.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens is so good it is almost unbelievable. The color this lens captures is beautiful and is very impressive. The lens zooms in and out with ease and focusing is precise and easy to work in manual setting. The only issue I have had with it is when using it with a t5i during a sports game the autofocusing is slow, but upon asking other owner's of this lens with different cameras, they as well as I believe this is due to the fast pace of the switching focuses that comes with sports and the t5i only having 9 AF points, rather than a 1D-X's 60-something. Because of this when I am doing video or am in a close up shot I use manual focus, which is not a bad second option, this lens makes it very easy.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Cuda719
Location: Plainfield, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

My 1st L lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, light weight, amazing is
I debated for a long time before shelling out this much on a lens. I couldn't decide between it and the non IS version. I'm so glad I purchased this lens. A big plus to this lens is that it does not change length when you zoom. The images are really sharp, and the image stabilizer is a life saver when needed. This 70-200 is the best bang for your money, go buy this one. You will not regret it, that's for sure!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: dugole
Location: central NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Unbelievable

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, light weight
Absolutely an unbelievable lens. My previous Canon 70-200 was the f4 non-stablized - I liked it but didn't use it often because it needed a high shutter speed (at least 1/250) and the results weren't quite as sharp as I had hoped (date coded as 2005). Eight months ago I upgraded to the stablized version (date coded as 2011) and I fell in love with this lens. A much, much sharper image combined with the stabilization allows a shutter speed as low as 1/15 of a second.
This is an incredible lens and results in truly fine pictures - at any aperture there is virtually no distoration or CA and bokeh is also as nice as one can expect.
This is generally my go-to, general use lens and it took that designation away from my 17-40 "L". I use a crop sensor 7D. I will also use the 1.4 Canon extender and am able to still get great pictures.
Don't hesitate to buy this lens over the 2.8 - saves a lot of bucks!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Patrick
Location: Ohio Valley
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My go to Lens.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Simply put this lens is crystal clear, lightweight and a perfect go to lens when only a quality print will due. I am totally happy with the addition of the 70-200 L. I also have the 24-105 and 100-400 L's to compare from.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Pradeep
Location: Cambridge, MA
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits

A Classic lens in EF-lineup.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is my first L series lens and it took a couple of days for me to get a handle of it. Once we get used to the weight of the lens and feel comfortable, this glass soon becomes our friend. The AF is very fast and quiet, and the IS is very handy. You can actually see that the IS is operational through the view finder. The image tends to become more stable. There is a slight noise when IS is operational. The IS is still on for about 1-2 seconds after pressing the shutter button completely. This is a good feature when you want to quickly capture another shot of the same scene.
I used it mostly for portraits and I am very much satisfied with its performance. At 200 mm and f/8, it gives some amazing results. Additionally, under good lighting conditions, the image quality in terms of colors and sharpness is so great that you cannot stop shooting!
Wide open at f/4, with APS-C body, the image is slightly soft, but that is because of very sharp and narrow DOF, and any slight moment will become visible at 100% crop.
This is a good lens for landscapes too. The color quality is exceptional. Overall, this lens is a valuable addition, and definitely worth the dollar you invest.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: RandyB
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, doens't change during zoom
I couldn't decide between it and the non IS version. I finally decided to get this one because it's been updated from the older non IS version with better glass. The reviews said this lens is very sharp from f4 up and even to the edges at f4. Wow is it! It's also sharp through out the zoom range.
I wasn't sure the IS was worth the extra, but this is a newer IS compared to some of my older lens and works much better. It is much more useful then the older IS lenses are.
Another big plus to this lens is that it does not change length when you zoom. When a lens changes length it's acting like a bellows and sucking in dirt. I love that this lens does not change length when you zoom.
Overall I am super happy with this lens. I just wish it were a little cheaper. In this review the form ask where you use it most. There should be an "all of the above."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: undrgnd40
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Tele-Zoom

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2011
Pros: image quality, lightweight
I enjoy using this lens for outdoor portrait photography, some wildlife and selective landscape photography. I've had many good indoor shots as well. The autofocus is fast and silent, the image sharpness is INCREDIBLE. The most surprising feature is how lightweight this lens is, despite feeling well built. At half the weight of the f/2.8 version, this one is easily handheld. Use a 1.4x or 2x extender for longer range. I also like the included lens hood.
48 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Michgirl
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this lens ` my first L

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: a little pricey
I debated for a long time before shelling out this much on s lens. But I love it, the quality, the vbuild, the feel. Absolutely love the IS; have gotten some great deer pics at sunset. Astonishing, Recently was taking my grandson's Senior Pix and threw this lens on at the end and thought "this is why I love this lens,"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Jim
Location: Illinois

A truly outstanding lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: price
The image quality is impeccable from wide-open to stopped down, center to corner. It rivals Canon's primes at comparable focal lengths.
Only downside is that it's expensive but truly worth the price.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: BD
Location: New York City
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extraordinary Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, creme de le crop
I have been a member of the Canon system for over 25 years. My first purchase was the Canon A1 camera. I graduated to the excellent Canon F1 and shot film with FD primes for years. For some time now, I have been a member of the digital age. I have always compared my current lenses to the old FD line. I recently purchased the new 70-200 f/4 IS USM L lens and have repeatedly been blown away by it's image quality, rugged design and super fast ultrasonic focusing ability. This lens delivers sharp, contrast rich images on a routine basis. The image stabilization is an excellent addition to this powerhouse product. It will provide you with the ability to capture your images at an incredible four stop advantage. It is much lighter and in my opinion sharper than it's brother 2.8 version. If your an action sports photographer go with the 2.8 version. Everyone else run to your nearest Canon authorized dealer and purchase this lens. You will not be disappointing. I am Proud to be a member of the Canon 70-200 f/4 IS USM L lens family, this lens is worth it's weight in Gold.
52 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Nate
Location: Valley Center, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, white, perfect ergonomics, 4-stop is, comes with leather pouch for storing
The perfect lens. Sharp at all focal lengths and all apertures. It's funny... At f/22 where most lenses would be very, very soft, this lens is still unbelievably sharp. The IS on this lens is very helpful. At 200mm turning the is off pretty much means I won't get a sharp shot 80 percent of the time, especially with my aps-c body. Just do yourself a favor and buy this lens.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: gtwhtgt
Location: Shreveport, La.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
You can see the difference as soon as you put his lens on your camera. Everything is better. If you get one start saving for the next because you'll now be hooked on the "L"'s. Great for portraits or just about anything. Can't get the wife to take it off the camera, she thinks it was an original accessory and it has to stay on it. A major reason for lens envey from your peers and much lighter than the faster version.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: grandpawrichard
Location: Burlington, WA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Absolutely Great Lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, tack sharp exposures from 70 all the way to 200
I have owned this lens for about 3 years now and I am never disappointed in the results I get with it! Even with a 1.4X Extender you can get absolutely tack sharp photos!
You can mount this lens on a camera and wear it around your neck all day long without discomfort!
Great versatility with this lens all at a reasonable price for an L Series lens!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: dpetjr
Location: Brandon FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I purchased this lens for a European River Cruise over Christmas and New Year's. The results were outstanding. I am not a pro, but the night shots and the 200mm shots of castles along the Rhine were fantastic. Another photo-enthusiast was particularly impressed with the telephoto night shots. Great lens for the money and very lightweight.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Marusya
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

So crisp. Great lens.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: none
My most recent purchase and I love it. It is undoubtedly the best lens I own. Very clear and crisp. I know it will be the most used in my bag.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Ron in AZ
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Tack Sharp Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011
Pros: exceptionally sharp, well balanced, solid feeling lens, quick focusing, wonderful color remdition
Cons: expensive
I traded a 200mm F/2.8 L lens (and a few $$ additional) for this lens. I thought the 200 F/2.8 was sharp, but this lens is even sharper and at all focal lengths. It balances well on my D-7 camera body. The IS works great. I have been able to take available light shots at 1/80 at F/4 at ISO 6400 and get exceptionally sharp images. Unless you really need the extra stop choose the 70-200 F/4 L over the 70-200 F/2.8 L and save some money and drop some weight.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Nate
Location: Alexandria, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

A huge upgrade.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2010
Pros: super sharp images, rugged, is works!, beautiful bokeh, very sharp dof
Cons: is is a little pricey
I have a rebel XS, yes I know, that's the entry level DSLR. I was using the 75-300 USM kit lens to take tele shots. I would use it for everything from compression of DoF and Images to the moon. That lens is NEVER sharp! I thought it was me for quite a while and I would avoid using it because it made me think that I was doing something wrong. So I tried this lens out and then immediately bought it because I was so satisfied. I contemplated over the non-is and the 2.8 IS/not, but I think that this is the best value if price is a concern. The IS REALLY works! I was skeptical, but I can assure you that if you 'try' you can pull off .3 second exposures hand held(that is the limit IMO). The images are many magnitudes sharper than the 75-300. Turns out I was doing everything right, but the lens was the limiting factor. If you are on the fence about whether or not to buy a 70-300. get it! on a cropped body it's a 112mm which will compete with a 135L ƒ2 for sharpness and even give you 320mm on the long end for more tele than you 'paid for'. On a FF I'm sure it will be even better. This is my first L glass and I think that I will be sticking to this series now that I see how much of a difference it makes. I have a 5d2 and a 24-105 on the way :D.
P.S. In my opinion the secret is the lenses, not the bodies. What do I know though I shoot an XS with incredible results. :D
30 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Toto
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2010
Pros: fast auto-focus super-sharp images superior buil
I have this lens for over 6 months now and never been disappointed. The pictures are very sharp. Beautiful. There were times when I get blurry pictures but it's I who’s at fault. 99% of the time, I shoot available light – both indoor and outdoor. I wish to have the f2.8L version. I loved it but because of the weight which is a big factor for me – decided to reject it. I am not a big person and I agonized between getting the f/2.8L or the f/4L. So I rented the 2.8L. Carried it with me for one day. Carrying it around was not that big deal (although my neck hurts since I have the camera strap around my neck) – but shooting with one arm cradling without support, tires me easily (the weight of this baby alone is equivalent to the camera body I was using with hand grip attached, 2 batteries and the f/4L IS). Since then, I have never looked back….
36 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: J.R.
Location: Hickory, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have wanted this lens for quite sometime but I will admit, the price was what was keeping me from making the purchase. After much thought and prayer I ordered it. What a great lens. Pictures are excellent. It's everything every review says it is. This is my first "L" series lens. It has been my main lens since I purchased it. I mainly photograph exterior landscape pictures and I am amazed at the quality of the pictures this lens produces. At 200mm, pictures are clear and sharp. If you are weighing the purchase as I did and if you can swing the price, you will not regret it at all.
48 of 50 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site