Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / DVD Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop DVD Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for DC50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

DC50

Average Customer Rating:
2.444 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DC50
Review 1 for DC50
Nickname: Tman
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

A Solid Camcorder and a Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2011
Pros: versatile media, lot's of features (almost too many), stabilization system is very good not electronic
Cons: no 'extended life' battery option, included software won't rip from dvd, transfer of video to pc seems agonizingly long, the built in light casts a blueish hue
I was not real excited to get a mini-DVD camcorder; I wanted an HD or Mini-DV but my wife wanted something that would be easy to go from taping to watching and I couldn't argue with the fact that MiniDVD offers the simplest way to go from camcorder to the DVD player. In retrospect, there was no real reason for me to avoid the MiniDVD camcorders as I have really appreciated the versatility and simplicity that nothing but a camcorder that records directly to a DVD can provide. This has allowed me to do the video editing on my schedule and on my terms.
I was startled at the extremely sharp and accurate picture that this camera produces. The difference is noticeable when compare to like--priced cameras.
Review 2 for DC50
Nickname: Al
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Depends on your purpose

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2010
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
The DC50 is a great camcorder if you're looking for a way to record footage for immediate presentation, since it records on discs compatible with DVD players. It is perfect for recording events or vacations, and seems to have this purpose in mind. It has a good image stabilizer, can take high-quality pictures, and sports an impressive flash function. I've also found it shows a resilience to weather. But it stores pictures on a mini-SD, so you'll need a converter to show it on a TV or computer.
The picture quality is good for non-HD and has accurate colors when correctly white balanced. Exposure and limited manual focus are also pluses, but it lacks in other features. The image stabilization is somewhat impressive by itself, but by using a DIY steadicam and your favorite stabilization algorithm, amazing results can be achieved. However, low-light conditions are hard to shoot, and the sound quality isn't too good.
If you're like me and want to record footage for editing or putting on a computer, do not purchase this camcorder. The battery life is very short. More importantly though, it is hard and tedious to move footage to a computer. You cannot just put the disc in and move your files, but you have to use a very poorly designed third party program (Roxio MyDVD) to transfer files to your computer. The output formats are extremely limited, making it very hard if you want to put editable files on a Mac. Furthermore, the program frequently crashes, has agonizing footage download times, and cannot transfer any clip less than 5 seconds long.
All in all, this camcorder does not deliver enough bang for the buck, especially with it being one of the higher-priced non-HD camcorders on the market. But if you're looking for a camcorder with excellent picture quality for immediate presentation, this is a great choice if you're willing to pay the higher price. If you want to put footage on a computer or are looking to edit your footage, though, I would not recommend this camcorder. Opt for a flash memory HD camcorder instead, like the Vixia, which comes at a similar and sometimes lower price for better features and HD ability.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC50
Nickname: lg
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great video and camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
For the price you can beat it... The zoom was excellent, and the photos were excellent.
Review 4 for DC50
Nickname: JL
Location: AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder/camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This is my second DC50 and I think its features of the camcorder and high quality stills are awesome. I have tried and reviewd many other camcorders with stills and none are as good as this camera. Battery life is not the longest but I the optional 1700mAh battery has decent life. The DVD software is not very good, but there a a bazillion other low cost software products that let you tranfer to PC or full DVD's without a problem finialized or not. My first DC50 lasted only 2 years of heavy use, but had replacement warranty. Hopefully this one will last longer. Other camcorders I have had lasted at least 5 yrs.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC50
Nickname: Marv
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Too much of a pain to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2009
Pros: Accurate, Vivid Colors
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Difficult to use
Nice camera but you will learn to hate it pretty early in using it.Nice features but so complicated to use and just about gets you the frustration point after its first few uses. Quality of picture is very good but not worth the effort to download, edit or review the disc. Wish I had waited for a better model.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC50
Nickname: Sully
Location: Horsham, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Very disappointed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Short battery life, Difficult to use
Very difficult to use. The battery life is terrible. I bought a new battery and it still doesn't last long. Editing features are terrible. I would not recommend this camera to anyone.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC50
Nickname: the-answer-is-42

Confusing DVD finalization and lack of editing.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility, near impossible to edit videos, confusing finalization
The camera itself isn't bad. The video quality is fine, though it could be much better considering the price. What really ruins this camera is the fact that there is little to no computer connectivity, the DVD must be formatted and finalized in the camera (and even if your DVD is rewritable, once it's finalized there's no going back.)
The software bundled with this camera is terrible. I would much prefer to use WMM, but this is impossible without un-encrypting the videos I made.
If you're looking for a decent camcorder that will let you transfer videos from your camera to your PC with ease, don't buy this camera. If you want your camera to store your video files in a format that you can easily use and edit, don't buy this camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC50
Nickname: STEVE
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Would NOT buy!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2009
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility
Hard to understand, computers can not respond to the saved dvd, Just same your money
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC50
Nickname: disapointed

Really Bad

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
This product does not allow you to edit your footage in any decent editing program. Do not buy. I recieved mine as a gift. I am disapointed :(
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site