Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD1000

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
33 out of 39(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1000
Review 1 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

SD1000

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2011
Pros: everything
Cons: none to date
Camera was 1st digital and still works and performs well
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: KatKat
Location: Wichita, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Durable, great quality camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010
Pros: sleek design, light weight, crystal clear images, durable, great features
Cons: sometimes blurry without flash
I have had this camera for about 6 years now. I have taken it on so many vacations and other special events. It has taken thousands of great pictures for me that are sharp and clear. My friends and I have also had a ton of fun with the camera's features such as its "color swap." This camera also is INCREDIBLY DURABLE. Last summer I went on a water ride during vacation and this camera was in my back pocket. It was literally soaked by the time I realized it was with me still. At first it didn't work but two hours later after it had dried, it worked again, perfectly like it was brand new! I have also dropped this camera and banged it against things numerous times. It literally seems indestructible. This camera has made me a Canon user for life!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Jcrichar33
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera in small package

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010
Pros: quality pictures in most circumstances, pretty rugged
Cons: action shots sometimes blury., low light photography not great
I had this camera for several years. It takes great pictures and has been dependable. I carry it in my pocket all the time while traveling.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Michael Daytona
Location: Daytona Beach , FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Don't under estimate thisc amera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010
Pros: small and powerful, great features, easy to use
Cons: none
This camera is awesome jsut got back from Atlanta last month, was highly over joyed by my pictures at the Atlanta Zoo, in fact took one picture of the Pandas there hadit made into an 8X10 for my bathroom.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Alafair
Location: New England
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Simply....the Best!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2010
I have owned the SD1000 since it was introduced a few years ago. I have carried it with me every day and everywhere I go. It's gotten a little wet, a little dirty, the case scratched. The word "tough" is appropriate here. Battery life is exceptional; charging is quick and easy. The zoom is more than adequate for this type of camera. No....it's not a DSLR with a 400mm lens, but for most situations the hobbyist point and shooter faces, it works fine.
This marvelous little camera has not failed me once...ever. I have had a half-dozen digital cameras ranging in size from small like the SD1000 to DSLR wannabes. Not one has been as reliable and has taken such high quality photographs as my Canon. Buy the current gen of this camera, take it everywhere with you. You won't be disappointed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: horsegirl

AWESOME CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010
I have had this camera for 4 years and it is AMAZING! it broke because i got sand in the lense and i want this same onel i just dont know if i can afford it. im probably going to get the same one! I LOVE IT!
Review 7 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Dano
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010
This is my 3rd Canon digital camera. I wore the first one out and needed another compact camera (my other Canon is PS S2 IS, which is larger). The PS SD 1000 is very good small camera, with useful features. It's easy to use - has a view finder - which is becoming rare. I like my camera so much that I bought the exact same one for my brother.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I received this camera for my fifteenth birthday 2.5 yrs ago, and it has been the best camera I have ever used. It is quick, takes quality pictures, and has ceased to disappoint. This camera is sure to satisfy the needs of any person who uses a camera on a regular basis.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: bostonblakie
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

money well spent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
Excellent pocket fitting point and shoot camera. Easy to carry, ready for action at any time. The quality of the pictures is excellent and it also has a sound movie option if needed. Holds more than enough photos or short videos with a 1000MB chip. Easy to upload pictures to computer, delete content and begin anew. Just wish there was a one click reset to default settings option without having to search the menu for it while in the field. Would help those of us who need eye glasses for this kind of detail work.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Polardan
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Compact, dependable, user friendly. Assures that you will carry it with you. Results are superb.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: cowboy
Location: Ashland City. Tennessee
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

One great camers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: none
I have had my SD1000 for about 3 years and I can tell you it far exceeds my expectations. It is now the only canera we use - we have given all the reat away! We have taken once in a life time pictures all over Denmark.
Each time I use it I find a new feature I can use or a new wrinkle to one I'm using which will make my pictures better.
I have now begun using the SD1000 as a camcorder and - wow! I have tried it an many different situations and have not found a case where the camers failed to do the job.
We recommended this camers to my son-in-law who in fact bought one. He is an artist and takes this camers to all the shows. He makes use of the macro mode to get at the details of the things he is looking at. He had already bought a more expensive camera for the macro capability but has stopped using it now in favor of the SD1000.
You really can't go wrong with this camera.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: grr
Location: Willlmar, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, poor digital zoom quality
I bought this camera a year and a half ago to replace my power shot 540 after it fell into the Minnesota River. I still love this camera after all this time. I have been complimented on the quality of my photos many times since owning this camera. It has enough control to make the pictures turn out vivid and sharp for the most part. I really like the extended shutter mode, the lighting selection and the color choices. I always shoot on the lowest possible ISO so that the detail and smoothness are as good as they can be. If I could make changes to the camera I would like more zoom, better digital zoom quality, a larger screen and better low light capability. Over all this is a very excellant camera and the size is small enough so that I carry it on me always.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: jerry

Another wonderful Canon product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Fantastic camera. We use it on all of our triips. It iis easy to carry in a purse and easy to use. We have been extremely pleased with the picture quality.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I have had two Canon Power Shot SD cameras. Both "froze up" after approximately 18 months of usage. The first one, the SD100, could not be repaired; the second one, SD1000, I am presently waiting to hear if it can be repaired or will have to be replaced as well. Both models were good quality while they lasted and very easy to use; however, with normal use (as in my case), I would think the cameras should be more substantial and would hold up longer than 18 months.
.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: WVWoman86
Location: Morgantown, WV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Gift Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: the screen scratches easily
My husband bought me this camera over 2 years ago for Christmas. I begged for this camera for 2 months before he bought it but now, 2 years later, I'm just learning all of the options on it. I use to get so annoyed with this cameras low light quality, but tonight, after attempting to take a great picture of the moon, did I learn just what the ISO did! Man did it make a difference! For the people who are complaining about the low light quality, they are obviously not using the ISO. The camera is so easy to use! Plus, I LOVE the Aquarium feature! This is the best buy of any digital device I have ever purchased! Including my iPod!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: ExploreUSA
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Another great PowerShot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I dropped my older PowerShot in sea water, and I am very pleased with this upgrade. The same great quality I have learned to expect from Canon, with quicker image processing and longer battery life. PowerShot's size, durability and picture quality are really unbeatable when it comes to taking beautiful, easy pictures on the go.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Dave><
Location: cleveland, ms
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

EXCELLENT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, absoloutly amazing!
I have had this extraordinary little camera for about a month now! i absoloutly love this camera! i would never leave my house without it! it is so compact! everyone is like omg where did you get that!! i am just letting canon know that this is about the best camera they have ever made!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: lisg
Location: Shrewsbury MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I've had this camera for 3 years and it still works perfectly fine. It's even taken some beatings over the years. I love the features it has. Its super easy to use. I had two other digital camera's before this one and the definitely did not last this long and work this good. The battery life is better than any other camera i have ever owned. I would recomend this camera to everyone who loves taking pictures who wants a nice small simple camera. It still amazes me to this day!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Buy This

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, video features (or lack thereof)
This is really a great camera. I've had this for nearly a year now, with absolutely no technical malfunctions. The photo quality is sharp.. as long as you don't zoom.IIf you zoom in, the photo result is unrecognizably grainy. The video quality is absolutely astounding, though. I make full-length videos for internet sites, and many involve high-speed transportation subjects. This camera has a sharp, crisp and high-resolution video capability. The only problems I find with the video function would be:
() If facing the sun, or is in the general direction of the sun, a huge line forms across the screen.
() Winds 15MPH+ will cause awful sound deduction.
() There is a widescreen feature for the PHOTO function. It would be very useful to apply this high-quality and great to use ability to the video function, too. I'm sure that would draw in a TON of sales! ( wink-wink, canon!)
Overall, this is an amazing camera. It's small, lightweight, VERY easy to use.. and the price is unbeatable. Plus.. the appearance is great as well. I would not just recommend this to my friends.. I'd recommend this to everyone who wants to get a LOT more for their money.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD1000
Nickname: camerabuff
Location: la
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Shearpova beautiful camera pic bad

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2009
Cons: Poor image quality
good design pictures never in focus automatic light and focus and speed never calculates right so you get good smaller apeture focus. bad pictures
3 of 22 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site